Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides data on trends in smoking before, during, and after pregnancy and describes characteristics of female smokers in the United States during the period from 2000-2005. The data comes from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) -- the surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments that collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Data from 31 different state PRAM sites -- all of which met the Healthy People 2010 objective of increasing the percentage of pregnant smokers who stop smoking during pregnancy to 30% -- were included in the report. Included are guidelines for states and health care providers to help reduce smoking before, during, and after pregnancy through sustained and comprehensive tobacco control efforts and smoking cessation interventions. Figures illustrate the prevalence of smoking in various states across the country, including breakdowns by maternal race/ethnicity, year, and maternal age. The figures also show how many women relapsed after delivery. Separate tables display state-specific characteristics of the PRAMS survey samples.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Data, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This site provides access to a June 19, 2008 webcast that highlights national, state, and local initiatives that address tobacco use and exposure and the health of MCH populations. Systems level approaches to smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women, as well as the connection between environmental tobacco smoke and infant health were discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Passive smoking, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to protect infants from secondhand smoke. The brochure explains why secondhand and thirdhand smoke are harmful and provides tips for avoiding secondhand smoke during pregnacy and after the infant is born. Action plans for avoiding secondhand smoke are provided, and resources for help with quitting smoking and avoiding secondhand smoke are included.

Contact: North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation, 1300 St. Mary's Street, Suite 204, Raleigh, NC 27605, Telephone: (919) 828-1819 Fax: (919) 828-1446 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.NCHealthyStart.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Passive smoking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about cigarette use among pregnant women and women who recently gave birth. The fact sheet is based on the National Survey on Drug Use and Health, which asks female respondents ages 12-44 whether they are currently pregnant and how many months pregnant they are; it also asks respondents about their past-month use of cigarettes. This fact sheet examines cigarette use amoung three categories of women: (1) pregnant women, (2) women who recently gave birth, and (3) women who were not pregnant and did not recently give birth. The report discusses prevalence of cigarette use; past-month use, by demographic characteristics; and prevalence of cigarette use, by trimester. Findings in brief are included. Endnotes conlude the fact sheet.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1044, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1212 Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Mothers, Smoking, Smoking during pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke before, during, and after pregnancy. The fact sheet offers facts about the consequences of smoking before and during pregnancy, the prevalence of smoking during the last 3 months of pregnancy,and the risks from exposure to secondhand smoke. Recommended strategies and policies are provided.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant health, Passive smoking, Public policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper examines the causal link between adolescent smoking behavior and low birthweight. The authors use a variety of empirical techniques, including fixed effects and a matching estimator, to identify the impact of smoking on infants of adolescent and non-adolescent mothers. The paper, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue, discusses previous literature, explains the empirical strategy, and provides data, results, and conclusions. Footnotes and references are included. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Low birthweight, Research, Smoking, Smoking during pregnancy, Statistical data

Annotation: This study described in this paper tested whether great exposure to the WIC program is associated with less smoking, improved weight gain during pregnancy, better birth outcomes, and greater likelihood of breastfeeding. The paper discusses the background and issues, empirical implementation, results, and conclusions. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Gestational weight gain, Infant health, MCH research, Smoking during pregnancy, WIC program

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the health risks for women associated with cigarette smoking. The following topics are discussed: mortality, cardiovascular disease, lung cancer, other cancers, smoking and pregnancy, other health risks, and the benefits of quitting. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, National Center for Tobacco-Free Kids, 1400 Eye Street, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-5469 Fax: (202) 296-5427 Web Site: http://www.tobaccofreekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Lung cancer, Mortality, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of how the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) data can be used to monitor state progress toward achieving maternal and child Healthy People 2010 (HP 2010) objectives. The report summarizes data from 19 states that measured progress toward achieving HP 2010 objectives for eight personal indicators: (1) pregnancy intention, (2) multivitamin use, (3) physical abuse, (4) cigarette smoking during pregnancy, (5) cigarette smoking cessation, (6) drinking alcohol during pregnancy, (7) breastfeeding initiation, and (8) infant sleep position. The report, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue, describes the study methods, provides results, and offers a discussion and a conclusion. References are included. Statistical information is provided in tables at the end of the report.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alcohol consumption during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Child health, Healthy People 2010, Maternal health, Physical abuse, Pregnancy, Sleep position, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This report presents the key points discussed at the State of the Science Capstone Meeting, held on October 18-29, 2006, at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF). The meeting was part of the RWJF national program, Smoke-Free Families: Innovations to Stop Smoking During and Beyond Pregnancy. The purpose of the conference was to convene the researchers, practitioners, and advisors involved in Smoke-Free Families for reviews of the program's accomplishments, presentations of recent research findings, and discussions of future directions. The paper presents research findings, research questions that still need answers, and funding options that might support such research. A summary is included.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Financing, National programs, Research, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This paper estimates the effect of illicit drug use during pregnancy on low birthweight, addresses the potential endogeneity of prenatal drug use, and present estimates using alternative measures of prenatal drug use. The paper, which includes an abstract, presents a literature review, data, and measures; discusses illicit drug use, cigarette smoking, and low birthweight, and presents results and a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in tables grouped together at the end of the report. References are included.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drug use during pregnancy, Infant health, Low birthweight, MCH research, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This impact final report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services for participants identified as "high-risk" for poor perinatal (maternal and child) outcomes in Des Moines, Iowa. The impact report covers the period June 2001 through May 2005. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project, the implementation of the project, management and governance, and project accomplishments. Also reported are impacts on local systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of local government. Additional sections provide information on fetal and infant mortality review, samples of products developed during the project, and project data provided in table format. Appendices include the project area map, a best practices manual that describes policies and procedures, bylaws on the consortium and steering and sustainability committee, and project data. Additional attachments include project accomplishments, goals, objectives and strategies; a copy of the local evaluation report; a progress report for case managers on depression counseling; and more sample products. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Final reports, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Iowa, Local MCH programs, Low birthweight infants, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This primer promotes public education to all Minnesotans who need to know that: (1) there is no known safe time to use any type or amount of alcohol during pregnancy, and (2) alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs have immediate and long-term effects on women's and children's health. The primer provides information, educational resources, and tools in various formats about women's substance abuse, addiction, and its consequences; risk factors associated with women's substance use including sexual and domestic abuse, depression, and other mental health issues; and how to engage a wide range of community members to take action in helping women who abuse substances, particularly during pregnancy. Resources include books, brochures, pamphlets, and other print media; counseling and information phone lines; curricula; Internet resources; prevention planning and resource guides; reports; resource centers; services for children and families, as well as women; and videos for purchase or loan. Resources are identified throughout the primer for African American, Asian American, Latino, and Native American cultures and for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons, in addition to general audiences. Appendices include information on selecting and pre-testing educational materials; selecting health information on the Web; community prevention strategies; effective strategies to reduce drinking during pregnancy; facts about women who drink during pregnancy; substance use and the harm to women and children; recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and alcoholism; and a calendar of community events and national health observances. References conclude the primer.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 38460 Lincoln Trail, Box 549, North Branch, MN 55056, Telephone: (651) 674-4085 Secondary Telephone: (877) 935-4426 Fax: (651) 277-4085 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ $10.00 in-state; $12.00 out of state .

