Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides PRAMS data for 2012–2014 and 2015 in Virginia. It presents data for teeth cleaning before and during pregnancy, oral health care during pregnancy, and barriers to oral health care for Virginia as well as for 34 PRAMS sites for 2015. The report includes graphics illustrating core and standard question data and proposes four public-health-action items.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public health, State information, Virginia

Annotation: This brief provides information on the oral health status of children in third grade in West Virginia compared to children in third grade across the country. Data is from the West Virginia Oral Health Survey, 2017–2018 and from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, 2014–2017. Topics include tooth prevalence of tooth decay and of untreated tooth and prevalence of receipt of dental sealants. Information on oral health disparities as they related to these two topics is also provided.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 350 Capitol Street, Room 427, Charleston, WV 25301, Telephone: (304) 558-5388 Web Site: https://dhhr.wv.gov/oralhealth/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, Oral health equity, School age children, State information, Surveys, West Virginia

Annotation: These posters were presented at the 2018 annual SPHARC (State Public Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange. 9 states discuss issues in telehealth, including their strengths, challenges, and strategies in their efforts to supply telehealth to their constituents. Each state panel is also given the opportunity to express an interesting fact about their state and what they hope to gain during this meeting.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Title V programs, CSHCN programs, Wisconsin, Washington, Virginia, Texas, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Iowa, Delaware, Children', s health

Annotation: This report discusses the role of Medicaid managed care in serving children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN), highlighting the fact that over 40 states now enroll at least some CYSHCN in managed care plans as they seek to control costs and improve care quality. The document examines how four states (Texas, Virginia, Michigan, and Maryland) use specific contract language and management strategies to ensure managed care organizations (MCOs) effectively serve CYSHCN populations. Also discussed are key provisions around identification/assessment, access to care, medical homes, care coordination, and quality assurance, with detailed examples from each state's contracts. The document emphasizes that both strong contract language and active contract management are essential for ensuring MCOs meet the unique needs of CYSHCN, who comprise about 15% of U.S. children and require more frequent provider access, increased hospitalizations, and multiple medications compared to typical children.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, CHSCN programs, Medical home, Medicaid, Managed care, Children', s Health, Regulations, Texas, Maryland, Virginia, Michigan

Annotation: This infographic discusses the lessons learned from the 2018 SPHARC Peer-to-Peer Exchange on using telehealth to connect children and their families, self-advocates, and providers for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and Developmental Disabilities (DD). Discussion points include the advantages of and barriers to telehealth, as well as the need for early and continuous intervention services. Lessons emphasize the importance of meaningful inclusion of self-advocates, addressing the unique challenges of family advocates, and showcasing innovative state grantee solutions. The document concludes with priority action items for states and the need to explore culturally competent care solutions to address the needs of diverse communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Telemedicine, Family support services, Delaware, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin, Maryland, Iowa, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Texas, Virginia

Annotation: This tip sheet provides guidance for health plans on implementing the National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN). It explains that these standards offer a framework for ensuring comprehensive, coordinated, family-centered care, noting that while one in five U.S. children has special health care needs, four out of five CYSHCN families report not receiving care in a well-functioning system. The tip sheet outlines specific ways health plans can use the standards, including developing managed care programs to meet unique needs, coordinating with all entities providing care, improving enrollment and transition processes, and creating appropriate benefit plans. The second page highlights successful implementation examples from Delaware, Massachusetts, and Virginia, and describes available resources for health plans including assessment tools, a NCQA crosswalk, Medicaid managed care contracting tools, and quality measurement resources. The document directs readers to online toolkits and a mobile-friendly site for accessing these materials.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Standards, State CHSCN programs, Delaware, Massachusetts, Virginia, Assessment Tools, Medicaid

Annotation: This presentation reviews eight years of state system-level grantee work through the Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) initiative focused on improving parent-engaged developmental monitoring. It examines how the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP) provided grants to states to strengthen early identification systems for developmental delays and disabilities, including autism. The presentation identifies three key impact points: increased awareness among caregivers and providers about developmental monitoring, activated stakeholders and strengthened partnerships, and formalized developmental monitoring as a priority. It showcases case studies from Massachusetts, Oklahoma, and Virginia demonstrating successful approaches to integrating LTSAE developmental monitoring tools into state systems. Survey results indicate high rates of success, with 94% of grantees meeting their objectives and maintaining sustainable efforts. The presentation concludes by highlighting freely available LTSAE resources that can be integrated into existing early childhood systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Autism, Grants, State CHSCN programs, Case Studies, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, Virginia

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings, conclusions, and recommendations from case reviews of overdose poison deaths among infants, children, and adolescents up to age 17 in Virginia for the five year period between 2009 and 2013. Topics include how overdose is impacting infants and children and their families in Virginia, which children are at risk, where are they at risk, how are they at risk, and what can be done to further promote health and safety in their lives. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, 400 East Jackson Street, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 786-3174 Fax: (804) 371-8595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/medical-examiner Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Child death review, Child safety, Children, Health promotion, High risk groups, Household safety, Infants, Injury prevention, Opiates, Poisoning, Prescription drugs, Virginia

