Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides results from the Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement’s Quality Indicators Advisory Team’s efforts to establish a set of maternal and child oral health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. The report provides indicators for women of child-bearing age and pregnant women and for children, as well as a user guide, and discusses implementation strategies, indicator limitations, and challenges in obtaining data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children

Annotation: The customizabl Key Informant Interview Guide (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-chc-assessment-key-informant-interview-guide.pdf>) and Community Health Center Baselline Survey (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-chc-assessment-baseline-survey.pdf >) are intended for use with community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net. The interview guide can be used in interviews with participating CHCs to learn about factors that might impact the successful implementation of the project. The survey includes questions about dental referrals, fluorides, oral health care for young children and pregnant women, anticipatory guidance, and participant characteristics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Community health centers, Fluoride, Infant health, Interviews, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Regional programs, Service integration, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This oral health needs and capacity assessment is intended for community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration (RoMoNOH) project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. It provides RoMoNOH with information about the CHC site, providers, and population served. Both the needs assessment and the capacity assessment sections include questions for CHC staff to answer to help RoMoNOH determine which model of oral health care integration best meets each CHC’s needs and its capacity to participate in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Prevention, Screening, Trends, Vaccines, Virus diseases, Women', Young adults, s health

Annotation: This report examines federal funding sources and current federal funding for families with pregnant women and/or children to the third birthday (i.e., prenatal to three). Topics include income supports, nutrition, housing, family support services, child care, and child welfare services. It concludes with a discussion of how current federal funding can serve as a building block for state and community actions to improve healthy trajectories and reduce disparities.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: These tip sheets for pregnant women and families provide information about how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy and in infancy and early childhood. The pregnancy tip sheet discusses practicing good oral hygiene, eating healthy foods, getting oral health care, and practicing other healthy behaviors. The safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy and coverage through Maryland Medicaid are also discussed. The infant tip sheet discusses how to keep infants and children cavity free. The pregnancy tip sheet is on one side of the page, and the infant tip sheet is on the back of the pregnancy sheet. The tip sheets are available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children

Annotation: This letter for health professionals provides information on best practices for oral health care for pregnant women and their young children. Topics include the importance of oral health care during pregnancy, the impact of tooth decay during pregnancy and early childhood, and helping women with low incomes access oral health care during pregnancy and the postpartum period. Additional topics include delivering oral health messages during pregnancy, implementing oral health interventions as part of well-child care, and providing comprehensive oral health care during pregnancy and beginning at age 1.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Infants, Low income groups, Models, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women provides information about oral health care during and after pregnancy and throughout life. It also offers information about tooth decay and steps that women can take to protect their infant’s oral health. Topics include the safety and importance of oral health care during pregnancy, obtaining oral examinations early, and taking care of oral health at home. Information about accessing oral health care is also included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This handout provides information about services offered by Children’s Dental Services (CDS), a program that offers full-spectrum preventive and restorative oral health care to families at Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) centers and 500 other locations across Minnesota. The handout also discusses why oral health care during infancy, early childhood, and pregnancy is important and the safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Families, Health insurance, Infants, Low income groups, Minnesota, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, WIC program, Young children

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This series of handouts for pregnant women and parents of infants and young children provides simple tips on nutrition and oral health issues. Topics include brushing a young child’s teeth, choosing healthy drinks, encouraging children to drink water with fluoride, giving children healthy snacks, taking care of oral health for pregnant women, and taking care of an infant’s oral health. The series is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Washington, DC Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Infants, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Early Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include demographics, screenings, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations and mental health interventions, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal programs, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Pregnant women, Statistics, Young children

Annotation: This series of cards provides oral health messages for health professionals to share with clients and their families. Each card addresses a specific population (pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, adults, and older adults) and is accompanied by a brochure listing messages and resources. The cards and brochures are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include screenings, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations and mental health interventions, racial/ethnic and linguistic diversity, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Families, Farm workers, Federal programs, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Migrants, Pregnant women, Statistics, Young children

Annotation: This series of 12 educational brochures sequentially focus on the needs of new and expectant mothers and infants and children from birth through age five. Topics are based on national Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) standards and include reading readiness, childhood obesity prevention, food and nutrition, behavior and developmental skills, and communication and language acquisition.

Contact: Crabtree + Company, help me be healthy, 200 Park Avenue, Falls Church, VA 22046, Telephone: (888) 531-9001, ext. 102 Fax: (703) 241-9060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://helpmebehealthy.net $.95 each (mother series), $.40 each (infant series), $.35 each (child series) plus $30 per 1,000 copies for shipping and handling; the brochures are available throughout the year for purchase and can also be purchased at a significantly reduced cost during spring and fall co-ops..

• Link

Keywords: Communication skills, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infants, Language development, Low literacy materials, Mothers, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Reading, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This brief presents five case studies of women, young adults, and families, including those raising children and youth with special health care needs (CYSCHN), about enrolling in and receiving care through the Affordable Care Act (ACA) health insurance coverage. The contents illustrate some of the benefits of the ACA's new coverage options for women and families with CYSCHN and challenges that remain in closing gaps in care and ensuring appropriate coverage for vulnerable populations. Topics include ACA provider networks, autism treatment coverage; and coverage for Native Americans; immigrant and refugee women, and young adult women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Case studies, Children with special health care needs, Family centered care, Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Immigrants, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Refugees, Women, Young adults