Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report is part of a series that provides an overview of activities to promote oral health during pregnancy. This issue focuses on the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), a surveillance project that collects population-based data on maternal and child health indicators. The issue describes the PRAMS questionnaire and PRAMS alternative questionnaires and features resources, including publications and data dashboards, that states have produced to share their PRAMS findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Health promotion, Oral health, Oral health care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Questionnaires

Annotation: This report presents key considerations for integrat- ing oral health evaluation into prenatal care. Topics include completing an oral health evaluation, integrating oral health evaluation into the electronic medical record, integrating oral health evaluation into the prenatal care workflow, and strategies to increase primary care health professionals’ confidence in completing an oral health evaluation. The document also includes summaries of how prenatal clinics integrate oral health evaluation, as well as links to examples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This policy statement focuses on integrating oral health care into primary care. It provides a summary of the issue, presents the problem of pervasively poor oral health among pregnant women and children from families with low incomes, and discusses opportunities to address this problem by integrating oral health care into primary care. Examples of a national initiative and statewide programs that are working to integrate oral health care into primary care are included, and the role of state and territorial oral health programs in this effort is discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It presents background information and discusses the following topics: recommended intakes for infants, children, adolescents, and adults from birth to over age 19, including pregnant adolescents and women and breastfeeding adolescents and women; sources of fluoride; types of fluoride supplements; fluoride and health (the effects of fluoride on tooth decay and bone fractures); health risks from excessive fluoride; interactions of fluoride with medications; fluoride and healthy diets; and where to find more information about fluoride. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluoride, Fractures, Infant health, Oral heath, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, Prevention

Annotation: This report describes programmatic efforts of the Integrating Oral Health Care and Primary Care Learning Collaborative: A State and Local Partner- ship project designed to integrate oral health care and prenatal care, with both a state and a local component. The report discusses project team selection, the state-level approach, the local-level approach, use of stipend funds and in-kind support, and integration of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies into prenatal care at the participating clinic site. The report’s executive summary is available separately. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Clinics, Local programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Each spotlight includes an overview of the program; a description of its inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation.The report also describes key elements for individual program success and the challenges common across all programs that limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This checklist, which is intended for clinics participating in the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the MCH Safety Net's Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, is designed to help ensure that work done toward integrating oral health care is sustained after the project has ended. The checklist includes items demonstrating that oral health has been integrated into a practice. Examples from the checklist include submitting a written self-assessment, updated job descriptions, an onboarding process, a patient health history intake form, and appropriate policy documents.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This data dictionary specifies elements required for data collection, analysis and reporting by the community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health project (RoMoNOH). RoMoNOH focuses on primary prevention of dental caries in infants and children from birth to age 40 months and pregnant women who are receiving health care in participating community health centers (CHCs) throughout Arizona, Colorado, Montana, and Wyoming.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Excel Document

Keywords: Community health centers, Data analysis, Data collection, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of integrating oral health care and mental health care into obstetrical care to improve the overall health of women during and after pregnancy. The report explains why poor oral health and mental health may be a particular problem for women during and after pregnancy, and how oral health and mental health are linked. The report also explains the role obstetricians can play in identifying oral health and mental health problems in pregnant and postpartum women.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Gynecology, Mental health, Obstetrical care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, Statistical data

Annotation: This report examines the critical impact of mental health and substance use disorders on maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, highlighting how suicide and substance use-related overdoses account for over 20 percent of postpartum deaths. It presents promising approaches from states including Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, New Hampshire, and California that integrate maternity care with behavioral health services and social supports. The report outlines six key recommendations for improving care: supporting dedicated multidisciplinary care teams, centering people with lived experience to drive health equity, normalizing substance use care, training all staff on bias and stigma, expanding the community-based workforce including doulas and peer recovery specialists, and implementing harm reduction and street medicine approaches. The authors emphasize that with nearly every state now providing 12 months of postpartum Medicaid coverage, there are unprecedented opportunities to implement integrated, trauma-informed, non-punitive care models that can significantly reduce maternal mortality and improve outcomes for families.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Substance abusing pregnant women, Community participation, Disorders, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, Risk factors, Service integration, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This brief, which is part of the What Works Evidence Accelerators series, provides background information and a summary of effective strategies to advance the national performance measures on preventive dental visits for children and for pregnant women. The strategies support increasing the percentages of pregnant women and children who had a dental visit in the past year. The brief includes an overview of the issues; data; and information on oral health outcomes, disparities in outcomes, children and youth with special health care needs, and partnership and the role of Title V.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Partnership, Pregnant women, Prevention, Special health care needs, Title V programs

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is intended for health professionals, provides information about oral health during pregnancy. It explains why good oral health during pregnancy is important and lists oral health problems that pregnant women may experience. It offers tips for how health professionals can help their patients achieve or maintain good oral health during pregnancy, including by asking questions, checking the woman's mouth for signs of oral disease, providing referrals to a dentist, and advising patients on what to do after vomiting to promote oral health. Information on the safety of getting oral health care during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Morning sickness, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Referrals, Safety, Vomiting

Annotation: This report presents recommendations for ensuring high-quality postpartum care during the full 12-month period covered by Illinois' Postpartum Medicaid Extension. It outlines the content of care delineated in the Illinois Medicaid contract for Managed Care Organizations, focusing on requirements for the extended postpartum period. The authors propose a comprehensive Postpartum Performance Measurement Dataset that would require MCOs to report on specific measures for the postpartum population, providing a clearer picture of care delivery through 12 months postpartum. They also recommend expanding the Women's Health section of the HealthChoice Illinois report cards and creating a separate Maternal Health section to help pregnant and postpartum people choose the best health plans. The report emphasizes the importance of monitoring MCOs and provider performance to ensure accountability for delivering high-quality care to postpartum persons, particularly given Illinois' maternal health crisis with rising rates of maternal morbidity and mortality inequities.

• PDF

Keywords: Illinois, Measures, Medicaid, Models, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Quality Assurance, State Initiatives

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Prenatal Oral Health Interprofessional Experience. For this program, NYU dental students and nurse midwifery or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of pregnant women in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information about interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and suggestions to facilitate student discussion.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Nursing, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This guide discusses lessons learned from quality- improvement projects conducted to integrate oral health care in prenatal and pediatric settings. It offers steps to take in integrating oral health care in these settings. Steps are divided into the following categories: planning; setting goals; educating and training staff; launching an integration project and tracking progress; adapting resources to fit the setting; reviewing, celebrating, and discussing progress; and maintaining and sustaining progress. Advice from projects that have integrated oral health care is included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This guide for prenatal and pediatric health professionals discusses lessons learned from quality-improvement projects conducted to integrate oral health care into primary care settings. Topics include planning; setting goals; educating and training staff; launching an integration project and tracking progress; adapting resources to fit the setting; reviewing, celebrating, and discussing progress; and maintaining and sustaining progress.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program