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal tobacco syndrome, Minnesota, Perinatal health, Prenatal health, Resource materials, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper addresses the question of whether prevention of low birthweight (LBW) would generate cost savings sufficient to offset the costs to society of the developmental disabilities experienced by LBW infants. The paper compares hospital costs, health at birth, and infant mortality rates between heavier and lighter infants from all twin pairs born in the United States. The paper also examines the effect of maternal smoking during pregnancy on health among singleton births after controllling for detailed background characteristics. The paper includes an abstract, references, and one data appendix. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables at the end of the paper.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Developmental disabilities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Prevention, Research, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This report focuses on identifying the nature and extent of disparities in maternal behaviors that affect maternal or infant health, using data from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) for 2000-2001 from eight states. The purpose of the report is to assist public health authorities in developing policies and programs targeting persons at greatest risk for adverse health outcomes. The report analyzes data for four maternal health behaviors: smoking during pregnancy, alcohol use during pregnancy, breastfeeding initiation, and placing infants in the back sleep position. The report, which contains an abstract, includes a description of the methods, results, and a conclusion. The report concludes with a list of references. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the report.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, High risk mothers, Infant health, Maternal behavior, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Programs, Public policy, Sleep position, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This report primarily comprises tables and figures that present information from national surveys and studies on morbidity and mortality due to tobacco use in the United States. The report focuses primarily on cigarettes, but statistical information on other tobacco products is also included, and environmental tobacco smoke is discussed. The report begins with text discussing the following topics: mortality, consumption, prevalence of cigarette use among adults, prevalence of other tobacco products among adults, marijuana, prevalence of cigarette use among adolescents, smoking during pregnancy, prevalence of smoking cessation among adults, prevalence of smoking cessation among adolescents, tobacco advertising and promotion, state laws on smoking, environmental tobacco smoke, and international cigarette smoking prevalence. Footnotes are included. The text is followed by tables and figures.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Charts And Map

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adults, Advertising, Marijuana, Morbidity, Mortality, Passive smoking, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State legislation, Statistical data, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This report outlines a series of feasible, science-based action steps to promote tobacco cessation. Topics include rationale, costs of tobacco use and the need for action, establishment of the Subcommittee on Cessation of the Interagency Committee on Smoking and Health, targeted features of a national action plan for tobacco cessation, plan elements, federal initiatives, and public private partnerships. A bibliography is included.

Contact: University of Wisconsin, Center for Tobacco Research & Intervention, 1930 Monroe, Suite 200, Madison, WI 53711, Telephone: (608) 262-8673 Fax: (608) 265-3102 Web Site: http://www.ctri.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Federal initiatives, Health promotion, Interagency cooperation, Public private partnerships, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Strategic plans, Tobacco use

Annotation: This paper focuses on national birth outcomes and states' program efforts to make a difference in improving healthy birth indicators. The first part traces the history of the Right Start program, comparing birth outcomes in the nation's 50 largest cities and the nation as a whole, discussing differences among states and providing the reader with guidance on how to interpret these differences. The second part is divided into eight sections, each one devoted to one of eight indicators of healthy birth. Each section begins with a description of why the indicator is important and goes on to provide a brief analysis of the indicator for both cities and states. Each section also includes a list of the five states with the highest levels for that indicator and the five states with the lowest levels. A brief discussion of racial and ethnic differences in the various indicators is provided. The paper concludes with tables presenting statistical data on key indicators of births in 1999; 50-city averages from 1990-1999; national birth measures for 1990-1999; and selected characteristics by race and Hispanic origin from 1999. References are provided.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Birth rates, Family characteristics, Infant health, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Smoking during pregnancy, Statistics

Annotation: This action plan is developed by a coalition of 40 health, business, and government organizations committed to drastically reduce the number of women who smoke during pregnancy. The plan outlines a clinical and community-based intervention program for every pregnant smoker that involves health care providers, worksites, communities, state and federal government agencies, and the research community. The contents include an introduction and overview of the plan; consequences, challenges, and opportunities of preventing maternal smoking; aims and strategies of the action plan involving the health care system, using the media effectively; harnessing resources in communities and worksites; capitalizing on state and federal funding and policies; and promoting research, evaluation, and surveillance. The publication concludes with acknowledgments, references, and resources.

Contact: National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit, 725 Martin Luther King Jr Boulevard, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7590, Telephone: (919) 843-7663 Fax: (919) 966-5764 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.helppregnantsmokersquit.org/ Available at no charge.

• PDF

Keywords: Pregnancy complications, Prenatal education, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This impact final report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services in Des Moines, Iowa. The impact report covers the period July 1, 2001-December 31, 2001, and supplements a final report submitted in July 2001. The impact report discusses service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium program impact, andother Healthy Start components. Four attachments include (1) a status report and implementation plan, (2) a description of the program evaluation, (3) a project area demographic and statistical form, and (4) a project area consortium roster. Supplemental materials are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Final reports, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Iowa, Low birthweight infants, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Smoking during pregnancy