Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines the impact of the Life Skills Education Component (a character-based program designed to enhance life skills thought to be supportive of sexual abstinence and to empower students to avoid sexual activity and other risky behaviors) on students in middle school and high school in Edgefield, South Carolina. The Life Skills Education Component is part of the Heritage Keepers abstinence education program, in which all students in the study had participated. The report presents estimates of the incremental impact of Life Skills on potential mediators of adolescent sexual activity as well as on adolescents' sexual abstinence, their risks of pregnancy and of contracting sexually transmitted diseases, and other behavioral outcomes. The report is based on data collected in 2005-2996 from more than 600 adolescents. The report, which includes an executive summary, presents the design and methods for the impact evaluation, intermediate outcomes related to adolescent sexual activity, knowledge and perceptions of risks associated with adolescent sex, impacts on sexual absinence and adolescent risk behavior, and conclusions. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes three appendices: (1) an outline of the Heritage Keepers curricula, (2) supporting tables for impact analysis, and (3) survey questions.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, High school students, Middle schools, Programs, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report describes tools to integrate reproductive health, family planning , and HIV/AIDS services for young people and make these integrated services youth-friendly, train providers on how to offer them, develop job aids that help providers offer more services, and gain community support for such services. It gives examples of these tools as used by programs worldwide.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Fax: (410) 659-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhuccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Child care, Family planning, HIV, International health, Maternal health, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Youth services

Annotation: This interim report focuses on the National Consensus Process (NCP) on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior, a process on sexual health in which leaders of major constituency organizations with interest in sexual health participated. The goal of the NCP is to improve sexual health and responsible sexual behaviors in America. The report includes a letter from the former U.S. Surgeon General; an executive summary; a call to action; background; and a statement of agreement covering the following topics: vision, goal, sexuality, sexual health, individual responsibility, community responsibility, outcomes, and normative differences. Also included is a discussion of NCP areas of agreement and non-agreement and supporting documents; areas for further discussion; participant observations; commentary; and NCP's future. The report includes eight appendices: (1) best practices; (2) research recommendations; (3) HIV, AIDS, STDs, and STIs; (4) education and discussion of sexual health and responsible sexual behavior for youth by parents or caregivers; (5) sexual abstinence; (6) responsible and irresponsible social behavior; (7) sexual orientation; (8) NCP ground rules and meeting dates and locations.

Contact: Morehouse School of Medicine, Center of Excellence for Sexual Health, National Center for Primary Care , 720 Westview Drive, S.W., Suite 233, Atlanta, GA 30310, Telephone: (404) 756-5044 Secondary Telephone: (404) 756-8800 Fax: (404) 756-5709 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.msm.edu/x769.xml Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Caregivers, HIV, Individual responsibility, Parents, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexuality, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social responsibility

Annotation: This report is based on a review conducted by the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States of nine of the most widely available abstinence-only-until-marriage curricula designed for junior and senior high school students that emphasize the negative consequences of premarital sexual activity, portray sexual behavior as universally dangerous, and deny young people information about pregnancy and disease prevention. The report discusses the educational philosophy of these curricula and their scope and context. Topics covered include sexuality and abstinence, religion and morality, fear and shame, sexual pressure, sexual arousal, sexually transmitted diseases, HIV and AIDS, condoms and contraception, marriage and family structure, gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy options and abortion, teaching methods, curricula strong point, and the future of sexuality education. Brief reviews of the curricula are provided. A list of abstinence-education curricula that do not include messages of fear or shame is included. The report includes references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraception, Curricula, Families, HIV, Marriage, Moral values, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Sexual identity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This paper critiques a review article titled Abstinence and Abstinence-Only Education and a second article titled Abstinence-Only Education Policies and Programs: A Position Paper of the Society of Adolescent Medicine. Both were published by the Journal of Adolescent Health. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses the articles' methodologies, the way they define abstinence, their treatment of (1) the physical and psychological health outcomes of adolescent sexual behaviors and of public support for abstinence and comprehensive sexuality education; (2) currrent federal policy and local programs; (3) concepts of efficacy for abstinence in preventing pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections; (4) abstinence-only education and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender adolescents; (5) the human right to sexual health information; (and 6) ethical obligations of health professionals and health educators. References are incluced.

Contact: Medical Institute for Sexual Health, 1101 S. Capital of Texas Highway, Building B, Suite 100, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-6268 Secondary Telephone: (800) 892-9484 Fax: (512) 328-6269 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.medinstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Human rights, Local programs, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public policy, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to prevent adolescent pregnancy and sexually-transmitted diseases by communicating with adolescent males about issues concerning self, values, future goals, and sexuality; it focuses on both abstinence and contraception. The curriculum is a guide for instructors with all of the educational materials, handouts, and activities needed. Additional information on the Web site includes a customizable television spot about the program, a list of training sites, a description of variations in the Wise Guy program that are available, and materials for adolescents, parents, and professionals. Some of the material is in Spanish.

