Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (471 total).

Brooks T, Wagnerman K, Artiga S, Cornachione E, Ubri P. 2017. Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017: Findings from a 50-state survey. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data on Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017, and identifies changes in these policies in the past year. It documents the role Medicaid and CHIP play for children and families with low incomes and the evolution of these programs under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and renewal processes, and premiums and cost sharing. Trend and state-by-state tables are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, State surveys, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services. 2016. Dental and oral health services in Medicaid and CHIP. [Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services], 30 pp.

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on children's use of dental services in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. It includes state-specific performance data for two measures: preventive dental services and dental treatment services. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality-monitoring and qaulity-improvement efforts related to oral health care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children’s Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP: Chart pack. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 75 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care service for children covered by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during the fiscal year. which generally covers care delivered during the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly reported measures. Topics include the child core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, behavioral health care, oral health services, and trends in state performance. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Children in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk children, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. State Medicaid & CHIP profiles. Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. Perinatal care in Medicaid and CHIP. Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, [52 pp.].

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on perinatal care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Contents include state-specific performance data on 5 of the 10 perinatal care measures in the Child and Adult Core Sets. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality monitoring and improvement efforts related to prenatal and postpartum care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports. Topics include timeliness of prenatal care, frequency of ongoing prenatal care, postpartum care rate, live births weighing less than 2,500 grams (low birthweight), and central-line-associated blood stream infections in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Health care utilization, Measures, Medicaid managed care, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Utilization review, s Health Insurance Program

Reusch C, Alker J. 2016. Fulfilling the promise of children's dental coverage. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project and Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families, 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on dental insurance coverage for children and adolescents and ways to improve children’s and adolescents’ oral health. The brief describes marketplace coverage under the Affordable Care Act and coverage financed through the Children’s Health Insurance Program and Medicaid. Topics include affordability and consumer protection, child-focused benefits, and data and evaluation. The brief concludes with a list of 12 recommendations for policymakers at the state and federal levels to strengthen dental coverage and ensure that children and adolescents receive needed oral health care.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Data collection, Dental insurance, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Program evaluation, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2015. Children's oral health. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource examines children’s oral health and the role that state legislators can play in improving it. Topics include the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program, access to services, work force issues, and prevention and awareness.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children', Disease prevention, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Work force, s Health Insurance Program

Anglin G, Hossain M. 2015. How are CHIPRA quality demonstration states using quality reports to drive health care improvements for children?. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 7 pp. (National evaluation of the CHIPRA Quality Demonstration Grant Program: Evaluation highlight no. 11)

Annotation: This document describes state reports on the core set of children's health care quality measures for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program and how they were used to drive quality improvement at the state and practice levels. The document also describes the policy and programmatic changes that occurred as a result. Conclusions and implications are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Demonstration programs, Medicaid, Medical records, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Foster L, Booth M, Reusch C. 2015. Reducing early childhood tooth decay: An overview for state policymakers. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 4 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief for state policymakers presents strategies for addressing the problem of early childhood caries (ECC) in participants enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). The brief defines ECC, describes the disproportionate impact of ECC on children ages 2–5 from families with low incomes and from minority households, and outlines ways that states can promote ECC prevention and management within Medicaid and CHIP policies. Topics include emphasizing prevention, assessing and addressing risk, educating and engaging parents, and supporting providers.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Health care disparities, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Minority groups, Oral health, Policy development, State programs, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Foster L, Booth M, Reusch C. 2015. Reducing early childhood tooth decay: Leading steps for state policymakers. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 3 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief for state policymakers describes the problem of early childhood caries (ECC) and the leadership needed to address the problem. Topics include the proportion of children with untreated ECC, the disproportionate impact of untreated ECC on children from families with low incomes, and the important role of state leaders (including Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program managers) in assessing policy and implementing next steps. Topics include emphasizing prevention, promoting risk assessments and individualized care plans for children at high risk for ECC, and educating and engaging parents.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Disease management, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Health care disparities, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, State programs, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Reusch C, Booth M, Foster M. 2015. Reducing early childhood tooth decay: Strategies for state Medicaid and CHIP dental program managers. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 5 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief for state oral health program managers presents strategies for preventing and managing early childhood caries in children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). The brief also provides examples of state efforts to implement prevention, risk-assessment, care-plan, and quality-improvement strategies in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Health care disparities, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, State programs, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Mahadevan R, Chazin S. 2015. Medicaid oral health performance improvement projects: A how-to-manual for states. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 34 pp.

Annotation: This manual for state Medicaid agency staff provides guidance on developing and implementing oral-health-performance-improvement projects (PIPs). Topics include selecting the PIP topic, identifying the population, defining the PIP aim, selecting performance measures, establishing the data-collection plan, planning the intervention, implementing the intervention and improvement strategies, analyzing data to interpret PIP results, and planning for sustained improvement. A customizable template and a manual for health plans are also available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Manuals, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, State programs, s health insurance programs

Mahadevan R, Chazin S. 2015. Medicaid oral health performance improvement projects: A how-to-manual for health plans. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 51 pp.

Annotation: This manual for health plan staff provides guidance on developing and implementing Medicaid oral-health-performance-improvement projects (PIPs). Topics include selecting the PIP topic, identifying the population, defining the PIP aim, selecting performance measures, establishing the data-collection plan, planning the intervention, implementing the intervention and improvement strategies, analyzing data to interpret PIP results, and planning for sustained improvement. A customizable template and a manual for state Medicaid agency staff are also available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Manuals, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, State programs, s health insurance programs

Mahadevan R, Chazin S. 2015. Medicaid oral health performance improvement projects: A template. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 15 pp.

Annotation: This document for state Medicaid agency staff describes an approach for developing and implementing oral-health-performance-improvement projects (PIPs). Contents include a template that can be customized for the planning, implementation, and evaluation phases of an oral health PIP. The appendices contain tools for health plans and a glossary of terms. Accompanying manuals for states and health plans provide guidance on completing the template and pursuing activities in each phase.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Manuals, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, State programs, s health insurance programs

Chazin S, Maul A. 2015. Moving from goal to impact: A quality improvement approach to advancing children's oral health in Medicaid. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief for states describes a stepwise approach to meeting goals for improving use of oral health services improvement for children enrolled in Medicaid. It describes critical elements of the strategic-planning process, drawing from state experiences. A template that Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs can use to create a state oral health action plan is included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Health care utilization, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, State programs, Strategic plans, s Health Insurance Program

Clary A, Wirth B. 2015. State strategies for defining medical necessity for children and youth with special health care needs. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief explores issues affecting state Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) and Children's Health Insurance Program officials who implement medical necessity policy, and new and emerging issues that may affect state EPSDT policy in the future. Topics include determining medical necessity, setting parameters for medical necessity, using evidence to define medical necessity, and managing medical necessity and managed care.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Children', EPSDT, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Policy development, Special health care needs, State legislation, Utilization review, s Health Insurance Program

Cousart C, Snyder A, Mention N. 2015. Dental benefits in health insurance marketplaces: An update on policy considerations. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines the way the Affordable Care Act structures dental coverage and related implementation challenges. Topics include the impact of decisions to offer pediatric dental coverage through medical plans or stand-alone dental products on affordability and implementation of marketplace systems; state interest in offering optional adult dental coverage; enhancing data and reporting on access to and purchase of dental coverage; improving outreach, enrollment, and dental plan quality; and the impact of future state and federal decisions about coverage programs on dental coverage through marketplaces, including decisions about federal funding for the Children’s Health Insurance Program.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Barriers, Children, Children', Health care reform, Health insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program development, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. [2014]. State oral health action plans. Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These documents describe state plans for achieving the goals of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' Oral Health Initiative. Topics include type of delivery system, participating providers, activities, other oral-health-improvement initiatives, data measurement, reimbursement strategies, efforts related to dental sealants, collaboration with dental schools or dental hygiene schools and plans to expand dental school or dental hygiene program collaboration, electronic dental records, technical assistance, and materials and websites. A template to assist state programs in developing action plans is also available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Community action, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning, s Health Insurance Program

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2014. An introduction to Medicaid and CHIP eligibility and enrollment performance measures. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 9 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of new performance indicators that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid established for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program eligibility and enrollment performance indicators for states to report beginning in October 2013. The brief also discusses the initial data and the opportunities and challenges associated with reporting, analyzing, and interpreting the data. Background information is provided, as well as key findings.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, State programs, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program
« Previous Page     Next Page »

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. The library is supported through foundation, univerity, state, and federal funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by the U.S. Government. Note: web pages whose development was supported by federal government grants are being reviewed to comply with applicable Executive Orders.