Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying opportunities to integrate oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Virginia participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include oral health care in Virginia, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry, Virginia

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Instructions
• Training Modules

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: The brief provides information on a capacity-inventory tool developed to assist states in their efforts to improve state capacity to integrate oral health care and primary care for pregnant women. The brief discusses the importance of good oral health and strategies to advance oral health equity for the maternal and child health population. It also presents a list of factors contributing to state systems-level capacity to improve integration of oral health care and primary care for pregnant women organized by broad categories. A list of other frameworks that informed how the capacity inventory categories were determined is included.

Contact: Nebraska Appleseed, 947 O Street, Suite 401, Lincoln, NE 68508, Telephone: (402) 438-8853 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://neappleseed.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health equity, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help those who provide, pay for, or support primary care translate their commitment to racial health equity into a reality. The materials are intended to help organizations increase the number of primary care improvement efforts that demonstrably advance racial equity. Key drivers identified as critical to advancing this aim are identified in a “Roadmap for Improvement,” which describes seven discrete opportunities on the road to achieving racial health equity. The audience for the toolkit includes administrators, clinical directors, practice managers, quality improvement managers, and frontline clinicians and care team members.

Contact: California Improvement Network , 1438 Webster Street #400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510)238-1040

• PDF

Keywords: Health equity, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance , Racial factors

Annotation: This evidence report emphasizes the importance of having a usual source of primary care and lays out strategies for public and private payers to support such patient/provider relationships. In its review of the literature, the report summarizes the types of usual source of care and trends over time across ages, races/ethnicities, income level, region, and insurance type. Potential solutions to increase the percent of children and adults who have a usual source of primary care include payment reform, changes in benefit design, and workforce diversity.

Contact: Primary Care Collaborative, 601 Thirteenth Street, NW, Suite 430 North, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 417-2074 Fax: (202) 417-2082 E-mail: Web Site: https://thepcc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Geographic regions, Health insurance, Literature reviews, Primary care, Racial factors, Statistics, Trends.

Annotation: This course is designed to help pediatric primary care health professionals (PPHPs) recognize the role they play in providing oral health care. Topics include the importance of the dental home, caries risk assessment including examination of teeth and gums, oral health anticipatory guidance, and fluoride varnish application. The course also covers steps to handle oral injuries if they occur and how families can prevent them.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available at no charge to AAP members; $199 for individual nonmembers.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Continuing education, Dental care, Fluorides, Infants, Maternal health, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This manual is intended for health professionals interested in integrating a dental hygienist into a medical care team. It discusses billing, contracting, rules and regulations, and scope of dental hygiene practice specific to North Dakota. It also provides information related to workflow, patient data, and education relevant to health professionals outside North Dakota. The manual discusses scheduling a visit, the oral health screening process, integrating a dental hygienist into the workflow, electronic medical and dental records, care coordination, charging and billing services, rules and regulations, and medical resident and clinical staff evaluation.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Care coordination, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Pediatricians, Primary care, Regulations, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report discusses ways that health professionals, community members, and public health leaders are working together to integrate oral health care and primary care. It highlights the mechanisms for and scope of integration efforts, ranging from statewide initiatives to incorporate oral health care into value- based primary care payment models to initiatives to improve oral health in communities. The report presents seven shared principles of primary care, discusses lessons learned from the patient-centered medical home initiative and from behavioral health integration, and offers a call to action.

