Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women and families provides information about the importance of good oral health habits during pregnancy for women and their infant. It provides information about oral health coverage for women in Maryland, the safety of receiving oral health care while pregnant, and oral conditions that can occur during pregnancy. Tips about how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy are provided, and myths and facts about oral health during pregnancy are presented. The resource is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Bureau of Dental Health, Corning Tower Building, Room 542, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (518) 474-1961 Fax: (518) 474-8985 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.health.ny.gov/prevention/dental Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Disease prevention, Early childhood development, Guidelines, New York, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Young children

Annotation: This publication is a compilation of materials from 15th Annual City MatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on September 10-13, 2005, in Ft. Worth, Texas. Materials cover adolescent pregnancy, racial and ethnic disparities, preconception health, obesity, child development and prevention, child health, prenatal care, and other related topics. The materials are divided into the following categories: (1) oral presentations, (2) promising practice posters, (3) daTA Institute Team's posters, and (4) additional promising practices.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Community programs, Conference proceedings, Ethnic factors, Leadership, Model programs, Obesity, Prenatal care, Prevention, Racial factors, Urban MCH programs

Annotation: This spiral-bound diary for expectant parents provides helpful tips, information on baby's development, and blank space for notes during days of the nine-month cycle of pregnancy. It includes guidelines on healthy eating and lifestyle choices; describes common symptoms of pregnancy during each stage of development; and asks the expectant mother how she is feeling in terms of her mood, energy, and appetite. It also provides tips for expectant mothers who are past full term; provides space for documenting details about labor and delivery; and encourages new parents to write down details about their newborn infant. Simple illustrations and inspirational quotations about children and parenting are provided throughout.

Contact: Chronicle Books, Web Site: http://www.chroniclebooks.com/ $19.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: , Fetal development, Personal narratives, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Self care

Annotation: This textbook provides reference material in both the clinical and basic sciences in maternal-fetal medicine. The text is divided into three parts: early fetal development and the environment; fetal diagnostic and treatment modalities; and maternal and fetal pathophysiology. Normal and abnormal growth and development of the fetus, normal and abnormal labor and delivery, problems of pregnancy and problems of neonates are covered.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Fetal development, Medical reference books, Newborn infants, Pregnancy, Prenatal diagnosis, Textbooks

Annotation: This final report, from the Healthy Tomorrows program, describes a home-based program providing early intervention designed to promote health child development, prenatal health, and enhance family functioning in overburdened families, including promoting parent-child bonding and attachment and decreasing maternal depression and child abuse. Contents include a project summary; a narrative including the project purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, a list of publications and products, summaries of dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow up, and support and resources needed to replicate. Also provided are lists of Home Network Advisory Board consumer and community, and family care center representatives. A copy of the 2002 Home Network participant satisfaction survey and newsletter are attached. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, 650 Newton Pike, Lexington, KY 40508, Telephone: (859) 252-2371 Contact Phone: (859) 258-3070 Fax: (859) 288-2359 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lexingtonhealthdepartment.org

Keywords: Attachment behavior, Child development services, Early intervention programs, Family centered services, Family support programs, Final reports, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Home visiting, MCH research, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prenatal care

Annotation: This paper reviews crucial stages in human development from conception through adolescence and the implications of environmental insults or exposures at those different stages. Topics include the identification of critical periods of development and why they are critical, adverse effects of parental exposures before or around the time of conception, adverse effects of environmental exposures during pregnancy and childhood, and a review of adverse effects of early exposures that may be delayed until adulthood. A discussion of adverse effects include gene expression, early fetal death, congenital malformation, growth deficits, pregnancy complications, neonatal mortality, functional deficits, effects on puberty and sexual maturation, and cancer in childhood and later in life. The report concludes with a summary and a list of references.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, Room 2512 Ariel Rios North, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Mail Code 1107-T, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 564-2188 Fax: (202) 564-2733 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children

Keywords: Adolescent development, Cancer, Child development, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Developmental stages, Environmental exposure, Fetal development, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal influences

Annotation: This final report describes a prospective, longitudinal cohort study of Hispanic mother-infant pairs to examine the extent and impact of maternal central body obesity, abnormal glucose tolerance, and other metabolic abnormalities among pregnant Hispanic women and their infants. The report includes sections on the nature, purpose, scope, methods, and aims of the study; a literature review; an overview of the statistical analyses; the presentation of findings in narrative and statistical table formats; a discussion of findings including conclusions, explanations of limitations, comparisons with other findings; and a final section listing products of the study. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Body composition, Diabetes mellitus, Fetal development, Final reports, Gestational diabetes, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, MCH research, Maternal health, Metabolic disorders, Michigan, Obesity, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Research methodology

Annotation: This book discusses child brain and behavior development during pregnancy and the first six years. It is divided into four parts covering life in the womb and birth; the first year; the second year; and years three to six. Topics include brain development in the womb; birth; exploring; comfort and communications; regions of the brain; motor, language, play, and daily life milestones; discovery; toddlers and temperament; gaining competence; living together; and paths to personality. The book also provides ten guideposts for parents, a glossary, references, and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07639-0.

