Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue brief reviews the role of Medicaid in financing and promoting access to family planning services for women with low incomes. Specifically, it examines the extent to which women of reproductive age rely on Medicaid for their care and the special status and range of services covered under the rubric of familly planning; reviews the different approaches and the cost-effectiveness of the 26 state-initiated Medicaid family planning expansions as well as their impact in reducing unintended pregnancies and births, as well as reducing abortions; and highlights recent changes in Medicaid policy, particularly passage of the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and their potential effects on provision of family planning services. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the brief. References are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Costs, Costs, Family planning, Financing, Health care services, Low income groups, Low income groups, Medicaid, State programs, Unplanned pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This document addresses the effectiveness of contraceptives for different methods of use or user ability. It provides advice to family planning programs about how to achieve contraceptive effectiveness through increased access, instruction, combined contraceptive use, and counseling methods.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Fax: (410) 659-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhuccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive use, Family planning education, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This brief report discusses state efforts to help women avoid unintended pregnancy. The report provides background on the problem of unintended pregnancy and explains how states can help women avoid it. The main body of the report consists of tables containing results of state rankings according to progress they made between 1994 and 2001 in the areas of service availability and public funding, as well as state-specific information on pregnancies, their outcomes, and the need for publicly supported contraception services. A discussion of the methodology and sources is provided.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Contraception, Financing, State programs, Statistical data, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This report outlines the history of reproductive choice in the United States and the role abortion plays in women's lives. Topics include contraception, unintended pregnancy, abortion before legalization, a history of legalized abortion, the long-term safety of abortion, lingering disparities in access to and utilization of abortion services, and recommendations for policies and programs. Additional information and examples are provided from international sources. Appendices include an overview of state policies on abortion and state abortion data. References are provided and statistical data are provided throughout the report.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Family planning, National survey, Policy analysis, Pregnant women, Public policy, Reproductive rights, State surveys, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This report looks at expanding Medicaid eligibility to address to problem of unintended pregnancy among low-income women in the United States and to provide these women with coverage for the contraceptive services and supplies needed to avoid unintended pregnancy. The report, which includes an executive summary, also contains an introduction, a methodological overview, key findings, and a discussion. The report includes one appendix, which contains detailed methodology and tables. Additional statistical information is presented in tables at the end of the report.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Childbirth, Contraceptive services, Costs, Eligibility, Family planning, Low income groups, Medicaid, Pregnancy, Prevention, Unplanned pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This report, which is part of a larger effort by the Guttmacher Institute, examines the potential impact of increased public spending for contraceptive services for low-income women, specifically to estimate the expected impact of expanded funding on the numbers of unintended pregnancies, abortions, and unintended births that would be averted, as well as the cost savings that would be generated. The first component of the effort looked at the potential of various scenarios for expanding Medicaid coverage for contraceptive services. This report looks at the potential impact of expanding funding for Title X of the Public Health Services Act, the only federal program devoted solely to providing publicly supported contraceptive services to women who otherwise would not be able to afford them. The report includes an introduction, methodology, key findings, a discussion, and references. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Childbirth, Contraception, Costs, Family planning, Federal programs, Low income groups, Medicaid, Pregnancy, Public Health Service Act, Research, Title X, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This report examines state perspectives and experiences related to nonmarital birth policy since the passage of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act (PRWORA) of 1996. The report provides information on states' experiences related to the goal of reducing nonmarital births and the factors that helped shape state policies. The first part of the report provides a general overview of what is currently known about state efforts to reduce nonmarital births and the second part of the report provides detailed information about the experiences of a sample of nine states; Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming. Data are presented in graphs, charts, and tables throughout the report. The report provides a conclusion section and a list of references.

