Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These tools, which are designed for teachers and caregivers, can be used to teach children about good oral health. Tools include lessons plans for grades 2–4, activity sheets, posters and flyers about choosing healthy drinks, science activity cards from grades K–4, and oral health brochures. A list of other resources is included. Some of the tools are available in Spanish.

Contact: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Web Site: https://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Teaching

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for parents about fluoride varnish (FV). Topics include what FV is, why FV application is recommended for children, how to tell if a child needs FV,and at what ages FV should be applied. Also discussed is what parents should do after FV is applied to their child's teeth, the cost of FV application, the safety of FV, and how long FV lasts. The fact sheet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tip sheet for families explains why good oral health is important for children and offers tips on things parents can do help ensure that their child has healthy teeth and a healthy mouth. It is available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish,Vietnamese,and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Children, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about the effects of tobacco on the mouth. Topics include tobacco use, smokeless tobacco use, quitting tobacco use, and oral cancer. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontitis, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about xylitol. Topics include the benefits of xylitol, when to use xylitol, and who can benefit from xylitol use. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Mothers, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive, counseling, restorative and emergency, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. They re available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This form is designed as a tool for pregnant women to provide information to help dental office staff understand and meet their needs. The form includes information about prenatal care received, what the woman does to take care of her mouth and teeth, and what questions she has about taking care of her mouth and teeth. It also includes information about problems experienced during pregnancy and whether the woman smokes, vapes, or drinks alcohol. It is available in English and Spanish. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Washington, DC Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Forms, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Treatment

Annotation: This form, to be completed by parents and oral health professionals, provides space to write information about children over age 3 to give the student's child care facility or school. Part I, for parents to fill out, is for the child’s name, age, birthdate, grade, and child care facility or school name. Part II, for an oral health professional to fill out, is for the child’s oral health status and insurance status. Space for the oral health professional’s name, signature, and stamp, as well as the date of the oral examination, is included. It is available in Amharic, Chinese, English, French, Korean, and Vietnamese.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/ Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asian language materials, Child health, Forms, Non-English language materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This handout is designed to help parents and other caregivers establish goals related to oral hygiene, oral health care, and feeding and eating practices to improve their child's oral health. The handout is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Families, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website provides information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how to prevent and respond to bullying. Contents include a blog, newsroom, videos, policies and laws, and other resources. A section of the website is devoted to content for children and adolescents. The site is also available in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Community action, Families, Federal initiatives, Parents, Primary prevention, Schools, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health professionals implement oral health risk assessment for infants and children from birth to age 6 during health supervision visits. The tool, which can be used to document dental caries risk, presents a checklist for evaluating the oral health status of a child that includes risk factors, protective factors, and clinical findings, as well as an assessment and plan. Guidance on the factors in the checklist and color photographs depicting clinical findings are included. The tool is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental caries, High risk groups, Infants, Oral health, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website and mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Apple App

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This form allows parents to share information on their child with the child’s oral health professional. Topics include concerns about the child’s oral health, whether the child has a dentist, the last dental visit, and oral health care received in the past year. The form also includes questions on whether the child goes to bed with a drink other than water, what the child usually drinks, whether the family drinks water with fluoride, frequency of parents brushing the child’s teeth, whether the child’s toothpaste contains fluoride, and how many sugary snacks or drinks the child consumes per day. The form is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Forms, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This handout provides information for adults, including pregnant women, about how fluoride varnish can make their teeth more resistant to tooth decay. The handout explains what fluoride varnish is and discusses its safety. It also addresses things to avoid after it is applied to teeth, how long it lasts, how often it should be applied, and whether it is covered by dental insurance. The sheet is written in simple language and is available English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adult health, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit includes information about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine that oral health professionals can use or share with consumers. The toolkit includes a guide for oral health professionals on how to use the information with consumers, talking tips for various audiences, information on the role of oral health professionals in cancer control and prevention, a brochure on HPV and the vaccine, office posters on HPV and the vaccine, and a prescription pad for use in recommending the HPV vaccine. The toolkit is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Cancer Action Coalition of Virginia, P.O. Box 31658, Richmond, VA 23294, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cancercoalitionofvirginia.org/vhit/ Available from the website.

• Submit Form To Receive Downloadable Toolkit

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Vaccines

Annotation: This video for pregnant women and parents describes steps to promote good oral health for their infant. Steps include taking care of the woman’s mouth during pregnancy, cleaning the infant’s gums daily, brushing the infant’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, taking the infant to the dentist when the first tooth erupts or by age 1, and avoiding giving the infant drinks with added sugar. In addition to English, the video is available in the following languages: Arabic, English, French, Nepali, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• English
• All Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Non English language materials, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: These guidelines contain a set of standards to advance the quality and safety of early care and education environments. It is a companion to Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards -- Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, 3rd edition. Included are new and updated standards on on safe sleep, handling and feeding of human milk, introducing solid foods to infants, monitoring children's development, unimmunized children, preventing expulsions, and availability of drinking water. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Children with special health care needs, Facilities, Health promotion, Learning activities, Management, Nutrition, Out of home care, Personnel, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials , Standards

Annotation: This pocket guide is developed for families by families, in partnership with the American Academy of Pediatrics based on Bright Futures: Guidelines for the Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents (3rd ed.). The guide provides information and encouragement for the roles families play every day in the health and well-being of their children; the importance of well child visits for all children, including children and youth with special health care needs; encouragement to speak up and to take active roles in their children’s care; encouragement to form partnerships with other families and with professionals to improve policies, care, services, and support for all children and families; an overall framework for children’s good health and insight into all those who contribute to it; current, comprehensive, succinct information about child development; and links to resources and further sources of information for children’s good health. The pocket guide is available in English and Spanish. A 10-page guide on using the pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Contact Phone: (617) 236-7210 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Contact Fax: (617) 572-2094 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Guidelines, Health supervision, Infants, Spanish language materials