Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project had two components: Part 1, based in the Department of Health's Office of Emergency Medical Services, coordinated project efforts and served as a focus for emergency medical services for children (EMSC) in the State, including children with special health needs and minority children and their families. Part 2 involved the State's emergency medical services (EMS) community in three subcontracts that addressed (1) training for emergency medical technicians, paramedics, physicians, and nurses; (2) pediatric trauma issues; and (3) pediatric illness issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-155708.

Keywords: Databases, Education, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Injury Prevention, Preventive Health Care, Professional Education in EMSC

Annotation: The mortality, morbidity, and economic burden associated with childhood trauma and illness represent a serious public health problem in New Mexico. This is particularly true for rural and minority families. The long term goals of this project were to reduce the frequency and seriousness of negative outcomes for children and families who have suffered an emergency and to promote preventive activities directed at reducing injuries that generate pediatric emergencies. The project demonstrated progress in reaching these long term goals through: (1) increased childhood injury prevention programs statewide including promoting EMTs to be prevention advocates in their communities; (2) improved clinical care in the pediatric emergency medical system which includes prehospital and hospital care providers; (3) improved data collection and analysis for pediatric injury and illness; and (4) coalition building. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-155716.

Keywords: American Indians, Bilingual Services, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Injury Prevention, Rural Population

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to reduce the incidence of low birthweight birth in women receiving prenatal care from public and private health care providers in twenty counties in northwest North Carolina (North Carolina Perinatal Region II). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Low birthweight prevention programs, Pregnant women

Annotation: This pamphlet for parents describes care and safety for children age one year until entry into school. Topics include growth and development, building personality, discipline, prevention of disease and defects, prevention of accidents, proper nutrition, and daily child care. Additional topics include play and playthings, and care of the sick child. An index concludes the pamphlet.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Developmental stages, Disease prevention, Hygiene, Injury prevention, Nutrition

Annotation: This brochure is for parents taking home their newborn that has been discharged from the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). It defines sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and provides advice on safe sleep positioning and environments for the infant at home. Topics also include the increased risk factors for SIDS of infants that have needed special care at birth, the importance of breastfeeding, not sharing a bed with an infant by parents or siblings, "tummy time", proper bedtime clothing and temperature, the use of a pacifier, and a safe crib. It mentions differences between how things were done in the NICU and how they should be done at home.

Contact: American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians, 528 Raven Way, Naples, FL 34110, Telephone: (239) 431-5425 Fax: (239) 431-5536 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaspp.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, High risk infants, Hospitals, Infant health, Injury prevention, Neonatal intensive care units, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: These annotated slides outline a presentation on prevention efforts to improve fetal and infant mortality using an approach, called Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR), developed by the World Health Organization for developing countries and applying concepts to urban efforts in the United States. It highlights five major steps: (1) engaging community partners, (2) mapping feto-infant mortality, (3) focusing on reducing the overall feto-infant mortality rate, (4) examining potential opportunity gaps, and (5) targeting further investigations and prevention efforts. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Report
• One-pager

Keywords: Community coordination, Developing countries, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, International health, Needs assessment, Prevention, Risk assessment, Statistical analysis

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure provides guidelines to help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in child care settings. It provides an overview of SIDS; a description of safe sleep practices for infants; and the rules that apply in the state of Minnesota when a death occurs in a child care setting. The brochure also describes sources of support and services that are available to providers who have lost an infant due to SIDS.

Contact: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, 2525 Chicago Avenue South; MS-50-2165, Minneapolis, MN 55404, Telephone: (612) 813-6285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 72-3812 Fax: (612) 813-7344 Web Site: http://www.childrensmn.org/patientfamily/family-services-a-resources/sid-center/the-minnesota-sudden-infant-death-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Infants, Minnesota, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, State legislation

Annotation: This illustrated flyer describes the proper sleeping environment for babies in cribs. It is available in Arabian, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese, Khmer, Lao, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: SIDS and Kids Australia, 98 Morang Road. Suite 1, Hawthorne, Victoria, Australia 3122, Telephone: +61 3 9819 4595 Fax: +61 3 9818 4596 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsandkids.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Non-English Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure for parents of a premature baby discusses safe sleep practices that should be followed once the infant is discharged from the hospital. It discusses practices suitable for the NICU that are no longer needed and may be unsafe once the infant is at home. It provides tips on following the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines on back sleeping, safe cribs, not covering the baby's head and face, no smoking, no overheating, talking with others who care for the baby, and tummy time for the awake infant who is closely supervised.

Contact: Sudden Infant Death Services of the Mid-Atlantic, P.O. Box 799, Haymarket, VA 20168, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsma.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Hospitals, Neonatal intensive care units, Premature infants, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep

Annotation: This fact sheet lists and describes ten strategies that can help increase the health of babies in the state of Illinois. Increasing access to family planning education and affordable health care across the life span; ensuring the quality of prenatal and general healthcare; offering maternity/paternity paid leave; developing comprehensive systems of care; maintaining effective and efficient health data systems; ending discriminatory policies and practices; and advocating for community development improvements are among the strategies outlined.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Health promotion, Illinois, Infant health, Prevention programs, State programs

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: This web page presents a chart of "do and don't" tips for placing baby safely to sleep. Topics include placing baby on their back, alone in a crib with a firm mattress and a fitted sheet, room-sharing, breastfeeding, using a pacifier, and keeping immunizations up-to-date.

Contact: Charlie's Kids Foundation, c/o Pegasus Transportation, P.O. Box 1571, Jeffersonville, IN 47131-1571, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://charlieskids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This website provides resources for the well-woman visit, including recommendations, an evidence review, a well-woman chart, and other resources. It is aimed at obstetricians-gynecologists, other health care providers, and patients.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Disease prevention, Preventive health services Health screening, Women', s health

Annotation: This handout for parents explains why oral health is important and how to help prevent dental caries and other oral health problems. It presents a series of questions about school health services, including oral health services, that can help parents support their child’s school’s efforts to address oral health. Other questions presented cover oral health education, bullying prevention, how teachers reward students (i.e., with food or nonfood items), and whether students have access to free and clean drinking water. The handout explains how to find answers to the questions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs