Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This readiness assessment is designed for state oral health programs to explore capacity for collection of, access to, and analysis of the data used to calculate maternal and child health oral health quality indicators. It is organized by the data sources used to calculate the indicators: the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, the Basic Screening Survey, and Medicaid administrative claims and enrollment data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Website

Keywords: Data collection, Oral health, Quality improvement, Surveillance, Women', s health

Annotation: This report was developed for stakeholders to encourage state and local entities to identify ways to conduct oral health surveillance. It provides information about the importance of public health surveillance and oral health, presents a framework for a state oral-health surveillance system, and describes the Delaware Oral Health Surveillance System.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Delaware, Oral health, Public health, State materials, Surveillance

Annotation: This oral health surveillance plan for 2020–2025 updates the West Virginia's previous oral health surveillance plan to account for changes in previously existing data sources and for the availability of new data sources. The plan provides a historical perspective on oral health surveillance in the state, discusses the importance of good oral health, presents a framework for a state oral health surveillance system, and offers an operational definition of "state oral health surveillance system." Also discussed are target populations; partners and stakeholders; goals, objectives, activities, and components; oral health indicators for preschool-age children, school-age children, adults, and older adults; data sources and a data-collection timeline; and resources and sustainability.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Data, Dental caries, Older adults, Oral health, Preschool children, School age children, State information, Surveillance, West Virginia

Annotation: This report provides national estimates for selected measures for oral health status during 2011–2016, examines changes since 1999–2004, and highlights disparities in oral health by certain sociodemographic characteristics. Measures include prevalence and severity of dental caries in primary and permanent teeth, prevalence of dental sealants on permanent teeth in children and adolescents (ages 6–19), and tooth retention and edentulism among adults (ages 20–64) and older adults (ages 65 or older).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Older adults, Oral health, Socioeconomic factors, Surveillance, Trends

Annotation: This report describes a strategic approach for the development and implementation of California's first oral health surveillance system, the purpose of which will be to provide a consistent source of up-to-date valid information for use in developing, implementing, and evaluating programs to improve the oral health of California residents. The following aspects of the system are discussed: the framework, oral health indicators, operationalization, evaluation, data security, and data gaps.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Evaluation, Information systems, Oral health, State information, State programs, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Surveillance

Annotation: This data brief reports results of an oral health screening survey of children in third grade conducted by the Ohio Department of Health during school year 2017–2018. The brief presents overall findings and discusses disparities in oral health; access to oral health care; impact on access to oral health care and insurance status on oral health status; percentage of children with a history of tooth decay, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in Ohio vs. in the nation as a whole; and survey results compared with Healthy People 2020 objectives. The significance of the findings is also discussed. Statistical data is provided, and a description of study methods is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health insurance, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This brief presents results of an oral health screening survey of preschool-age children conducted by the Ohio Department of Health during the 2016–2017 school year. The brief provides overall findings and discusses results of the survey compared to findings for the nation as a whole, access to oral health care, and significance of the findings. Data are provided, and a description of study methods is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ohio, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the Nebraska Oral Health Surveillance System (NE-OHSS) from 2011 to 2017. The report includes background about NE-OHSS indicators and tabular information on the following topics: priority, recommended, and optional oral health indicators by data sources; statistics by indicator, including descriptions of each indicator; and findings, including results of Nebraska oral health objectives compared to national estimates, significant trends of other NE-OHSS indicators, and overall recommendations.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Nebraska, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information about the Nebraska Oral Health Surveillance Plan, which establishes the oral health indicators to be measured in the Nebraska Oral Health Surveillance System (NE-OHSS). The plan also describes data sources and establishes the frequency with which data on indicators will be collected and measured. The report discusses the NE-OHSS purpose, surveillance definitions, goals and objectives, surveillance framework, oral health indicators, and prioritization of NE-OHSS indicators. Also discussed are data-collection timelines and data dissemination and use.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Nebraska, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This plan provides information about the purpose of public health surveillance, the public health importance of oral health, a framework for an oral health surveillance system, and an operational definition of a state oral health surveillance system. In addition, it discusses the following aspects of Mississippi’s oral health surveillance system: purpose, objectives, indicators, data sources and data-collection timeline, data dissemination and use, privacy and confidentiality, and evaluation.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive, Jackson, MS 39216, Telephone: (601) 576-7400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Web Site: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Mississippi, Oral health, Public health, State materials, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This report provides a summary of key survey findings on the oral health of children in Vermont as well as information on the following topics: (1) the Tooth Tutor School-Linked Dental Seal- ant Program, (2) key strategies to improve oral health, and (3) survey methods. Data tables and figures are included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health status, Oral health, Oral health care, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data, Vermont

