Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (268 total).

Bachrach D, Dutton M. 2013. Connecting consumers to coverage: Foundations learn from the past and look to the future. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents findings on public health insurance eligibility and enrollment improvement efforts, past foundation investments, and current and historic efforts to streamline eligibility and enrollment processes. Topics include characteristics of an effective eligibility and enrollment process, the mandates and investments under federal health reform intended to improve the consumer experience of applying for or renewing publicly subsidized health insurance coverage, how foundations have supported improvements in the eligibility and enrollment processes for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program in the past and lessons learned from these efforts, and potential foundation investment priorities to ensure full use of the coverage continuum.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community participation, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foundations, Health care reform, Health insurance, Outreach, Uninsured persons

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2012. Health coverage of children: The role of Medicaid and CHIP [upd. ed.]. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 2 pp. (Key facts)

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes the latest coverage data on the nation's children and examines the key role played by two public health coverage programs, Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Children', Health care financing, Medicaid, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

National Association of Community Health Centers. 2012. Health wanted: The state of unmet need for primary health care in America. Bethesda, MD: National Association of Community Health Centers, 37 pp.

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the unmet need for primary health care in the United States, discusses why this need exists, contributing factors, and costs and consequences. The report presents community health centers as a solution to this problem and discusses identifying primary care needs, how health centers can meet these needs, the trend toward health centers filling the primary health care gap, and what still needs to be done.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health centers, Community health services, Costs, Culturally competent services, Geographic factors, Cultural factors, High risk groups, Immigrants, Income factors, Low income groups, Poverty, Primary care, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2012. Children's health insurance: Opportunities exist for improved access to affordable insurance. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 40 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about how the 2010 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) will affect the extent to which (1) uninsured children with be eligible for Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), or the premium tax credit under ACA; and (2) children will experience a change in eligibility among Medicaid, CHIP, and the premium tax credit under ACA because of income changes. The report also includes information on Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services steps thus far to help states enroll children and related state challenges.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-12-648.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Income factors, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Research, State programs, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Citizens' Committee for Children of New York. 2012. New York City's children and mental health: Prevalence and gap analysis of treatment slot capacity. New York, NY: Citizens' Committee for Children of New York, 29 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from a study to assess the gap between the need for mental health treatment slots and the number of treatment slots available for children and adolescents throughout New York City. The report discusses the methodology and presents key findings on child and adolescent mental health needs in the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island and key findings on capacity and gap analysis. Appendix G of the report, a PowerPoint presentation, is presented in a separate document.

Contact: Citizens' Committee for Children of New York, 105 East 22nd Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 673-1800 Fax: (212) 979-5063 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cccnewyork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Behavior problems, Child mental health, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health insurance, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid, Mental health problems, New York, Research, Statistical data, Treatment, Uninsured persons

Meyer BD, Wherry LR. 2012. Saving teens: Using a policy discontinuity to estimate the effects of Medicaid eligibility. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 36 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 18309)

Annotation: This paper uses a policy discontinuity to identify immediate and long-term effects of public health insurance coverage during childhood. The identification strategy employed exploited a unique feature of several early Medicaid expansions that extended eligibility only to children born after September 30, 1983. The authors examined changes in mortality rates by underlying causes of death, distinguishing between deaths due to internal and external causes. They also examined outcomes separately for black children and white children. Topics include the discontinuity in eligibility, research designs, outcomes and data, mortality results, and interpreting the estimates.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Children, Eligibility, Health insurance, Medicaid, Mortality, Public policy, Research, Statistical data, Trends, Uninsured persons, Whites

State Health Access Data Assistance Center. 2012. Keeping kids covered: Number of children with health coverage increases during economic downturn—A state-by-state analysis. Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report analyzes recent trends in health insurance coverage for children at the state level between 2008 and 2010, including those enrolled in Medicaid or the state Children's Health Insurance Programs.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Health insurance, Medicaid, State surveys, Statistical data, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Flores G. 2012. Community health workers, promotores, and parent workers: Innovative, community-based approaches to improving the health and healthcare of children. Washington, DC: First Focus, 9 pp. (Big ideas: Children in the Southwest)

Annotation: This paper examines how community health workers (CHWs), promotores, and parent mentors can be used to improve the health of children in the Southwest, as well as the health care available to them. The paper provides definitions of CHWs, promotores, and parent mentors and discusses a conceptual framework for providing an understanding of how they can improve children's health and health care; evidence of effectiveness and cost-effectiveness; existing programs; and implications for policy, practice, and research.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child abuse, Child health, Community health workers, Community heath services, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health services, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Low income groups, Low income groups, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Research, Southwestern United States, Uninsured persons

Murphey D, Cooper M, Moore KA. 2012. Children with disabilities: State-level data from the American Community Survey. Washington, DC: Child Trends, 3 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This research brief presents data for the United States as a whole and for all states on the number and percentage of children (from birth through age 17) with at least one disability. In addition to providing data in tabular form on the number and percentage of children with a disability, the percentage in poverty, the percentage with any health insurance, and the percentage with public health insurance, the brief presents an overview, discusses trends, and provides information about the data used.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health insurance, Poverty, States, Statistical data, Trends, Uninsured persons

Kenney GM, Lynch V, Huntress M, Haley J, Anderson N. 2012. Medicaid/CHIP participation among children and parents: Timely analysis of immediate health policy issues. Princeton NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 15 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief extends other research that has assessed children's and adults' participation in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). The brief presents estimates for children and assesses how they vary across states and across subgroups of children; examines how participation, eligibility, and uninsurance changed among children between 2008 and 2010 and assesses the number of uninsured children eligible for CHIP who are not enrolled; and examines participation rates among children and parents at the national and state levels, including how children's and parents' participation are related across states.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Children, Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, National Programs, Parents, Public policy, Research, State programs, Statistical data, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2012. Medicaid and CHIP: Considerations for express lane eligibility. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the usefulness of Express Lane Eligibility (ELE) to help Congress determine whether to authorize the program beyond September 30,2013, when authorization of the program is currently set to expire. ELE allows states to determine children's eligibility for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program by using certain information, such as information from other public-assistance programs that enroll children. The report, which also provides background information, compiles some key considerations related to the availability of ELE beyond September 30, 2013.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-13-178R.

Keywords: Availability, Child health, Children', Eligibility, Federal programs, Low income groups, Medicaid, State programs, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2011. Women's health insurance coverage. Washington, DC: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2 pp. (Women's health policy facts)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides updated statistics on health coverage and describes the major sources of health insurance for non-elderly adult women ages 18–64, including employer-sponsored coverage, Medicaid, individually purchased insurance, and Medicare. It also provides data on the more than 19 million women who are uninsured, and summarizes the major implications of the health reform law for women and their health coverage.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Washington, DC Office/Public Affairs Center, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.kff.org/about/bjcc/bjcc_floor.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Medicaid, Public policy, Uninsured persons, Women

Kinney ML. 2011. Starting points for Idaho youth. Boise, ID: Mountain States Group, 20 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Tomorrows project in Idaho from March 2006 through February 2011. The project focused on reaching and enrolling low-income, uninsured youth, ages 13 to 19 years, into Idaho's children's health insurance programs. The report contains the project's abstract and a summary of activities; descriptions of the project's purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes. Additional information is provided on publications and products delivered during the project, and the dissemination and utilization of results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal MCH programs, Final reports, Health insurance, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Idaho, Low income groups, State programs, Uninsured persons

Grantmakers In Health. 2011. Covering children under the Affordable Care Act: Minding the gaps. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 2 pp. (Issue focus)

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on the issue of which children will be covered under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and which are vulnerable to being excluded. The paper presents the components of the ACA that are likely to affect coverage for children and discusses employer-sponsored insurance, eligibility variations within families, and children in split families. The federal-state implementation project is also discussed.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Families, Federal legislation, Health insurance, State programs, Uninsured persons

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and National Academy for State Health Policy. 2011. Maximizing enrollment: Streamlining enrollment in health coverage programs. [Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy], 1 video (6 min.).

Annotation: This webcast provides information about the Maximizing Enrollment program in Louisiana. Maximizing Enrollment is an initiative of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation that seeks to help Louisiana and seven other states enroll more eligible children in government health insurance programs. The webcast discusses how the program works and the needs of Louisiana families and provides the perspectives of parents whose children are enrolled in Medicaid.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Enrollment, Families, Louisiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Poverty, State Children', State programs, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Lake Research Partners. 2011. Informing CHIP and Medicaid outreach and education. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes background, methodology, and findings from a survey completed in June 2011 for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid. Findings are divided into the following categories: demographic and coverage profiles, currently uninsured children, awareness and impressions of Medicaid and he Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), barriers to enrollment, motivating reasons to enroll, preferred enrollment methods, the messenger and the medium, and experiences with Medicaid or CHIP. The purpose of the survey was to inform policy, outreach, and education related to CHIP and Medicaid

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Education, Enrollment, Low income groups, Outreach, Public policy, Research, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Holahan J, Chen V. 2011. Changes in health insurance coverage in the great recession, 2007-2010. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 19 pp.

Annotation: This paper summarizes the changes in health insurance coverage in 2010 that were reported by the Bureau of Census on September 13, 2011. The analysis focuses on infants, children, adolescents, and adults up to age 65. The paper first reviews changes over the past year and then briefly reviews changes in economic conditions and in health insurance coverage over the past decade. Finally, the paper focuses on changes in coverage that have occurred during the recent economic recession (2007-2010).

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Costs, Economic factors, Health insurance, Medicaid, Trends, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2010. Five basic facts on the uninsured. [Rev. ed.]. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief discusses five basic facts on the uninsured to help explain why so many people in the United States lack health insurance and how this affects their health and security. Facts include information on income levels of the uninsured, employment status, Medicaid use, who goes without needed care due to cost, and medical bill burdens.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Eligibility, Health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Uninsured persons

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2010. Health reform and communities of color: Implications for racial and ethnic health disparities. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 14 pp. (Facts on health reform)

Annotation: This issue brief examines some of the key provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act to have a significant impact on people of color and also highlights the specific provisions of the proposed legislation that focus on health disparities. Topics include background, expanding health coverage, improving access to care, disparities-specific provisions, and other provisions related to racial and ethnic health disparities.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Health, Health care disparities, Health care reform, Health insurance, Legislation, Minority groups, Racial factors, Statistical data, Uninsured persons

Bernstein J, Chollet D, Peterson S. 2010. How does insurance coverage improve health outcomes?. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research, 5 pp. (Reforming health care: Issue brief, April 2010, no. 1)

Annotation: This brief looks at how insurance improves health outcomes by helping people obtain preventive and screening services, prescription drug benefits, and mental health and other services, as well as by improving continuity of care. Topics include health outcomes of the insured vs. the uninsured, the effects of lack of insurance, the importance of coverage features, and considerations for policymakers. The brief is the first in a series that highlights issues related to health care reform that policymakers may want to consider as they implement the federal health reform law.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com

Keywords: Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Mental health, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Public policy, Screening, Uninsured persons

« Previous Page