Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (137 total).

Nelson J, Brooks L. 2016. Racial equity toolkit: An opportunity to operationalize equity. New York, NY: Government Alliance on Race and Equity, 28 pp.

Annotation: The Government Alliance on Race and Equity (GARE) is a national network of government working to achieve racial equity and advance opportunities for all. This toolkit is designed to help local governments and community-based organizations integrate considerations of racial equity into all aspects of decision-making, including policies, practices, programs, and budgets. The toolkit provides examples of racial equity tools used in Seattle, Multnomah County in Oregon, and Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact: Government Alliance on Race and Equity, Race Forward, 145 East 57th Street, 4th Floor, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-513-7925 Fax: 212-513-1367 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.racialequityalliance.org/

Keywords: Community programs, Disparities, Ethnic groups, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

Horowitz AM. 2016. Maryland survey of WIC personnel: Tooth decay (cavities). College Park, MD: University of Maryland School of Public Health, Horowitz Center for Health Literacy, 13 pp.

Annotation: This survey includes questions related to tooth decay for Maryland Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Nutrition Program employees. Selected topics include survey recipients' role in their program and the program itself, recipients' opinions on how to prevent tooth decay, access to health care for program participants, how recipients help participants obtain oral health care, what types of oral-disease-prevention activities the program engages in, where recipients get oral health information, whether they have had or would be interested in training on tooth-decay prevention and communication skills, and the highest grade they completed in school and their racial or ethnic background.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Low income groups, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Racial factors, State programs, Surveys, Training, WIC program, Young children

Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. 2015. Infant mortality reduction plan for Minnesota, part one: A partnership between the Minnesota Department of Health and the residents of Minnesota. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, 79 pp.

Annotation: This document for stakeholders in the private, public, academic, or non-profit sectors outlines a strategic plan to address the infant mortality problem in Minnesota, particularly persistent racial and ethnic disparities in poor birth outcomes. Contents include background and key findings on the sources of long-standing disparities in infant mortality, particularly among American Indians and African Americans, and perspectives on what changes could be made in systems, policies, and practices to improve birth outcomes. Additional contents include broad recommendations to further reduce infant mortality in the state; vision, goals, and objectives; and a call to action.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Community action, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Racial discrimination, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Annie E. Casey Foundation. 2015. It's time to talk: How to start conversations about racial inequities. Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 16 pp. (Race for results case study series; 1)

Annotation: This report tells how KIDS COUNT advocates in Nebraska, Wisconsin, and Washington used solid data, leadership, and citizen engagement to advocate for race-based legislation and community change. The document focuses on the importance of organizing community conversations about race as a first step toward action, and it provides examples from case studies in three different states. In addition, the report provides resources to help convene conversations on race.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

Keywords: Children, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count. 2014. Race for results: Building a path to opportunity for all children. Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count, 32 pp. (KIDS COUNT policy report)

Annotation: This report explores the intersection of children, race, and opportunity. Features include the Race for Results index, which compares how children are progressing on key milestones across racial and ethnic groups at the national and state levels. Topics include 12 indicators that measure a child's success in each stage of life, from birth to adulthood, in the areas of early childhood; education and early work; family supports; and neighborhood context. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/MajorInitiatives/KIDSCOUNT.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Education, Ethnic groups, Family support, Infants, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, Work force, Young children

Annie E. Casey Foundation. 2014. Embracing equity: 7 steps to advance and embed race equity and inclusion within your organization. Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 13 pp. (Race equity and inclusion action guide)

Annotation: This action guide provides resources to help organizations and foundations achieve race equity. The guide presents seven key steps to advance race equity and inclusion and includes detailed descriptions for each of the steps. In addition, the guide defines core concepts, such as equity, inclusion, racial justice, racism, and systemic racialization.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

Keywords: Disparities, Ethnic groups, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Isaacs J. 2013. Unemployment from a child's perspective. Washington, DC: First Focus and Urban Institute, 20 pp.

Annotation: This brief, which is part of a series of issue briefs examining he impact of the recession on children, examines unemployment from a child's perspective. It addresses the following questions: How many children are affected by parental unemployment? How does parental job loss affect children? Who are the children of the unemployed? Where do the children of the unemployed live? To what extent are families with children covered by unemployment insurance? The brief also reviews policies affecting the safety net for children of the unemployed.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent attitudes, Child attitudes, Child development, Child health, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Geographic factors, Health insurance, Low income groups, Parents, Poverty, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Statistical data, Unemployment

Van Hook J, Landale NS, Hillemeier MH. 2013. Is the United States bad for children's health? Risk and resilience among young children of immigrants. Washington, DC: Migration Policy Institute, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes current knowledge about the health of children of immigrants in the United States. The report provides an overview about children of immigrants of all national origins and then focuses on the largest group of children living in the United States today—the children of Mexican immigrants. Topics include the importance of childhood health and health disparities, health among children of immigrants:, and children of Mexican immigrants. For children of Mexican immigrants, the report focuses on asthma, obesity, and explaining poor health outcomes among this population.

Contact: Migration Policy Institute, 1400 16th Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 266-1940 Fax: (202) 266-1900 E-mail: http://www.migrationpolicy.org/contact/index.php Web Site: http://www.migrationpolicy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Minority groups, Asthma, Obesity, Child health, Ethnic factors, Families, Immigrants, Mexican Americans, Mexicans, Racial factors

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. 2013. Hispanics in Maryland: Health data and resources. Balitmore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Hispanic population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Contact-Us.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Maryland, Mental heath, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. 2013. American Indians and Alaska Natives in Maryland: Health data and resources. Balitmore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Native American and Alaska Native population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Contact-Us.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic American Indians, Infant health, Maryland, Mental health, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Bell J, Mora G, Hagan E, Rubin V, Karpyn A. 2013. Access to healthy foods and why it matters: A review of the research . Oakland, CA: PolicyLink; Philadelphia, PA: The Food Trust, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a current picture of the state of the research on food access, examining the relationship between the “food environments” in which people live and their diets, as well as the relationship between food retailing and community economic development. Topics include measuring change over time in terms of better access to healthy food, the role poor access to healthy food contributes to poorer nutrition overall, and how new healthy food retailing contributes to community economic development in tangible, positive ways.

Contact: PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.policylink.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Research, Community surveys, Food, Food habits, Food supply, Low income groups, Nutrition, Public health nutrition, Racial factors, Rural environment, Socioeconomic factors

Brandt R, Phillips R. 2013. Improving supports for youth of color traumatized by violence. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the most effective ways to support male children and adolescents traumatized by exposure to violence. The report introduces the problem and then discusses theoretical models and approaches, including school-based employment-based, and care-coordination strategies, improved implementation of service systems; and action steps.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent males, Behavior modification, Behavior problems, Child behavior, Child development, Communities, Families, Health care systems, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Low income groups, Male children, Poverty, Prevention, Programs, Racial factors, Schools, Service delivery, Trauma, Violence, Violence prevention

Allen KD, Pires SA, Mahadevan R. 2012. Improving outcomes for children in child welfare: A Medicaid managed care toolkit. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 49 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit describes the efforts of the nine Medicaid managed care organizations (MCOs) that participated in Improving Outcomes for Children Involved in Child Welfare: A CHCS Quality Improvement Collaborative, designed by the Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) and funded by the Annie E. Casey Foundation. The toolkit includes a project overview, an overview and description of the impact of the MCOs' initiatives, and discussions of care coordination and lessons learned.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior problems, Child health, Child welfare, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Ethnic factors, Foster care, Foster children, High risk children, Initiatives, Low income groups, Medicaid managed care, Mental health, Programs, Racial factors

Grantmakers In Health. 2012. Striving for health equity: Opportunities as identified by leaders in the field. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 29 pp.

Annotation: This paper, which focuses on health and health care inequities, highlights the current state of the health disparities arena; identifies key opportunities for reduction and elimination strategies, including areas of opportunity arising from key health reform provisions; and offers a set of recommendations and options for funders considering taking more actionable steps to support health disparities elimination and reduction efforts. The paper offers definitions of key terms, provides a health-equity framework, and summarizes key themes and recommendations.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Economic factors, Educational factors, Financing, Geographic factors, Health, Health care reform, High risk groups, Low income groups, Racial factors, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, health care

Expert Panel on Cultural Competence Education for Students in Medicine and Public Health. 2012. Cultural competence education for students in medicine and public health: Report of an expert panel. Washington, DC: Association of American Medical Colleges and Association of Schools of Public Health, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the recommendations of an expert panel to ensure that students acquire cultural competencies in their chosen fields to prepare them for successful practice, including the development and delivery of appropriate health care and population health programs, services, and policies for an increasingly diverse U.S. population. Contents include recommendations for embedding cultural competence education within and across curricula of medicine and public health, exemplary case studies, and a road map for the future.

Contact: Association of American Medical Colleges, 655 K Street, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20001-2399, Telephone: (202) 828-0400 Web Site: https://www.aamc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Curricula, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Medical students, Professional education, Public health education, Racial factors

Planning Council for Health and Human Services, and Wisconsin Partnership Program, Lifecourse Initiative for Healthy Families. 2012. Milwaukee Lifecourse Initiative for Healthy Families community action plan. Milwaukee, WI: Planning Council for Health and Human Services, 208 pp.

Annotation: This community action plan focuses on the efforts of the Milwaukee Lifecourse Initiative to reduce infant mortality among blacks in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The action plan discusses background, provides a community description, and discusses the initiative and its efforts. Other topics include addressing socioeconomic conditions and stress, milestones and an evaluation plan, budget and resources, and a sustainability plan.

Keywords: Blacks, Budgets, Communities, Economic factors, High risk groups, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Prevention, Program evaluation, Racial factors, State programs, Stress, Trends, Wisconsin

Flores G. 2012. Community health workers, promotores, and parent workers: Innovative, community-based approaches to improving the health and healthcare of children. Washington, DC: First Focus, 9 pp. (Big ideas: Children in the Southwest)

Annotation: This paper examines how community health workers (CHWs), promotores, and parent mentors can be used to improve the health of children in the Southwest, as well as the health care available to them. The paper provides definitions of CHWs, promotores, and parent mentors and discusses a conceptual framework for providing an understanding of how they can improve children's health and health care; evidence of effectiveness and cost-effectiveness; existing programs; and implications for policy, practice, and research.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child abuse, Child health, Community health workers, Community heath services, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health services, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Low income groups, Low income groups, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Research, Southwestern United States, Uninsured persons

Illinois Department of Human Services. 2012. The reduction of infant mortality in Illinois: The Family Case Management Program and Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children—2011 annual report. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Human Services, 21 pp.

Annotation: This annual report provides information about the Family and Case Management Program and WIC Program in Illinois for FY 2011. The programs strive to reduce infant mortality while also providing other services. Topics include program descriptions, financing, service delivery systems, caseload, performance, outcomes, and racial disparities in infant mortality.

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Case management, Families, Family support programs, Final reports, Programs, Financing, Health care systems, High risk groups, Illinois, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Parent support programs, Prevention, Racial factors, Service delivery systems, State programs, Women', s health

LaVeist TA, Gaskin DJ, Richard P. 2011. The economic burden of health inequalities in the United States. Washington, DC: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents findings from a study to estimate the economic burden of health disparities in the United States using the following three measures: direct medical costs of health inequalities, indirect costs of health inequities, and costs of premature death. Topics include the potential cost savings of eliminating health disparities and productivity loss associated with health inequalities for racial and ethnic minorities.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Economics, Equal opportunities, Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Racial factors, Research

Currie J. 2011. Inequality at birth: Some causes and consequences. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 42 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 16798)

Annotation: This paper offers evidence on the issue of whether families with low incomes and those who are members of minority groups are disproportionately exposed to environmental hazards. The paper reviews some evidence about the determinants of health at birth and focuses in particular on prenatal exposure to pollution. Topics include endowments at birth and future outcomes and health at birth and environmental justice.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Educational attainment, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Families, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Racial factors

« Previous Page