Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goals of the Healthy Tomorrows for Denver Project were to (1) increase the number of infants and children referred by the Denver Department of Health and Hospitals to Child Find, (2) increase the proportion of families following through on recommended treatment options, (3) increase utilization by low-income and minority parents, and (4) create an automated tracking/management system. A case management system was implemented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Delayed Development, Early Intervention, Families, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Individualized Family Service Plan, Low Income Population, Paraprofessional Personnel, Referrals

Annotation: This summary report includes key findings of both the family needs assessment of families of children with special health care needs who are enrolled in MassHealth Managed Care and of primary care clinicians in the MassHealth Primary Care Clinician (PCC) Plan. The family survey reports overall parent satisfaction in five different areas of care. The PCC survey reports key survey and focus group findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Contact Phone: (617) 624-5955 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Focus groups, Health personnel, Managed care, Massachusetts, Needs assessment, Parents, Physicians, Primary care, Reports, Surveys

Annotation: This survey questions primary care clinicians about their experiences and perceptions of caring for children with special health care needs. The survey is part of the Managed Care Enhancement Project for Children with Special Health Care Needs, a quality improvement project designed to enhance the care of children with special health care needs who are enrolled in MassHealth Managed Care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Contact Phone: (617) 624-5955 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Health personnel, Managed care, Massachusetts, Primary care, Quality assurance, Questionnaires

Annotation: This document is the survey form for the needs assessment of families with children with special health care needs who are enrolled in MassHealth Managed Care and for primary care clinicians in the MassHealth Primary Care Clinician (PCC) Plan. The family survey addresses overall parent satisfaction in five different areas of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Contact Phone: (617) 624-5955 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Health personnel, Managed care, Massachusetts, Needs assessment, Parents, Physicians, Primary care, Surveys

Annotation: This paper synthesizes currently available information about shortages among the professions working with young children with disabilities, birth through age five, and their families and explores various approaches and some of the challenges to quantifying shortages. It begins with a look at national data on personnel working in early intervention and preschool special education today. The paper then turns to current shortages in some key professions and what the future is likely to hold for them. The paper closes with a discussion of possible responses to the problem and data related to these responses.

Contact: Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: 919.966.7463 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ectacenter.org/ Available from the website. Document Number: HS-91-01-1001.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention programs, Preschool children, Professional personnel, Professional training

Annotation: This reports on a study conducted to examine the relationship between state agencies and higher education in planning for the personnel components of Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). The authors' mission was to uncover strategies for successful cooperation from states that were demonstrating progress in meeting the personnel challenges of Part H. A qualitative research design was employed to examine the issues associated with the process of developing and maintaining working relationships between state agencies and higher education. Policy recommendations derived from the study are included.

Contact: Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 300 NationsBank Plaza, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 962-7374 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Interdisciplinary approach, Part H, Personnel needs, Policy development, Professional education, State agencies, Training

Annotation: This book addresses issues dealing with early education in a child care setting. The text discusses topics including the history of child care in United States, multiculturalism, outcomes of children who participate in child care, before and after school care, trends shaping child care centers, and projections for child care in the future.

Contact: Teachers College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (212) 678-3929 Contact Phone: (800 ) 488-2665 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Early childhood education, Family child care, Health and safety, Outcome evaluation, Personnel needs, Quality assurance, School age child care

Annotation: This manual is intended for providers who work with children who have special health needs. It contains two main sections. The first one provides a brief description of chronic health conditions and communicable diseases. The second contains recommendations for training and preparation of care providers and parents including comprehensive checklists for care of the most chronic health problems. Smaller sections provide information for educators, individual education plans, and coloring books about either male or female self-catheterization. Three accompanying pamphlets deal with antibiotics, constipation, and weight management. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Hospital, Chronic Illness Program, 200 Henry Clay Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118, Telephone: (504) 899-9511 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Caregivers, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coloring books, Community programs, Parents, School personnel, Training materials, Urinary catheterization

Annotation: This booklet is aimed at administrators and practitioners serving disabled and at-risk infants, toddlers, and their families. The first paper discusses the purpose, process, and ways of doing program evaluation and developing a model relevant to a wide range of early intervention programs. The second describes three evaluation strategies: process evaluation, outcome evaluation, and action research. The last one relates how the staff of one service program for young children and families worked together to design and implement an evaluation process which helped to improve clinical practice and supervision while simultaneously demonstrating the efficacy of the program to funding sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative personnel, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, High risk children, Pediatricians, Program evaluation, Reports

Annotation: This manual is intended for school personnel who work with students with chronic health conditions or physical disabilities. The manual has six main sections. Part one describes the role the school plays in planning services for students with chronic health conditions or physical disabilities. Part two provides information about asthma, diabetes, and epilepsy. Part three contains instructions for daily care procedures, focusing on hand washing, medication, and feeding through a gastrostomy tube. Part four provides a framework for dealing with mobility problems and students with physical limitations. Part five includes instructions on how to use orthoses and prostheses. Part six offers guidelines for school personnel in health-related emergencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Accessible facilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Asthma, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes insipidus, Diabetes mellitus, Emergencies, Epilepsy, Gastrostomy, Manuals, Orthopedic devices, Planning, Prostheses, School health services, School personnel, Self care, Students

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: LOC 77-075542.

Keywords: Hospitals, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Maternity hospitals, Medical personnel, Neonatal diseases, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal morbidity, Nurses, Nutrition, Standards

Keywords: Child health promotion, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Health care delivery, Medical personnel, Standards

Annotation: This report is divided into five sections. The first three present discussion of programs and services developed, problems encountered and approaches used to solve the problems in a study of recreation and education programs for disabled children in New York City. The fourth section is a discussion and analysis of the summer day camp programs conducted as part of the study. The fifth section presents a summary and recommendations. The study included working with the New York City Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs Administration to develop a program for disabled children and youth; using recreation activities to achieve specific goals for the children and youth; a parent education and counseling program; analyses of recreation and play activities to match them with goals; preparing local residents to function as paraprofessional assistants; and refer residents on a continuing basis. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child care services, Children with special health care needs, Education, New York, Paraprofessional personnel, Recreation, Referrals

Annotation: This report discusses school health policy, provides background information on school health topics, and outlines some techniques used by school health services. The report was prepared for physicians but will also be of interest to educators. Topics discussed include the relationship between schools and health services; the school health education medical specialty; health screening of students; special school health needs of adolescents; children with special health needs and schools; academic performance and school attendance; physical fitness and sports medicine; the health of school personnel; and cooperation and communication between physicians and educators.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Confidentiality, Education, Emergency medical services for children, Health policy, Health promotion, Health screening, Health screening, Human development, Medical education, Occupational safety and health, Physical fitness, School attendance, School failure, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School personnel, Schools, Sports medicine, Tests

Annotation: This book concerns career people in the federal government who hold civilian posts at the supergrade level, just beneath the top political appointees. The problem in recruiting, training, and planning to replace vacancies in this category is discussed. This book describes the top-level civil servant and his work, those who provide managerial support, their work, how people get to these positions, getting and keeping competent people in these positions, and developing the talent required.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Federal government, Personnel, Personnel management, Personnel needs, Recruitment

Annotation: These proceedings discuss administrative problems in crippled children services (CCS), selling CCS programs, county government and barriers to selling health programs, selling a program in the legislature, program administrator's commodity, legal aspects of standards for medical care goods and services in the Crippled Children Program, standard setting in medical care programs, expenditure controls in a medical care program, estimating program trends, budget presentation, administrative costs in a CCS program, case management for CCS, the responsibility of administration for case management, the role of the public health nurse in case management of CCS cases, supervision and training of personnel, analysis and improvement in health service offices, and evaluation in CCS programs.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Budgeting, Case management, Child health programs, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, County government, Personnel, Program evaluation, Public health nurses, Standards, State legislatures