Contact: Wise Guys, Family Life Council, 301 East Washington Street, Suite 204, Greensboro, NC 27401, Telephone: (336) 333-6890 Fax: (336) 333-6891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wiseguysnc.org/

Keywords: Adolescent males, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides statistical information on adolescent sexual activity. Topics include: general sexual activity; first sexual intercourse; sexual partners and relationships; abstinence; contraceptive and protection; pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs); sex and substance abuse; sexual pressure, assault and dating violence; and access to health care services. Major national data sets on teen sexual activity in the U.S. are identified.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Contraception, Dating, Peer pressure, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual intercourse, Sexual partners, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Violence

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of data on selected conditions influencing women's morbidity and mortality, discusses disease prevention and detection, and presents recent guidelines. Sections review broad categories of diseases and conditions, health behaviors, special issues related to prenatal care and sexually transmitted diseases, programs and initiatives, and conclusions and future directions. References are provided. Appendices include U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendations and a resource table of programs and initiatives in women's health providing program names, descriptions, and contact information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Initiatives, Mental health, Nutrition, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: The paper provides results of an examination of data from the Add Health database related to virginity pledgers and oral and anal sex. It offers a comparison of pledgers and non-pledgers and of sexually active adolescents; discusses the role of social background variables and the focal point of the Bearman/Bruckner argument (which presents different conclusions using the same data); virginity pledgers, risk behavior, and sexually transmitted diseases; pledging and contraceptive use; information associated with the Bearman/Bruckner argument; and the overall impact of virginity pledges. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report and in a technical appendix.

Contact: Heritage Foundation, 214 Massachusetts Avenue, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4999, Telephone: (202) 546-4400 Fax: (202) 546-8328 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.heritage.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Contraceptive use, MCH research, Risk taking, Sexual intercourse, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This document, originally designed as a PowerPoint presentation, brings together research and analysis on sex education in the United States and its effectiveness in preventing unintended pregnancies and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) among adolescents. The document includes background information about sexual activity among American adolescents, sex education policy and practice in public schools, the effectiveness of programs designed to delay sexual activity and to prevent unintended pregnancy and STDs among adolescents, and public opinion and public policies related to these topics.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Prevention programs, Public policy, Research, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This book for parents provides practical advice for helping their adolescent children adjust to the changes of adolescence and make good decisions about drugs, alcohol, tobacco, premature sexual activity and other threats to their physical and emotional well-being. The book is divided into four parts: an overview of the changes common to adolescence; the environments of home, school, and the world; safeguarding against the hurdles of adolescence; and setting good health patterns for a lifetime. Topics also include safety and injury prevention, common medical conditions in adolescence, sport and physical activity, and chronic illness or disability. Highlighted information and statistics are presented in tables and boxes throughout the book, and an index is provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-533-37996-8.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent health, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Psychosocial development, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report for program providers, policymakers, and funders provides descriptions of those after-school programs that have been shown through research to have a positive impact on adolescent sexual behavior, such as delaying the onset of sex, increasing the use of contraception, and decreasing adolescent pregnancy. Contents include program profiles and key themes that emerged from evaluations of these programs; an overview of three types of after-school programs: curriculum-based sex education programs, youth development programs, and service learning programs; information on the costs and availability of program curricula; and program evaluation literature from which communities can draw in making their decisions about what programs they might consider using. The report also describes two sex education programs that did not affect adolescent sexual behavior. The appendix includes a program profile grid offering an outline of services included in the after-school programs.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, After school programs, Case studies, Community programs, Contraception, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Service learning, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: Produced in partnership with Child Trends, No Time to Waste provides detailed descriptions of programs for middle school-age students in abstinence and sex education and in HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases that have been shown through careful research to have a positive impact on adolescent sexual behavior. The publication provides detailed descriptions of program curriculum, costs, and evaluation results. It also describes programs that did not change participants' behavior. No Time to Waste was developed as part of the ongoing Putting What Works to Work project.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Costs, HIV, Middle schools, Model programs, Prevention, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report highlights the scientific activities and achievements of the Contraception and Reproductive Health Branch (CRHB) since 1999. CRHB is part of the Center for Population Research within the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. The report notes progress in five program areas, lists goals for these areas, and projects future directions for CRHB. The five program areas are (1) contraceptive research and development, (2) contraceptive and reproductive evaluation, (3) prevention of HIV, AIDS and other sexually transmitted infections, (4) selected reproductive and gynecologic health issues, and (5) research training. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables at the end of the report. The report includes two appendices: CRHB personnel and activities and CRHB-sponsored conferences and workshops, 2000-2003.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov

Keywords: AIDS, Contraception, Federal agencies, Gynecology, HIV infection, Reproduction, Research, Sexually transmitted diseases, Training, Women', s health

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to assist states in implementing policy and program initiatives that can enhance their abilities to implement effective HIV and STD prevention education programs in juvenile justice facilities. The report identifies four areas of opportunity that states may pursue to improve HIV and STD prevention targeting incarcerated youth and describes the potential benefits of pursuing these areas of opportunity. The report also presents action steps that states may take toward improving the health of incarcerated youth. Acknowledgments and references are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Education, HIV, High risk adolescents, Incarcerated youth, Initiatives, Juvenile justice, Prevention, Public policy, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Youth

Annotation: This report evaluates the content of the most popular abstinence-only curricula used by grantees of the largest federal abstinence initiative, SPRANS (Special Programs of Regional and National Significance) Community-Based Abstinence Education. Included are an executive summary, background on abstinence-only programs, the purpose and methodology of the evaluation, a review of the findings, and a conclusion. Topics include how the majority of abstinence-only curricula contain false and misleading information about (1) the effectiveness of contraceptives, (2) risks of abortion, (3) how abstinence-only curricula blur religion and science, (4) how stereotypes about girls and boys are treated as fact, (5) the risks of sexual activity, and (6) how curricula contain scientific errors.

Contact: U.S. Congress. House of Representatives, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, 2157 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515, Telephone: (202) 225-5051 Web Site: http://oversight.house.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Curricula, Disease prevention, Federal grants, Federal programs, Misinformation, Pregnancy, Program evaluation, SPRANS, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This chartbook compiles key demographic information that has been gathered about areas in the lives of Latino youth that affect their fertility and provides a context for this information. Information is divided into the following topic areas: (1) population, (2) immigration, (3) education, (4) family, (5) access to health insurance and health care, (6) sexual behavior, pregnancy, and birth, and (7) STIs and HIV/AIDS. Each section includes text, tables, figures, and references. A section on moving forward concludes the chartbook.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Center for Reproductive Health Research and Policy, 3333 California Street, Suite 335, Box 0744, San Francisco, CA 94143-0744, Telephone: (415) 502-4086 Fax: (415) 502-8479 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crhrp.ucsf.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Data, Education, Families, Fertility, HIV, Health insurance, Hispanic Americans, Immigration, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Young adults

Annotation: This report on the regional stakeholders' meeting, Preventing HIV, STD and Teen Pregnancy in Schools: Strengthening State Health and Education Agency Partnerships, held in July 2003, provides the following: (1) a summary of the processes used to plan and implement the meeting; (2) the proceedings of the meeting; and (3) a sample of the experiences shared by state participants to coordinate efforts to integrate HIV, STD, and adolescent pregnancy prevention in schools. Topics include (1) setting the stage, (2) creating a shared vision, (3) identifying our assets, (4) defining our challenges, (5) seeking solutions, (6) working with our national partners, (7) planning for action, (8) follow-up and evaluation, and (9) regional stakeholders meetings: state outcomes. Six appendices include shared vision statements, common challenges, state strategies, an action-planning worksheet, a follow-up conference call facilitator's guide, a technical assistance tracking form, and a sample matrix of state technical assistance needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Collaboration, Education, HIV, Prevention, Program coordination, Schools, Sexually transmitted diseases, State agencies, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This report presents the findings from an evaluation of efforts to strengthen collaboration between state health agencies and state education agencies to support the improvement of HIV, STD, and adolescent pregnancy prevention in schools. The efforts were spearheaded by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; the National Alliance of State and Territorial AIDS Directors; the National Coalition of STD Directors; and the Society of State Directors of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation, which collaborated to offer two regional stakeholder meetings and to provide follow-up technical assistance. The report includes a description of participants' satisfaction with the meetings and technical assistance, additional technical assistance needs, the extent of actions taken by states to improve collaboration, the results of these efforts, and factors that facilitated and hindered state collaboration. The report includes two appendices that contain survey questions and a telephone interview guide.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Collaboration, Education, Evaluation, HIV, Prevention programs, School health education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the benefits and challenges of approaching adolescents holistically and of integrating the sexual health information and services they receive. The ract sheet discusses the following topics: (1) what is an integrated approach to promoting sexual health among adolescents? (2) is the situation of adolescents in the United States really serious enough to justify integrating health promotion efforts? (3) what are the benefits of integrating pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection (STI) prevention efforts? and (4) how does an organization integrate its work to prevent pregnancy, HIV, and other STIs? References are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, HIV, Health promotion, Health services, Prevention, Service integration, Sexually transmitted diseases