Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report compares prevalence, access, problem severity, and family impact for rural and urban children with mental health problems, using data from the 2005-06 National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN) and the 2006 Area Resource File. A related research and policy brief is also available.

Contact: Catherine E. Cutler Institute for Child and Family Policy, Edmund S. Muskie School of Public Service, University of Southern Maine, P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104-9300, Telephone: (207) 780-4141 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-4876 Fax: (207) 780-5817 Web Site: http://muskie.usm.maine.edu/schoolreadiness Available from the website.

• Report
• Research And Policy Brief

Keywords: Children, Mental disorders, Mental health, Rural population, Statistics, Urban population

Annotation: This report presents information from a study on pregnancies, births, sexual history and behavior, contraceptive use, non-voluntary sex, and unintended pregnancy among urban American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) women nationwide.

Contact: Urban Indian Health Institute, Seattle Indian Health Board, P.O. Box 3364, Seattle, WA 98114, Telephone: (206) 812-3030 Fax: (206) 812-3044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uihi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Childbirth, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Research, Sexual abuse, Sexual behavior, Sexual intercourse, Unwanted pregnancy, Urban population, Women, Women', s health

Annotation: This report focuses on the health care access and health outcomes of rural residents and farm operator households, in comparison with those of their urban and non-farm counterparts. Topics include profiles of farm and rural populations, health status and health risks, health care access, and implications for research and policy. A summary of the report is available.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Urban population, Access to health care, Farm workers, Health status, Public policy, Research, Rural population

Annotation: This report describes the difficulties faced by children--particularly black and Hispanic children--living in metropolitan areas. The report conclusions are drawn from diversitydata.org, a new Web site profiling U.S. metropolitan areas, which are home to 80 percent of the nation's schools. The report focuses on the 100 metropolitan areas with the largest child populations. The report includes a detailed summary, which discusses background, findings, policy implications, levers for action, and models that work. References are included. The remainder of the report is a chartbook consisting of figures.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Child development, Children, Education, Hispanics, Income factors, Low income groups, Racial factors, Schools, Statistical data, Urban populations

Annotation: This report provides data that compares Medicaid enrollment and expenditures in rural and urban counties by state. It briefly describes other data contained in the state profiles of Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program in rural and urban areas. The report includes summary tables that show the rural-urban variation within each state. Footnotes are included.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research, 725 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, CB# 7590, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 966-5011 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.schsr.unc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Enrollment, Medicaid, Rural populations, State Children', Statistical data, Urban populations, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the seventeenth Annual CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference, Building the Best Environment for Families and Children, held in 2007 in Denver, Colorado. The issue provides information about the conference and describes conference sessions; it also includes articles on health impact assessment: tools for moving toward healthier policies, building the best environments for vulnerable families and children: the post-Katrina story; the 2006-2007 DaTA team graduation; and fostering creativity to reach innovative solutions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Issue
• Resource Info

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health, Infants, Public policy, Urban populations, Vulnerability

Annotation: This chartbook introduces the results from an analysis contrasting young children's care and development in rural and non-rural settings using baselines data from the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study birth and kindergarten cohorts (coordinated studies, one following a nationally representative group of infants through entry into school and the other following a nationally representative group of kindergarteners through elementary school). The report begins with a narrative section that discusses school readiness, utilization of early care and education arrangements, American Indian and Alaska Native young children, and mental health and family life. The main body of the chartbook consists of data tables.

Contact: National Center for Rural Early Childhood Learning Initiatives, Mississippi State University, 46 Blackjack Road, Mailstop 9749, P.O. Box 6013, Mississippi State, MS 39762, Telephone: (662) 325-4836 Fax: (662) 325-5436 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Child care, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Mental health, Rural populations, School readiness, Statistics, Urban populations, Young children

