Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 26 (26 total).

Sanders A with Blum D, Smith V. 1984. The widening gap: The incidence and distribution of infant mortality and low birth weight in the United States 1978-1982. Washington, DC: Food Research and Action Center, 2 v.

Annotation: This study examines the white and black infant mortality rates and low birthweight percentages for state and city infant populations and the changes in those rates over 1978-1982. It examines data from 36 states and 60 cities and urban counties for which the authors had complete infant health data for those years. Volume 1 describes results of the study and volume 2 is a literature review.

Keywords: Blacks, Infant mortality, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, Minority groups, Newborn infants, Vital statistics, Whites

National Center for Health Statistics. 1983-2003. International health data reference guide. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, biennial.

Annotation: This document provides information on the availability of selected national vital, hospital, health manpower resources, and population-based health survey statistics for forty-four nations. A profile of each survey is included, citing the title, responsible agency, objective, scope, collection method, data content, frequency and availability of data. Also included is a matrix of the data variables from the surveys. The main purpose of the guide is to provide information not readily available in published form. A secondary purpose is to support the World Health Organization's goal of developing a common basis for international data comparison.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (301) 436-7039 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available in libraries. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 96-1007.

Keywords: Directories, Health personnel, Health statistics, Hospitals, Vital statistics

U.S. Bureau of the Census. 1975. Historical statistics of the United States: Colonial times to 1970—Bicentennial edition. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 2 v.

Annotation: This publication includes vital, economic, demographic, and social statistics from colonial times to 1970. The introduction discusses the origins of statistical data and how that information was provided in previous editions of this series. Chapters focus on specific topics and an index is provided in each volume. The appendix defines the contributors to the edition and there is a time period index.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: GPO 003-024-00120-9.

Keywords: Statistical reference sources, Statistics, Vital statistics

National Center for Health Statistics. 1969. Vital statistics of the United States, 19__. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, annual.

Annotation: This statistical summary, produced annually since 1945, provides information on mortality and life expectancy for the U.S. population. It includes a brief history of the production, collection, and preparation of the tables; provides statistics by age, race, and sex; and contains explanatory text for the data found in the tables.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $50.00, Vol. II, Mortality, Part A , 1991 shipping and handling included; prepayment required. .

Keywords: Demographics, Life expectancy, Mortality, Statistics, Vital statistics

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service. 1964. Proceedings of the tenth national meeting of the public health conference on records and statistics . Washington, D.C.: , 148 pp. (PHCRS Document No. 595)

Annotation: These proceedings include papers and discussions presented at the Tenth National Meeting of the Public Health Conference on Records and Statistics, Washington, D.C. June 15-19, 1964, sponsored by the National Center for Health Statistics. Meeting session and workshop reports address various aspects of vital records and public health statistics

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Federal initiatives , Health statistics, Meetings, Public health, Vital statistics

Emerson H. 1949. Selected papers of Haven Emerson Published on the occasion of his seventy-fifth birthday, 19 October 1949. Battle Creek, MI: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, 507 pp.

« Previous Page    

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.