Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This data brief highlights the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of children in kindergarten and third grade in Arizona's public schools and compares prevalence to that of their counterparts in the general U.S. population screened between 2017 and 2020 as part of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. The report also discusses the prevalence of dental sealants among the two groups. Information about oral health disparities, overall trends, and data sources and methods is included.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Ave., Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 364-1400 Fax: (602) 364- 1495 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Dental sealants, Oral health, School age children, Trends, State information, Tooth decay

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Arizona's school-based dental sealant program during the 2023–2024 school year. Information is included on the number of schools served, children screened, children who received dental sealants, and children who received fluoride varnish. Also included is information about the percentage of children in the program who were referred for treatment and who had urgent oral health care needs. National and state percentages of children in third grade with tooth decay experience, with untreated tooth decay, and who needed dental sealants are provided, along with information about the number of school hours missed per year due to oral-health-related issues.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: 2-OH-081 (11/2024).

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screening, Oral health, School age children, State information, Treatment

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about why it is important for children and adolescents to have good oral health to succeed in school. It provides information about the impact of tooth decay on school attendance, the number of children and adolescents who missed at least one school day due to oral health problems in the past year, and the cost to school districts of students missing school days. Information on how parents can help ensure that their child has a healthy mouth and teeth and is successful in school is also presented.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Costs, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: These guidelines provide information for school nurses who conduct school-based oral health screenings. Topics include grades targeted for oral health screening and preparation; infection control and prevention; oral-health-screening procedures; and documentation of screening results. Consent forms, an oral-health-screening summary form, and a parent letter are included. An order form is also available.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Document
• Order Form

Keywords: Health screenings, Infection control, Nurses, Oral health, School health, School-age children

Annotation: This report provides information about the number of children in Iowa who received a required oral health screening at school during the 2022–2023 school year. The report presents information, by county, on the following categories: number of children enrolled, with valid screening certificates, with treatment needs, provider types, and with valid exemption certificates (religious or financial hardship). A key with more information about each category is included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Iowa, Oral health, School age children, Screening tests, State information

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: This document explains how school administrators and school systems can help link students in families with low incomes to local housing assistance programs and community resources. It describes how housing affordability, stability, and quality improve educational outcomes and recommends best practices that can help localities integrate housing stability programs with school systems.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

Keywords: Homelessness, Housing, School age children, School linked programs

Annotation: This report provides information from an evaluaion of the North Dakota Oral Health Program. Topics include community water fluoridation, oral health services provided in federally qualified health centers, all North Dakota school-based dental sealant programs, SEALIND: all schools served by one North Dakota school-based dental sealant program, SEALIND: schools qualifying for oral health services based on need, and the integration of oral health care and primary care in a North Dakota family medical center.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluoride, North Dakota, Oral health, School health, School-age children, Service delivery, Service integration, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information from an oral health needs assessment focused on students in third grade in Oklahoma in 2023. The report presents background on and the purpose of the assessment and discusses the research design. Results are presented on the following topics: participant characteristics; dental sealants on permanent molar teeth; decayed, missed, and filled teeth; untreated tooth decay in permanent or primary teeth; missing permanent and primary teeth; filled permanent and primary teeth; and results of screenings as determined by a dental hygienist.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, Dental Health Service, 1000 Northeast 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299, Telephone: (405) 271-5502 Fax: (405) 271-5434 Web Site: https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/children-family-health/dental-health-service.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health screenings, Needs assessment, Oklahoma, Oral health, Research, School age children, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health status of children in third grade in Pennsylvania. Information is from the 2021–2022 Oral Health Basic Screening Survey of Third-Graders. Topics include the benefits of oral health, the survey method, screening procedures used for the survey, data, key terms, results, and future directions.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health screeenings, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Prevention, School health, School-age children, State programs, Surveys, state informaiton

Annotation: This report provides information on the oral health of children in Rhode Island. Data and analysis are based on results fromf a 2021–2022 statewide oral health basic screening survey and from 2019–2020 and 2022–2022 statewide oral health surveys of children in kindergarten and third grade enrolled in Rhode Island’s public elementary schools, both conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health’s Oral Health Program. The report describes survey methods and presents results. Other topics include oral health outcomes (tooth decay, untreated decay, dental sealants among children in third grade, rampant decay, and early or urgent oral health care), the impact of race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status on oral health, and a comparison of results to results from a 2013–2014 survey on children in third grade.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This brief describes closed-loop referrals in California (defined as referring Medi-Cal managed care plan participants to available community resources, coordinating the referral, and following up to help ensure that care, including oral health care, was provided). The brief offers recommendations for successful closed-loop referrals for children and families who are Medi-Cal participants. It also discusses considerations for closed-loop referrals for infants and young children, school-age children, and adolescents, including those in foster care. Opportunities for building an infrastructure and partnerships foundational to closed-loop referrals are presented.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Followup, Foster care, Health insurance programs, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Referrals, School-age children, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help school nurses and others who work with school-age children provide effective treatment for minor oral health emergencies or problems such as inflamed or irritated gum tissue, toothaches, a broken or displaced tooth, traumatic avulsion, and a lacerated lip or tongue. Topics include dental first aid and primary and permanent dentition. A dental-trauma decision tree is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website. Document Number: #134.

• PDF

Keywords: Emergencies, First aid, Oral health, School age children, School health, Trauma, Treatment

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report offers information about school dental sealant programs, including school-based, school-linked, and hybrid programs. It includes background information; a rationale for sealant programs; guidelines, recommendations, and evidence reviews to support the establishment of school-based programs; considerations to take into account when implementing school-based programs; and state practice examples illustrating strategies and interventions for school-based programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Oral health, School age children, School health

Annotation: This report provides information for schools about U.S. Department of Agriculture Smart Snacks in School standards and how to comply with them. The report explains what Smart Snacks are and why they are important, which foods and beverages meet the standards for snacks, and how schools can tell if they are complying with the standards for snacks. Other selected topics include foods and beverages that are exemptions to certain nutrient requirements and how the standards affect school fundraisers.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Nutrition, School age children, School health, Snacks, Standards