Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book provides detailed assistance in the use of analytic procedures commonly used in social sciences research. The book provides an introduction to the basic principles of data analysis, and then it considers the following topics: focusing and bounding the collection of data, early steps in analysis, procedures relating to within-case and cross-case displays, matrix displays, drawing and verifying conclusions, ethical issues in analysis, and producing reports. The book describes and illustrates more than sixty methods for displaying and analyzing data and includes practical suggestions for adapting and using them. An appendix includes information on choosing computer programs for qualitative data analysis. The book includes a bibliography and author and subject indexes.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95, paper; $59.95, cloth; plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5540-5, paper; 0-8039-4653-8, cloth.

Keywords: Data analysis, Qualitative evaluation, Research methodology

Annotation: This book focuses on the relationships between qualitative and quantitative research and their implications in the theories of program evaluation. It contains eight chapters by different authors that consider various aspects of the topic.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-9967-9.

Keywords: Program evaluation, Qualitative evaluation, Quantitative evaluation

Annotation: The report finds that preschool participation among low-income children in Head Start is lower than among high-income families, and it notes that there is a growing population among low-income children that need the services provided by Head Start. The report also considers barriers that prevent the delivery of the full range of Head Start services. These include a lack of qualified staff, rising costs, and limited availability of community resources. Seamless early childhood programs have been established in Denmark, France, and Italy. Common features from those programs that could be incorporated into Head Start are noted, and the implications of making those changes to Head Start are analyzed.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-94-169BR.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Child care, Children, Enrollment, Head Start, International perspectives, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Programs, Qualitative evaluation, Resource allocation, Young children

Annotation: This handbook is designed to provide practical guidelines for the correct use of focus groups research and to suggest modifications to developing countries. The author provides an overview of qualitative research, and discusses when to use individual depth interviews and when to use focus groups. She also discusses setting up focus group research, developing the topic guide, group discussion techniques, the focus group moderator, moderating a focus group, special problems that occur in focus groups, and the focus group report. This is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: FHI 360 , 359 Blackwell Street, Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 544-7040 Contact Phone: (202) 862-1900 Fax: (919) 544-7261 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fhi360.org $10.00; prepayment required.

Keywords: Developing countries, Focus groups, Manuals, Market research, Non English language materials, Qualitative evaluation, Spanish language materials