Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book focuses on the importance of health literacy and on strategies to enable people to optimize their own and their families’ health. Topics include definitions of health literacy, measures used in health literacy research, educational systems, health systems, and a vision for a health-literate America.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09117-9.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Economic factors, Educational factors, Health education, Health promotion, Information services, Literacy, Literacy education, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Research, Social factors

Annotation: This brief outlines a pilot program "Baby Steps Towards Health" to increase Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) visits for children from birth to age three in Michigan by creating a link between the member, practitioner, and health plans as well as increasing parent involvement. Section topics include an introduction to the program; an overview of intervention roles; project aims, measures, and changes; outreach roles; and summaries of overall program results and program expansion.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Collaboration, EPSDT, Infants, MCH programs, Michigan, Physician patient relations, Pilot projects, Screening, Young children

Annotation: This education kit provides tools for health care providers and their staffs to help establish a patient-friendly environment that will maximize patient understanding, improve patient compliance, and enhance patient care. The kit includes a brochure describing the kit's contents; a comprehensive manual for clinicians; a videotape; a CD-ROM with digital files of the manual, videotape, and presentation handouts; a tabletop display with tear pad to help patients get the most from their visit; and buttons that staff can wear to encourage patients to ask questions. Topics include understanding the scope of the health literacy problem, recognizing health system barriers faced by patients with low literacy, improving methods of verbal and written communication, and incorporating possible strategies to create a shame-free environment. The kit can be used to earn 2.5 continuing medical education category 1 credits.

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-57947-502-7.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Continuing education, Health education, Health literacy, Health personnel, Low literacy, Manuals, Patient advocacy, Patients, Physician patient relations

Annotation: This booklet provides a summary of responses to a survey of Family Voices leaders on strategies to improve quality compassionate care that produces positive outcomes for children and adolescents who have a disability or chronic health condition. Survey responses include demographic information, medical home, coordination of services, family centered services, transition to work, and child or adolescent's understanding of their condition, physician and patient and family relations, and health care financing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disabilities, Family centered services, Health care financing, Health services delivery, Medical home, Physician patient relations, Service integration, Surveys, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays by individual authors; each addresses some aspect of the epidemiology and prevention of adolescent injuries. The individual essays follow a brief commentary on methodological and conceptual issues. Topics covered are: traffic-related injuries, drowning, suicide, the role of handguns in homicides among adolescents and young adults, family violence and development during adolescence, occupational injuries, adolescent injury prevention in primary care, peer violence prevention programs in middle and high schools, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the role of mass media in injury causation and prevention.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 $33.00, no shipping and handling charge if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-190-8.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Drowning, Epidemiology, Family violence, Firearms, High schools, Homicide, Injuries, Mass media, Middle schools, Motor vehicle injuries, Occupational injuries, Peer groups, Physician patient relations, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Prevention, Prevention programs, Primary care, School based programs, Suicide, Violence prevention, Young adults

Annotation: This book is a reissue of the original 1980 edition with a new introduction written by the author and a new forward. The book examines how men have dominated the field of medicine in general and obstetrics and gynecology in particular. As a result, the author argues that medicine as a discipline views women's bodies and their functions as abnormal. Some of the specific topics addressed are sexism in medicine; nineteenth century medicine; female castration; clitoridectomy; childbirth; women physicians; hysterectomy; medical education; cesarean sections; unnecessary surgery; and strategies for change. A glossary of medical terms is provided in the appendix.

Contact: Teachers College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (212) 678-3929 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Attitudes, Gynecologists, Medicine, Men, Obstetricians, Physician patient relations, Professional education, Women', s health

Annotation: This publication provides texts or abstracts of presentations made at a conference held in conjunction with the annual conference of the Pennsylvania Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. The conference focus was on training models for health professions. Concurrent sessions were held on the following: 1) the family's perspective; 2) health professionals in training; and 3) continuing education for health professionals in the community. A more detailed publication based on this conference, entitled Families, Physicians, and Children with Special Health Needs, will be published in 1993 or 1994 by Greenwood Publishing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Family medicine, Family physicians, Infants with special health care needs, Inservice training, Pediatric care, Pediatricians, Physician patient relations, Professional education

