Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines issues over refusals of pharmacies to fill prescriptions for contraceptives, particularly emergency contraceptives. Topics include (1) prescription contraception as basic health care for women, (2) increases in refusals to dispense contraception, (3) laws governing the practice of pharmacy, (4) legislative and administrative responses to pharmacist refusals, (5) public opinion, and (6) how to respond to a pharmacist's refusal.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraceptives, Emergency contraception, Patient rights, Pharmacies, Prescription drugs, Professional ethics, Right to refuse treatment, Right to treatment

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward advocates working to ensure access to emergency contraception (EC) for all women, identifies the nature and extent of each state's current written policies affecting Medicaid coverage of Plan B EC. The report is intended to be used in conjunction with a forthcoming publication from the National Institute for Reproductive Health, which will provide additional information about state Medicaid coverage of over-the-counter EC. The report discusses Medicaid drug coverage rules, the Medicaid/EC interplay, a state Medicaid chart explanation, and a list of state resources for Plan B Medicaid coverage by state.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 3701 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 750, Los Angeles, CA 90010, Telephone: (310) 204-6010 Fax: (213) 386-0774 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Emergency contraception, Medicaid, Prescription drugs, Public policy, Reproductive health, State programs

Annotation: This report, developed by an expert panel commissioned by the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program, presents recommendations for the diagnosis and management of asthma that will help clinicians and consumers make appropriate decisions about asthma care. The report is divided into the following main sections: (1) introduction, (2) definition, pathophysiology, and pathogenesis of asthma, and natural history of asthma, (3) the four components of asthma management (measures of assessment and monitoring, education for a partnership in asthma care, control of environmental factors and comorbid conditions, and medications), (4) managing asthma long-term, and (5) managing exacerbations of asthma. Resources for more information and references are included.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website.

• Full Report With Updates

Keywords: Asthma, Diagnosis, Education, Environmental exposure, Guidelines, Health care, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This report quantifies the overall costs of health care services for having a baby, including all prenatal care services, delivery-related services, and postpartum services for the mother. To quantify these costs, the authors analyzed health care claims data for a large group of individuals with employer-sponsored health insurance to understand health spending on maternity-related professional service, hospitalization, laboratory, imaging, drugs, and out-of-pocket costs. The report provides an overview of the study methodology, including a description of the data sources, a definition of the study population, the process used to identify maternity-related services, the analyses that were conducted, and results. An abstract is included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Diagnostic imaging, Hospitalization, Laboratories, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prescription drugs, Research

Annotation: This paper discusses exposure to toxic substances in early childhood and how such exposure can disrupt the development of all the body's organ systems. The paper presents the issue and discusses what science tells us and popular misrepresentations of science, the science-policy gap, and implications for policy and programs.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Brain, Chemicals, Early childhood development, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Illicit drugs, Lead, Prescription drugs, Programs, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: These fact sheets for families cover a wide range of health and safety issues in child care. They are written in easy-to-understand language and are tailored to the perspectives of families. Topics include allergies, brain and behavioral health, healthy environment, illnesses and conditions, injury prevention, nutrition, medications, oral health, parents' health, poisoning, and children with special health care needs. The fact sheets are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Brain, Child behavior, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Consumer education materials, Environmental health, Families, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Parents, Poisoning, Prescription drugs, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The report describes obesity initiatives in health plans across the country and features essays on the obesity problem contributed by thinkers among a cross-section of stakeholders. The report provides information on prevalence and trends as well as the health and economic impact of obesity. It also addresses current issues in the prevention and treatment of obesity. The report, which includes an executive summary, also discusses findings and includes sidebar discussions on Medicare and Medicaid, obesity-related prescription drug treatments, employers and health plans weighing benefits and risks of weight-loss surgery, and expert panel recommendations. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. References are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Initiatives, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Obesity, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Surgery, Treatment, Trends, Weight loss

Annotation: This report uses nationally representative data from the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) to examine antibiotic use by U.S. children for the years 1996-2001. The report provides information about MEPS and discusses finding in the followings areas: (1) overall trends in antibiotic use, (2) percentage of children who use antibiotics, (3) average number of prescriptions, and (4) trends and differences in treatment of otitis media. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one technical appendix that discusses survey design, definitions, sample design and accuracy of estimates, rounding, and standard error tables. A summary, conclusions, and references are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 05-0020.

