Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This compendium provides information for nurses caring for women, infants, and families in any setting: hospital, birthing center, ambulatory care, or home. This revised reference manual provides evidence-based information and guidelines for postpartum care, and addresses the physical, emotional, and psychosocial needs of mothers, newborns, and families for the first three months following birth. Topics include an overview of postpartum care in the hospital, discharge planning and health teaching, early home care of the mother and infant, reorganization of the family unit, and breastfeeding. Also featured are the latest research and practice recommendations for postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, including postpartum obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder secondary to birth trauma. References and a glossary are provided along with continuing education forms, questions, a participant evaluation form, patient handouts, and a post-text answer key.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 1800 M Street, NW, Suite 740S, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.awhonn.org/

• Preview Of 3rd Edition

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This committee opinion for clinicians includes background information on the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine; statistics on HPV-associated cancers; recommendations on who should be vaccinated and when; guidelines on administering the vaccine; and information on safety, efficacy, and patient education. The 2020 committee opinion r(#809) replaces the earlier 2017 opinion (#704).

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cancer, Communication, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Women', s health services

Annotation: This guide provides information and resources about bullying prevention. Contents include descriptions of organizations and websites; data, definitions, and research; programs, campaigns, and toolkits; policies, laws, and legislation; publications and resources; and information about at-risk populations and bullying and co-occurring issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2015 Edition

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: This toolkit for Title V program staff and other stakeholders provides information to help address national performance measure 13.1 (preventive dental visits for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visits for children and adolescents ages 1–17). The strategic approaches described in the toolkit are informed by evidence and include resources from national and state organizations. The approaches are divided into categories, with relevant resources listed for each. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Model programs, Prevention, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This playbook is designed to help individuals and communities improve oral health care and outcomes for school-age children. It provides links to school oral health strategies, champions, models, resources, and programs. The playbook discusses why it is important to ensure access to oral health care for children, how to launch a program that builds on existing efforts, and which programs working toward improved oral health and outcomes already exist and what can be learned from their successes and challenges.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health programs, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health

Annotation: This guide is a tool to encourage common understanding among educators, families, and health professionals about infectious diseases in group settings for children. The guide identifies the role of educators, families, public health officials, and health professionals in preventing and controlling the spread of communicable infections; symptoms of infections commonly found in group settings for children; how infections are spread (route of transmission); when to seek medical attention; inclusion and exclusion criteria; strategies and sample forms for communications involving directors/caregivers, parents/guardians, and health professionals; and resources for professional development for directors/teachers/caregivers related to infectious diseases.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org . Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-050-3.

• E-book Preview

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Communicable disease control, Communicable diseases, Forms, Infection control, Infections, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Schools

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This infographic provides information about sugar-sweetened beverages (SSBs) and tips on healthy alternatives. Topics include the potential impact of SSB consumption on oral health; the amount of sugar in different beverages; and recommended daily limits on sugar for infants, children, adolescents, and adults. Information about reading nutrition labels, limiting juice, and choosing water is provided.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Fluid intake, Health behavior, Infants, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Sugar, Water

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information and tips on providing and advocating for recess to improve learning and school health. Topics include advocating for more, better, and active recess; recess before lunch; making recess inclusive; playground design; and recess for secondary students. Resources are included.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Equal opportunities, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This document provides tips on helping children get 60 minutes of moderate-to-vigorous physical activity every day by engaging them in before- and after-school activities. Contents include information and resources on out-of-school time programs and walk and bike to school initiatives, tips on starting a walking or running club, and encouraging student involvement in intramural programs.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, After school programs, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Oral health care, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 6, percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) data collection, measurement, and existing landscape; (2) policy research, development, and implementation; (3) systems coordination; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) education, engagement, and resource development; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Announcement

Keywords: Children, Developmental screening, Infants, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 9, percent of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who are bullied or who bully others. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) assessment; (2) communication efforts; (3) implementation of evidence-based practices; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) policy and systems approaches; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report reviews evidence-informed and evidence-based strategies that Maternal and Child Health (MCH)Block Grant programs can implement to address National Performance Measure 11: Medical Home. It gives background information on pediatric medical homes; describes the national performance measure; discusses the approach used for the evidence review analysis; summarizes strategies identified in the evidence review; and discusses implications of the research. IT also discusses how the MCH Evidence Center can help state Title V programs implement interventions selected from this review. The brief summarizes the report.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Medical home, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 10: Number of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, with a preventive medical visit in the past year Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) improve access and uptake of preventive services;; (2) improve quality of preventive services; (3) improve statesystems-level policies and practices; and (4) positive youth development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Health supervision, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) youth and family education and leadership development; (2) health care professional workforce development; (3) care coordination; (4) communications and social media; and (5) measurement and assessment. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Model programs, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, State programs, Title V programs, Transition to adult services, Young adults

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use