Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This online resource outlines the “Plan for Appropriate Tailored Healthcare in Pregnancy (PATH)" recommendations developed by an independent panel of maternal care experts convened by the University of Michigan and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). Based on a review of existing evidence, the site provides how-to guidance on prenatal care delivery and links to related resources for providers. An embedded 90-minute webinar presents an overview of ACOG's Redesigning Prenatal Care initiative and a roadmap to engage communities in the process.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Guidelines , Maternal health, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Professional education

Annotation: This resource guide features materials on policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Examples of materials include a report offering guiding principles that can help Head Start staff promote health literacy, a paper discussing challenges in integrating oral health care and primary care for populations with low health literacy, and a guide describing a program that encourages parents to have a nighttime routine that includes helping their young child brush their teeth and reading a book to their child before bed. A list of relevant organizations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Professional education, Program development, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the extension of postpartum Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months following birth, which states have been able to implement since April 2022. It examines how this extension supports improved access to perinatal and postpartum care but requires complementary state actions to be fully effective. The brief highlights key challenges in postpartum care, including care fragmentation, workforce shortages, and barriers to implementation at system, community, and individual levels. It outlines four solution areas: developing comprehensive standards of care, expanding dyadic care models, increasing workforce support, and providing education and technical assistance. The document concludes with specific recommendations for funders to support implementation efforts at local, state, and national levels to improve maternal health outcomes and advance health equity.

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals, patient education materials

Annotation: This website provides resources and information for new mothers and healthcare providers about the postpartum period, referred to as the "4th Trimester." It features evidence-based materials designed by and for mothers to support women during this transition to motherhood. The site includes sections on physical recovery, emotional health, breastfeeding, pelvic health, building support networks, and baby care. Visitors can access downloadable tools including postpartum planning guides, health information sheets, and recovery checklists in both English and Spanish. The 4th Trimester Project aims to change how America treats new mothers by emphasizing respectful, patient-centered care and addressing the social, emotional, physical, and economic support women need during the postpartum period, with particular attention to the needs of those with limited resources.

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education materials, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This iissue brief describes the significance of simulation for obstetric training as a way to improve the quality of clinical practice, including the management of hemorrhage and effective communication with patients and family. The brief also highlights innovative obstetric simulation offerings/programs and explains how academic obstetric and gynecology departments can apply lessons learned from obstetric simulation training and drills conducted in other fields.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Obstetrical care, Professional education, Quality assurance , Training

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents recommendations to strengthen the primary care workforce for young adults with medical complexity (YAMC) by promoting and increasing the supply of well-prepared adult primary care physicians for YAMC transitioning to adult care. Included is an overview of the YAMC population and the current care landscape, including health workforce and financing consideration. The recommendations were developed by a national advisory committee established by the National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health/Got Transition and the George Washington University Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity.

Contact: George Washington University , Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity , 2175 K Street, NW, Suite 250, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: https://www.gwhwi.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Primary care, Professional education, Professional training, Program improvement, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This video provides information on (1) tooth anatomy, the differences between primary and permanent teeth, and how to care for a child’s teeth; (2) recognizing and preventing tooth decay, handling oral emergencies, and helping children get oral health care; (3) identifying signs and symptoms in the mouth of possible child abuse and neglect and knowing the steps to take if either is suspected; and (4) understanding how a pregnant woman’s oral health may change during pregnancy and how to care for a newborn’s mouth. Participants who complete the training can earn continuing education credits through the Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association, nursing continuing education contact hours, and dietitian continuing education units. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Video
• Description

Keywords: Ohio, Child abuse, Child neglect, Continuing education, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Professional training, State information, Videotapes

Annotation: This actionable guide is designed to support health institutions in creating a tailored approach to providing equitable, high-quality care tailored to the needs of individual birthing families. The guide is organized according to four core roles that healthcare provider institutions play (as providers, employers, community partners, and advocates) and provides details about the importance of each role in advancing maternal health. Included are suggestions for decision makers on how to catalog and assess work and a menu of action items decision makers can execute.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Health equity, Maternal health, Professional education, Quality assurance

Annotation: This website describes the Postpartum Contraceptive Access Initiative (PCAI)--a training program created to help ensure that all birthing people have access to the full range of postpartum contraceptive methods before leaving the hospital after a delivery. The site outlines the evidence-based research behind the train-the-trainer program design; highlights the importance of collaboration in developing individualized training plans; and emphasizes the importance of patient autonomy and shared medical decision making. Links to additional information on postpartum depression, clinical considerations, contraception counseling, and implementation are included.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Contraception, Postpartum care, Professional Education, Training

Annotation: This report synthesizes key learnings from an 8-session virtual learning series held between December 2022 and July 2023 focused on implementing Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services. It presents findings in four main areas: partnerships between payers and providers, administrative supports, training and certification requirements, and workforce development. The document outlines specific recommendations for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to create sustainable benefits that center community-based perinatal support providers' needs and advance birth equity. The report includes detailed speaker quotes, examples from multiple states' implementation efforts, and links to full session materials and recordings from the learning series.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Medicaid, Perinatal services, Professional education, State agencies

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of the topic and features descriptions of and links to materials on data and surveillance, policy, professional education and training, public education, and state and local programs. The resource guide also includes descriptions of organizations that can provide additional support for activities that promote the availability of high-quality oral health care for young children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Health promotion, Oral health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This trainer's manual provides guidance for delivering a two-session training program to help community health workers identify, support, educate and refer clients with maternal depression. The manual includes step-by-step instructions for facilitating group activities, discussion prompts, and practice scenarios focused on client-centered communication skills, engagement techniques, and educational messaging. It contains detailed appendices with implementation guidance for remote delivery, handouts in English and Spanish, and mental health resources. The training emphasizes building rapport, normalizing discussions of maternal depression, and practicing skills through role-play.

Contact: Cicatelli Associates, 505 Eighth Avenue, Suite 1900, New York, NY 10018, Telephone: (215) 594-7741 Fax: (212) 629-3321 Web Site: https://www.caiglobal.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Depression, Education, Maternal health, Postpartum depression, Professional training

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of the telehealth landscape, describing the need, benefits, and challenges using this modality to address serious mental illness (SMI) and substance abuse disorders (SUD) among adults. It reviews the literature and research findings related to this issue, examines emerging and best practices, discusses gaps in knowledge, and identifies challenges and strategies for implementation. The guide is part of the Evidence-Based Resource Guide Series--a comprehensive set of modules with resources to improve health outcomes for people at risk for, experiencing, or recovering from SMI and/or SUD. It's designed for practitioners, administrators, community leaders, and others considering an intervention for their organization or community.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Document Number: PEP21-06-02-001.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Mental illness, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders, Telecommunication, Telemedicine

Annotation: This course is designed to help pediatric primary care health professionals (PPHPs) recognize the role they play in providing oral health care. Topics include the importance of the dental home, caries risk assessment including examination of teeth and gums, oral health anticipatory guidance, and fluoride varnish application. The course also covers steps to handle oral injuries if they occur and how families can prevent them.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available at no charge to AAP members; $199 for individual nonmembers.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Continuing education, Dental care, Fluorides, Infants, Maternal health, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises nine courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; oral health for older adults; and silver diamine fluoride. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training