Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help oral health professionals in California integrate tobacco-cessation interventions into routine oral health care. It provides tools and evidence-based resources that oral health professionals can use or share with their patients who use tobacco. Information is offered on trends in tobacco products and use in California, oral health professionals’ role in tobacco cessation, tobacco dependence and the benefits of quitting, and FDA-approved medications for tobacco cessation. Brief interventions for use in dental settings are included.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 707 Parnassus Ave., San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 502-5800 Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Webinar Companion To The Toolkit

Keywords: California, Intervention, Oral health, Smoking cessation, State materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource for clinicians is intended to support youth cessation of all commercial tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, vaping devices, cigarettes, cigars, dissolvable tobacco, heated tobacco products, hookah, pipes, nicotine pouches, smokeless tobacco, roll-your-own, bidis, and snus. The resource explains why youth tobacco use is a critical health concern; describes the role pediatric clinicians play as a trusted resource for youth and families; outlines challenges and considerations; and calls on clinicians to address youth cessation using effective screening, counseling, and treatment strategies.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This policy playbook provides policy and advocacy tools to help communities address and prevent the public health harms caused by the use of electronic nicotine delivery system (ENDS) products such as e-cigarettes. In addition to including new information on e-cigarette policies and legislation, the playbook features four case studies of effective policies that state or local communities across the country recently adopted to regulate e-cigarettes. The document is the result of a collaboration between Vaping Prevention Resource and the Public Health Law Center.

Contact: Public Health Law Center, Mitchell Hamline School of Law , University of Minnesota , 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Fax: (651) 290-7515 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Case studies, Community health services, Prevention, Public policy, Smoking Cessation

Annotation: This report highlights the high rate of e-cigarette use among gay, lesbian, and bisexual (LGB) youth; explains how the tobacco industry targets sexual and gender minorities; and calls for action to be taken to help eliminate disparities and reduce the rate of vaping among this group of young people. Recommendations include evaluating tobacco control policies, improving data collection, conducting additional research, addressing mental health concerns, and ensuring access to cessation services for the LGBT community.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health disparities, Mental health, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Trends, Youth

Annotation: This fact sheet provide tips for indigenous adolescents about how to maintain or improve their oral health. Tips include avoiding tobacco, wearing a mouthguard when playing sports, brushing and flossing daily, visiting the dentist at least once a year, having wisdom teeth checked by an oral health professional, consuming healthy foods and drinks, drinking fluoridated water, and not getting tongue or lip piercings.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Mouth guards, Fluoride, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Smoking cessation, State information

Annotation: The American Thoracic Society produced this 2-page pamphlet for pregnant women as an aid to help them quit smoking. It contains information on the harm cigarettes and cigarette smoke ( including vaping and hookah pipes) pose to a developing fetus. Tips on how to quit smoking and resources such as a counseling services and a telephone number with information on smoking cessation are included.

Contact: American Thoracic Society, 61 Broadway, New York, NY 10006-2755, Telephone: 212-315-8600 Fax: 212-315-6498 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thoracic.org

• PDF

Keywords: Information resources, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This resource provides clinical preventive services recommendations related to tobacco smoking cessation in adults including pregnant women. Topics include behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions. Contents include the full recommendation statement; supporting documents including the final research plan, evidence review, and evidence summary; a clinical summary; and related information for consumers and health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report presents data on and an analysis of access to dental care, tooth loss, and associated risk factors for adults ages 18 and older in Rhode Island. Data is from the 2018 Rhode Island Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, an annual state-level survey of health, health behaviors, and access to health care. The report provides background information and discusses survey methods. Topics include the percentage of adults in the state with dental insurance, percentage who visited a dental clinic in the past 12 months, and percentage with tooth loss. For each topic, results are stratified according to race/ethnicity, educational attainment, age, insurance status, special health care needs status, smoking status, and diabetes status.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Age factors, Special health care needs, Data, Diabetes, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Older adults, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, Risk factors, Smoking, State information, Surveys, Young adults

Annotation: This resource provides consolidated information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) for the public about tobacco. It includes information about tobacco, federal and state laws and policies, health statistics, and evidence-based methods for quitting. A social media dashboard provides updates from DHHS tobacco-related social media accounts.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Multimedia, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco

Annotation: This resource describes how electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) work, how e-cigarettes compare to conventional cigarettes, the use of e-cigarettes by youth, and the lack of evidence on the effectiveness of e-cigarettes as smoking-cessation aids.

Contact: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, MSC 9561, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Drug administration routes, Nicotine, Regulations, Research, Smoking, Young adults

Annotation: This resource describes types, ingredients, and components of electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS) including vaporizers, vape pens, hookah pens, electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes), and e-pipes. Additional topics include what ENDS look like; statistics about ENDS use; FDA regulation of ENDS; manufacturing ENDS and e-liquids; nicotine warning statement; retail sales of ENDS, e-liquids, or their components or parts made or derived from tobacco; vape shops that mix e-liquids or modify products; importing ENDS and e-liquids; and reporting adverse experiences and product violations.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Office of Consumer Affairs, , 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-9767 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fda.gov/consumer/default.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Consumer protection, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Public health, Regulations, Smoking

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This Surgeon General’s report examines the effectiveness of various smoking cessation tools and resources; reviews the health effects of smoking and catalogues the improvements to health that can occur when smokers quit; highlights important new data on populations in which the prevalence of smoking is high and quit rates are low; and identifies gaps in the availability and utilization of programs, policies, and resources that can improve cessation rates and help smokers quit.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Passive smoking, Research, Risk taking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This opinion provided recommendations to help pregnant women eliminate or reduce the use of tobacco and nicotine products that can be harmful to their unborn child. It describes the various methods of nicotine intake and discusses effective screening methods and evidence-based interventions that obstetricians-gynecologists can apply in their practice.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Nicotine, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This research brief reports the prevalence of self-reported secondhand smoke (SHS) exposure in homes and vehicles among US middle and high school students in 2019 and changes in SHS over time. The data is from the National Youth Tobacco Survey (2011-2019).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Data, Environmental exposure , High school students, Middle school students, National surveys, Passive smoking, Research, Smoking, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This guide from the CDC covers information on smoking cessation for the general public, but includes a section geared especially for pregnant women. It includes information on the cost (monetary and health-wise) of smoking in the United States; the types of cancer and other conditions that can result from smoking; and how fetal health can benefit from smoking cessation. Color illustrations display how smoking and smoking cessation affect the human body and organ systems, and information on medications for smoking cessation is also provided. Telelphone numbers for quitlines are available in English, Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin, Vietnamese and Korean, and links to other CDC websites and resources are provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This policy document (from the monograph Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry) was developed by the Council on Clinical Affairs and adopted in 2000, and was revised and updated in 2015. The policies are based on a literature review on the consequences of smoking on youth from infancy to age eighteen. Statistical data was gathered from the CDC's National Youth Tobacco Survey (NYTS) conducted in 1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2011, and 2012 through 2019 as part of the Healthy People 2010 and 2020 objectives on tobacco use. A list of references directs the reader to other sources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

• PDF

Keywords: Lung cancer, Passive smoking, Smoking cessation