Contact: Lewin Group, 3130 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 800, Falls Church, VA 22042, Telephone: (703) 269-5500 Fax: (703) 269-5501 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lewin.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Premarital pregnancy, Single parents, State programs, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This brief highlights the range of factors that lead to positive reproductive health behaviors and improved adolescent reproductive health. Topics include delaying sexual initiation; reducing the frequency of sexual activity; reducing the numbers of sexual partners; increasing overall contraceptive use; and reducing the rate of unintended pregnancies and childbearing; as well as lowering the incidence of sexually transmitted diseases among adolescents. A summary table provides a review of research studies for targeted activities to improve adolescent reproductive health, indicating what works and what doesn't work. The discussion includes HIV and abstinence education programs.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence education, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, Prevention programs, Reproductive health, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This report is intended as a framework for advancing a national dialogue on public health issues of sexuality, sexual health, and responsible sexual behavior. It is based on a series of scientific review papers contributed by experts in relevant fields, on recommendations developed at two national conferences, and on extensive review and comment as the document was being prepared. Topics include: the public health problem, the public health approach, risk and protective factors for sexual health, evidence based intervention models, and a vision for the future. A description of the methodology used to produce the report and a list of references are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: GPO 2001-491-194/41008.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Intervention, Pregnancy, Public health, Reproductive health, Responsibility, Risk factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This report addresses strategic planning goals and objectives relating to issues in reproductive health. These goals are as follows: (1) pursue research leading to improved outcomes of assisted reproductive technologies (ART); (2) use genetic advances to identify factors leading to infertility; (3) use genetic advances to identify novel contraceptive leads; (4) increase efforts to develop acceptable male contraceptives; (5) identify new treatments for common reproductive problems; (6) conduct research on male reproductive behaviors; (7) identify new strategies for improving contraceptive use; (8) study the behavioral factors relating to infertility, the use of infertility services, the ethics of infertility treatment, and the status of children born as a result of ART; and (9) increase knowledge about healthy sexuality. Objectives include reducing the incidence of unwanted pregnancy; progressing toward desired levels of fertility; and reducing morbidity from diseases and disorders of the reproductive system. Additional information is provided on training and education, and a roster of the strategic plan working group members is included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Genetic services, Health services, Infertility, Reproductive health, Reproductive technologies, Sexuality, Strategic plans, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This report provides a review of the literature on factors contributing to unintended pregnancies and sexually transmitted infections among adolescents and young adults in the United States. Section topics include prevalence and trends of adolescent sexual activity; study methodology; individual and family factors; peer perceptions; partner characteristics; school, neighborhood, and community environments; and societal/policy influences. Extensive references, and a summary table reviewing the research literature and implications for targeted activities to improve adolescent reproductive health conclude the report.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org $20.00, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Family planning, Reproductive health, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This is a summary of a paper written to highlight policy and program areas needing to be addressed to ensure the continuous improvement of health care and services related to perinatal and women's health over the coming decade. This paper discusses predictors and consequences of unintended pregnancy, contraception, pregnancy planning services, abortion, policy and practice issues, and needed research. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Abortion, Contraception, Intervention, Policy development, Program development, Unplanned pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This summary report gives information on two workshops held by the National Association of County and City Health Officials in 1996. The purpose of the workshops was to share information about the extent of unintended pregnancies, to identify elements of constructive dialog and methods of communication, to find common ground among a diverse group of representatives of local health officials, and to develop common strategies for community action to reduce unintended pregnancies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Local health departments, Policy development, Public policy, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This report discusses the role of local health departments in preventing unintended pregnancies. It was written as a response to "The Best Intentions: Unintended Pregnancy and the Well-Being of Children and Families, " a study produced in 1995 by the Institute of Medicine, Division of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Committee on Unintended Pregnancy. This report summarizes the recommendations and elaborates on how local health departments can: (1) improve knowledge about contraception and reproductive health; (2) increase access to contraception; (3) address the roles that feelings, attitudes, and motivation have upon contraception and avoiding unintended pregnancy; (4) develop and evaluate local programs; and (5) stimulate research on developing new contraceptive methods, organizing contraceptive services, and understanding the determinants and antecedents of unintended pregnancies. The draft of this publication was called "The Best Intentions: Unintended Pregnancy and the Well-being of Children and Families—The Role of Local Health Departments. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Local health departments, Policy development, Public policy, Reproductive health, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This book addresses the current views and beliefs about adolescent pregnancy that influence social policy and political attitudes. The author presents the historical context of adolescent pregnancy and parenthood, and traces how attitudes about and approaches to dealing with these issues have changed. Quotes from the mothers involved illustrate the discussions of why adolescents get pregnant, how it affects the lives and future prospects of the adolescents and those of their babies, how sex education affects their behavior, and the impact of their socioeconomic status and upbringing on their goals and behavior.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-21702-0 .

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent employment, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Child welfare, Consent, Demography, Educational attainment, Family income, Marital status, Maternal age, Policy development, Pregnant adolescents, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social conditions, Social policy, Social values, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This report contains an introductory chapter which discusses trends, a demographic analysis of nonmarital childbearing, and expert papers on various aspects of the subject. The introductory chapter, Nonmarital Childbearing in the United States, by Kristin A. Moore provides information on four main topics relating to out-of-wedlock childbearing: current trends, societal consequences, causes, and efforts to prevent pregnancy or childbearing among unmarried persons or to resolve the negative implications associated with parenthood outside of marriage. The demographics provide detailed statistics on trends, causal factors, efforts to effect societal change, financial implications, and international comparisons. The executive summary is available separately; it describes the contents and provides an overview of the full report, and it contains the introductory chapter from the full report.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $20.00 (includes shipping and handling); price unknown for executive summary, available from National Center for Health Statistics, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 6525 Belcrest Road, Hyattsville, MD 20782. Telephone: (301) 436-8500. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-048332-8; DHHS (PHS) 95-1257-1 (executive summary).

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Childbirth, Data, Family characteristics, Marital status, Policy development, Prevention, Program development, Single parents, Unplanned pregnancy, Women

Annotation: This book reports on a study that explored the relationship of unintended pregnancy in the United States to the health and well-being of children and families, and makes recommendations for policy, practice, and research. The report discusses (1) demography and consequences of unintended pregnancy, (2) patterns of contraceptive use, (3) contraceptive knowledge and access, (4) personal and interpersonal determinants of contraceptive use, (5) socioeconomic and cultural influences on contraceptive use, and (6) programs to reduce unintended pregnancy.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH128 (report), MCHH129 (executive summary).

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Public policy, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This book is an account of the social, economic, and psychological consequences of adolescent motherhood, based on the experiences of a group of young women from pregnancy through the first five years of parenthood. Adolescent mothers, the fathers of their children, their mothers, their children five years after birth, and a comparable group of their classmates who did not become pregnant in adolescence were interviewed. The book addresses questions of the relationship between adolescent pregnancy and various patterns of sex education, relations with parents, educational achievement, financial condition, work goals, what social agencies do for adolescent mothers, what they should be doing, experiences of young mothers who married their child's father vs. those who stayed single or married someone else, and how well-adjusted the offspring of adolescent mothers are compared with other children.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Interviews, Parent child relations, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy