Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This video conference focuses on trends in sudden unexpected infant mortality and how to work with bereaved parents after the loss of an infant. Presentations focus on SIDS infant mortality trends; bereavement counseling; working with bereaved parents; preparing for home visits; developing listening skills; and risk factors that may complicate grief. The website provides access to the archived video conference as well as supplemental bereavement literature and other resources.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• Archived Video
• Program Website

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bereavement, Conferences, Counseling, Grief, Infant mortality, Parent support services, Professional training, SIDS, Trends

Annotation: This brochure provides advice to grieving mothers and fathers who have lost an unborn or stillborn child. Topics include grief and bereavement, reserving the right to observe cultural beliefs in saying goodbye, considering an autopsy, funerals and memorials, and tips for coping after arriving home. The brochure is written with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Fathers, Fetal death, Grief, Mothers, Spanish language materials, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This brochure focuses on the grief of fathers who have lost a child to stillbirth. Topics include tips for addressing personal grief as well as the grief in the relationship, in the workplace, and in the future. The brochure is written with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Fathers, Fetal death, Grief, Spanish language materials, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This guide is designed to help survivors cope with the experience of losing a loved one to suicide. The guide includes practical information about coping with the loss, personal survivor stories, articles on bereavement, resource listings, and a bibliography.

Contact: American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, 120 Wall Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 363-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 333-AFSP Fax: (212) 363-6237 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.afsp.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Suicide

Annotation: This updated bibliography includes references from 2001-2008 from published literature as located in PubMed and CINAHL Plus. Topics include grief, beravement, perinatal loss, and infant death. Citations are categorized into research articles, practice recommendations, or systematic literature reviews.

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bibliographies, Grief, Bereavement, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Infant death

Annotation: This book, directed to consumers grieving the death of a child, offers perspectives on ways to grieve and heal after the loss of a child, and how to make difficult decisions regarding a dying or deceased child. Apart from her personal perspectives, the author recounts the child loss related experiences of many others as well.

Contact: New Futures, 6110 Bellamah, NorthEast, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-0463 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55725-585-3.

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Fetal death, Infant death, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Personal narratives, SIDS, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This program manual and trainer's guide is an online adaptation of a SIDS/infant death program manual published in 2006 by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's SIDS/ID Program. The purpose of this online manual is to support the staff of state and local programs to provide comprehensive sudden infant death syndrome and infant death risk reduction and bereavement services, so that children have the best possible chance for survival and if a child does die, his/her family is appropriately supported. Topics include what SIDS is; risk reduction education; bereavement support; training; program expansion into such areas as fetal death, infant mortality beyond SIDS, and child death; research and statistics; partnerships and collaborations; public relations and the media; and fundraising and development. The trainer's guide focuses on how to conduct trainings, presentations, and informational sessions to a variety of audiences.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support, Infant death, MCH training, Manuals, Parent education, SIDS, State MCH programs, Training materials

Annotation: This book provides activities such as coloring, reading, and writing as a friendly butterfly gently discusses loss and grief in ways children can understand. Ages 3–8.

Keywords: Bereavement, Children', Coloring books, Coping, Death, Grief, Materials for children, Young children, s literature

Annotation: This report, which investigates infant deaths going back to 1992, casts doubt on claims that cases of SIDS have decreased by more than half since the 1990s. The report discusses child dealth review procedures, the quality of statistics on sudden infant death, efforts to protect the feelings of grieving parents, professional bias in diagnosis vs. medical evidence and the need for standards in infant death and reporting. Quotations from families who have experienced infant deaths, as well as from experts in the field, are included throughout.

Contact: Scripps Howard News Service, 1090 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 408-1484 Fax: (202) 408-2062 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.shns.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Sleep position, Bereavement, Families, Infant death review, Parents, SIDS: Infant death, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report presents recommendations for suicide prevention in rural communities. The report begins by presenting the rural context for suicide prevention and then goes on to discuss promoting help-seeking behaviors, data and surveillance, clinical care services, screening and identifying rural adolescents at risk for suicide, training gatekeepers, strengthening support during bereavement, and supporting rural suicide-attempt survivors.

Contact: Suicide Prevention Resource Center, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (877) 438-7772 Secondary Telephone: (617) 964-5448 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sprc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent behavior, Attempted suicide, Bereavement, Health services, High risk adolescents, Rural environment, Rural population, Screening, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This edition, for health care providers in the United Kingdom, provides guidelines on parents' needs after the loss of a pregnancy or child for whatever reason it occurred, laws to be applied and when they do not apply, the impact the loss on parents and families, and the importance of the care that is offered. Topics include providing inclusive care; holistic care; loss and grief; communication; communication across language and other barriers; termination of pregnancy for reasons other than abnormality; antenatal screening, diagnostic tests, and procedures; continuing the pregnancy; losses in pregnancy; care in neonatal units, transfer to the mortuary and post mortem investigations; funerals and memorials; support and training for staff; guidance for health care providers, and legal issues, regulations, and professionals standards concerning the termination of pregnancy.

Contact: SANDS, 28 Portland Place, London, ENGLAND W1B 1LY, Web Site: http://www.uk-sands.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN(13) 978-0-9554243-2-8 ISBN(10) 0-9554243-2-1.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death, Neonatal death, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal screening, Patient advocacy, Physician patient relations, Postpartum care, Pregnancy loss, Prenatal screening, United Kingdom

Annotation: This booklet helps explain what happens after a baby dies, both in terms of practicalities, and the feelings and emotions families may experience. Contents include legal procedural matters involving the coroner, registering the baby's death or an inquest, keepsakes, and funeral and financial arrangements. Additional topics include common feelings and experiences of grieving, family and sibling grief, infant death in child care, questions families ask, finding and giving support, and care of the next infant. A list of publications and further reading is provided.