Annotation: This paper analyzes data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System on the impact of the Affordable Care Act's (ACA's) 2014 provisions on a variety of outcomes related to health care access, risky health behaviors, and self-assessed health. The paper provides estimates of the overall effect of the ACA on these outcomes and examines differential impacts resulting from state heterogeneity with respect to the choice to expand Medicaid via the ACA.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health, Adults, Health behavior, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Population surveillance, State programs

Annotation: This report describes the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) and how PRAMS data can be used for evaluating the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project in Connecticut. Topics include births and maternal oral health and health care in Connecticut. Other topics include PRAMS questions on maternal oral health, oral health care for mothers by health insurance status, and implications and alternatives for project evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program evaluation, Risk assessment, State programs, State surveys

Annotation: This report on a survey provides information on the of the oral health status of schoolchildren in Maryland. The survey is the most recent in a series. The report discusses background and purpose and presents methods, results, and a discussion.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, School age children, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This website provides information and resources for health care professionals, pregnant women, and others about zika virus disease. Contents include data; information for specific population groups; communication resources such as videos, fact sheets, posters, and infographics; and scientific resources including links to information collections by publisher, emergency bulletins, links to U.S. and international governmental resources, and a biomedical literature search tool. Topics include symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment; prevention; transmission and risks; areas with zika; and vector surveillance and control.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain diseases, Communicable disease control, Congenital abnormalities, Consumer education materials, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public awareness materials, Research, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Therapeutics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This document provides data on key indicators of oral health in Oregon for the period 2002 through 2015. Contents include a description of each indicator and the source and frequency of data available by year. Topics include preventive oral health services for pregnant women, toddlers, children, adolescents, and adults. Data on work force, Medicaid, cancer, cleft lip/palate, and water fluoridation are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Data sources, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, Oregon, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Special health care needs, State surveys, Statistical data, Toddlers, Work force

Annotation: This document describes the Healthy People 2020 methodology for measuring progress toward target attainment and the elimination of health disparities, with a particular focus on methodological considerations for the interpretation of findings. The Healthy People 2020 measurement practices are contrasted with those in place for the Healthy People 2010.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health disparities, Healthy People 2020, Measures, Population surveillance, Research methodology, Statistical data

Annotation: This report summarizes literature and data describing the oral health of Kentucky's population, including the oral health status of different population groups, oral health service delivery in safety net settings, and the supply and distribution of the oral health work force in the state. Other topics include the geographic and demographic characteristics of Kentucky’s population, the history of oral health in Kentucky, the impact of dental insurance on access to and use of oral health services in the state, and oral health professional shortage areas and safety net providers.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental insurance, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Health status, Kentucky, Oral health, Population surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This report presents survey results on the prevalence and severity of tooth decay in students in kindergarten in public schools in Arizona. Contents include information about tooth decay and the impact of poor oral health on children, families, and society, with an emphasis on the relationship between oral health and academic achievement. Survey results are presented by domain, including prevalence of decay experience, untreated decay, pain and infection, annual dental visits, and insurance coverage. Comparisons to previous statewide surveys, benchmarks and national data, and regional and county highlights are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board, First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Web Site: http://azftf.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Benchmarking, Dental caries, Health insurance, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Risk factors, School readiness, State surveys, Statewide planning, Young children

Annotation: This report presents oral health screening results for students in third grade in public elementary schools in Florida. Contents include the screening survey methodology, demographic characteristics of participating students, and key findings on to Healthy People 2020 goals, limitations, and recommendations is also included. Additional contents include consent and screening forms; a parent letter and questionnaire; and information about other indicators including toothache, last dental visit, reason for last dental visit, need for care, reason for not seeking care, health insurance, and dental insurance.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Elementary schools, Florida, Health status, Oral health, Oral health care, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys