Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This publication provides sample language and ideas for evidence-based solutions and information on alternative measures that may be more effective than suspension and expulsion at addressing student tobacco use and nicotine addiction as part of a school’s Commercial Tobacco-Free Policy. It explains why nicotine is particularly harmful to adolescents; describes the predatory practices of the tobacco industry, and points to effective solutions to school policy violations focus on helping youth succeed. Tobacco use disparities and implicit bias in the administration of penalties are also addressed.

Contact: Public Health Law Center, Mitchell Hamline School of Law , University of Minnesota , 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Fax: (651) 290-7515 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, School based programs, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report describes trends in tobacco use and the toll of tobacco use on the health and well-being of Alaska citizens. Contents include key indicators from state data sources and trends measured from the baseline year of 1996. Topics include cigarette consumption; tobacco-related deaths and economic costs; smoking and smokeless tobacco use among adults; cigarette smoking, cigar use, and smokeless tobacco use among children and adolescents; tobacco use during pregnancy; and secondhand smoke. Information about the Alaska Tobacco Prevention and Control Program, trend tables, and data sources are also included.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, 350 Main Street, Room 404, P.O. Box 110601, Juneau, AK 99811-0601, Telephone: (907) 465-3030 Fax: (907) 465-3068 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Alaska, Children, Data, Environmental exposure, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, State programs, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This document for oral health professionals focuses on screening and counseling for tobacco use and exposure during dental visits. The document explains why addressing tobacco use and exposure is important and provides guidelines for how to screen and provide counseling in 1–3 minutes using the “5As” protocol: ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange. Tobacco and oral health facts are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Health screening, Oral health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This advisory warns of the e-cigarette epidemic among youth. The document explains the different types of e-cigarettes and offers information for parents, teachers, health professionals, and states, communities, tribes, and territories. There are links to relevant studies and publications.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Disease prevention, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behaviors, Tobacco, Young adults

Annotation: This monograph provides information about systematic reviews of the association between tobacco use and oral diseases and potential benefits of tobacco-use cessation on oral health outcomes. For each systematic review, the methodology, results, and a discussion are presented. The monograph also includes policy recommendations related to integrating brief tobacco interventions into oral health programs in primary care.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Public policy, Research, Service integration, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: These fact sheets provide information about keeping infants', children’s, and adolescents’ mouths and teeth healthy at home. One fact sheet focuses on infants and children from birth through age 5, and the other focuses on older children and adolescents. The fact sheets provide information on topics such as oral hygiene, drinking water, consuming healthy foods and drinks; bottle and sippy cup use, mouthguard use during sports, and tobacco use. Each topic is accompanied by a small illustration. Space to write down goals and to indicate level of confidence in ability to achieve these goals is included.

Contact: Nationwide Children's Hospital, 700 Childrens Drive, Columbus, OH 43205, Web Site: https://www.nationwidechildrens.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Mouth guards, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Tobacco use

Annotation: This oral health education curriculum for use with students in grades 6–10 consists of six modules with lesson plans. Modules cover the following topics: keeping the mouth healthy; diet and oral health, oral health and tobacco use, injury prevention, oral fads, and careers in dentistry. Lesson plans include discussion information for the teacher, leading questions for the classroom, activities to assess student knowledge, additional resources, sample pre- and post-tests, and a Powerpoint presentation.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Curricula, Dental caries, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report describes public health priorities with large-scale impact on health, known effective strategies to address them, and progress towards meeting targeted goals. Contents include visual representations of progress and data trends, as well as summaries of federal contributions associated with each of the following topic areas: tobacco; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; food safety; health care-associated infections; motor vehicle injuries; adolescent pregnancy; and HIV.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Final Report
• Progress Reports

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Food safety, Goals, HIV, Health, Infections, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Tobacco use, Treatments, Trends

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This report reviews the history of oral health in Nebraska, compares current disease status with national trends, describes needs and existing resources, and identifies areas of focus for overcoming disparities. Topics include public policy and the oral health work force, improving disease surveillance, increasing access to care, enhancing community-based prevention, and elevating public education and oral health promotion.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community based services, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health status, Life course, Low income groups, Measures, Nebraska, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public health education, State programs, Statewide planning, Tobacco use, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the use and health effects of betel quid, a combination of betel leaf, areca nut, and slaked lime. Topics include betel quid and gutka (betel quid with tobacco) use by men and women and by region. Health issues associated with the use of betel quid and gutka such as precancerous conditions, cancer, reproductive health problems, and nicotine addiction are also discussed.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Drug effects, Nicotine, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Smokeless tobacco, Tobacco use

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #14: Smoking--percent of women who smoke during pregnancy and percent of children who live in households where someone smokes. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use, Women

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Volume two addresses priorities 11-20.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report includes state-by-state youth drug overdose death rates and rankings, and a report card for how well states scored on 10 key indicators of leading evidence-based policies and programs that can improve the wellbeing of children and youth and have been connected with preventing and reducing misuse of alcohol, tobacco or other drugs.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use attitudes, Drug use behavior, Health education, Health policy, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors, Smoking, Tobacco use, Young adults

Annotation: This video describes a statewide program to reduce smoking rates in Minnesota by making it easier for health professionals to refer their clients to tobacco-cessation counseling. Topics include why it is important for oral health professionals to address tobacco use with their clients.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report summarizes a pilot project to reduce tobacco use and improve oral health by training oral health professionals on recommended guidelines for tobacco dependence treatment. Contents include information about the participating dental clinics, reimbursements for clients receiving tobacco dependence interventions, administrative support activities, project outcomes, and next steps. Training pretest, mid, and posttest surveys results; and final report numbers and comments are included.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Forms, Intervention, Michigan, Oral health, Pilot projects, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This handout provides information about the potentially harmful effects of chewing betel nut, including increased risk for cancer and gum disease. The handout addresses risk associated with combining betel nut and tobacco and risks for chewing betel nut for pregnant women and children. The handout also includes information about the importance of talking with a doctor and dentist about betel nut use and early cancer detection and provides phone numbers for information about oral health care in North Carolina. The handout is available in English, Burmese, and Karen.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Contact Phone: (919) 245-2387 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.orangecountync.gov/204/Health-Department Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cancer, Children, Early intervention, Gingivitis, Non English language materials, North Carolina, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Substance use, Tobacco use

Annotation: This supplemental toolkit provides information and guidance for healthcare professionals who want to provide evidence-based interventions and treatment for tobacco cessation to pregnant and postpartum populations. The toolkit is designed to work in conjunction with Dimensions: Tobacco free toolkit for healthcare providers, which contains information about assessment, skill building, and interventions to provide support and resources around tobacco cessation.

Contact: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus , Behavioral Health and Wellness Program , 1890 N. Revere Court , Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (303) 724-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: www.bhwellness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Postpartum care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use