• PDF

Keywords: Antibiotics, Child health, Data, Otitis media, Prescription drugs, Research, Trends

Annotation: This report provides strategies that could help policymakers and purchasers of health care and health insurance improve care for children with asthma. The report discusses patterns of use and underuse of asthma controller medications, the effects of proper use of controller medications, and practices and policies used by managed care organizations and clinics and their effects on quality of care. Ongoing research is discussed, and a conclusion is offered. Supplemental information is presented in boxes throughout the report. References are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 05-0073.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Child health, Clinics, Cultural competence, Health care, Health insurance, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid, Patient compliance, Prescription drugs, Public policy, Research

Annotation: This report presents results from an analysis of outcomes of care for children enrolled in the Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa program, Iowa's State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), during FY 2003. The report includes results for four outcome measures pertaining to children. The measures include (1) use of appropriate medications for children with asthma; (2) well child visits during the first 15 months of life; (3) well child visits during the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth years of life; and (4) children's access to primary care practitioners. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix, which contains additional statistical information about each outcome measure.

Contact: University of Iowa, Center for Social Science Innovation, 605 E. Jefferson Street, Social Sciences Research Building, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: https://cssi.research.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Asthma, Child health, Infant health, Iowa, Low income groups, Outcome evaluation, Prescription drugs, State Children', State programs, Well child care, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to help readers better understand the impact of gaps in the health care safety net by presenting the views of those who have experienced the gaps firsthand. The report, which focuses on seeking medical care, discusses what happens when a chronic problem needs urgent attention, filling prescriptions, and searching for affordable hospital care. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes a conclusion, a discussion of the methodology, and endnotes.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Hospitalization, Low income groups, Prescription drugs

Annotation: This tool kit, which is in the form of a Web site, includes online health resources focused on anxiety and depression in children and adolescents. Resources, which can be printed and copied for personal use, are divided into the following categories: (1) introduction, (2) information for families about child and adolescent depression, (3) information for families about anxiety, (4) treatment and referral for depression and anxiety, (5) medications, (6) resources for parents and caregivers, (7) resources for children and adolescents, (8) resources for professionals, (9) additional mental health issues, (10) additional resources, and (11) multilingual resources. Languages include French, German, Iceland, Polish, Russian, and Spanish.

Contact: Seattle Children's Center for Children with Special Needs, P.O. Box 5371, M2-16, Seattle, WA 98105, Telephone: (206) 987-3736 Fax: (206) 884-5741 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cshcn.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anxiety, Child health, Consumer education materials, Depression, Families, Mental health, Non English language materials, Prescription drugs, Referrals, Resource materials, Spanish language materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This resource paper aims to assist community-based organizations that are working with families on Medicaid who have problems obtaining prescription drugs. The paper offers an overview of regulations as well as specific questions organizations can use to assess the prescription drug benefits and a family's knowledge of how to navigate the publicly financed health care system. Topic covered include (1) Medicaid prescription drug rules, (2) how should prior authorization work and what goes wrong, (3) what can CKF-AI projects do?, and (4) conclusions. The paper also includes a brief list of resources.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Families, Government financing, Health care systems, Low income groups, Medicaid, Prescription drugs

Annotation: This paper focuses on medication management in the school setting. Its objective is to begin a dialogue that explores what we know, what we can learn from the risk-reduction literature, and how we might strengthen the capacity of providers, researchers, and institutional leaders to reduce risk and strengthen quality in medication management at school. The report describes the context of the issue, discusses systems to reduce the risk of mistake being made when administering medication to students at school, and poses key questions.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Prescription drugs, School health services, School role, Schools, Students

Annotation: This report addresses the following questions: (1) how many and what kinds of prescription drugs do children with special health care needs use, and how much do these drugs cost?, (2) how much do these drugs cost, and what have been the trends in prescription drug use and costs between 1999 and 2001?, (3) how do costs for prescription drugs compare with costs for other types of medical services?, and (4) what proportion of prescription drug costs are paid by health plans and by plan members? Each of these questions is examined for children with special health care needs overall and also for subgroups defined by age, gender, and health status. The report includes a description of the methodology used, the results, and a summary. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Costs, Health insurance, Health services, Managed care, Prescription drugs, Trends