Keywords: Behavior development, Brain, Child behavior, Child development, Infant development, Learning, Motor development, Personality development, Prenatal development, Speech development

Annotation: This book focuses on clinical application of current knowledge on adolescent pregnancy emphasizing assessment, management, counseling approaches, and strategies to promote dietary change and adequate weight gain. It is written for health professionals and educators involved in the care of pregnant adolescents. Topics covered include adolescent development, nutritional needs and eating behavior, nutrition assessment, interviewing, counseling, prenatal education, and postpartum care.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM035.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Eating behaviors, Feeding disorders, Interviews, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal education

Annotation: This book is designed to help parents in raising their children. The first part of the book is a guide to the growing child's development and needs. This part also includes information on choosing medical and child care. The second part is an alphabetically organized guide to common childhood illnesses, injuries, and chronic conditions. There is a section on preparing for and handling emergencies. A glossary of terms and a listing of additional information resources for parents are included.

Contact: Perseus Books Group, 5500 Central Avenue, Boulder, CO 80301, Telephone: (800) 386-5656 Fax: (303) 449-3356 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7382-0241-X.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parenting, Prenatal care, Prevention

Annotation: This book explores neural and psychological development from conception to age five. It covers topics such as critical prenatal influences, infant stimulation, sex linked developmental differences, and the nature nurture controversy. The author devotes a chapter each to the development of touch, balance and motion, smell, taste, vision, hearing, motor skills, social and emotional growth, and the emergence of memory. The final chapter is suggestions for raising a smarter child.

Contact: Random House, Bantam Books, 1540 Broadway, New York, NY 10036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.randomhouse.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-553-10274-5.

Keywords: Brain, Child development, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infant stimulation, Intellectual development, Language development, Memory, Nature nurture controversy, Neural development, Prenatal influences, Psychological development, Sex linked developmental differences

Annotation: This book of sketches is designed to teach women about childbirth. Topics covered include the female body, the male body, fertilization, development of the embryo, nutrition, development of pregnancy, the birth process, nursing, feeding the mother and baby, unusual positions of the fetus, multiple births, and family planning. It includes a separate text discussing each picture, a teacher's discussion guide, a picture glossary of technical terms and a reading and resource list. It is available in a shorter version (Childbirth Picture Book), and in French, Spanish and Arabic. Supplemental flip charts and color slides are available, as well as guides on nutrition during pregnancy and on prevention of female circumcision (excision and infibulation).

Keywords: Childbirth, Fetal development, Maternal health, Non English language materials, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book for expecting and new parents gives tips on pregnancy and early childhood development. It is divided into seven chapters entitled becoming a parent; nine months long; at home with your newborn; feeding baby (6 months to 2 years); keeping baby well; keeping baby safe; and your growing child. Included are various checklists for planning and discussions, keeping track of baby's health, questions for doctor visits, and supplies to have on hand. Information is designed in narrative and chart formats with extensive illustrations.

Contact: MELD, Parents as Teachers National Center, 2228 Ball Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146, Telephone: 314-432-4330 Secondary Telephone: (314) 432-4330 ext. 208 Fax: 314-432-8963 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.parentsasteachers.org $12.50, plus $5.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-9676470-0-2.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child nutrition, Child rearing, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Discipline, Infant care, Parenting, Parenting education, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Well child care

Annotation: This is a summary of a paper written to highlight policy and program areas needing to be addressed to ensure the continuous improvement of health care and services related to perinatal and women's health over the coming decade. This paper discusses indicators of pregnancy complications, preconception and pregnancy care services, newborn care, technological advances, financing of pregnancy care, policy and practice issues, and research needs. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Financing, Intervention, Newborn infants, Policy development, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Program development, Technology, Women', s health

Annotation: This report evaluates the Healthy Family Service of Alexandria against its four major goals which include: 1) ensuring adequate prenatal care; 2) ensuring preventive well-child care and advance optimal child development; 3) improving mothers' knowledge of child needs and enhance parent-child interactions; and 4) preventing child abuse and neglect of enrollees' target child. Results of the outcome evaluation indicate the extent to which HFA accomplished what it intended to do. The report also describes the development of Healthy Families Alexandria, its service population, and its services. Appendices contain statistical data in the form of tables and exhibits. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child development, Child development disorders, Child health, Children, Community based services, Immunization, Infants, Local MCH programs, Low birthweight, Outcome evaluation, Parent child relations, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Prevention, Primary care, Program evaluation, Statistics, Virginia

Annotation: This loose-leaf notebook contains articles, pamphlets, and reports that discuss the corporate world's attitudes, perceptions, and policies on maternal and child health. Topics include the length of stay in hospitals for mothers and infants following birth, breastfeeding in the workplace, women as mothers and parents within the workplace, and school health and school issues. Other topics include health promotion in the workplace, worksite wellness, assuring the quality of health plans, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), and other business issues such as managed care, medical savings accounts, and health purchasing cooperatives. The materials were prepared for the January 1996 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication Interorganizational Work Group. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Child health, Employee benefits, Health policy, Hospitalization, Insurance, Length of stay, Managed care, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy development, Prenatal care, Quality assurance, Retirement, School health, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This evaluation report assesses the Healthy Families Alexandria program by its four major goals, which are: (1) ensuring adequate prenatal care; (2) ensuring preventive well-care and advance optimal child development; (3) improving mothers' knowledge of child care needs and enhancing parent-child interaction; and (4) prevention of child abuse and neglect of enrollees' target child. It presents both outcome and process evaluations Appendices contain sample documents used in staff training; tables displaying demographic and other characteristics of screened women, enrollees, and their partners; and selected tracking system forms. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child development, Child development disorders, Child health, Children, Community based services, Home visiting, Immunization, Infants, Local MCH programs, Low birthweight, Outcome evaluation, Parent child relations, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Prevention, Primary care, Process evaluation, Program evaluation, Statistics, Virginia

Annotation: This book is a resource for professionals, health advocates, and the mothers they serve. It was developed for use by advocates in the Healthy Start program working with women with low literacy levels. It contains a diary which provides a calendar for the pregnancy and the baby's first year, an organizer for recording dates and numbers, and a workbook which encourages women to gain control over and knowledge about their lives. Messages are delivered by verse, rhyme, graphics, comic strips, self-scoring quizzes, and verbal and graphic checklists. Topics discussed include prenatal care; normal changes; danger signs; premature labor; nutrition; breastfeeding; stress; family planning; labor and delivery; postpartum changes; infant and child care; and topics related to the child's eating, sleeping, and growth.

Contact: Council of State Governments, 2760 Research Park Drive, P. O. Box 11910, Lexington, KY 40578-1910, Telephone: (859) 244-8000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-1910 Contact Phone: (800) 800-1910 Fax: (859) 244-8001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.csg.org $6.95.

Keywords: Fetal development, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Maternal health, Medical records, Patient education materials, Perinatal care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education

Annotation: This report presents the results of a study that developed a means of measuring the relevance and efficacy of different components and specific elements of those components of prenatal care to the prevention of low birthweights. It includes the executive summary and the final progress report. Both the summary and the final report explain the methodology of the study and the design of the metric used to evaluate relevant features of prenatal care. They report attitudes of clinicians and non-clinicians toward prenatal care and consider the effect of physical activity during pregnancy. Bibliographies, appendices, and sample survey tools are included throughout the final report.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Phone: (703) 487-4650 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHCPR 93-164.

• Link

Keywords: Evaluation, Health programs, Low birthweight, Prenatal care, Program development, Statistics, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This loose-leaf manual is intended for use by maternal outreach workers (MOW) in North Carolina's Baby Love Project. The manual has chapters on communication with clients, family support during pregnancy, including information on how to make the first contact, and advice on appropriate interactions during subsequent visits. A chapter on family support after delivery details appropriate interactions during visits through the first year of infancy, and includes a month by month explanation of infant developmental stages. Additional chapters offer information on health education resource materials, supporting families at risk, setting priorities and limits, personal safety, sample forms for community resource referrals, and eligibility programs.

Contact: North Carolina Division of Maternal and Child Health, Baby Love Maternal Outreach Worker Project, P.O. Box 29529, Raleigh, NC 27626-0529, Telephone: (919) 857-4020 Contact Phone: (919) 733-2833 Fax: (919) 715-3410 Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support services, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medicaid, North Carolina, Outreach, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, State MCH programs