Contact: Primary Care Collaborative, 601 Thirteenth Street, NW, Suite 430 North, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 417-2074 Fax: (202) 417-2082 E-mail: Web Site: https://thepcc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This report presents ways that the COVID-19 pandemic has affected primary care. It discusses how well countries’ efforts to overcome the pandemic have worked, how primary care has been impacted by the pandemic, and how the field has innovated to adapt. Ways in which marginalized and vulnerable populations been disproportionally impacted by the pandemic are also addressed, along with how social determinants of ideologies including racism, ableism, and ageism have intersected and coalesced in the health inequities observed among communities and primary care patients. Lessons learned and how those lessons can be leveraged to catalyze systemic and structural change are also discussed.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Disease transmission, Global health, Infectious diseases, Primary care, Racial factors, Virus diseases

Annotation: This statement provides recommendations for primary care clinicians about how to prevent tooth decay in infants and children under age 5. Recommendations include prescribing oral fluoride supplements starting at age 6 months for infants and children whose water supply is deficient in fluoride, applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of all infants and children starting at the age of primary tooth eruption, and routinely screening infants and children under age 5 for caries lesions.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Health screening, Infants, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of integrating oral health care into primary care and provides information about the implementation of the Partner- ship for Integrating Oral Health Care into Primary Care project. The report discusses project measures, detailed project findings, and strategies to integrate oral health care into primary care. It also highlights technical activities provided to and feedback received from project teams. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: In this video presentation, Dr. Nancy Byatt shares information on MCPAP-- the Massachusetts Child Pscychiatry for Moms program--which provides consultation to health care providers regarding behavioral/mental health and safe medications for pregnant or breastfeeding patients. MCPAP also helps to connect people to support groups and community-based services and serves as an example of behavioral and primary care integration that can be replicated.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: These dental quality measures were developed by AZARA DRVS (Data Reporting and Visualization System) and the Michigan Primary Care Association for the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Each measure includes the name, description, numerator, denominator, exclusions, oral health care vs. primary care, and structured clinical data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Health care delivery, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This report makes a case for Medicaid reimbursement for fluoride varnish education and application for children age 3–6, pregnant women, and new mothers in Illinois. It provides background information on oral health during the perinatal period and in childhood and presents current Medicaid reimbursable FV-related services in the state by health professional type (i.e., oral health professionals, non-oral-health professionals). It also addresses the importance of an interdisciplinary approach to improving the oral health of women during the perinatal period and of children.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Fluoride prevention, Illinois, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: This guide is designed to support state-level planning, action, and innovation aligned with the goals of the Pediatrics Supporting Parents initiative, using a framework that stretches from promotion to screening to prevention to early intervention and treatment. It covers the essential power of Title V and Medicaid partnership, promoting social-emotional development in pediatric primary care, state opportunities for using Title V and Medicaid/EPSDT to promote social-emotional development and mental health, learning from current state actions, and family engagement. It is accompanied by a matrix that provides charts of specific actions that Title V and Medicaid programs can take to achieve these goals.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, EPSDT, Emotional development, Medicaid, Primary care, Social factors, Title V programs

Annotation: This chartbook provides a snapshot of primary care in the U.S., including facts and statistics on he distribution, accessibility, and training of primary care practitioners and the patient populations that they service. Data on primary care visit utilization by age, health plan, and geographic region is included. The chartbook is organized around a conceptional framework developed by Dr. Barbara Starfield known as the "4 C's"-- First Contact, Continuity, Comprehensiveness, and Coordination of Care.

Contact: Robert Graham Center, American Academy of Family Physicians, 1133 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 331-3360 Fax: (202) 331-3374 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.graham-center.org

• PDF

Keywords: Health care utilization, Primary care, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: These videos offer information for primary care health professionals to help them provide preventive oral health care in their practices. The videos focus on conducting a knee-to-knee oral health screening, providing fluoride varnish, examining the temporomandibular joint, and examining the floor of the mouth. The videos can be viewed online or downloaded.

Contact: Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum, Web Site: https://www.smilesforlifeoralhealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluoride, Oral health, Primary care, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit focuses on improving the oral health of people with HIV by integrating oral health care into primary care. The toolkit provides background information about the oral health status of those with HIV. It offers a brief overview of the components of integration and models of oral health care delivery. Each component, including best practices, is discussed, and links to relevant resources are included. The toolkit also addresses how to build and sustain oral-health-care delivery over time.

Contact: U.S. HIV/AIDS Bureau, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 09SWHO3, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1993 Web Site: http://hab.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: HIV, Health care delivery, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children