Annotation: This chartbook examines the differences in health care access, use, and expenses between urban and rural areas. Counties are classified along the urban-rural continuum according to whether they are metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) and, if they are not, according to their proximity to an MSA. The chartbook presents data from the Medical Expenditures Panel Survey; the charts indicate similarities and differences between rural and urban places on measure of health care access, use, and expenses. The chartbook is organized into three sections. The first compares people in four categories along the urban-rural continuum (metro, near-metro, near-rural, and rural). the second provides information on insurance access and access to care. The third focuses on variations in use and expenses for ambulatory care, prescription medications, and dental care. An updated edition, covering 2004-2006, was published in 2009.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 04-0050.

• Link
• Updated Edition 2004-2006

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Data, Dental care, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Prescription drugs, Primary care, Rural health, Rural populations, Statistics, Urban health, Urban populations

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes recent studies investigating utilization and cost patterns for a large sample of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) enrolled in two commercial managed care plans. Topics discusses include insurance status of CSHCN, the costs associated with CSHCN, drug cost, emotional and behavioral disorders, and implications for health plans. A definition of CSHCN, steps toward a quality-of-care initiative, and a number to call for technical support and targeted resources are also provided. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Children with special health care needs, Costs, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Initiatives, Managed care, Prescription drugs

Annotation: This report addresses the following questions: (1) what proportion of privately insured children with special health care needs (CSHCN) have emotional and behavioral disorders, and how does this vary across time and demographic characteristics of children?, (2) how do the total and service-specific per member per month (PMPM) costs of care for children with behavioral or emotional disorders compare with children in the sample?, (3) what proportion of the PMPM costs were paid by subscribers through copayments and deductibles? Did this change over time?, and (4) what types of physicians prescribe psychiatric medication for children with emotional and behavioral disorders, and what kinds of medications do they prescribe? The report includes a description of the methods, results, and implications of the findings for the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, health plans, and families. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report includes two appendices: (1) alternative methods for identifying CSHCN with emotional and behavioral disorders and (2) list of psychiatric drugs by category. The report includes references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Children with special health care needs, Costs, Demography, Families, Health insurance, Mental health, Prescription drugs, Research

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings of a conference convened to explore (1) why the slow diffusion of many health care and medical innovations persists and (2) how to accelerate the adoption of clinical technologies and health service innovations that have been shown to improve the quality and/or cost effectiveness of health care. The report, which includes an executive summary, focuses on the following issues: (1) devices and drugs: obstacles to timely product uptake, (2) innovation in the hospital and at the bedside, (3) innovation in public health, prevention, and disease management, (4) the imperative of information technology and e-health, and (5) better quality through informed consumer choice. The report also includes synopses of three papers commissioned for the conference. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The appendix lists conference faculty with contact information.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Consumers, Cost effectiveness, Diffusion of innovation, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care, Hospitals, Information systems, Internet, Management, Medical devices, Medical research, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Public health, Technology

Annotation: This booklet provides clinicians with information about how to conduct a brief (5-15 minute) intervention with pregnant women to help women stop smoking, if they are ready to quit. The goals of the intervention described in the booklet are to understand the woman's position on smoking during pregnancy, the importance she places on quitting, and her confidence in her ability to succeed. The booklet also provides information on resources that clinicians can offer to women who want to quit smoking as well as information on use and prescription of smoking-cessation pharmaceutical aids during pregnancy. Topics discussed in the booklet include (1) stages of change and motivational interviewing, (2) provider scripts for motivating the client, (3) anticipating and managing problems, (4) provider script for managing relapse, and (5) pharmacotherapy. The booklet includes four appendices (1) Medicaid smoking cessation counseling benefit, (2) the 5 Rs (relevance, risks, rewards, roadblocks, repetition), (3) tobacco cessation resources, and (4) additional reading.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3502 Fax: (360) 236-2323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant health, Intervention, Motivation, Prescription drugs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women', s health