Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These resources for the public and policymakers provide evidence-based information and tools to promote and protect access to community water fluoridation and other preventive strategies. Contents include a primer on the fluoride debate, answers to fluoridation questions, tools for sustaining or initiating fluoridation in a community, materials to give decision-makers, public education materials, and presentations. Topics include children's oral health and fluoride, communities supporting fluoride, facts about fluoride, fluoride and public health, fluoride in the news, fluoride and access to care, partners, and what the experts say about fluoride. Infographics, posters, and videos are included. Many resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Community health services, Fluorides, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaign materials, Public health infrastructure, Spanish language materials, Water

Annotation: This guide is designed to help communities prevent dental caries and obesity by promoting drinking water as an alternative to sugar- sweetened beverages. Contents include strategies for building a team and defining and spreading the message in child care facilities, clinics, parks, schools, and other community-based settings. A two-page fact sheet is also available.

Contact: National Drinking Water Alliance, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 6701 San Pablo Avenue, Second Floor, Oakland, CA 94608-1239, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.drinkingwateralliance.org Available from the website.

• Toolkit And Fact Sheet

Keywords: Communities, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Multimedia, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Water

Annotation: This video explains why adding fluoride to community water systems is safe and effective at preventing tooth decay. The video features commentary from oral health professionals and pediatric health professionals about the value of community water fluoridation for children and adults.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Community based services, Fluorides, Nutrition, Oral health, Preventive health services, Safety, Water

Annotation: This toolkit presents strategies for implementing community water fluoridation (CWF) or preventing a rollback attempt. Contents include information and resources for assessing community readiness, talking about CWF, finding community champions, talking to policymakers, and addressing opposition to CWF. Links to websites and other resources about fluoridation, sample messages, talking points, a focus group guide, a worksheet for identifying champions, and a sample organizational support letter are provided.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Communities, Community health services, Community participation, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program development, Resources for professionals, Water

Annotation: This report presents key findings from a state- wide oral-health-screening survey of students in third grade in Hawaii. Topics include tooth decay experience, untreated tooth decay, dental seal- ants, need for urgent oral health care, oral health disparities, and community water fluoridation. The report also describes the importance of good oral health and key strategies to improve oral health, including community-based prevention programs, screening and referral services, and restorative oral health care.

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 741-A Sunset Avenue, Room 208, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9022 Fax: (808) 733-9032 Web Site: http://health.hawaii.gov/mchb/home/child-wellness-programs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Hawaii, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Referrals, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statewide planning, Water

Annotation: This fact sheet for oral health professionals and others provides information about fluoride occurring naturally in private wells and groundwater. Content is presented in a question-and-answer format. Topics include how much fluoride is found naturally in drinking water sources, who is responsible for monitoring fluoride found in public water systems and in private drinking water sources, recommended levels for fluoride in drinking water sources, and water-filtration systems that remove or reduce fluoride from drinking water.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Fluorides, Oral health, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Water

Annotation: This report examines current patterns, circumstances, beliefs, and behaviors leading to childhood drowning. Topics include drownings in and around the home, pool drownings, and natural water drownings; preventing drowning in childhood through supervision, swim lessons and water survival skills, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation; pool safety tips for parents; and water recreation public policy. A fact sheet about children and the danger of drowning with information about the problem, parents' misconceptions, water survival skills, and water safety tips is included. Detailed profiles for drownings in and around the home, in pools, and in natural water are availale in the accompanying report, Dangerous Waters: Profiles of Fatal Childhood Drownings in the U.S. 2005–2014.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Beliefs, Child safety, Children, Competence, Drowning, Injury prevention, Life skills, Parenting, Policy development, Public policy, Risk taking, Statistical data, Water safety

Annotation: This report explores national trends and circumstances surrounding fatal drowning in infants and children from birth through age 17 for the period 2005 to 2014. Topics include where children drown and racial disparities in drowning deaths in children. The appendices contain detailed data tables on fatal drownings by state and child drowning in and around the home, in pools, and in natural water. Information about the methodology and data sources is also included.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Drowning, Infant safety, Infants, Injury prevention, Policy development, Public policy, Racial factors, Statistical data, Trends, Water safety

Annotation: These resources are part of a statewide initiative aimed at improving the health and wellness of Louisiana residents. Topics include preventing and controlling oral disease, partnering with community and professional organizations to improve oral health, providing oral health education, promoting community water fluoridation, promoting school-based and school-linked dental sealant programs, and maintaining an oral-health-surveillance system to monitor the burden of oral disease. Contents include data on dental visits by gender, age, race, income, and education; tools for finding oral health care; and oral-health-education resources for adults and older adults, school nurses and teachers, and oral health professionals and non-oral-health professionals.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Dental sealants, Disease management, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health education, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health services delivery, Life course, Louisiana, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Schools, State initiatives, Statistical data, Water

Annotation: This database provides a comprehensive online compilation of court decisions, laws, and policies related to community water fluoridation from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The database has four primary sections: search, case law, state and local action, and federal action. Searches may be conducted using any combination of keyword, content type, and case topic type. Multiple state and content types can be selected and unselected.

• Link

Keywords: Court decisions, Databases, Fluorides, Legislation, Public policy, Water

Annotation: This resource provides information about the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation as a cost-effective method of delivering fluoride to all members of the community. Contents include recently published fact sheets and reports; basic information about fluoride, its benefits, and uses; and safety information. Additional contents include a database (My Water's Fluoride) containing information about fluoride in community drinking water; a training program to help build the capability of state fluoridation programs and support water treatment professionals in developing and refining their operational skills; tools for state dental directors or tribal authorities to enter state fluoridation data and print operational reports; and other resources for state oral health programs and partners.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Databases, Fluorides, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, State programs, Training, Water

Annotation: This report describes recommended U.S. standards related to community water fluoridation. Contents include the rationale, the process, public comments, implementation, and conclusions. The recommendations are based on scientific evidence about the effectiveness of community water fluoridation in the prevention and control of dental caries, fluoride in drinking water as one of several available fluoride sources, trends in the prevalence and severity of dental fluorosis, and evidence on fluid intake of children across various outdoor air temperatures.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Dental caries, Fluorides, Oral health, Preventive health services, Standards, Water

Annotation: This toolkit for advocates provides resources for educating communities about community water fluoridation. Contents include sample blog posts, a memo for newspaper editors, letters to the editor, tips for talking to reporters, remarks to help parents and health professionals talk to city council or local board members, a resolution observing community water fluoridation's 70th anniversary, and social media messages. A user's guide is included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• User's Guide

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Fluorides, Mass media, Oral health, Preventive health services, Social media, Water

Annotation: This brief describes the water-fluoridation process, the public health impact of water fluoridation, and the legal framework governing water fluoridation. Topics include the complementary roles that federal, state, and local governments play in implementing water fluoridation.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health services, Fluorides, Government role, Oral health, Preventive health services, Regulations, Water

Annotation: This report summarizes the Pew Charitable Trusts' efforts to support and strengthen advocacy for community water fluoridation. The report examines the impact that Pew's work has had on advancing community water fluoridation and lessons that have emerged from Pew's experiences. Examples from Pew-assisted state campaigns' efforts to initiate water fluoridation or reaffirm its value are included.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Fluorides, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaigns, State initiatives, Water

Annotation: This video provides information about how community water fluoridation (CWF) has benefitted children and adults by preventing tooth decay. Topics include information about the number of people on public water systems in the United States who live in places where their communities have decided to adjust fluoride in the water to the optimal level to prevent dental caries, and federal, professional, and international support for CWF.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Children, Community role, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Oral health, Preventive health services, Water

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation (CWF) in preventing tooth decay and its complications in children and adults. Topics include the effectiveness of CWF in reducing disparities and saving costs and the use of fluoride nationally and internationally

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Children, Community role, Cost effectiveness, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public health, Water

Annotation: This data system provides information about the burden of oral disease, use of oral-health-care-delivery systems, and status of community water fluoridation on both a national and state level. The system is designed to track oral health surveillance indicators based on data sources and surveillance capacity available to most states. Indicators include adult dental visits, teeth cleaning, and tooth loss; dental sealants, caries experience, and untreated tooth decay in children; and the percentage of the population served by public water systems who receive fluoridated water.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Dental sealants, Federal initiatives, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health status, Integrated information systems, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State programs, Water

Annotation: This video provides information about the value and safety of community water fluoridation (CWF). Topics include research on fluoridation, what fluoride is, locating reputable sources of information about CWF, the relationship between oral health and overall health, the impact of oral health on learning, fluoride and tooth decay in children, brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, the cost-effectiveness of CWF, and recommendations for CWF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Community action, Consumer education, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Oral health, Preventive health services, Water

Annotation: This video is designed to encourage families to drink water. The video also provides information about avoiding beverages containing sugar to prevent diseases such as diabetes and dental caries.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Center for Vulnerable Populations at San Francisco General Hospital, Department of Medicine, UCSF-SFGH Box 1364, 1001 Potrero Avenue, Building 10, W13, San Francisco, CA 94110, Telephone: (415) 206-5277 Fax: (415) 206-7880 Web Site: http://cvp.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Dental caries, Diabetes, Disease prevention, Families, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Sugar, Water