Contact: Lullaby Trust, 11 Belgrade Road, London, England SW1V 1RB, Telephone: (020) 7802-3200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lullabytrust.org.uk Available from the website; contact for muiltple copy cost information.

• Word Document

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Child death review, Families, Infant death, Public awareness materials, Resources for professionals, SIDS

Annotation: This bulletin summarizes a panel presentation from the National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program's Fifth National Conference, held August 12-14, 2004 in Washington, DC. It explores the cultural traditions of Hmong, African American, and Jewish families grieving the loss of a pregnancy or infant. It is the third in a series focused on cross-cultural grief and loss and provides an updated review of the literature. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Blacks, Child death, Cultural factors, Death attitudes, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Religion

Annotation: This guide is intended for staff members of the hospital emergency department who interact with family members during an initial crisis related to a sudden infant or child death. Included are guidelines on how emergency health care personnel can be responsive to the family's emotional needs and can be aware of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and sudden unexplained death in childhood (SUDC) as possible causes. Topics discussed include initial care of a lifeless, or near-lifeless infant or child; medical evaluation and diagnosis; how best to inform the parents; and parent support and follow-up. Apppendices include an emergency department checklist for sudden infant and child death, a case management profile of the Massachusetts Center for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome, a flowchart illustrating case management within the Centers' bereavement program, and a copy of the Center's emergency room encounter form.

Contact: Massachusetts Center for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome, Boston Medical Center Dept. of Pediatrics, Dowling Building, 771 Albany Street, 4th Floor, Room 4204, Boston, MA 02118-2393, Telephone: (617) 414-SIDS Secondary Telephone: (800) 641-7437 Web Site: http://www.bmc.org/pediatrics-MA-SIDS.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical technicians, Family support services, Guidelines, Infant death, Massachusetts, Resources for professionals, SIDS, bereavement

Annotation: This booklet provides suggestions on how to talk to your child about the loss of a sibling due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or newborn death. It offers tips on appropriate language to choose when discussing the death; guidelines on how children conceptualize death during different stages of development (from age 2 through adolescence) and suggestions on what parents can do to help. Additional resources and recommended readings are also provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death , Child mental health, Grief, Infant death, Parent child relations, Siblings

Annotation: These guidelines were designed to help school administrators, teachers, and crisis team members respond to the needs of student and staff after a loss (such as a death of a student or staff member or a death that affects many people in the community) has impacted the school environment. The guidelines discuss school crisis team interventions, notification procedures, crisis and grief counseling and other support services at school, impact on learning, and special circumstances.

Contact: National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement , Cincinnati Children's, 3333 Burnett Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-4200 Secondary Telephone: (800) 344-2462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cincinnatichildrens.org/service/n/school-crisis/default/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Counseling, Death, Grief, Guidelines, Intervention, Learning, Schools, Students

Annotation: This manual and accompanying training guide support staff of local and state programs to provide comprehensive Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and Infant Death (SIDS/ID) risk reduction and bereavement program services for expectant parents and families. Manual contents include a definition of SIDS, risk reduction education, bereavement support services, training, program expansion, research and statistics, partnerships and collaborations, public relations and the media, and fundraising and development. Also provided are a glossary of acronyms, a history of SIDS, a glossary of frequently used terms, and a bibliography for each chapter. The trainer's guide, specifically adapted from the National Cancer Institute, focuses on how to conduct trainings, presentations and informational sessions to a variety of audiences. The trainer's guide includes eight PowerPoint shows for specific audiences and checklists to assist in the planning and logistics of conducting trainings. Appendices to the trainer's guide include a chart on principles of adult learning; tips in selecting appropriate training methods; creating a safe and comfortable learning environment; a trainer skills checklist; a training plan worksheet; and suggested icebreakers, energizers, and closing activities. A master index to both the manual and guide is provided. Training tools are available in both English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Manual And Guide In English

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support, Infant death, MCH training, Manuals, Parent education, SIDS, Spanish language materials, State MCH programs, Training materials

Annotation: This 225-minute documentary film follows five racially and economically diverse young people and their families an caregivers over 6 years as they confront childhood hematological cancer and the after-effects of treatment at Cincinnati's Children's Hospital. The film is the centerpiece of a national and local outreach campaign focusing on class and racial health care disparities, survivorship, and pediatric end-of-life bereavement care. The website presents a case study of how the film was developed and conceptual maps that portray key issues raised in the film.

Contact: American University, Center for Social Media, 3201 New Mexico Avenue, Suite 330, Washington, DC 20016, Telephone: (202) 885-3107 Fax: (202) 885-1309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerforsocialmedia.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Cancer, Child health, Economic factors, Families, Films, Public awareness campaigns, Racial factors, Survivors, Treatment

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward families, provides guidance on how to help children deal with their feelings after an infant's death. The pamphlet provides specific, concrete information about how children of different ages react to death and how to help them. Information about seeking support services and family rituals is included. Lists of references, selected organizations that provide support and services to bereaved children, and resources to help children cope with loss are included as well. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Children, Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS

Annotation: This publication provides information about selected publications, organizations, and other resources developed for bereaved parents and family members dealing with the death of a young child. Resources for caregivers and professionals who work with parents are included. Special topics are divided into categories such as material for children and adolescents, religious books, Spanish resources, journal articles, and selected publishers.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child mortality, Consumer education materials, Grief, Infant mortality, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials