Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy statement provides a generalized but functional definition of performance-enhancing substances and vigorously endorses efforts to eliminate their use among children and adolescents. It discusses the temptation for young people to use performance-enhancing substances, the rationale for issuing the policy statement, current definitions of these substances, strategies to prevent their use, and identifying the young person using these substances. A list of 11 recommendations are provided along with references and a list of resources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Drug education, Sports, Substance use

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the proper types of eye protection to use for preventing eye injuries while playing sports. Type of eye protection and the types of eye injuries that can be prevented are discussed for each of the following sports: (1) baseball, (2) basketball, (3) soccer, (4) football, and (5) hockey. A phone number for more information is included.

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Eye care, Eye injuries, Prevention, Safety, Safety equipment, Sports, Sports injuries

Annotation: This chartbook highlights major findings of the National Survey of Children's Health on overweight and physical activity among children ages 10-17 in the United States. It presents national- and state-level information based on parents' reporting of height, weight, and physical activity levels. Topics also include trends in participation in sports based on gender, age, socioeconomic status, perceptions of neighborhood safety, and parent participation. State-level data include comparisons to national averages and are provided by age level, family socioeconomic status, and gender. A technical appendix describes the survey, data collection, data analysis, accuracy of the results, and availability of the data. Endnotes conclude the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Children, National surveys, Obesity, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Sports, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This resource guide includes policy and programmatic information related to adolescent overweight, obesity, physical activity, and nutrition. The guide presents key facts and provides general information on obesity as a public health problem. The guide also discusses diet and nutrition; education and training; food labeling and advertising; health insurance and reimbursement for treatment of obesity and overweight; physical activity and sports; school nutrition; screening, evaluation, and treatment; and special populations. Resources are provided. The guide includes four appendices: (1) organizations of the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health, (2) the Partners in Program Planning for Adolescent Health Initiative, (3) practical concerns and solutions, and (4) roles for the professional. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Advertising, Education, Health insurance, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public health, Public policy, Reimbursement, School health, Screening, Sports, Training, Treatment

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the ways in which girls' involvement in athletics can help prevent teen pregnancy. The fact sheet includes a general overview of the relationship between athletic involvement and pregnancy prevention and also offers a list of facts pertaining to this issue. The reverse side of the fact sheet provides endnotes.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Prevention, Sports

Annotation: This report discusses the health needs of people with mental retardation (MR) and makes recommendations for addressing those needs. The report also describes the Special Olympics Healthy Athletes program, which provides health assessment, health services, referral services, and health screening for Special Olympics athletes. It discusses oral health, vision, hearing, and obesity screening, as well as training for health professionals who serve people with MR.

Contact: Special Olympics, 1133 19th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3604, Telephone: (202) 628-3630 Secondary Telephone: (800) 700-8585 Fax: (202) 824-0200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.specialolympics.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health promotion, Hearing screening, Mental retardation, Oral health, Physical activity, Screening, Sports, Vision screening

Annotation: This document reports on systematic reviews of the effectiveness of selected population-based interventions to prevent and control dental caries, oral and pharyngeal cancers, and sports-related craniofacial injuries. The report presents the recommendations of the task force, describes how the reviews were conducted, and provides information designed to help apply the recommended interventions locally.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community programs, Dental caries, Facial injuries, Fluorides, Head injuries, Health promotion, Oral cancer, Oral health, Pharyngeal diseases, Prevention, Sports injuries, Water

Annotation: This book is intended as both a how-to-do-it text and a desktop reference. Chapter 2 and the glossary of statistical terms provide information on understanding and using statistics. The book shows how to effectively search the Internet and professional online services for needed numbers. It discusses where and how to start searching, important systems and sources, and how to evaluate data for reliability. Chapters 5 through 18 discuss how to find statistics on demographics and population; industry, market, and general business; finance and economics; health and medicine; science, agriculture, and the environment; history; public opinion and trends; politics and government; sports, entertainment, and the arts; the law and crime; international issues; technology; education; and transportation.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0910965250.

Keywords: Art, Business, Crime, Demography, Economics, Education, Environment, Government, Health, History, Industry, Internet, Medicine, Political processes, Public opinion, Sports, Statistics, Technology, Transportation, Vital statistics

Annotation: This report examines the problem of physical inactivity among the nation's youth and presents ten strategies developed to promote better health for the nation's youth through physical activity and sports. The strategies are grouped under the broad headings of: families; school programs; afterschool care programs; youth sports and recreation programs; community structural environment; media campaigns; and monitoring youth physical activity and fitness and school and community programs. The report concludes with a call to action. References are included.

Contact: Healthy Youth, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (888) 282-7681 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Health promotion, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Sports

Annotation: This book is intended to assist the clinician in providing lifelong preventive and primary care to women in the office setting. It is organized into eight parts and contains many tables, references, and an index. Topics include the social context of women's health, prevention, health care needs over the course of life, reproductive health and disorders, office diagnostic procedures, psychiatric and psychosocial issues and societal violence, general health, drug therapies and interactions, ethics for the practitioner, risk management, alternative medicine, and patient education in the office.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-07-058044-8.

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Diagnosis, Domestic violence, Eating disorders, Ethics, Life cycle, Lung diseases, Medical records, Mental health, Patient education, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Social factors, Sports injuries, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue of Adolescent Medicine, State of the Art Reviews (which is presented in book form), highlights the major themes of adolescent health. The issue begins with a historical perspective on adolescent health. A series of articles that follow outline many key topics in adolescent health care: sexuality, family and parenting, media impact, tobacco, substance abuse, violence, resiliency, adolescent driving, sports medicine, financing, and the impact of technology on the new era. The articles include statistical information presented in tables and figures, and references. The issue contains an index.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-329-3.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Families, Financing, Mass media, Parenting, Resilience, Sports medicine, Substance abuse, Technology, Tobacco use, Violence

Annotation: This book provides information on communication, diagnosis, and therapy for adolescent patients. The authors emphasize the role of the caregiver as a sensitive counselor when interacting with adolescent patients. It is a straightforward and practical reference which presents a review of the most commonly encountered adolescent issues, including: growth and development, chronic illness and disability, substance abuse, sexuality, common medical complaints, adolescent psychosocial concerns such as suicide, depression and eating disorders.

Contact: Little, Brown and Company, Hatchette Book Group USA, 237 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (800) 759-0190 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hatchettebookgroupusa.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Asthma, Behavior problems, Chronic fatigue syndrome, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Contraception, Depression, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Headaches, Homosexuality, Infectious mononucleosis, Menstruation, Mental health, Obesity, Pregnant adolescents, Psychosexual development, Sexually transmitted diseases, Sports injuries, Sports injuries, Substance abusers, Suicide, Thyroid diseases, Urinary tract infections

Annotation: This report presents an interdisciplinary portrayal of the connections among the physical, psychological, social, and cultural aspects of physical activity and sport in girls' lives. The research findings discussed show how physical activity and sport impact the "complete girl"—the many interrelated aspects of a girl's life ranging from musculoskeletal and cardiovascular functioning, to psychological well-being, gender identity, relationships with friends and family, and performance in school. Following an analysis of the research findings, the report concludes with a list of policy recommendations.

Contact: Tucker Center for Research on Girls and Women in Sport, University of Minnesota, 203 Cooke Hall, 1900 University Avenue, S.E., Minneapolis, MN 55455, Telephone: (612) 625-7327 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://education.umn.edu/tuckercenter/default.html Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent females, Mental health, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Policy development, Sports, Women', Women', s health promotion, s studies

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights

Annotation: This book lists and discusses standards for physical abilities of children and adolescents in kindergarten through grade 12. It gives a definition of a physically educated person, then expands the definition into twenty outcome statements, which are expressed in goals and assessment materials for each grade that can be used by physical education teachers. The goal of the program is to foster a love for physical activities and to develop physical skills in children and adolescents so that they will continue to exercise throughout their lives.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Contact Phone: (800) 321-0789 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available in libraries. Document Number: Stock no.: 304-10083.

Keywords: Curricula, Exercise, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Sports, Standards

Annotation: This guidebook and set of exercise cards is aimed at physical education specialists and teachers. The Child and Adolescent Trial for Cardiovascular Health (CATCH), tested with third through fifth grade children in several schools, intends to establish three behavior patterns: participation in physical activity, healthful eating habits, and non-smoking. The teacher's guidebook gives goals, a description of the activity cards, discussion on how to use them safely, equipment needed, special activities, sample lesson plans, bibliography, and appendices that describe games, suggest adaptations to limited space or inclement weather, and give resource lists and blank forms. The resources include references to other CATCH publications that mention nutrition. The activity cards are divided into warm-up and cool-down activities, aerobic activities, aerobic sports, walk-jog-run, and other activities.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Curricula, Educational materials, Exercise, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Prevention, Sports

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Annotation: This statistical summary provides data on a wide range of topics that relate to health and well-being of children to the age of 14. The focus is primarily on children in the United States, but international data are provided for selected topics. Data cover adolescents between the ages 12–17 for certain subjects. The broad categories included are: population; vital statistics; education; health, nutrition, and medical care; child care; income and expenditures; crimes, misdemeanors, and violence; domestic life; sports and recreation; and international comparisons. The intent, organization, and methodology for the publication is discussed in the preface. Sources of information are provided for each data table, and a complete list of sources consulted is also included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Contact Phone: (800) 877-4253 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ $99.00; no shipping and handling if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-9196-1.

Keywords: Child care, Children, Costs, Crime, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Health, Health services, International data, Nutrition, Sports, United States, Violence, Vital statistics

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence