Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a multi-year demonstration project to build local health department's (LHD's) technical knowledge and leadership abilities for maternal and child health through blended learning techniques including in-person capacity building trainings and virtual coaching, networking, and peer-to-peer sharing. Contents include information about the project framework and outcomes, participating LHDs, lessons learned, and recommendations for future capacity building projects is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Leadership, Local MCH programs, MCH training, Networking, Organizational change, Peer education, Public health infrastructure, Technical assistance, Work force

Annotation: This brief provides information about the Oral Health Advocacy for Pregnant Women and Children project, a collaboration between Maternal and Child Health Access (MCHA) and the Community Clinics Association of Los Angeles County (CCALAC). Topics include the importance of and need for oral health care during pregnancy, changing dental coverage for women with pregnancy-only Medi-Cal, issues pregnant women face related to obtaining oral health care, issues health professionals face related to providing oral health care to pregnant women, the MCHA and CCALAC partnership, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Access, 1111 West Sixth Street, Fourth Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017-1800, Telephone: (212) 749-4261 Fax: (213) 745-1040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchaccess.org/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, California, Dental care, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health education, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: This collaborative planning tool is designed to help state and local health departments understand and apply adaptive thinking to health care reform with the goal of improving population health. Contents include a series of three guided practices that can be used by an individual or a team. The interactive tool includes prompting questions and sample courses of action, but allows the user to present their own questions and solutions. An introductory video is also available from the website.

Contact: Georgia Health Policy Center, Georgia State University, P.O. Box 3992, Atlanta, GA 30302-3992, Telephone: (404) 413-0314 Fax: (404) 413-0316 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ghpc.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Online Edition Is Free But Requires Registration

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Health care reform, Local government, Policy analysis, Program improvement, Program planning, Research, State health agencies, Technical assistance

Annotation: These resources are designed to help individuals and school communities ensure that 60 minutes of physical activity per day is the norm for students. Topics include what it takes for teachers, administrators, and other school staff to make their school an active school and how parents and community leaders can get involved as champions for an active school. Stories and information about selected programs, resources, professional development, and funding opportunities are available.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: After school programs, Community action, Financing, Health promotion, National initiatives, Physical activity, Physical education, Program development, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: This handbook is designed to help Child and Adult Care Food Program providers create healthier environments for the children in their care. It provides tip sheets for addressing wellness recommendations from federal dietary guidelines and health and safety standards on nutrition, active play, and limiting screen time that describe what programs should do and gives suggested activities. Also included are best practices, promotional materials about the handbook, and additional resources. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care workers, Guidelines, Model programs, Nutrition, Physical activity, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: This brief identifies the states that have awarded assister grants, such as the Navigator program and the In-Person Assister (IPA) program, highlights key differences in how these programs are funded and structured, and discusses some of the challenges these enrollment assisters are facing as they prepare to begin helping consumers.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health insurance, Enrollment, Marketing, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State initiatives, Technical assistance

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a peer learning collaborative to support existing maternal and child health (MCH) training program grantees in their efforts to increase racial and ethnic diversity of trainees and faculty. Contents include a description of the collaborative (eleven teams of program grantees and their institutional or community-based partners); the evaluation methodology; and findings on the overall benefits of the collaborative, challenges, the role of technical assistance, and sustainability. The appendices contain a list of webinars and trainings and the structured interview guide.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, MCH training programs, Mentors, Peer groups, Program evaluation, Technical assistance

Annotation: This tool is designed to help programs assess their current capacity for sustainability across a range of specific organizational and contextual factors. The tool provides questions that programs can answer to help them assess their strengths and challenges and gain insights into how to engage in sustainability planning. Questions are divided into the following categories: political support, funding stability, partnerships, organizational capacity, program evaluation, program adaptation, communications, and strategic planning.

Contact: Washington University in St. Louis, Center for Public Health Systems Science, Campus Box 1009, 700 Rosedale Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63112, Telephone: (314) 935-3365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cphss.wustl.edu/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Sustainability, Technical assistance

Annotation: This technical assistance resource outlines the knowledge, skills, and actions for staff and supervisors working with families in Early Head Start and Head Start (EHS/HS) programs. The document is a tool to assist programs with implementing the Head Start program performance standards and parent, family, and community engagement framework. Topics include family well-being and children's school readiness, prioritizing family services in HS/EHS, professional development strategies, and nine relationship-based competencies that are further defined throughout the document.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Competence, Early Head Start, Families, Head Start, Oral health, Relationships, Resource materials, Technical assistance, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: This manual focuses on developing statewide networks of infant/toddler specialists (ITSNs) who can work directly with the childcare workforce to increase their skills and knowledge. The manual explores the issues that have contributed to the interest in statewide infant/toddler specialist networks; provides a framework for a step-by-step approach to create a network; emphasizes the importance of linking the network to other programs, quality initiatives, and consultant networks; and provides examples and resources for states that are developing, implementing, and evaluating an ITSN. The appendices include examples from state programs in Ohio, North Carolina, and New Jersey, along with a sample ITSN action plan.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Infants, Manuals, Program development, Provider networks, State programs, Technical assistance, Toddlers

Annotation: This webinar focused on the essential prerequisites to developing and implementing a continuous quality improvement (CQI) strategy in home visiting programs. The webinar was held on January 13, 2011, the first in a series of technical assistance webinars. The series is part of the Design Options for Home Visiting Evaluation (DOHVE) project, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which is providing technical assistance to grantees of the federal home visiting program and developing design options for conducting a national evaluation of the federal initiative.