Annotation: This reference manual provides information about operating a dental public health program in Virginia. Topics include patient care, community program operations, dental sealant program operations, professional development, and resources. Contents include agreements, guidelines, plans, procedures, protocols, standards, surveys, trainings, and videos. Some resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Program descriptions, Protocols, Public health dentistry, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Virginia

Annotation: This narrative, is designed to accompany the Virginia Oral Health Report Card, in which oral health indicators are use to track progress over time and determine a grading scale to score the state’s performance on oral relative to the nation as a whole. The narrative highlights successes, inequities, and opportunities for improvement in key areas known to impact oral health and overall health. The narrative provides background about the report card and how it was developed. Indicators related to prevention, coverage, collaboration, and oral health status of children and adults in the state are presented, along with a summary of results.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, Preventive health services, State programs, Statistical data, Virginia

Annotation: These presentation materials describe the mission and vision of Virginia's Center for Family Involvement, which include aiding families in helping their children and adolescents with disabilities to lead the lives that they want. Included is information on how parents and families can become advocates, mentors and leaders in the process, and describes the direct support to families includes peer support, training, and materials provided by the Center. This presentation also discusses the process by which families can be referred into the program, how they get a family navigator, and how data is compiled (includes sample part of form), and how family impact/assessment is done. Also included is a map of Virginia with locations of the Family to Family network and a statistical of family data collected between 2014 - 2016.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: State CSHCN programs, Autism, Data collection, Virginia

Annotation: This document provides information about the costs and benefits of high quality home visiting programs for families with children from birth to age 5 in Virginia. Topics include the impact of home visiting on student performance, family health, and community economic well-being.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Early childhood development, Family health, Financing, Home visiting, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, School readiness, State MCH programs, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This oral health plan provides information about the state of oral health in West Virginia. It presents an overview of the state’s oral disease burden and discusses priority area oral health goals, objectives, and strategies. Goals focus on access to oral health care, oral health education, oral disease prevention, surveillance and evaluation; and infrastructure and strategic partnerships.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 350 Capitol Street, Room 427, Charleston, WV 25301, Telephone: (304) 558-5388 Web Site: https://dhhr.wv.gov/oralhealth/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, State planning, Surveillance, West Virginia

Annotation: This issue brief provides a history and overview of Bright Futures, a national program to promote children's current and future health through a set of guidelines that aim to improve the quality of health promotion and preventive services for children. The brief discusses the role of Bright Futures in the Affordable Care Act, and provides past and present examples of state health agencies' efforts to implement Bright Futures. Topics include initiation and funding, activities, and lessons learned in Illinois, New York, Virginia, and Washington. Brief descriptions of efforts in Maine, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Oregon are also included, as well as recommendations for states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Health care reform, Health promotion, Illinois, Infants, National programs, New York, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State agencies, Virginia, Washington

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of what research shows about the links between education and health alongside the perspectives of residents of a disadvantaged urban community in Richmond, Virginia.

Contact: Virginia Commonwealth University, Center on Society and Health, 830 East Main Street, Suite 5035, P.O. Box 980212, Richmond, VA 23296-0212, Telephone: (804) 628-2462 Web Site: http://societyhealth.vcu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Data linkage, Education, Health status, Local programs, Minority health, Virginia

Annotation: This fact sheet compares benefits and cost-sharing requirements in separate non-Medicaid Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) and child-only qualified health plans available to families with low and moderate incomes in five geographically representative states -- Colorado, Georgia, Oregon, Texas, and West Virginia -- that enroll all or almost all of CHIP-eligible children in separate programs. Contents include a brief summary of each state's current CHIP eligibility levels for its separate CHIP programs, type of CHIP benefit package, and type of health insurance exchanges. Additional topics include coverage for 28 mandatory and optional service categories defined under the CHIP statute.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Colorado, Comparative analysis, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Georgia, Health care reform, Individualized health plans, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, Texas, West Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document outlines a plan for maternal and child health services and services for children with special health care needs using Title V funds in Virginia. Topics include needs assessment priorities, planned activities, health status and health system capacity indicators, national and state performance measures, and outcome measures.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Office of Family Health Services, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7660 Web Site: http://www.vahealth.org Out of print.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Children, Health status, Infants, Measures, Needs assessment, Outcome and process assessment, Pregnant women, Program management, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Statewide planning, Title V programs, Virginia, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides guidance for navigators, assisters, and others helping individuals enroll in the health insurance marketplace (exchange) in Virginia. Contents include information about dental benefits offered within Virginia's exchange and why dental benefits matter. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish. A companion video is also available.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental insurance, Health care utilization, Infants, Oral health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, State programs, Virginia

Annotation: This report describes a program to prevent oral disease and address barriers to early oral health care for infants and young children from families with low incomes in Roanoke Valley, Virginia, by conducting in-home education and screening, applying fluoride varnish, and providing referrals. The report discusses the program’s goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, outcomes, product dissemination and use, and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Word Document

Keywords: Screening, Access to health care, Community initiatives, Fluorides, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Low income groups, Oral health, Referrals, Virginia, Young children