Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This summary describes a symposium that highlighted the career of Alice M. Horowitz and her contributions to the emergence and growth of oral health as a focus in the health literacy field and to charting a course for continued action. The summary includes symposium objectives and descriptions of presentations and breakout sessions.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Collaboration, Contraception, Health care delivery, Learning, Medicaid, Meetings, Models, National initiatives, Peer groups, Policy development, Pregnancy prevention, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program planning, Reimbursement, State programs, Statewide planning, Teamwork, Tobacco cessation

Annotation: This video describes a statewide program to reduce smoking rates in Minnesota by making it easier for health professionals to refer their clients to tobacco-cessation counseling. Topics include why it is important for oral health professionals to address tobacco use with their clients.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report summarizes a pilot project to reduce tobacco use and improve oral health by training oral health professionals on recommended guidelines for tobacco dependence treatment. Contents include information about the participating dental clinics, reimbursements for clients receiving tobacco dependence interventions, administrative support activities, project outcomes, and next steps. Training pretest, mid, and posttest surveys results; and final report numbers and comments are included.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Forms, Intervention, Michigan, Oral health, Pilot projects, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This supplemental toolkit provides information and guidance for healthcare professionals who want to provide evidence-based interventions and treatment for tobacco cessation to pregnant and postpartum populations. The toolkit is designed to work in conjunction with Dimensions: Tobacco free toolkit for healthcare providers, which contains information about assessment, skill building, and interventions to provide support and resources around tobacco cessation.

Contact: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus , Behavioral Health and Wellness Program , 1890 N. Revere Court , Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (303) 724-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: www.bhwellness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Postpartum care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This consumer guide details the effects of smoking including nicotine addiction and serious disease. It also contains facts on the benefits of quitting smoking and free resources that are available to smokers who want to quit. The guide is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Consumer education materials, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This supplement to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report examines the use of selected clinical preventive services for infants, children, and adolescents in the United States. Topics include breastfeeding counseling; screening for hearing loss and provision of follow-up services; screening for developmental delays, lead poisoning, vision impairment, and hypertension; vaccination against human papillomavirus; tobacco use and tobacco cessation counseling and medication; screening for chlamydia infection; and provision of reproductive health services. Additional topics include the potential benefits of selected services, the challenges related to their underuse, and effective collaborative strategies to improve use.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1546-0738.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Breastfeeding, Children, Chlamydia infections, Clinics, Counseling, Developmental screening, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Hearing screening, Human papillomavirus, Hypertension, Infants, Lead poisoning screening, Oral health, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Reproductive health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Vision screening

Annotation: This document describes a program in Massachusetts to provide cessation benefits through Medicaid and its impact on smoking prevalence, hospitalizations, and return on investment. Topics include the health burden and costs of tobacco use, recommended interventions, key features of Massachusetts' cessation program, opportunities to offer cessation benefits to all smokers, and the role of state public health officials in cessation efforts.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Cost effectiveness, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Smoking cessation, State initiatives, Tobacco use, Treatment effectiveness evaluation, Universal health care

Annotation: This toolkit provides information on how oral health professionals can develop a tobacco-cessation-intervention program and outlines key roles for each member of the oral health team. Contents include information about tobacco use and prevalence, risks of tobacco use, secondhand smoke, benefits of cessation, nicotine and the physiology of dependence, tobacco-cessation counseling, pharmacotherapy, insurance coverage and coding, the role of dentists and the dental team, barriers and solutions, and resources.

Contact: Indiana Dental Association, 1319 East Stop 10 Road, Indianapolis, IN 46227, Telephone: (317) 634-2610 Secondary Telephone: (800) 562-5646 Fax: (317) 634-2612 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indental.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Barriers, Counseling, Dental care, Drug dependence, Health insurance, Indiana, Intervention, Nicotine, Oral health, Program development, Reimbursement, Role, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource summarizes the American Dental Association's policy and recommendations related to tobacco use. Topics include tobacco cessation, tobacco and harm reduction, sources of tobacco-use-prevention and -cessation materials, and tobacco-free schools. The list shows the original adoption date for each policy and recommendation, and revision dates as applicable.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Drug addiction, Intervention, Nicotine, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This document explores a coordinated health systems approach to long-term cessation outcomes for women. The issue brief contains eight recommendations; key resources; and examples from states including Alabama, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Utah. Topics include training and technical assistance to health professionals, quitline services, coordinated media campaigns, customized programs, points of intervention, cessation benefits in health plans, service integration, and tobacco-control policies that augment tobacco cessation for women.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use, Women', s health

Annotation: This report focuses on ways that health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people can be improved. The report introduces the issue and discusses how the Affordable Care Act may help improve access to health care for LGBT people, supporting cultural competence initiatives and policy, and reducing tobacco use (which is more common among LGBT people than among non-LGBT people).

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cigarette smoking, Cultural competence, Health care reform, Homosexuality, Initiatives, Legislation, Sexuality, Smoking cessation programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit for dental office staff focuses on integrating the U.S. Public Health Service recommended clinical practice guideline for treating tobacco use and dependence into standard office procedures. Contents include resources for implementing a brief intervention to help individuals who use tobacco quit. Topics include perceived barriers to tobacco treatment; tobacco dependence treatment roles for dental hygienists, dental assistants, and receptionists; medication resource materials for clinicians; consumer-education materials; and clinician reference materials.

Contact: University of Wisconsin, Center for Tobacco Research & Intervention, 1930 Monroe, Suite 200, Madison, WI 53711, Telephone: (608) 262-8673 Fax: (608) 265-3102 Web Site: http://www.ctri.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Drug addiction, Guidelines, Intervention, Model programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report outlines best and promising practices for tobacco use prevention and control for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community using the World Health Organization’s best practices model, MPOWER (Monitor, Protect, Offer, Warn, Enforce, and Raise), which outlines the key steps for effective tobacco control programs and additional letters -- E for Evaluate (and disseminate) and D for Diversify -- to address all of the key challenges that LGBT and overlapping disparity populations face. The target audience for the report includes policy makers, grant makers, grant applicants, and tobacco control program administrations.

Contact: Network for LGBT Health Equity, The Fenway Institute, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 927-6451 E-mail: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com/contact/ Web Site: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention, Program improvement, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit for health care providers, educators, and researchers provides essential components to address smoking cessation and reduction among pregnant and postpartum women. It is divided into sections including: information about smoking and its effects on health, the benefits of quitting smoking, current information about smoking cessation interventions, and options on delivering brief interventions or more intensive counseling to help women quit or reduce smoking.

Contact: Prevention of Gestational and Neonatal Exposure to Tobacco Smoke, Web Site: http://www.pregnets.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Infant health, Passive smoking, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This webinar, which was sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics and held on July 27, 2011, provides information on best practices in adolescent tobacco-use prevention and cessation in clinical and community settings. In addition, presenters provide background about the issue, identify emerging products, and discuss how they affect adolescents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Archived Webinar

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Community programs, Counseling, Marketing, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report summarizes existing evidence-based reviews of the clinical and economic outcomes of population-based smoking cessation strategies in the providence of Ontario, Canada. The report, which was presented to the Ontario Health Technology Advisory Committee, provides a clinical and economic summary of the evidence surrounding nine population-based strategies for smoking cessation: Mass media interventions, telephone counselling, post-secondary smoking cessation programs (colleges/universities), community-wide stop-smoking contests, community interventions, physician advice to quit, nursing interventions for smoking cessation, hospital-based interventions for smoking cessation, and pharmacotherapies for smoking cessation. Included is a detailed description of the evidence-based analysis (including the literature search, outcomes of interest, and the statistical analysis), the results of the analysis, and listings of search strategies, systematic reviews, and meta-analysis used in the report. Thirteen tables summarize data findings.

Contact: Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, M-1B114, Macdonald Block, 900 Bay Street, Toronto, ON M7A1N3, Telephone: (866) 532-3161 Secondary Telephone: (800) 387-5559 Fax: (416) 314-8721 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov.on.ca Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Canada, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Outcome evaluation, Research reviews, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of smoking cessation and answers the following questions: (1) What is tobacco cessation; (2) why is quitting tobacco use so difficult? (3) how effective are cessation services? (4) how do tobacco cessation services compare to other services? (5) what are the benefits of quitting? and (6) are tobacco cessation insurance benefits and services cost effective? The fact sheet compares individual interventions such as counseling and pharmacotherapy with population-based interventions such as clean air laws and excise tax increases. Included are links to additional tobacco-cessation fact sheets.

• PDF

Keywords: Intervention, Model programs, Prevention services, Smoking cessation, State initiatives, Tobacco use

Annotation: This case study describes One Tiny Reason to Quit, a campaign to promote calls to a free, evidence-based, smoking cessation counseling line (1-800-QUIT-NOW) through mass media and face-to-face outreach. Topics include the campaign’s formative research, elements, and process data.

• PDF

Keywords: African Americans, Case studies, Coalitions, Communication, Health disparities, Infant mortality, MCH research, Mass media, Outreach, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Virginia

Annotation: This report provides data on trends in smoking before, during, and after pregnancy and describes characteristics of female smokers in the United States during the period from 2000-2005. The data comes from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) -- the surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments that collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Data from 31 different state PRAM sites -- all of which met the Healthy People 2010 objective of increasing the percentage of pregnant smokers who stop smoking during pregnancy to 30% -- were included in the report. Included are guidelines for states and health care providers to help reduce smoking before, during, and after pregnancy through sustained and comprehensive tobacco control efforts and smoking cessation interventions. Figures illustrate the prevalence of smoking in various states across the country, including breakdowns by maternal race/ethnicity, year, and maternal age. The figures also show how many women relapsed after delivery. Separate tables display state-specific characteristics of the PRAMS survey samples.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Data, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This resource is designed to support comprehensive tobacco use screening and cessation counseling for pregnant and postpartum women, with a focus on women with low incomes, new mothers, and recidivism prevention. Contents include information and resources for pregnant women, mothers, and families on topics such as the benefits of quitting, facts about quitting, plan to quit tobacco, getting support, and providing support. Information and resources for health professionals address topics such as an evidence-based tobacco counseling approach, tobacco facts, documentation forms, billing and reimbursement, patient education, provider education, and standing orders for tobacco cessation counseling. A practice bulletin, research, and reports and guidelines are also provided.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Counseling, High risk mothers, Low income groups, Perinatal health, Postpartum care, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Reproductive health, Screening, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use