Contact: MDRC, 16 East 34th Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10016-4326, Telephone: (212) 532-3200 Fax: (212) 684-0832 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdrc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Home visiting, Program evaluation, Quality assurance, Research design, Technical assistance

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help mental health consultants work with early childhood programs to evaluate and implement the Teaching Pyramid Model. Contents include materials and strategies to help programs evaluate their progress towards implementing the model and learn more about how adult behavior and the design of the child care classroom environment support the social emotional development of infants and toddlers. The kit contains forms for monitoring the overall prevalence of challenging behavior in an early childhood classroom, collecting information on an individual child's behavior, monitoring the location of challenging behavior in an early childhood classroom, and identifying patterns in child engagement across activities. Reproducible forms, case examples, and sample completed forms are included.

Contact: Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecmhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Child mental health, Consultation, Early childhood education, Emotional development, Forms, Model programs, Social development, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: This website contains materials from a conference call held on February 23, 2011, to provide technical assistance to states on integrating Early Head Start into state early childhood systems. The conference call focused on the Supplemental Information Request (SIR) for the Submission of the Updated State Plan for a State Home Visiting Program (SIR). Topics included an overview of the SIR and the implications for Early Head Start, and home visiting planning processes in states.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal MCH programs, Home visiting, Program planning, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This report describes a survey of community health center dental clinics to assess the need for and efficacy and success of practice-management technical assistance. Contents include a description of the survey methodology, findings relating to safety net dental clinics, and an analysis of the service providers’ technical assistance.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental clinics, Evaluation, Health services delivery, Oral health, Surveys, Technical assistance

Annotation: This report provides information about the Montana ACA [Affordable Care Act] Home Visiting Program. The report provides background on home visiting in the state and discusses the inventory of information and data available for a needs assessment, gaps in available data, state capacity to compile data and anticipated obstacles, barriers to and opportunities for coordination of home visiting needs assessments with other needs assessments, the state approach to conducting a needs assessment, and the anticipated need for technical assistance. A statement of intent is also included.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Home visiting, Montana, Needs assessment, Program coordination, State programs, Statistical data, Technical assistance

Annotation: This brief provides examples of initiatives and strategies implemented by state Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs to ensure strong family participation (FP) within their programs. The brief summarizes how Colorado, Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, and Washington approach FP, including insights, successes, and challenges. Topics include the history of FP, partnerships, strategies to involve and compensate families, training and technical assistance, the value of the CYSHCN performance measure, FP in MCH, pressures on Title V MCH programs, barriers to FP, lessons learned, and future plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Community participation, Employment, Families, Measurement, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This paper focuses on the Technical Assistance (TA) Model for Long-Term System Change, the goal of which is to spur sustainable systems change in state early intervention and preschool special education programs served under the early childhood provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. Topics include conceptual framework, multi-level approach, critical characteristics of the model, components of state plans for long-term systems change, process steps to TA model implementation, evaluation of the model, determining state readiness, quality review of long-term systems-change plans, developing and implementing plans for systems change, i and anticipating results for states.

Contact: Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: 919.966.7463 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ectacenter.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Legislation, Service delivery systems, State programs, Systems development, Technical assistance

Annotation: This paper outlines technical-assistance strategies including conferences, consultants, dissemination of materials, facilitation, formal training, group events, needs assessment, off-site support, and referrals to needed resources. Challenges to evaluating technical assistance, outcomes of technical assistance, using logic models in evaluating technical assistance, and measurement and data collection are discussed. The authors also offer guidelines for improving evaluations of technical-assistance efforts.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org $1.00, also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-074-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Evaluation, Needs assessment, Prevention programs, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: This report examines (1) to what extent medically underserved areas lacked health centers in 2006 and 2007 and (2) the Health Resources and Services Administration's oversight of training and technical assistance cooperative agreement recipients' assistance to grant applicants and its provision of written feedback to unsuccessful applicants. The report includes results in brief, background information, results, conclusions, and recommendations.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Federal programs, Grants, Health services, Low income groups, Technical assistance, Training, Underserved communities

Annotation: This report highlights the key findings for the five main topics of the 2005-2006 National Network of State Adolescent Health Coordinators assessment. The state adolescent health coordinators provide leadership within state agencies to improve adolescent health, safety, and well-being, while also offering information and consultation to other organizations and agencies regarding comprehensive adolescent health. The five main topics include (1) profile of coordinators and coordinator positions, (2) major activities, (3) guiding framework, (4) environment, and (5) technical assistance priorities. The report also contains one appendix that presents detailed information on responses to the assessment's close-ended questions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Evaluation, Leadership, Safety, State agencies, Technical assistance