Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes state trends in the use of Medicaid funds to improve maternal health, including Medicaid extensions that cover the 12-month postpartum period; the expansion of provider types to include doula care; and coverage of postpartum mental health screening and treatment. Guidance on how states can leverage Medicaid managed care contracts to Improve maternal health outcomes is included, along with a chart comparing the percentage of women who attend timely prenatal and postpartum visits in both expansion and non-expansion states.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Policy , Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Quality improvement, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This online tracker contains a map of the U.S. and accompanying chart highlighting each state's policy in response to the 2016 federal guidance allowing states to provide Medicaid coverage of maternal and/or caregiver depression screening during a well-child visit under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. The map indicates which states either require, recommend, or allow maternal depression screening using the two-generational approach and, where applicable, provides the reimbursement rate for this fee-for-service.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum depression, Screening, State legislation

Annotation: This web page describes the pathways that states can take to obtain reimbursement for funding immediate postpartum long-acting reversible contraception (IPP LARC) outside of the global obstetric payment. Included is a map The map and accompanying chart for each state indicating their policies regarding Medicaid reimbursement for IPP LARC.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive devices, Financing, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, State aid, State legislation

Annotation: This electronic resource (1) explains why group prenatal care is an effective state strategy to impact access to needed maternal and child health care; (2) explains how and why group prenatal care varies widely across states; and (3) describes how state leaders can promote financial support for group prenatal care, provide enhanced reimbursement rates for group prenatal care through Medicaid, and serve pregnant women in a large number of group prenatal care sites across the state.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Peer groups, Policy development, Prenatal care, State initiatives

Annotation: This report highlights the growing housing affordability crisis across the United States; describes housing difficulties experienced by North Carolina (NC) parents and their children; and presents policy recommendations based on its findings. Included is a description of themes that emerged during focus groups with NC professionals serving families and interviews with parents.

Contact: Duke-Margolis Health Policy Center, 1201 Pennsylvania Ave, NW, 5th Floor, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 621-2800 Web Site: https://healthpolicy.duke.edu/

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Families, Homelessness, Housing, Policy development, Socioeconomic factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This section of the 2021-2026 Idaho Oral Health Improvement Plan comprises reports from partner organizations and individual oral health champions who have undertaken activities that align with the plan and are working to improve, support, or otherwise positively impact oral health for Idahoans. For each partner organization or individual, information on the geographic area served, the target population, and the oral-disease-prevention activities, activities to improve access to oral health care, and policy-related activities is provided.

Contact: Idaho Oral Health Alliance, P.O. Box 2309, Boise, ID 83701, Telephone: (208) 994-9058 Web Site: http://www.idahooralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Idaho, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, State programs

Annotation: This online report examines state policies for expanding Medicaid coverage of community health worker (CHW) services, including approaches to authorizing payment and encouraging use of CHWs within Medicaid programs. It presents findings from KFF's 22nd annual Medicaid budget survey conducted in 2022, which found that over half of responding states (29 of 48) allowed Medicaid payment for CHW services as of July 2022. The document details various coverage mechanisms including state plan authority, ACA Health Home options, managed care arrangements, and Section 1115 demonstration waivers. It provides specific examples of recently implemented state plan amendments and discusses state plans to expand CHW programs in fiscal year 2023, including new certification requirements and efforts targeting maternal health. The report includes a U.S. map showing state CHW coverage policies and a detailed table comparing features of state plan amendments in California, Louisiana, and Nevada.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Medicaid, National surveys, Payment, Public policy, State legislation, State surveys

Annotation: This plan presents four interventions aimed to improve the oral health of Arkansas residents during the period 2024–2028. The interventions focus on four areas—access, education, prevention, and policy. The plan also discusses threats to oral health; the building blocks of oral health; and the burden of oral disease on children and adolescents, adults (including older adults), and special populations. An action plan is included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Arkansas, Health education, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy: State information

Annotation: This report provides information about the Delaware Dentist Survey 2022, which was conducted to amass information to help oral health care advocates, policymakers, and other stakeholders understand the supply and distribution of dentists across the state. The overarching survey includes two surveys, one of dentists and one of dental students and residents. Topics include methodology and demographics for both surveys; practice characteristics and spatial distribution (dentist survey only) and outlook and licensure (dental students and residents survey only).

Contact: Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4700 Secondary Telephone: (888) 459-2943 Fax: (302) 739-6659 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Delaware, Dentists, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Students, Surveys, advocacy

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This paper examines four barriers to accessing oral health care in Richmond, Virginia, that the Community Partners in Oral Health identified: (1) cost of oral health coverage and care; (2) availability of care; (3) issues related to culture, language, and health; and (4) health literacy and awareness about care options. To overcome each barrier, strategies at the community, clinic, public health system, and policy levels are listed.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Health literacy, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy, State information, Virginia

Annotation: This manual provides information about community water fluoridation (CWF) in California. It explains what CWF is and discusses its history in the state. It guides users through a step-by-step process of advocating for CWF. Topics include strategy, education and advocacy, policymaking, preventing or reversing a rollback, capital funding, and communicating with operations.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Financing, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State information, Water

Annotation: This guide provides information for policymakers, state agencies, licensing boards and agencies, oral health and other nonprofit organizations, state governments, and other interested parties in states that have enacted dental therapy legislation and are planning licensing and regulatory efforts. The guide explains what an administrative rule is and offers background information on dental therapy and rulemaking. Also discussed are best practices in dental therapy administrative rulemaking, tribal regulation of dental therapists, and the Model Dental Therapist Rule.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Best practices, Licensing, Oral health, Public policy, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief presents five ways in which state policymakers can support equitable school-based telemental health (TMH), with recommendations based on relevant policy context, existing research, and feedback from interviews with five TMH providers who testified to on-the-ground experience with these interventions. The brief expands on the following recommendations: (1) Use Medicaid as a funding source for TMH; (2) maintain COVID-era telehealth flexiblities to increase access to TMH; (3) allow flexibility in TMH program implementation so programs can tailor their offerings for different communities; (4) Make it easier for TMH programs to obtain parental consent; and (5) help schools establish multi-tiered systems of support to best leverage investments in TMH.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Mental health services, Policy development, School age children, School health services, State initiatives, Telemedicine

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Annotation: These guidelines help state health agency officials and public health administrators develop and operate oral health programs and promote integration of oral health activities into public health systems. Part I provides an overview of oral health disparities and strategies for prevention. It describes the diversity and uniqueness of oral health programs and efforts to increase infrastructure and capacity. Part II is a matrix of state oral health program roles for each of the 10 essential public health services. It includes examples of specific activities for each role and links to selected resources to help states accomplish the activities. An assessment tool is also available.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: , Health promotion, Oral health, Public health, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: This statement provides data related to reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals and highlights policies and strategies, including the introduction, adoption, and promotion of prescribing guidelines by the American Dental Association and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Also discussed are state requirements for dentist participation in prescription drug monitoring programs, continuing education for oral health professionals related to pain management, and inclusion of pain-management approaches in dental education. The statement also highlights how state oral health programs have identified and engaged in promising and effective approaches related to opioid prescription practices.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental education, Health policy, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain management, Prescription drugs, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth