Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of a national preconception outreach and education initiative for young men and women and clinicians. Contents include media metrics following the launch of national consumer website and social media platform to increase the visibility of preconception health messages and provide young adults with essential, evidence-based information to improve their health, reduce their risks, and improve birth outcomes. Topics include launch results and analytic snapshot and information about the related grantee and preconception peer educator ambassador programs. Additional contents summarize the impact of a partnership to integrate preconception health into routine clinical care using a learning collaborative, peer-reviewed publications, a website, traditional media, social media, expanded conversations, conferences and webinars, and a national newsletter.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Mass media, Measures, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This call to action describes strategic skills that the government public health workforce needs to meet the evolving needs of the public. Skills discussed include systems thinking, change management, pursuasive communication, data analytics, problem solving, diversity and inclusion, resource management, and policy engagement. Actions are suggested for public health agencies, funders, employees, training and development programs, and membership associations.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Public health, Work force

Annotation: This executive summary provides an overview of the Healthy Futures: Engaging the Oral Health Community in Childhood Obesity Prevention National Conference and key findings. It also presents a list of proposed strategies for preventing childhood obesity in the following areas: research, dental students’ education and training, oral health professionals’ continuing education and training, advocacy/policy, consumer-based education interventions, interprofessional collaboration, and reimbursement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Education and training, Interventions, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Young children

Annotation: This special supplement includes articles prepared for the Healthy Futures: Engaging the Oral Health Community in Childhood Obesity Prevention National Conference. The articles discuss the science related to preventing childhood obesity and reducing children’s consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages and strategies that oral health professionals and organizations can employ to prevent childhood obesity. The articles examine (1) the science related to preventing childhood obesity, (2) the science related to reducing children’s consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages or sugar-containing beverages, and (3) strategies that could be employed by oral health professionals and organizations and others to prevent childhood obesity.

Contact: John Wiley and Sons, Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Education and training, Interventions, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Young children

Annotation: This plan provides information about ensuring the best possible oral health for Kentuckians by collaborating to build oral health equity through access to oral health care, education, workforce readiness, and effective use of resources. Topics include a survey of individuals interested in oral health in the state, data collection and metrics, dentistry as a business, interprofessional collaboration, prevention, oral health literacy, policy, emerging issues, and goals and action items.

Contact: Team Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Oral Health Program, 275 East Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40621, Telephone: (502) 564-3246 Web Site: https://www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/Pages/oralhealth.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data collection, Health education, Health literacy, Health promotion, Kentucky, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This U.S. National Physical Activity Plan is a comprehensive set of policies, programs, and initiatives designed to increase physical activity in all segments of the U.S. population. The Plan aims to foster a national culture that supports physically active lifestyles. Its ultimate purpose is to improve health, prevent disease and disability, and enhance quality of life. It provides recommendations for nine societal sectors: business and industry; community, recreation, fitness, and parks; education; faith-based settings; healthcare; mass media; public health; sport; and transportation, land use, and community design.

Contact: National Physical Activity Plan Alliance, 921 Assembly Street, Suite 212, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (866) 365-5122 Fax: (803) 777-2504 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.physicalactivityplan.org Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: Business, Communities, Education, Health care, Health promotion, Industry, Initiatives, Mass media, Physical activity, Programs, Public health, Sports

Annotation: This breif is designed to help families find websites and learn more about physical activity and kids and teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Exercise, Families, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Recreation, Special health care needs

Annotation: This course provides an online learning environment for local public health department staff and others to explore the root causes of inequity in the distribution of disease, illness, and death. Contents include concepts and strategies to address systemic differences in health and wellness that are actionable, unfair, and unjust. Topics include strategically changing organizational culture, engaging community members, and negotiating with political pressures; how values, assumptions, and interests influence public health practice; history and the role of public health and public health practitioners; the root causes of health inequities; and the principles of social justice.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Equal opportunities, Public health infrastructure, Work force

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This report presents a framework for educating health professionals to address the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, as well as the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life including economic policies, development agendas, cultural and social norms, social policies, and political systems. Contents include theoretical constructs and examples of programs and frameworks addressing elements of the social determinants of health. The framework aligns education, health, and other sectors to meet local needs in partnership with communities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Continuing education, Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health occupations, Inclusive schools, Mentors, Model programs, Models, Professional education, Public health education, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Work force

Annotation: These training modules are designed to help direct service providers engage transition age youth (ages 14–29) with serious mental health challenges in services. Each module includes information on key topics, video clips, interactive questions, and a quiz. Topics include partnering with youth and young adults; promoting recovery; increasing cultural awareness and building community support; fostering resilience and family support; promoting cross-cultural and intergenerational relationships; providing individualized and developmentally appropriate services; developing healthy relationships; planning partnerships with providers of other services and collaborating to bridge service gaps; promoting support from family, peers, and mentors; and using evidence-supported practices and individualizing interventions. An accompanying toolkit provides practice scenarios, video segments, role plays, and questions to help participants apply their learning to practice in their local context.

Contact: Research and Training Center for Pathways to Positive Futures, Portland State University, Portland, OR Web Site: http://www.pathwaysrtc.pdx.edu Available from the website.

• Modules
• Toolkit

Keywords: Adolescents, Collaboration, Competency based education, Continuing education, Families, Family support programs, Health services delivery, Mental health, Multimedia, Peer support programs, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resilience, Training, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This guide is designed to help communities prevent dental caries and obesity by promoting drinking water as an alternative to sugar- sweetened beverages. Contents include strategies for building a team and defining and spreading the message in child care facilities, clinics, parks, schools, and other community-based settings. A two-page fact sheet is also available.

Contact: National Drinking Water Alliance, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 6701 San Pablo Avenue, Second Floor, Oakland, CA 94608-1239, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.drinkingwateralliance.org Available from the website.

• Toolkit And Fact Sheet

Keywords: Communities, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Multimedia, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Water

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This guide for public health agencies and other partners the purpose and role of improvement plans in schools and districts. The guide also outlines opportunities to incorporate health and wellness-related goals and aligned activities into school improvement plans and provides examples from schools and districts that have done it.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational objectives, Goals, Health objectives, Planning, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, School districts, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to explore how Head Start programs are addressing the challenge of tooth decay in infants and young children. Topics include the burden of tooth decay on Head Start programs as perceived by health managers; health programming (services, activities, education) and policies to address tooth decay; training and staff models to address tooth decay; and how programs are leveraging other partners, community resources, and their health services advisory committee to address tooth decay; and how programs are leveraging other partners, community resources, and their health services advisory committee to address tooth decay. The study covered the period 2011–2016.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website. Document Number: OPRE Report no. 2016-84.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Early Head Start, Head Start, Health education, Health services delivery, Infants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Research, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This report reviews the history of oral health in Nebraska, compares current disease status with national trends, describes needs and existing resources, and identifies areas of focus for overcoming disparities. Topics include public policy and the oral health work force, improving disease surveillance, increasing access to care, enhancing community-based prevention, and elevating public education and oral health promotion.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community based services, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health status, Life course, Low income groups, Measures, Nebraska, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public health education, State programs, Statewide planning, Tobacco use, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: These resources are part of a statewide initiative aimed at improving the health and wellness of Louisiana residents. Topics include preventing and controlling oral disease, partnering with community and professional organizations to improve oral health, providing oral health education, promoting community water fluoridation, promoting school-based and school-linked dental sealant programs, and maintaining an oral-health-surveillance system to monitor the burden of oral disease. Contents include data on dental visits by gender, age, race, income, and education; tools for finding oral health care; and oral-health-education resources for adults and older adults, school nurses and teachers, and oral health professionals and non-oral-health professionals.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Dental sealants, Disease management, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health education, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health services delivery, Life course, Louisiana, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Schools, State initiatives, Statistical data, Water

Annotation: This report summarizes a meeting focused on oral health equity, systems of care, and oral health literacy and attended by representatives from health organizations and community agencies held on May 8, 2015, in Dover, Delaware. The report discusses innovative initiatives from across the country and how these initiatives can be applied locally. Information about individual and organizational strategies for advancing oral health equity is included.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Consumer education, Delaware, Health literacy, Meetings, Oral health, Public health education, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Systems development