Annotation: This paper uses data from the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study to estimate the effects of poor infant health, pre-pregnancy health conditions of the mother, and the father's health status on health insurance status of urban, mostly unmarried mothers and their 1-year-old children.The paper, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue; provides background; discusses the data, the descriptive analysis, and the modeling strategy; presents multivariate results; and offers a conclusion. References are included. Statistical information is presented in tables at the end of the paper.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Fathers, Health insurance, Single mothers, Uninsured persons, Urban populations, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper uses the latest data from the National Survey of America's Families to explore variations across types of neighborhood environments in the well-being of families and children. The paper discusses analysis methods; cities, suburbs, and nometropolitan areas; neighborhood poverty rates; neighborhood racial and ethnic composition; and neighborhood poverty and race. A summary of findings is included. Much of the information in the paper is presented in tabular form. References and endnotes are included. The paper also includes several appendix tables with statistics from regression models.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Neighborhoods, Poverty, Racial factors, Rural population, Statistical data, Suburban population, Surveys, Urban population

Annotation: This paper sets forth seven steps for practitioners and investors to follow in investing in local community information initiatives and, in turn, close the information gap and accelerate investment in these markets. the paper is divided into the following sections: (1) the state of the field: community-based information strategies today, (2) the promise of effective urban information systems, (3) opportunities to make community information systems effective tools for neighborhood transformation at a national scale, and (4) challenges to investing in effective community-based urban information systems. A conclusion is included.

Contact: Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu/metro.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Information, Information dissemination, Information systems, Local initiatives, Neighborhoods, Underserved communities, Urban population

Annotation: This book, which is intended for students and others involved in public or community health with an interest in learning about a geographic information system (GIS), provides information on how to use a GIS to improve birth outcomes. The book is divided into the following chapters: (1) explaining the geography of infant health, (2) an introduction to GIS (data), (3) an introduction to GIS (spatial), (4) the geography of health risks, (5) GIS and spatial analysis: keeping it simple, (6) advanced spatial analysis, (7) spatial/temporal stability in neighborhoods of risk: the mobility of mothers, (8) patient confidentiality, (9) creating the Baton Rouge Healthy Start GIS, (10) bioterrorism, pregnancy, and old white men, and (11) rural health issues and their investigation in a GIS.

Contact: IRM Press, Idea Group, 701 East Chocoloate Avenue, Suite 200, Hershey, PA 17033-1240, Telephone: (717) 533-8845 Fax: (717) 533-8661 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.irma-international.org/irmpress/index.asp Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-59140-610-2.

Keywords: Communities, Confidentiality, Geographic factors, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Mothers, Pregnancy outcome, Prevention programs, Public health, Rural populations, Urban populations

Annotation: This report provides information about levels of child poverty in the 50 largest cities in the United States, and the factors underlying those rates. The intent of the report is to document the variations in child poverty rates in different cities and the contextual factors associated with outcomes for children and families in different parts of the country. The report also seeks to demonstrate the usefulness of the Census Bureau's American Community Survey for monitoring child well-being in cities and elsewhere. The report, which begins with a summary of findings, discusses the methodology used, presents findings, and offers a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu/metro.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Poverty, Racial factors, Single parents, Surveys, Trends, Urban populations, Working parents

Annotation: This compendium is the first of four issues describing promising practices that City MatCH agencies have employed to improve the health of women in their communities. The issue begins with a description of lessons learned through the process of putting together the compendium, a publication evaluation form, and a CityMatCH publication order form. A table of contents for each of the four issues is then provided, followed by content of the first issue, in which six promising practices are described. For each promising practices, the following questions are answered: (1) what is the promising practice, (2) what are the key strategies and activities of this promising practice, (3) what specific, measurable results have evaluations shown have been achieved, (4) what are the costs associated with this project, (5) what else would you like your colleagues to know about this initiative, (6) what advice do you have for your colleagues wishing to engage in a similar effort, (7) what is the role of the health department in this initiative, and (8) whom can we contact for additional information about this initiative? [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Costs, Initiatives, Urban health, Urban population, Women', s health

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on neighborhood characteristics that influence whether and how much adolescents engage in physical activity, based on data from the 2003 California Health Interview Survey. The brief discusses (1) lower levels of physical activity among urban adolescents and low-income adolescents, and how access to parks helps, (2) adolescent physical activity related to type of housing and access to parks, and (3) relationship between adolescent physical activity and perceptions of neighborhood safety. Conclusions and policy recommendations are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: PB2005-10.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, California, Housing, Low income groups, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Recreational facilities, Recreational safety, Urban population

