Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (141 total).

Hirai AH, Kortsmit K, Kaplan L, Reiney E, Warner L, Parks SE, Perkins M, Koso-Thomas M, D’Angelo DV, Shapiro-Mendoza CK. 2019. Prevalence and factors associated with safe infant sleep practices. Pediatrics. 2019 Nov;144(5):e20191286. ,

Annotation: This research article examines the prevalence of four key safe infant sleep practices and factors affecting their implementation, based on 2016 Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System data from 29 states. It analyzes maternal reports of back sleep position, separate approved sleep surfaces, room-sharing without bed-sharing, and avoidance of soft bedding, along with healthcare provider advice about these practices. The study reveals significant variations in adherence to safe sleep recommendations across demographic groups and states, with back sleep position being the most commonly followed practice (78%) and use of separate approved sleep surfaces the least common (31.8%). The findings highlight that healthcare provider advice is associated with increased adoption of safe sleep practices, suggesting an important pathway for improving infant sleep safety.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Infants, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. 2017. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 5–Safe sleep [NPM 5 brief]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the number of infants placed to sleep on their backs. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Caregivers, Education, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Intervention, Literature reviews, Mass media, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Primary prevention, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Safety, Sleep position, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Lai YH, Garcia S, Strobino D, Grason H, Minkovitz C. 2017. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 5 safe sleep evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 38 pp. (brief 3 pp.).

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the number of infants placed to sleep on their backs. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Caregivers, Education, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Intervention, Literature reviews, Mass media, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Prevention, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Safety, Sleep position, State MCH programs, Title V programs

American Academy of Pediatrics, Task Force on Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. 2016. SIDS and other sleep-related infant deaths: Updated 2016 recommendations for a safe infant sleeping environment. Pediatrics 138(5):e20162938,

Annotation: This statement supports a safe sleep environment that can reduce the risk of all sleep-related infant deaths. Contents include the recommendations and strength of evidence for each recommendation. An accompanying technical report that discusses the rationale for the recommendations is also available.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Health policy, Infant death, Primary prevention, SIDS: Sleep position

National Action Plan to Promote Safe Sleep. 2016. NAPPSS safe sleep & breastfeeding image gallery vetting checklist [rev.]. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This checklist presents criteria for a national image gallery representative of families from a variety of backgrounds and circumstances sleeping and feeding in a breastfeeding-friendly safe sleep environment. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child safety, Cultural diversity, Families, Infants, Primary prevention, Sleep position

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. 2016. Strengthen the evidence for MCH programs: Environmental scan of strategies National Performance Measure (NPM) #5: Safe sleep. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 13 pp.

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #5, Safe Sleep: percent of infants placed to sleep on their backs. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Prevention, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Safety, Sleep position, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Kane D, and Illinois Department of Children and Family Services, Office of the Inspector General. 2015. Report to the governor and the General Assembly. Chicago, IL: Illinois Department of Children and Family Services, 283 pp.

Annotation: This document reports on investigations of misconduct, misfeasance, malfeasance, and violations of rules, procedures, or laws by Illinois Department of Children and Family Services employees, foster parents, service providers, and contractors with the Department. The document includes a special report on sleep-related infant deaths where parents were investigated by child protection services despite the absence of either drug or alcohol abuse or other blatant disregard.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child protective services, Illinois, Infant mortality, SIDS, Sleep environment, Sleep position, State agencies

National Action Partnership to Promote Safe Sleep. 2015. National action plan to increase safe infant sleep: A blueprint from the National Action Partnership to Promote Safe Sleep. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document presents a national framework and action plan for making safe infant sleep a national norm. Contents include the vision, mission, principles, goals, strategies, and actions. The website includes a form for individuals and organizations to share information about activities related to each goal.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Collaboration, Health promotion, Infants, Interactive media, National initiatives, Primary prevention, Public private partnerships, Safety, Sleep position

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2014, 2015. What does a safe sleep environment look like? Reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death [upd.]. Bethesda, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 2 pp. (Safe to Sleep® )

Annotation: This handout provides information on crib-safety guidelines and other strategies to reduce the risk of SIDS and other sleep-related causes of infant death. The handout is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-5759, 12-5759(S).

Keywords: Injury prevention, Parent education, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, infant death

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2014. Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death: Questions and answers for health care providers. Bethesda, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 32 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for health professionals provides answers to common questions about sudden infant death syndrome and other sleep-related causes of infant death. The booklet, part of the Safe to Sleep® campaign, also includes references to scientific articles that describe the evidence on which the answers are based.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 14-7202.

Keywords: Infant mortality, Infants, Prevention, Resources for professionals, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Connecticut Office of the Child Advocate, and Connecticut Child Fatality Review Panel. 2014. Alert: Unsafe sleep related deaths are the leading cause of preventable deaths of infants in Connecticut. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Office of Governmental Accountability, Office of the Child Advocate, 8 pp.

Annotation: This public health alert outlines infant fatalities and unsafe sleep conditions in Connecticut and provides recommendations for prevention. Contents include risk factors associated with infant fatality including sudden unexplained or undetermined infant death, case examples, and a definition of an unsafe sleep-related infant fatality. Additional content includes information on how often infants die from unsafe sleeping conditions; the most common unsafe sleep environments in fatality cases; infant fatalities over time and trends; and the Connecticut Department of Children and Families' role in infant death prevention and policy development. The alert includes recommendations for policymakers, in-home service providers, child care providers, pediatricians, and hospitals, and safe sleep guidelines for parents.

Contact: Connecticut Office of Governmental Accountability, Office of the Child Advocate, 999 Asylum Avenue, 1st Floor, Hartford, CT 06105, Telephone: (860) 566-2106 Secondary Telephone: (800) 994-0939 Fax: (860) 566-2251 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/oca Available from the website.

Keywords: Child death review, Connecticut, Infant death, Infant mortality, Policy development, Protective factors, Public awareness materials, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State programs, Trends

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Safe sleep roundtable report. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and recommendations from a meeting held on January 24, 2014, in Arlington, Virginia, to identify priorities around safe infant sleep and develop an action plan to address those priorities. Contents include background on safe sleep; a summary of best practices; and recommendations and next steps for federal partners, state health departments, community organizations, and others. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Community action, Infant death, Infants, Meetings, Model programs, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Program improvement, SIDS: Injury prevention, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission. 2014. WSCJTC safe infant sleep roll call training. Burien, WA: Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, 1 video (11 min., 54 sec.).

Annotation: This video for law enforcement professionals provides an introduction to the Cops-N-Cribs program. Topics include the basics of safe infant sleep practices and their relationship to sudden infant death prevention. The video also describes a crib distribution program to help parents and other caregivers provide a safe sleep environment for infants.

Contact: Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, 19010 1st Avenue South, Burien, WA 98148, Telephone: (206) 835-7300 Secondary Telephone: (206) 439-2895 Web Site: https://fortress.wa.gov/cjtc/www Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Criminal justice system, Infant death, Injury prevention, Safety programs, Sleep position, Training, Unintentional injuries

Wiessinger D, West D, Smith LJ, Pitman T. 2014. Sweet sleep: Nighttime and naptime strategies for the breastfeeding family. New York, NY: Ballantine Books, 484 pp.

Annotation: This book offers tips and advice for sleep during naptimes and at night for families with breastfeeding infants. The authors are proponents of bedsharing and give guidance on how to minimize its risks.

Keywords: Bedsharing, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant care, Infants, Mothers, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep environment, Sleep position

Safe Kids Upstate. (2013). The Upstate Cribs for Kids Program. Greenville, SC: Safe Kids Upstate,

Annotation: This website describes Upstate Cribs for Kids -- a regional program in South Carolina that aims to reduce the number of infant deaths due to unsafe sleeping environments. The site provides safe sleep education and materials to help families and caregivers avoid putting their children at risk due to unsafe sleep practices. Also included is a link to the online safe sleep video, Room to Breathe.

Contact: Safe Kids Upstate, 255 Enterprise Boulevard, Suite 110, Greenville, SC Telephone: (864) 454-1100 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekidsupstate.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, Regional programs, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, South Carolina, State programs

Ohio Department of Health. (2013). Preventing infant mortality. [Columbus, OH]: Ohio Department of Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet focuses on efforts to prevent infant mortality in Ohio. It provides information about the Ohio Department of Health's (ODH's) safe sleep campaign, its progesterone prematurity project, its prenatal smoking-cessation initiative, and its decision to add severe combined immune deficiency and critical congenital heart disease to its list of newborn screening items. ODH's project to reduce elective deliveries before 39 weeks' gestation, its institute for equity in birth outcomes, and its support for select communities to participate in an initiative to improve black infant mortality and prematurity rates are also discussed.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Blacks, Infant death, Infant mortality, Neonatal screening, Ohio, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention services, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Network of Infant/Toddlers Research, U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation. (2013). Sleeping safe?. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and others who care for infants provides advice for improving baby's sleep environment and reducing the risks associated with sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Topics include healthy pregnancy; safe sleep surfaces; room sharing; placing baby on his/her back for sleep every time; prevent smoking, alcohol, and drug use near baby; and to breastfeed and later, a pacifier.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child safety, Infant care, Infant death, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013- . Sudden unexpected infant death case registry. [Atlanta, GA]: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,

Annotation: This website collects comprehensive data to characterize sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) cases and to determine which sleep environment factors contribute to SUID. The site shows a map of SUID Case Registry (SUID-CR) state grantees, explains the purpose of the SUID-CR Pilot Program, describes activities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in collaboration with the National Center for Child Death Review, and outlines quality-improvement goals and case-registry successes and progress.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child death review, Prevention, Programs, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Statistical data, Sudden infant death

Moon R, ed. 2013. Sleep: What every parent needs to know (2nd ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 219 pp.

Annotation: This book covers the importance of sleep to growth and development and addresses proper sleep and the challenges parents face in getting their children to sleep. Topics include ages, stages, and phases for all ages of children; bedtime routines and rituals; dealing with fears, nightmares, night terrors, sleep apnea; allergies and asthma; headaches, leg pains, seizures, abdominal or gastrointestinal issues, in addition to developmental disabilities or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorders. Sleep safety and risk factors for sudden infant death are also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org $16.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Infants, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep apnea syndromes, Sleep disorders, Sleep position, Sleep stages

Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Great Start Safe Sleep Initiative. 2013. On the back to sleep, on the tummy to play. [Lawrence, MI]: Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Great Start Safe Sleep Initiative, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for parents of infants provides information to help parents ensure that their infant does not develop a flat spot on the back of the head from sleeping in his or her back. A list of things that parents can do while their infant is awake is provided, along with illustrations.

Contact: Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Lawrence, MI Telephone: (269) 539-5205 E-mail: http://www.greatstart-vanburen.org/ContactUsForm/tabid/70/Default.aspx Web Site: http://www.greatstart-vanburen.org/ Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant, Infant heath, Newborn infants, Prevention, Sleep position

« Previous Page