Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: In the U.S., some 2 million pregnancies are screened for fetal Down syndrome each year. These measurements include alpha-fetoprotein (AFP), alone or in combination with human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) and unconjugated estriol (uE3). In 1990, the free beta-subunit of hCG was reported to be superior to the intact hCG molecule as a marker for Down syndrome. This study aimed to develop accurate estimates of performance for free beta-subunit measurements in detecting Down syndrome and to compare these with estimates derived from intact hCG measurements, as a step toward providing a basis for rational decision-making by State health departments, laboratories, physicians, and pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-126642.

Keywords: Asians-All Others, Asians–Chinese, Asians–Filipinos, Blacks, Down Syndrome, Hispanics-All others, Pregnant women (not otherwise defined as adolescents), Prenatal screening

Annotation: This project targeted first-time mothers in the City of Alexandria who were eligible for medicaid and who had personal or transient risk factors that may predispose them to abusing or neglecting their children. This 3-year project: (1) Ensured adequate prenatal care as prescribed by the clients' medical provider or by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; (2) ensured well-child care and advance optimal child development; (3) improved new mothers' knowledge of child care needs and child behavior; (4) enhanced parent-child interaction, bonding, and parenting skills; and (5) prevented child abuse and neglect among enrollees. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144743.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Case Management, Child Abuse Prevention, Child Neglect, Community Integrated Service System program, Hispanics, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Language Barriers, Minority Groups, Paraprofessional Personnel, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Education, Parenting Skills, Prenatal Care, Prenatal Care, Screening, Well Child Care

Annotation: This set of two videotapes explores two complications of pregnancy. Both videotapes are accompanied by a teaching guide. Gestational diabetes covers definition, prevalence, significance, screening, diagnosis, nutritional management, dietary strategies, monitoring and postpartum follow-up. Iron deficiency covers definition, prevalence, prevention, and treatment. Both of the guides contain references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi $25 each videotape.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Dietary assessment, Gestational diabetes, Iron deficiency anemia, Iron supplements, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Screening, Videotapes

Annotation: This directory lists genetic service providers in Texas. It is organized by category of service including medical genetics programs, biochemical genetics laboratories, cytogenetics laboratories, DNA laboratories, and sickle cell anemia programs. Each entry includes the program name, address, phone, program director, contact person, and a list of the clinical services provided. Many of the entries include information about cost reimbursement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, Children with Special Health Care Needs Services Program, MC 1938, PO Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714, Telephone: (512) 458-7355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 252-8023 Fax: (512) 458-7417 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/cshcn/default.shtm Available in libraries.

Keywords: DNA, Directories, Family support services, Genetic counseling, Genetic screening, Prenatal diagnosis, Sickle cell disease, Special health care needs

Annotation: These proceedings include contributions on the following psychosocial aspects of genetic counseling: process issues; cross-cultural issues; decision making in the context of genetic risk; the reproductive decision-making process after genetic counseling; support in decision making processes in the post-counseling period; reproductive choices in couples at risk for genetic disease; a protocol to address the depressive effects of abortion for fetal abnormalities discovered prenatally via amniocentesis; psychosocial intervention strategies for professionals; genetic counseling and mental retardation; Prader-Willi syndrome; pitfalls in counseling for predictive testing in Huntington disease; hemophilia and the use of genetic counseling and carrier testing within family networks; psychological implications of genetic screening; and lay conceptions of genetic disorders.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Abortion, Albinism, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic counseling, Genetic counselors, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Huntingtons disease, Neurofibromatosis, Prader Willi syndrome, Prenatal diagnosis, Psychosocial factors

Annotation: Although the U.S. Public Health Service provides for hepatitis B surface antigen screening for pregnant women who are refugees, there is concern among many providers of care to the Asian American community that those eligible for these programs are not aware of or do not have access to the facilities that provide the appropriate care. In addition to the accessibility problem, the large majority of Southeast Asians must also deal with linguistic/cultural, structural, educational, and financial barriers which prevent them from receiving appropriate care. This project addressed these and other issues facing this population. All of the sites participating in this project were chosen for their experience and sensitivity in addressing the special needs of this community. The project's goal was to increase access to hepatitis B screening and immunization for Southeast Asian pregnant women and their newborns. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-182902.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Barriers to Health Care, Centers for Disease Control (CDC), Hepatitis B, Immigrants, Immunization, Minorities, Newborns, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Screening, Southeast Asians

Annotation: These proceedings of the Fourth Annual Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Regions V and VII, summarize the keynote and plenary addresses, and the discussions of several focus groups. The conference, attended by multidisciplinary professionals in maternal and child health, focused on expanding the knowledge and leadership skills of managers. Topics included prenatal care, outcome measures, cultural issues, services for children with special health needs, adolescent services, dental health, data collection, maternal substance abuse, and child care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHD045.

• Link

Keywords: Case management, Child care, Children with special health care needs, Community health services, Culturally competent services, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Liability, Neonatal screening, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, School based clinics, Statistics, Transition to independent living, Vital statistics

Annotation: These proceedings of a symposium held by the Association for Children and Adults with learning Disabilities (ACLD) addressed the question: Is a risk index for learning disabilities in the cradle a valid concept? The symposium reviewed recent research indicating potential for predicting later learning disabilities through new assessment techniques performed with newborns. Topics included: 1) assessment of reproductive and caring variables; 2) minor physical anomalies; 3) electrical activity mapping; 4) auditory evoked responses from newborns; 5) prenatal exposure to teratogenic agents; 6) prenatal and neonatal exposure to lead; 7) acoustic cry analysis; 8) use of a risk index in infancy; 8) neurobehavioral assessment in newborns; and 9) metabolic correlates.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Drug induced congenital disorders, Lead poisoning, Learning disabilities, Neonatal screening, Nervous system diseases, Prenatal screening, Risk assessment, Teratogens

Annotation: This report addresses the effectiveness and costs of selected strategies for promoting and maintaining the health of children and identifies strategies whose implementation could substantially improve children's health or lower health care costs. It opens with a discussion of children and health insurance issues, both private insurance and Medicaid. Charts and tables from the Rand Corporation's Health Insurance Study are included. Two chapters focus specifically on the prevention of unintentional childhood injuries and the prevention of child maltreatment. The chapter on child maltreatment provides a definition of child abuse and neglect, estimates for the incidence and prevalence of child maltreatment, causes and effects of child maltreatment, and a discussion regarding the effectiveness of preventive strategies and programs.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OTA-H-345.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child abuse, Child neglect, Injury prevention, Insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Neonatal screening, Out of home care, Prenatal care, Prevention

Annotation: This report includes the presentations and discussions of the workshop on Prenatal Approaches to the Diagnosis of Fetal Hemoglobinopathies held in 1978 in Los Angeles. The document is divided into eight major subject areas, each containing presentations and discussion. These subject areas are: (1) fetoscopy; (2) placental aspiration; (3) biochemical methods; (4) immunologic methods; (5) cooperative efforts in data collection; (6) critical issues in prenatal diagnosis including ethical and legal issues, efforts to develop guidelines, the role of the community, and public policy; (7) future developments; and (8) the international roundtable.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: NIH 80-1529.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community role, Data collection, Ethics, Fetoscopy, Fetus, Guidelines, Hemoglobinopathies, Immunologic tests, International programs, Legal issues, Placenta, Prenatal diagnosis, Public policy, Reports, Research methodology, Screening

Annotation: This document provides the results of a project to develop and test systematic methods for nursing assessment of the health and development of infants and young children to determine what early factors are predictive of later child development and health problems and how they can best be measured. It discusses methods, infant characteristics, infants' environment, parental perceptions, life change, 12-month status, and applications.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: DHEW (HRA) 79-25.

Keywords: Assessment, Child nutrition, Children, Congenital abnormalities, Early childhood development, Infant nutrition, Infants, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Screening, Unintentional Injuries, Young children

Annotation: This book reviews literature dealing with child assessment and methodology. It was undertaken as a preliminary step of a project that would develop and test an assessment format to enable nurses to identify and care for existing health and developmental problems in children and to define high risk groups. Topics covered are prenatal and perinatal factors, congenital abnormalities, nutrition, parents' perceptions of their children, the animate and inanimate environment, physical growth and development, sleep patterns, childhood accidents, language, mental and social development.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: DHEW (HRA) 75-30.

Keywords: Assessment, Child nutrition, Children, Congenital abnormalities, Early childhood development, Infant nutrition, Infants, Literature reviews, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Screening, Unintentional Injuries, Young children