Annotation: This report presents results of two nationwide surveys. The first is a survey of Medicaid programs regarding telemedicine services, with a specific target of identifying common strategies related to Medicaid reimbursement. The second is a survey of Title V programs in each of the 50 states to ascertain the types of telemedicine services specifically available for children with special health care needs served by Title V. Common themes are abstracted in the report, and state-level detail is provided in tables. A concluding commentary is also included. The report includes two appendices: (1) glossary of telemedicine terms and (2) telemedicine resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Child Health Policy, University of Florida, 1329 SW 16th Street, Room 5130 , Gainesville, FL 32608, Telephone: (352) 265-7220 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (352) 265-7221 Web Site: https://ichp.ufl.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Florida, Health services, Medicaid, Reimbursement, Rural populations, Surveys, Telemedicine, Title V programs, Urban populations

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership conference, For All It's Worth: Leading with Values and Vision, which took place on September 10, 2005, in Forth Worth, TX. The newsletter discusses conference presentations, workshops, and other conference-related topics and activities and includes articles on (1) connecting strategies with maternal and child health vision: the science vs. the practice in perinatal and preconception health and (2) DaTA Institute teams' completion of a yearlong training program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Families, Infant health, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH services, Perinatal health, Preconception health, Texas, Training, Urban populations, Women', s health

Annotation: This report discusses the perception that suburban schools are safer, more orderly, and more wholesome than urban schools. Using data on high school students from the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health, the report looks at rates of sexual activity, pregnancy, smoking, alcohol use, substance abuse, and other types of delinquency in urban schools vs. suburban schools. The report also offers a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in a series of tables grouped together at the end of the report. The report also includes references and endnotes.

Contact: Manhattan Institute for Policy Research, Center for Civic Innovation, 52 Vanderbilt Avenue, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 599-7000 Fax: (212) 599-3494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.manhattan-institute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Delinquency, High schools, Safety, Smoking, Students, Substance abuse, Suburban population, Surveys, Urban population, Urban schools

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to present the collective findings on health disparities between urban and non-urban populations from white papers produced by the states of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The white papers look at barriers that rural residents face in accessing health care services. The report provides a tool to better understand the unique factors that influence health disparities and serves as a starting point for further discussion. Statistical and other information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report includes contact information for agencies in each of the four states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, Barriers, Families, Idaho, Oregon, Rural population, Urban population, Washington

Annotation: This chartbook examines the differences in health care access, use, and expenses between urban and rural areas. Counties are classified along the urban-rural continuum according to whether they are metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) and, if they are not, according to their proximity to an MSA. The chartbook presents data from the Medical Expenditures Panel Survey; the charts indicate similarities and differences between rural and urban places on measure of health care access, use, and expenses. The chartbook is organized into three sections. The first compares people in four categories along the urban-rural continuum (metro, near-metro, near-rural, and rural). the second provides information on insurance access and access to care. The third focuses on variations in use and expenses for ambulatory care, prescription medications, and dental care. An updated edition, covering 2004-2006, was published in 2009.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 04-0050.

• Link
• Updated Edition 2004-2006

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Data, Dental care, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Prescription drugs, Primary care, Rural health, Rural populations, Statistics, Urban health, Urban populations

Annotation: This report provides a review of national data on urban Indians from the U.S. Census and the National Center for Health Statistics, examined from an urban Indian perspective. The purpose of the report is to document the shortcomings of our current understanding of urban Indians (i.e., those living in cities rather than on reservations) and to raise the interest levels of both public and private authorities that strive to help this under-recognized group. In addition to a highlights section, the report includes the following sections: (1) overview and methods, (2) population statistics, (3) maternal and child health and infant mortality, (4) general mortality, (5) summary and recommendations, and (6) references. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the main body of the report and in tables throughout the appendices. Fifteen appendices include information on a variety of topics, including population statistics, income information, educational attainment information, family structure information, employment information, and information on birth, health, and mortality.

Contact: Urban Indian Health Institute, Seattle Indian Health Board, P.O. Box 3364, Seattle, WA 98114, Telephone: (206) 812-3030 Fax: (206) 812-3044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uihi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Urban health, American Indians, Health status, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Mortality, Statistics, Urban population