Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 41 through 47 (47 total).

Dyment PG. 1991. Sports and the adolescent. Philadelphia, PA: Hanley and Belfus, 250 pp. (Adolescent medicine: State of the art reviews; v. 2, no. 1)

Annotation: This volume was written for primary care physicians who have a particular interest in adolescents and who are looking for information that will help them care for the young athletes in their practice. Topics discussed include the sport physical; medical exclusion from sport; menstruation; stress; status of adolescent fitness; steroids; death on the playing field; epidemiology of sport injuries; management of soft tissue injuries; head injuries; catastrophic head and neck injuries; overuse syndromes of the shoulder and arm, and overuse syndromes of the back and legs in adolescents.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Injuries, Injury prevention, Menstruation, Sports medicine, Steroids, Stress

Smith C. 1991. Overview of youth recreation programs in the United States. Washington, DC: Carnegie Council on Adolescent Development; Springfield, VA: distributed by ERIC Document Reproduction Service, 92 pp. (ERIC reports)

Annotation: This paper considers the current and future trends in community recreation services and their significance to adolescents and adolescents at-risk. It provides a historical overview and a national perspective on the role of these services, considers the impact of recreation on the growth and development of adolescents, and examines issues related to financing such services. It also reviews issues related to developing recreation programs, equity and gender, professional preparation, trends, and implications for public policies. The paper includes a selected bibliography.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 360 268.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Community programs, Financing, Health promotion, High risk groups, Policy development, Program development, Public policy, Recreational programs, Sports

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 1990. Youth risk behavior survey. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control, 4 items.

Annotation: This 75-item questionnaire was developed as part of the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance (YRBS) System established by the Centers for Disease Control, Division of Adolescent and School Health. The YRBS System uses a school-based survey to monitor the incidence and prevalence of priority health risk behaviors among youth (grades 9–12) in six categories including: (1) behaviors that result in intentional and unintentional injuries; (2) tobacco use; (3) drug and alcohol use; (4) sexual behaviors that result in HIV infection, sexually transmitted diseases, and unintentional pregnancy; (5) dietary behaviors; and (6) physical activity. State and local departments of education may use all or parts of the 75-item questionnaire to conduct the YRBS. Additional background information includes: an overview of the YRBS question rationale, a three-page handout on commonly asked questions about the YRBS, and a flow sheet outlining the YRBS System Behavioral Delineation and Instrument Development Process.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (404) 639-3824 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, HIV, Injuries, Motor vehicles, National surveys, Physical fitness, Population surveillance, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Sexually transmitted diseases, Sports, Substance abuse, Violence

Petroff B, ed. 1981. A pocket guide to health and health problems in school physical activities. Kent, OH: American School Health Association, 107 pp.

Annotation: This guide has been developed to assist school personnel in managing health-related problems of student athletes. It guides coaches, physical educators, school nurses, administrators, and other members of school staff whose professional functions relate to physical activity. Topics as they relate to physical activity include growth and development, characteristics of children, nutrition, drugs, handicapping conditions, musculoskeletal considerations, and injury prevention. A bibliography is included at the end of each chapter.

Contact: American School Health Association, 7918 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 300, McLean, VA 22102, Telephone: (703) 506-7675 Contact Phone: (216) 678-1601 Fax: (703) 506-3266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Drugs, Injury prevention, Physical fitness, School health, School personnel, Sports

Riley M, Barrett KR, Martinek TJ, Roberton MA. 1980. Children and youth in action: Physical activities and sports. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children, Youth and Families, 50 pp.

Annotation: This booklet gives parents suggestions for helping their children develop physically, emotionally, and mentally by the careful selection of physical activities and sports throughout the growing years— from birth through the adolescent years.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Physical fitness, Sports

Fielding JE, Nelson SH, eds. 1972. Comprehensive ambulatory health care for high-risk adolescents: Abstracts of presentations from colloquia for Job Corps health care providers—February 2-4, 1972, Washington, DC and February 15-17, 1972, Denver, Colorado. [Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Labor, Manpower Administration, Job Corps?], 79 pp.

Annotation: This report contains abstracts of presentations at two colloquia for Job Corps health care providers. The topics were health education, mental health, adolescent sexuality and family planning, drugs, sickle cell anemia, dental health, obesity, hepatitis; dermatological problems, sports related or work related trauma, and accidents.

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Conferences, Drugs, Family planning, Health education, Hepatitis, Mental health, Obesity, Oral health, Sickle cell disease, Skin diseases, Sports injuries

American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on School Health. 1966. Report of the Committee on School Health of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Evanston, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 128 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses school health policy, provides background information on school health topics, and outlines some techniques used by school health services. The report was prepared for physicians but will also be of interest to educators. Topics discussed include the relationship between schools and health services; the school health education medical specialty; health screening of students; special school health needs of adolescents; children with special health needs and schools; academic performance and school attendance; physical fitness and sports medicine; the health of school personnel; and cooperation and communication between physicians and educators.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Confidentiality, Education, Emergency medical services for children, Health policy, Health promotion, Health screening, Health screening, Human development, Medical education, Occupational safety and health, Physical fitness, School attendance, School failure, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School personnel, Schools, Sports medicine, Tests
« Previous Page    

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.