Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes data collected by the Texas Department of State Health Services in 2009 during a study of infant sleep practices in the state of Texas. It provides statistics on infant sleep practices based on self-reporting from mothers who participated in the study. Included are statistics on infant sleep surfaces, bed-sharing practices usual sleep position, and knowledge of safe sleep campaigns, Data is presented by race and ethnicity, as well as the age of the mother.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Infant care, Racial factors, Safety, Sleep position, State surveys, Statistical data, Texas

Annotation: This report examines materials from sex education programs used in Texas school districts to describe the state of sexuality education in Texas schools. The mainly abstinence only programs of Texas receive evaluation on terms of accuracy of information, appropriateness of content and effectiveness. The report includes many examples from actual programs.

Contact: Texas Freedom Network, P.O. Box 1624, Austin, TX 78767, Telephone: (512) 322-0545 Fax: (512) 32-0550 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tfn.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Abstinence, Curriculum development, Educational materials, Program evaluation, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Texas

Annotation: This report summarizes the information gathered at a childhood obesity prevention workshop held on February 5-6, 2009, in Austin, Texas. The report describes a variety of efforts highlighted at the workshop aimed at preventing and reversing childhood obesity in Texas and identifies themes that emerged during the workshop discussions, including common attributes of successful programs and barriers that can impede action.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, State initiatives, Texas

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Full Report - Alternate Posting

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia

Annotation: This research brief summarizes the characteristics of shaken baby syndrome (one type of abusive head trauma) and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), discusses prevention of these two syndromes, and provides resources in Texas.

Contact: Kronkosky Charitable Foundation, 112 East Pecan, Suite 830, San Antonio, TX 78205, Web Site: http://kronkosky.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Infant death, Prevention, SIDS, Shaken baby syndrome, State initiatives, Texas

Annotation: This paper uses age-at-school-entry policies to identify the effect of female education on fertility and infant health, using data from California (children must be age 5 by December 1 to enter kindergarten) and Texas (children must be age 5 by September 1 to enter kindergarten). The authors focus on the contrasts in schooling, fertility, and health between women born just before and just after the school entry date. The paper, which includes an abstract, discusses methodology, data and the study sample, and results. A discussion, a conclusion, and references are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables grouped together at the end of the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Education, Fertility, Infant health, MCH research, Texas, Women

Annotation: This report presents data updates to phase I of the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) study in Tarrant County, Texas, which identified the population with excess deaths and the mortality component that is responsible for the highest rates of excess death, and introduces findings from phase II, which explores the reasons behind the excess mortality. It includes regional differences in Tarrant County, Fort Worth, Arlington, and North East Tarrant County. Stratification of data by race/ethnicity is included.

Contact: Tarrant County Public Health, Fort Worth, TX Web Site: http://www.tarrantcounty.com/ehealth/site/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Local surveys, State surveys, Texas

Annotation: This explanation describes the alignment of the MCH Program in the Texas Department of State Health Services) and the state Medicaid program in the Texas Health and Human Services Commission under the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), the umbrella/oversight agency for Texas' health and human services system. This organizational alignment permits the MCH and Medicaid programs to work collaboratively and cooperatively in the absence of formal interagency agreements, on most issues. It also describes instances where agreements become more formalized. I alsot documents the state of Texas (Region Six)'s response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: N/A.

Keywords: Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies, Texas

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start project in Dallas, Texas from 2001-2005 to address racial and ethnic disparities in high infant mortality rates, poor perinatal outcomes, low and very low birth weight babies, and adolescent pregnancy rates. Report contents include an overview of the racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; descriptions of project implementation; project management and governance; accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the local community, the state, the role of local government, and lessons learned; local evaluation; fetal and infant mortality review; and project data. Appendices include the local evaluation report and various data collection and reporting forms used during the course of the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Low birthweight, Prevention programs, Racial factors, Texas

Annotation: This report summarizes an action plan developed by participants in three forums to address the prevalence of oral disease among children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start in Texas. Contents include summaries of the planning process, action plan development, conclusions and next steps, and the budget. Also included are charts presenting action plan items on barriers to access to care and barriers to oral health education and promotion. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early Head Start, Final reports, Head Start, Oral health, State initiatives, Texas, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from the Congressionally mandated evaluation of the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). The study focused mainly on SCHIP programs in California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Louisianna, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, and Texas. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into three main sections: (1) background, (2) findings, and (3) summary. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes references and two appendices: (1) supplemental tables and (2) enabling legislation for the SCHIP evaluation.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Program evaluation, State Children', Texas, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in San Antonio, Texas, from 2001-2004 to eliminate disparities in perinatal health, reduce rates of adolescent pregnancy and infant mortality, focusing on Hispanic American and African American women with socioeconomic risk factors. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project; project implementation and core services and core system building efforts; project management and governance; project accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of local government. Annual local evaluation reports are included along with fetal and infant mortality review information, project products and data. Appendices include samples of project forms, representations of products produced during the project, various reports, checklists, screening tools, policies, organizational charts, and data tables. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Texas

Annotation: This final report describes a 2000-2005 project in the Texas Lower Rio Grande Valley to address and reduce long standing documented multiple disparities in perinatal health service and outcomes for women and their newborns, particularly Hispanic women in the service area. Contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the program; a description of project implementation, management and governance, and accomplishments; and a review of the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of local government. A copy of the local evaluation report is included as well as project data on the project budget, performance measures, participating clients, and services provided. A CD-ROM contains copies of forms, data, and materials produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Access to health care, Final reports, Health care delivery, Healthy Start, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Infant mortality, MCH services, Perinatal health, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Texas, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This report summarizes a Healthy Start program to reduce infant mortality and disparities in healthcare by providing community-based, family-centered prenatal services to women of childbearing age in the Sunnyside, Third and Fifth Ward communities of Houston from 2001-2005. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity in the community; a review of the project implementation, management and governance; accomplishments; and the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, the role of local government, and lessons learned. Additional contents provide a copy of the local evaluation report and the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review. Appendices include samples of project materials and project data tables. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH services, Perinatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Texas

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership conference, For All It's Worth: Leading with Values and Vision, which took place on September 10, 2005, in Forth Worth, TX. The newsletter discusses conference presentations, workshops, and other conference-related topics and activities and includes articles on (1) connecting strategies with maternal and child health vision: the science vs. the practice in perinatal and preconception health and (2) DaTA Institute teams' completion of a yearlong training program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Families, Infant health, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH services, Perinatal health, Preconception health, Texas, Training, Urban populations, Women', s health

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward state public health agencies, highlights the work of five states in which the state health agency is leading a statewide approach to raise awareness of health disparities in their communities and to develop policies and programs to address this issue. The states highlighted are Texas, Minnesota, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Florida. The report contains an executive summary, a section on each of the five states, and a conclusion.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Florida, Health, Low income groups, Minnesota, Minority groups, Public health, Public policy, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State initiatives, State programs, Tennessee, Texas

Annotation: This summary report assesses the state of America's health care safety net, a term that has come to refer broadly to public hospitals, community health centers, public health departments, faith-based clinics, and others who, either by mission or mandate, provide significant amounts of health care to people who are uninsured or underinsured and who cannot cover the costs of care from their own resources. Ten communities across the country were assessed: Memphis, TN; Detroit, MI; Phoenix, AZ; San Diego, CA; Lincoln, NE; Boston, MA; Queens, NY; Fairfax County, VA; San Antonio, TX; and Atlanta, GA. Chapter contents include descriptions of the following from the ten communities studied: structure and financing, availability of services for uninsured and underserved patients, results from focus group meetings with residents in the ten communities, care and use of emergency departments of hospitals in the areas studied, and key findings and strategies for strengthening the safety net. The report also contains an executive summary, end notes, and reports on the assessment including partners and contact information. Separate and detailed reports are provided for each of the ten communities. Statistical information is provided in charts, tables, and graphs throughout the summary and in each individual community report.

Contact: Urgent Matters, 2121 K Street, N. W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-8642 Fax: (202) 973-1150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urgentmatters.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, California, Clinics, Georgia, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health facilities, Health programs, Health services delivery, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Program evaluation, Public health programs, Public hospitals, Tennessee, Texas, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons, Virginia

Annotation: This is one of a series of four reports identifying innovative state efforts to enhance access to care, coverage, and efficiency in health care spending. This report focuses on selected state programs for advanced care and disease management in people with chronic conditions. Each state profile includes the purpose or goal of the program, key participants, a program description, the survey time frame, required legislation or authority, funding mechanisms, efficiencies, and challenges and future plans. States discussed are North Carolina, Colorado, Indiana, Florida, Texas, Washington, Vermont, Kentucky, and New Mexico. Contact information and additional notes are provided.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Cost effectiveness, Fiscal management, Florida, Health care financing, Indiana, Kentucky, New Mexico, North Carolina, Service coordination, State programs, Texas, Vermont, Washington

Annotation: This report assesses the state of the health care safety net in San Antonio, TX, examining issues that shape the health care network available to uninsured and underserved residents. It outlines the structure of the safety net and funding mechanisms that support it, analyzes challenges facing providers of primary and specialty care services, and identifies specific barriers that some populations face in trying to access them. Sections also include results of focus group meetings, emergent and non-emergent care at the University of University Health System Emergency Department, and improving care for uninsured and underserved residents of San Antonio. End notes are provided

Contact: Urgent Matters, 2121 K Street, N. W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-8642 Fax: (202) 973-1150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urgentmatters.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services delivery, Public health infrastructure, Texas, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This final report describes a project to improve access to and utilization of genetic services by Mexican Americans along the U.S.-Mexico border. The report includes an abstract, a discussion of the purpose of the project, the goals and objectives, the methodology, results/outcomes, a discussion, a summary, a list of publications and products, a discussion of dissemination of the results, and a discussion of future plans and follow-up. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. (Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, California, Cultural factors, Final reports, Genetic services, Health care utilization, Immigrants, Language barriers, Low income groups, MCH research, Mexican Americans, Mexicans, Mexico, New Mexico, Texas