Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents information about state Title V transition strategies and evidence-informed measures. Contents include an executive summary and recommendations, examples of innovative transition strategies, and information about a new transition measure from the National Survey of Children's Health that will be used to report state and national transition performance. [Supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Measures, Program development, Program planning, State programs, Transition planning, Transitions

Annotation: This video details New Mexico's journey in developing comprehensive policies for substance-exposed newborns, specifically highlighting how the state worked to align with the 2016 Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA)'s amendments to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA). The process culminated in the 2019 passage of HB230, which mandates hospitals to create Plans of Care for affected infants and families, with the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) providing guidance to hospitals, insurers, and other stakeholders. Length: 8 minutes, 25 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: New Mexico, Patient care planning, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance exposed infants, Substance abusing women, State policies, Evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This resource guide presents emergency preparedness and response materials focused on maternal and infant health. It provides links to tools, guidance documents, and training opportunities for public health professionals addressing the needs of pregnant women and infants during disasters. The guide is organized into two main sections: a collection of toolkits and resources addressing topics such as post-disaster surveillance indicators, pregnancy estimation, and contraception access during emergencies; and a comprehensive listing of trainings and webinars from organizations including CDC, FEMA, EPA, and academic institutions. Each training entry includes information on source agency, content description, duration, and continuing education availability. The document is intended for participants in the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP) Action Learning Collaborative and includes resources relevant to various disaster types including hurricanes, wildfires, and public health emergencies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Infant health, Disaster planning, Federal MCH programs, Pregnant women, Postpartum women, Resource materials, Disaster planning, Title V programs,

Annotation: This resource guide provides a summary of evidence-based/informed strategy measures (ESMs) as part of the 2018/2020 MCH Block Grant submission as seen through the results-based accountability (RBA) framework. It provides tools to help state Title V agencies ensure their programs have the greatest potential to be effective for the families they serve. For each of the 15 National Performance Measures (NPMs) the document provides evidence strategies and examples of field-generated measures currently used by states. It also provides resources for a structured planning process and finding, implementing, and measuring evidence-based/informed programs. Social determinants of health and health equity tools are included, and information on requesting technical assistance.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Evidence based practice, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Program planning, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This strategic plan outlines focus areas for the period 2010–2018 that are intended to increase the number of Iowans who have access to optimally fluoridated community water. The focus areas include partnerships, data collection and reporting, communication and policy, and infrastructure and system development. For each focus area, strategies and activities are presented. Outcome measures are also included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Fluoride, Iowa, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report reviews evidence-informed and evidence-based strategies that Maternal and Child Health (MCH)Block Grant programs can implement to address National Performance Measure 11: Medical Home. It gives background information on pediatric medical homes; describes the national performance measure; discusses the approach used for the evidence review analysis; summarizes strategies identified in the evidence review; and discusses implications of the research. IT also discusses how the MCH Evidence Center can help state Title V programs implement interventions selected from this review. The brief summarizes the report.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Medical home, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report examines the critical role of Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs in emergency preparedness and response, using lessons learned from the 2016 Zika virus outbreak. Based on a virtual focus group with seven state Title V programs, the analysis highlights Title V's unique value through its expertise in working with pregnant women and infants, established provider networks, care coordination infrastructure, and effective communication channels. The authors present specific examples of successful state responses, such as Virginia's care coordination services, California's provider training initiatives, Florida's cross-divisional collaboration, and Puerto Rico's regional pediatric research centers. The report also identifies key challenges, including the need to track asymptomatic infants and maintain strong communication networks, and provides practical tips for Title V programs to ensure their integration into emergency preparedness and response processes, emphasizing the importance of clear protocols, strong communication systems, and demonstrating Title V's unique value in addressing MCH population needs during public health emergencies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Disaster planning, Federal MCH programs, Infant health, Maternal health, California, Florida, Virginia, Puerto Rico

Annotation: Based on data from the U.S. Zika Pregnancy and Infant Registry (USZPIR) and a 2019 multidisciplinary leadership meeting organized by AMCHP, March of Dimes, and CDC, this report outlines the long-term challenges and preparedness needs for supporting children and families affected by the Zika virus. It highlights that approximately 14% of infants born to mothers with confirmed or possible Zika infection experienced health problems, requiring comprehensive, long-term support across multiple systems. The document identifies seven key areas for systems improvement, and for each area, it provides detailed recommendations for both individual/family needs and systems-level responses, emphasizing the importance of sustainable healthcare coverage, coordinated care systems, cultural competency, and ongoing surveillance. The report concludes that states must assess and strengthen their infrastructure, leverage existing programs, and foster collaborative partnerships to better serve both Zika-affected families and all children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Children with special health care needs, Disaster planning, Health screening, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Maternal health

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percent of infants who are ever breastfed and the percent of infants brastfed exclusively through 6 months of age. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Breastfeeding, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percent of infants ever breastfed and the percent of infants breastfed exclusively through 6 months. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Breastfeeding, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percent of children ages 9-71 months receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool.. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Developmental screening, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Young children

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percent of children, ages 9 through 71 months, receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Developmental screening, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Young children

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health in Connecticut. Four focus areas are discussed: prevention, oral health and overall health systems integration, and data collection and analysis. For each focus area, goals and objectives are presented, many of which encompass health equity. A section on oral health equity in the state is included.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Community programs, Connecticut, Data analysis, Data collection, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, State planning

Annotation: This evidence review looks at interventions designed to increase the percentage of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who received a preventive medical visit in the past year. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Health supervision, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Well child care