Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on preventive dental visit. It also provides sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a list of resources. Programs can also use this information to assist in the implementation of oral-health-related state performance measures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the newborn screening (NBS) disease prevention system in the United States, involving the practice of testing every newborn for certain harmful or potentially fatal conditions that are not otherwise apparent at birth. The document explains that NBS is a coordinated system between birthing hospitals, state-based newborn screening programs, health care providers, and families, with Congress passing the original Newborn Screening Saves Lives Act in 2008 and reauthorizing it in 2014 to support the State/Cooperative Newborn Screening System Priorities Program. It notes that while every state requires NBS, each state manages its own program and screens for conditions on the Recommended Uniform Screening Panel, with 31 states and 4 U.S.-affiliated jurisdictions receiving funding through the Health Resources and Services Administration. The fact sheet describes NBS alignment with the Title V MCH Services Block Grant through supporting long-term follow-up activities and infrastructure building for children diagnosed with conditions identified through screening.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Disease prevention, Federal programs, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Standards

Annotation: This statement offers an endorsement of community water fluoridation. It describes the effectiveness of this public health effort and calls on community efforts to continue until all communities are served.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Oral health, Water

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This document lists reasons that including oral health in the Title V 5-year needs assessment is important. These reasons include (1) oral health is a vital component of overall health and well-being, (2) access to evidence-based and routine oral-disease-prevention and oral-health-education services reduces health disparities, (3) having good oral health reduces health care costs and is an investment for the future, and (4) oral disease is a fixable problem. For each reason, supporting examples are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Block grants, Needs assessment, Oral health, Prevention, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, a program in Ohio conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children’s oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and the CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about how fluoride varnish (FV) can be used to prevent or reverse the early states of tooth decay. It presents background, explains what FV is, and discusses state FV quality-improvement (QI) projects. It also discusses how states have partnered to improve the success of QI projects, sustaining and spreading improvement through program and policy changes, and peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention, Programs, Quality assurance

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This Q&A-style fact sheet for parents and caregivers explains the importance of annual adolescent well visits for youth ages 11-21, distinguishing them from sports physicals. It describes what occurs during well visits, including physical examinations, behavioral health screenings, preventive health guidance, and immunizations, while emphasizing how these visits help young people develop healthcare management skills and improve family communication about health issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Primary care, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about the Pediatric Medical Home Pilot Project, the goal of which was to integrate silver diamine fluoride (SDF) application into primary pediatric care as a strategy to reduce the incidence of early childhood caries. The toolkit discusses how to integrate SDF application into pediatric care in Vermont. It presents a case for using SDF to treat early childhood caries, explains what SDF is, and provides guidelines for integrating SDF into practice. Information about the development of the toolkit is included.

Contact: Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity, Web Site: https://www.dartmouth-health.org/carhe Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Oral health, Pediatrics, Prevention, Primay care, Silver diamine fluoride, State programs, Treatment, Vermont

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen talks with Dr. Carey Eppes and her colleague, CheyAnne Harris to explore Texas's experience with implementing the Maternal Early Warning Signs (MEWS) in maternal health care. Dr. Eppes shares her background and journey into the world of maternal health, detailing the personal motivations that drive her passion for this work. She and CheyAnne delve into the reasons behind adopting MEWS, how it was implemented, and the challenges faced along the way. This episode highlights the key levers that facilitate successful implementation for healthcare providers looking to adopt MEWS in their own practice. The podcast is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series that dives deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: History, Maternal health, State initiatives, Texas, prevention programs

Annotation: This brief, which is part of the What Works Evidence Accelerators series, provides background information and a summary of effective strategies to advance the national performance measures on preventive dental visits for children and for pregnant women. The strategies support increasing the percentages of pregnant women and children who had a dental visit in the past year. The brief includes an overview of the issues; data; and information on oral health outcomes, disparities in outcomes, children and youth with special health care needs, and partnership and the role of Title V.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Partnership, Pregnant women, Prevention, Special health care needs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant program authorized under Title V of the Social Security Act. The report describes the program's three main components: State MCH Block Grants (the largest component, providing formula grants to states and territories), Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS), and Community Integrated Service Systems (CISS). It details the program's history, funding mechanisms, services provided, populations served, and reporting requirements. The report outlines how states use these funds to address the unique needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health care needs through direct health care services, enabling services, and public health services and systems. It also examines recent funding trends, highlighting shifts in allocations among the three components and changes in state expenditure patterns following the COVID-19 pandemic. The document concludes with policy considerations for Congress regarding funding allocation formulas, program coordination, and oversight accountability.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Data, Funding, Initiatives, Legislation, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Medicaid, Prevention, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This online resource for health professionals provides tools intended to promote the value of the well-visit to parents of adolescents and young adults. Downloadable materials include a fact sheet, infographics, and a cover letter that introduces the promotional materials and provides distribution strategies to engage parents via school-based health centers, state Medicaid agency, etc.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Families, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Provider participation, Young adults