Annotation: This manual addresses legal issues frequently encountered by health care providers in serving children and their families affected by HIV disease. The following legal topics are examined: the obligation of health care providers to treat persons with HIV; the obligation of health care providers to obtain patient consent for treatment; provider-patient confidentiality; a health care provider's duty to warn persons at risk of HIV infection; provider testing for HIV; clinical trials and research issues; and individual rights, privacy, and entitlements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: HIV, Legal issues, Patient care management, Patient consent, Pediatric AIDS, Physician patient relations

Annotation: This booklet contains six commencement addresses given by Dr. C. Everett Koop, Surgeon General of the United States, to medical school classes of 1988. Topics include the challenge of medical practice; the physician-patient relationship; responding to patients who are handicapped, aging, or have AIDS; and responding to the patient of tomorrow.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB326.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Ethics, Older adults, Physician patient relations

Annotation: This manual presents selected approaches for pediatricians and other child health professionals in caring for children and families whose health and adaptation are thought to be in the normal range. This notebook incorporates biomedical, developmental, and psychosocial information. For each checkup, it suggests questions to ask the parent, factors to look for in examining the child, immunizations, and anticipatory guidance to offer the parents. Supplementary information is given on common issues including self-comforting behaviors, feeding behavior in infancy and early childhood, toilet training, sleep problems, temper tantrums, management of the difficult infant and child, single parenting, and dysfunctional parenting. The manual emphasizes open communication and therapeutic alliance between the physician and the patient and his or her family.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $30.00 (includes 160-page spiral bound manual and 22 spiral-bound cue cards).

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavior, Behavior problems, Child development, Child health, Children, Dysfunctional families, Feeding, Health services, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Parents, Pediatrics, Physician patient relations, Preventive health services, Psychosocial development, Single parents, Sleep disorders, Stress, Tantrums, Toilet training

Annotation: This publication is based on the proceedings of the first national gathering of genetics support groups, in June 1985. It covers three themes: 1) skills for strengthening voluntary support groups (such as improving communication and publicity, fund raising, and involving clergy); 2) the emergence of self-help groups as a social resource; and 3) successful networking among genetics groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Genetic disorders, Networking, Parent professional relations, Physician patient relations, Support groups

Annotation: This final report describes the Systems of Analysis of Pediatric Efficiency Project, conducted by the Johns Hopkis University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, with support from a Maternal and Child Health Service research grant.The 5-year project, which began in July 1967, aimed to (1) increase the capability of physicians to attend more efficiently to the health needs of a greater number of children in a clinic setting, without sacrifice in either the quality of care rendered or the desired relationship between the physician and patient and (2) substantially reduce the cost per patient visit. The final report includes a summary, discussions of intra-physician and intra-clinic analyses, and five appendices, including a list of publications, reprints of related publications, a list of participants in field trials, summaries of questionnaires, and case studies.

Keywords: Child health, Costs, Final reports, Pediatric care, Physician patient relations, Quality assurance, Research

Annotation: This monograph is a report of a study on teaching of the social and environmental aspects of medicine in the United States and Canada (medical-social teaching). Part 1 presents general considerations, a summary of the findings, and general conclusions. Part 2 provides more specific source material, including case studies and the role of the social worker. The monograph also includes a bibliography and an index.

Keywords: Case studies, Environmental influences, Medical education, Medical students, Physician patient relations, Physicians, Social factors

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from a national survey dedicated to learning how people find, use, and understand health information. Contents include information on what the survey does and how the data is used; briefs, reports, and materials; public-use datasets; survey instruments; frequently asked questions; publications using the data; user's meeting; and knowledge maps. Topics include types of cancer and cancer communication, perceptions, and knowledge. Additional topics include demographics; food and medical products; health communication; health services; health status; internet use; medical research and medical records; numeracy; nutrition and physical activity; patient-provider communication; risk perceptions; social networks; and tobacco use.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Attitudes, Cancer, Communication, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal initiatives, Health literacy, Information sources, National surveys, Physician patient relations, Research