Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report highlights information about the links between interpersonal violence and adolescent pregnancy; findings are based on a review of literature and interviews with experts in several fields. The report is designed to inform the work of practitioners, programs planners, evaluators, researchers, youth advocates, legislators, and leaders of community-based coalitions and task forces. Section topics include the relationship between interpersonal violence and adolescent pregnancy; implications for interventions and policy; and next steps to consider. A bibliography and interview list are provided.

Contact: Center for Assessment and Policy Development, 268 Barren Hill Road, Conshohocken, PA 19428, Telephone: 610.828.1063 Fax: (610) 664-6099 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.capd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Child abuse, Child sexual abuse, Interpersonal violence, Intervention, Research

Annotation: This book, which focuses on mental health screening and early intervention and mental health promotion for children and adolescents, covers the following topics: (1) assessing and screening for common mental health problems, (2) diagnosing, managing, and preventing mental health disorders, (3) anxiety disorders, (4) attention deficit hyperactivity disorders, (5) eating disorders, (6) grief and loss, (7) mood disorders, (8) marital separation and divorce, (9) maltreatment, (10) sexuality, (11) substance abuse, (12) violence, (13) reimbursement, and (14) brief interventions. Each chapter contains summaries, checklists, questionnaires for parents and youth in English and Spanish, information on other tools, and resources. Some chapters include DSM-IV criteria for specific problems. An index is included.

Contact: National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, 20 Brace Road, Suite 200, Cherry Hill, NJ 08034, Telephone: (856) 857-9700 Fax: (856) 857-1600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.napnap.org $50.00, pus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Anxiety, Attention deficit disorder, Child mental health, Divorce, Early intervention, Eating disorders, Grief, Health promotion, Maltreated children, Mental disorders, Prevention, Questionnaires, Reimbursement, Screening, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program, located in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, during the period August 1, 1999, to February 28, 2005. The purpose of the project was to identify and intervene early with at-risk families to address and prevent situations of abuse, illiteracy, and ill health or malnutrition. Report sections include (1) purpose of project and relationship to Socal Security Administration (SSA) Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of resources needed to replicate. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child abuse, Domestic violence, Families, Final reports, Health, High risk groups, Malnutrition, Pennsylvania, Poverty, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This fact sheet provides statistical information on adolescent sexual activity. Topics include: general sexual activity; first sexual intercourse; sexual partners and relationships; abstinence; contraceptive and protection; pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs); sex and substance abuse; sexual pressure, assault and dating violence; and access to health care services. Major national data sets on teen sexual activity in the U.S. are identified.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Contraception, Dating, Peer pressure, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual intercourse, Sexual partners, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Violence

Annotation: This report, which is intended for service providers and counselors working with adolescents and college students, victim and women's advocacy groups, and researchers, summarizes two studies that used different methodologies and samples to determine the extent to which physical and sexual abuse as a child or adolescent contributes to later abuse. The report discusses the two studies' methodologies, findings, and limitations. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. References are included.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 197019.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child sexual abuse, Domestic violence, Research, Sexual abuse, Women

Annotation: This primer discusses the problem of substance use, including alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs, in women and girls in Minnesota, especially during pregnancy; and describes how community education can address this problem, with information about specific groups including African Americans, American Indians, Latinos, and college students. The majority of the primer lists and describes resources in a wide variety of formats tohelp understand and educate others about these problems. Formats include printed materials, videos, Internet resources, resource centers, and services. Addresses of vendors are included. The primer includes eight appendices covering topics such as selecting information, community prevention strategies, recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and addiction, and a calendar of health observances.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 38460 Lincoln Trail, Box 549, North Branch, MN 55056, Telephone: (651) 674-4085 Secondary Telephone: (877) 935-4426 Fax: (651) 277-4085 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Addiction, Adolescent females, Alcohol consumption behaviors, Bibliographies, Cigarette smoking, Communities, Depression, Directories, Domestic violence, Mental health, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief presents information on many types of violence (including the most common forms of violence, the least common forms of violence, and other types of violence) that affect children's lives, as well as critical intersections of violence and age, gender, and race and ethnicity. The brief considers the need to collect other types of information to help monitor and track violence in the lives of America's children and adolescents. The brief also offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief concludes with a list of data sources for figures, and endnotes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-932359-06-X.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Domestic violence, Ethnic factors, Fighting, Gun violence, Infants, Media violence, Racial factors, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Violence, Violence prevention, Weapons

