Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The chartbook presents data for one of the three NOHI projects, the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration, related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement,dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. It also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data collection tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

Annotation: The chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The chartbook presents data for one of the three NOHI projects, the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement,dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. It also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data collection tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

Annotation: The chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. It also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data collection tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

Annotation: This report addresses questions on whether the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services should require state Medicaid agencies to implement Medicaid reimbursement and payment policies that promote access to oral health care for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) and on whether doing so could be cost-effective. The report discusses barriers to accessing oral health care for adults with I/DD, Medicaid’s role in making oral health care accessible for them, an analysis of state Medicaid oral health dental coverage, Medicaid reimbursement rates, receipt of oral health care among this population, opportunities for change, and areas for future research.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Research, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report addresses a range of issues facing the Medicaid program. Topics include monitoring access to health care (including oral health care), improving the oversight and transparency of directed payments, improving access to vaccines for adults, encouraging the use of health information technology among behavioral health professionals, requiring states to integrate care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare, and advancing health equity in Medicaid.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Behavior health, Heath information, Medicaid, Medicare, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Technology, Vaccines

Annotation: This health policy blog post, the third in a series from Georgetown University's Center for Children and Families, examines implementation pathways and payment structures for doula services in Medicaid programs. It analyzes key lessons learned from early adopter states Oregon and Minnesota, focusing on two core challenges: the legal authority under which states can authorize doula services and establishing sustainable reimbursement rates. The post explains how states have shifted from using Medicaid's "direct services" authority to the Affordable Care Act's preventive services pathway, which allows doulas to practice more independently. It details how states have adjusted reimbursement rates over time, with examples ranging from Minnesota's increase to $770 per birth to Oregon's planned increase to $1,500 per pregnancy. The analysis provides specific examples of how newer states like Virginia, Rhode Island, Washington D.C., and California are implementing doula coverage in Medicaid, incorporating lessons from earlier state experiences. The report emphasizes the importance of sustainable payment rates and reduced administrative barriers in advancing health equity, particularly for communities of color who experience disproportionate maternal health disparities.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Doulas, Financing, Medicaid, Reimbursement, State initiatives

Annotation: This report provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure equitable health care systems and access to oral health care in the state. It discusses three policy opportunities: preserving the adult benefit under the Medicaid program; preserving Medicaid expansion, and increasing the number of oral health professionals in the state who accept patients enrolled in Medicaid by advocating for higher reimbursement rates.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Medicaid, Ohio, Oral health, Reimbursement, Statewide planning

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned that can help states build, sustain, or expand partnerships with community health workers (CHWs). It discusses engaging CHWs and other community-based stakeholders in policymaking to inform CHW programs and identify communities’ needs and strengths, leveraging experience from the COVID-19-pandemic response, and transitioning work with CHWs to advance other policies and financing approaches. It also discusses investing in CHWs to ensure sustainability, including through reimbursement of services, building career paths, and strengthening CHW networks.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community Health Workers, Community health, Disease transmission, Financing, Health services, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Reimbursement, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report makes a case for Medicaid reimbursement for fluoride varnish education and application for children age 3–6, pregnant women, and new mothers in Illinois. It provides background information on oral health during the perinatal period and in childhood and presents current Medicaid reimbursable FV-related services in the state by health professional type (i.e., oral health professionals, non-oral-health professionals). It also addresses the importance of an interdisciplinary approach to improving the oral health of women during the perinatal period and of children.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Fluoride varnish, Illinois, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Primary care, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: This report summarizes findings and recommendations for increasing the cultural, linguistic, and health literacy competency of health professionals and health care delivery organizations throughout Maryland. Contents include recommendations for cultural competency standards and tiered reimbursement for medical and behavioral service settings, standards for multicultural health in patient-centered medical homes and other health care settings, and standards for continuing education in cultural competency for health care professionals.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• 2013-2020 Report
• 2019-2020 Update

Keywords: Access to health care, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Equal opportunities, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health literacy, Language barriers, Maryland, Medical home, Reimbursement, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This paper provides information on the benefits of teledentistry and how to make it more accessible. It discusses the impact of not receiving oral health care, new uses of and approaches to teledentistry, potential savings for states from increasing the use of teledentistry, and the promise of teledentistry. What states can do to make it easier for health systems, hospitals, and safety net clinics to adopt teledentistry initiatives is also discussed, including expanding the workforce, updating reimbursement policies, enhancing legal clarity, and making it easier for health professionals to share patient information.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Initiatives, Legislation, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, Teledentistry

Annotation: This special journal issue focuses on value-based oral health care. It includes an editorial, original research, and practice briefs. Contents focus on efforts to address problems in the oral health care system that have resulted in oral health inequities. Articles describe efforts such as adapting reimbursement mechanisms, prioritizing prevention over treatment, growing interprofessional practice, increasing data measurement, and empowering patients and communities to shape their health trajectories.

Contact: Wiley , 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: E-mail: https://www.wiley.com/en-us/contact Web Site: http://www.wiley.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Oral health, Prevention, Reimbursement, Research, Service integration, Treatment

Annotation: This brief explores several state policy options to respond to oral health care needs during the COVID-19 pandemic and to move toward a more equitable oral health care system. Topics include universal and comprehensive oral health coverage, improving access to and increasing reimbursement for teledentistry services, and expanding the oral health workforce. Information about two organizations that have implemented innovative models to address issues related to COVID-19 and oral health inequities is included.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health equity, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Reimbursement, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professions provides information about oral-health-related anticipatory guidance to provide to parents of infants and children, as well as information on fluoride varnish application. It explains what fluoride and fluoride varnish are, their benefits, and what is required to apply fluoride varnish. Information on fluoride-varnish-application supplies and reimbursement, application steps, and referrals is also presented.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS .

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Fluoride, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This guide provides information about teledentistry by state. It discusses types of teledentistry use (e.g., patient live video consultations, patient and health professional messaging) and includes the following questions and answers for each state: (1) does the state allow for direct access to dental hygiene services, (2) does the state allow dental assistants to participate in teledentistry services, (3) how does the state define teledentistry, (4) is it possible to be reimbursed for teledentistry services, and (5) does the state provide a parity law related to teledentistry.

Contact: Mouthwatch, 460 Main Street, Suite B, Metuchen, NJ 08840, Telephone: (877) 544-4342 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mouthwatch.com/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Legislation, Oral health, Reimbursement, State information, Teledentistry

Annotation: This brief provides information on using silver diamine fluoride (SDF) to arrest tooth decay. Background information on SDF is presented, and the following topics are discussed: indications for use, clinical application and safety, protecting patients, effects of SDF on existing restorations, restorative properties of SDF and therapeutic risks associated with it, the clinical protocol for SDF application, frequency of application, coding for reimbursement, and status of SDF as a covered service.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Protocols, Reimbursement, Safety, Silver diamine fluoride, Treatment

Annotation: This document presents survey findings for the 50 states and the District of Columbia on reimbursement for risk assessment, oral examination, fluoride varnish, anticipatory guidance, and family oral health education. It presents information on the following topics: type of health professional, services, fees, procedure codes, delegation, age limit for services, number of varnish applications reimbursed annually, training requirement, payor, payment by Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program, and legislative approval to reimburse health professionals. Information about commercial payment and procedure codes is also included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• Excel Document

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Children, Families, Fluorides, Health education, Infants, Oral health, Oral health care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Reimbursement, Risk assessment

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Oral health care, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children