Annotation: This report on the 2003 Vermont Youth Risk Behavior Survey -- a survey conducted every two years to measure the prevalence of behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death, disease, and injury among youth -- provides information about Vermont students. The information is designed to (1) monitor trends, (2) compare Vermont students with a national sample of students, and (3) plan, evaluate, and improve community and school programs that prevent health problems and promote healthy behaviors. The report includes the following sections: (1) basic information, (2) injuries, violence, and safety, (3) alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs (ATOD), (4) attitudes and perceptions about ATOD, (5) sexual behavior, (6) body weight and nutrition, (7) physical activity, and (8) measures of youth assets. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7606 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7701 Web Site: http://www.healthvermont.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent mortality, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol use, Body weight, Community programs, Injuries, Injury, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention, Safety, Schools, Smoking, Students, Substance abuse, Surveys, Tobacco use, Trends, Vermont, Violence

Annotation: This policy and resource guide brings together policies, position statements, and advocacy activities that address violence, intentional injury, and abuse affecting adolescents. The guide covers the following topics: (1) bullying and physical fighting, (2) education and training, (3) legal considerations, (4) physical abuse and neglect, (5) sexual abuse and sexual assault, (6) special populations, (7) suicide and attempted suicide, (8) violence and the media, (9) model policy recommendations on violence and adolescents: intentional injury and abuse, (10) joint policy statements, (11) violence prevention projects and activities, and (12) Internet resources for statistics and additional information on violence prevention. The guide includes one appendix: organizations of the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available at no charge; also available from the web site.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Advocacy, Attempted suicide, Bullying, Child abuse, Child neglect, Education, Fighting, MCH research, Public policy, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: This document contains most of the existing quantitative and qualitative research and information specific to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) health in the areas defined and discusses the overall health issues of LGBT people. The document describes barriers LGBT people face and recommends changes that will facilitate success in overcoming them. Topics covered include access to quality health care services, cancer, educational and community-based programs, health communication, HIV/AIDS, immunization and infectious diseases, mental health and mental disorders, nutrition and weight, public health infrastructure, sexually transmitted diseases, substance abuse, tobacco use, and violence prevention. The document includes five appendices that contain recommendations, acronyms, LGBT definitions, resources, and contributors.

Contact: Gay and Lesbian Medical Association, 459 Fulton Street, Suite 107, San Francisco, CA 94102, Telephone: (415) 255-4547 Fax: (415) 255-4784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glma.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Barriers, Cancer, Communicable diseases, Community based services, Community programs, Educational programs, HIV, Health, Healthy People 2010, Homosexuality, Infections, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Public health, Research, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Tobacco use, Violence prevention, Weight management

Annotation: This report is a compilation of all the Healthy People 2010 objectives that directly address reproductive health. These objectives are organized according to the following topics: access to quality health services; cancer; educational and community-based programs; family planning; health communication; HIV; immunization and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; nutrition and overweight; sexually transmitted diseases; and substance abuse. In addition to discussing these objectives, the report discusses tracking reproductive health and provides operational definitions and major data sources.

Contact: Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse, P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/order-publications/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Body weight, Cancer, Child health, Communicable diseases, Communication, Community programs, Educational programs, Family planning, HIV, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Infant health, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report describes the Healthy Start program in Saginaw, Michigan from 1998-2001 to develop and implement strategies that would impact the high infant mortality rate. Activities including risk reduction screening and referral for domestic violence, substance abuse (smoking, alcohol, and cocaine), parenting skills, high risk sexual behavior for sexually transmitted diseases and AIDS, and male involvement were implemented along with intensive outreach and health advocacy services. Report sections provided are purpose of the project and its relationship to maternal and child health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes (positive and negative), publications and products, dissemination of results, future plans and follow-up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. Appendices include data tables, sample forms, surveys, checklists, brochures, handouts, and summary sheets. Two additional appendices include copies of the Saginaw Healthy Start policy and procedure manual and Saginaw maternal and infant health advocacy services Healthy Start manual. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Saginaw Healthy Start Program, Saginaw County Department of Health, 1600 North Michigan Avenue, Saginaw, MI 48602-3750, Telephone: (989) 758-3807 Web Site: http://www.saginawpublichealth.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Domestic violence, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Michigan, Parenting skills, Prevention programs, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This book, written for parents, caregivers, and professionals, provides information about adolescents and the challenges and issues that they encounter. Topics covered include healthy bodies and healthy minds; adolescents, families, and schools; mental health; adolescent sexuality and the case for abstinence; adolescent health and development; substance abuse; sexual harassment; safety and crime prevention; violence; life after high school; and how adolescents can help to build a better community.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health promotion, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Crime prevention, Mental health, Resilience, Risk taking, School to work transition, Substance abuse, Violence

Annotation: This slide lecture presentation is designed as a training tool for clinicians to increase understanding of the important role they can play in identifying, preventing, and reducing intimate partner violence. The slide set also emphasizes the critical window of opportunity that prenatal care provides for the screening and referral of pregnant women. The publication provides tips on using the slide presentation as part of a strategy to increase screening by clinicians, gives learning objectives, and shows the text of each slide with a script of additional information to be given to the presentation audience by the presenter. The CD-ROM contains the text of the PowerPoint slides.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Prenatal care, Prevention, Professional training, Screening, Sexual partners, Violence

Annotation: This issue of Adolescent Medicine, State of the Art Reviews (which is presented in book form), highlights the major themes of adolescent health. The issue begins with a historical perspective on adolescent health. A series of articles that follow outline many key topics in adolescent health care: sexuality, family and parenting, media impact, tobacco, substance abuse, violence, resiliency, adolescent driving, sports medicine, financing, and the impact of technology on the new era. The articles include statistical information presented in tables and figures, and references. The issue contains an index.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-329-3.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Families, Financing, Mass media, Parenting, Resilience, Sports medicine, Substance abuse, Technology, Tobacco use, Violence

Annotation: This handbook presents data for interested individuals to use in making their own informed evaluation about the American family. It includes previously unpublished data plus data from a wide array of published material. Topics covered include: marriage; quality of marriage and family life; divorce; children; sexual attitudes and behavior and contraceptive use; living arrangements and kinship ties; working women, wives and mothers; family violence; and elderly families.

Keywords: Children, Contraceptive use, Divorce, Domestic violence, Families, Marriage, Older adults, Sexual attitudes, Sexual behavior, Statistics, Working women

Annotation: This book describes the status of adolescent health and provides techniques for promoting healthy behaviors through school and community linkages. The topics discussed are adolescent health, preventing unintentional adolescent injury, physical activity and fitness, nutrition for adolescents, tobacco use and adolescents, drug abuse, adolescents and alcohol use, recognizing and preventing sexually transmitted diseases among adolescents, HIV, AIDS, adolescent pregnancy and early childbearing, adolescent mental health, youth violence, family and dating violence, health education programs, peer education, postponing sexual involvement, and several community adolescent health programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Hardcover: $48.00; Paperback: $22.95. Document Number: ISBN 07619-0275-9.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, HIV, Health education, Injury prevention, Maternal age, Peer education, Physical fitness, Public health programs, Sexually transmitted diseases, Tobacco use, Violence

Annotation: This book has been developed for all primary health care providers and discusses women's diseases, beginning with adolescence, and how they differ from the study and treatment of men's diseases. The inadequacy of women's health research is discussed. Topics such as women's health promotion and concerns, and traditional medical, psychological and social concerns throughout the life cycle are included. The book contains extensive charts, graphs, and tables throughout. Appendices include recommendations on preventive services and an age chart for examinations. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-683-07366-4.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Breast care, Cardiovascular diseases, Contraception, Endocrine diseases, Gastrointestinal diseases, Gynecological diseases, Health promotion, Lactation, Life cycle, Mental health, Pregnancy, Primary care, Psychosocial factors, Respiratory diseases, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Urologic diseases, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: These guidelines discuss the implications of family violence with regard to its prevalence and costs and the role of physicians in its treatment. The guidelines consider clinical aspects such as adapting to stress and review indicators of elder mistreatment, child physical abuse and neglect, child sexual abuse, partner abuse and neglect, and adult survivors of childhood abuse. It also considers the assessment and treatment of family violence, and provides suggestions for making referrals. Topics relating to legal issues are also discussed; and contact information is provided for state resources for domestic violence, elder mistreatment, and child abuse.

Contact: American Medical Association, Department of Mental Health, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (312) 464-5066 Secondary Telephone: 800-621-8335 Contact Phone: ((312)) 464-5066 Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org/ $2.25 members for 1 to 24 copies; $3.00 nonmembers for 1 to 24 copies; discounts available for bulk orders; prepayment required; make checks payable to American Medical Association.

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Domestic violence, Elder abuse, Family violence, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Physicians, Protocols, Therapeutics Legal responsibility

Annotation: This paper explores twelve issues relating to family violence; for each topic it provides a context and discusses the implications for mental health professionals. Some of the topics covered are: is treating family violence an intrusion into family privacy, is violence a learned behavior, and is spanking children abusive. Other topics include: how do emotions affect the professionals' approaches to family violence, why don't battered women take their children and leave, are mandatory reporting laws helpful, what does society want police to do in response to family violence, and what legal concerns should professionals have as they work with families?

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Contact Phone: (202) 336-5898 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apa.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Battered women, Behavior disorders, Child abuse, Family violence, Legal responsibility, Mental health professionals, Physical abuse, Professional ethics, Sexual abuse, Social problems