Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book describes the status of adolescent health and provides techniques for promoting healthy behaviors through school and community linkages. The topics discussed are adolescent health, preventing unintentional adolescent injury, physical activity and fitness, nutrition for adolescents, tobacco use and adolescents, drug abuse, adolescents and alcohol use, recognizing and preventing sexually transmitted diseases among adolescents, HIV, AIDS, adolescent pregnancy and early childbearing, adolescent mental health, youth violence, family and dating violence, health education programs, peer education, postponing sexual involvement, and several community adolescent health programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Hardcover: $48.00; Paperback: $22.95. Document Number: ISBN 07619-0275-9.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, HIV, Health education, Injury prevention, Maternal age, Peer education, Physical fitness, Public health programs, Sexually transmitted diseases, Tobacco use, Violence

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar about peer education for all age groups. The report is divided into sections on the theoretical background of peer education, national and local models, research findings on the advantages and limitations of peer education, and policy recommendations. Appendices include components of promising peer-led sexual health programs and national and local resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: District of Columbia, Intervention, Model programs, Peer education, Policy analysis, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, Social problems

Annotation: This guide explains the benefits and demands of advisory roles for families, presents some fundamental principles for being a successful advisor, and suggests practical tips for dealing with the common challenges that families encounter in these new roles. It also includes ideas and self assessment activities to identify the skills families bring to the advisory relationship and the supports they may need to participate successfully. The report in addition includes thoughts, observations, and suggestions of family members who are already participating as advisors. The guide is designed for the person who has never served in an advisory role, but thinks it might be rewarding and interesting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ112; ISBN 0-9642014-1-0.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered care, Family centered services, Home visiting, Peer counseling, Peer education, Training materials

Annotation: This report describes a qualitative study conducted from July through December 1995 of youth empowerment positions in HIV/AIDS service delivery models. The study examined the ways 11 Special Projects of National Significance (SPNS) Program grantee organizations have been engaging youth to provide services to other youth, under Title II of the Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act of 1990. The projects provided outreach, risk reduction counseling, HIV counseling and testing, medical care, case management, and/or support services. A phone survey instrument is included.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Health Resources Development , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-9481 Available at no charge. Limited number of copies available..

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal programs, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Peer counseling, Peer education, Program evaluation

Annotation: This electronic resource provides information and materials developed as part of the Loving Support Makes Breastfeeding Work promotion campaign, a cooperative agreement between the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Food and Nutrition Service and Best Start Social Marketing Inc. The resource includes links to community-based programs that are implementing the Loving Support program; tools to help communities promote breastfeeding; and downloadable pamphlets that offer guidance and support for breastfeeding mothers. Materials are available in English and Spanish. Some materials are intended for Native American audiences and portray Native Americans in the illustrations. The site also provides a link to the USDA's WIC Works Resource System which provides online training and education materials on breastfeeding for staff of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC).

Contact: WIC Works Resource System, National Agricultural Library, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Beltsville, MD 20705, Telephone: (301) 504-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://wicworks.nal.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Community programs, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Model programs, Nutrition, Peer support programs, Social support, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This training guide is designed to help adolescent peer educators understand sexuality issues. The document explains how to establish an adolescent peer program in a community and how to use the curriculum. The curriculum covers the following subject areas: 1) human sexuality; 2) anatomy and physiology; 3) human growth and development; 4) reproductive health; 5) values and decision-making; 6) life options; 7) sexual offenses and relationships; 8) contraception; 9) adolescent pregnancy and parenthood; and 10) communication. Additional resources and an index of activities are provided.

Contact: Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin, Community Education and Training, 302 North Jackson Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202, Telephone: (414) 271-8045 Web Site: http://www.ppwi.org/communityeducation/thebuckstartshereeducation.aspx $89.95; $79.95 for non-profit; + $6.00 for shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent programs, Cleveland Healthy Start, Communication, Community programs, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Curricula, Peer education, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Training materials

Annotation: This manual shows how community-based programs can reduce violence in the communities. The book identifies specific activities plus a framework for putting them into place. The first part, Activities to Prevent Youth Violence, describes the target groups, settings, and strategies for prevention. The second part, Program Management, covers basic principles of effective community-based health promotion programs and includes suggestions on organizing the community, gathering and analyzing information, setting goals and objectives, locating resources, and monitoring the progress of the program. An index of community programs to prevent youth violence is included.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (404) 488-4646 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Community programs, Comprehensive programs, Conflict resolution, Crisis intervention, Education, Firearms, Intervention, Leadership, Parenting, Peer groups, Population surveillance, Prevention, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This training program includes a leader's guide, 10 sets of skill cards and three videotapes - Givin' It, Takin' It, and Workin' It Out - to help school personnel and community leaders teach African American youth social skills for appropriately dealing with anger. Each 14-20 minute tape includes a vignette of a conflict situation that escalates into a potentially dangerous confrontation, a skill lesson, and the same situation played out using a key conflict resolution skill. Footage is also included of a training situation with a leader and small group of adolescents discussing violence in their own lives, role playing the skills taught, and giving and receiving feedback. The program, developed at Wright State University in Ohio, is recommended for teachers, counselors, social workers, psychologists, clergy, or anyone who works with adolescents.

Contact: Research Press, Dept. 28W, PO Box 9177, Champaign, IL 61826, Telephone: (217) 352-3273 Secondary Telephone: (800) 519-2707 Contact Phone: (217) 352-3273 Fax: (217) 352-1221 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.researchpress.com/ Preview copy available at no charge; purchase price is $495.00.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Conflict resolution, Education, Junior high schools, Peer groups, Social behavior, Videotapes, Violence

Annotation: This manual provides an overview of the Positive Adolescents Choices Training (PACT) program whose goal is to empower adolescents to make informed decisions about issues affecting their personal health. It covers sexuality, unplanned pregnancy, drug and alcohol use, sexually transmitted diseases, eating disorders, suicide, and relationships. PACT's objectives are to introduce accurate information and resources directly into the peer network by training adolescent facilitators in sexuality, health information, decision making, and communication; and by providing structured, supervised opportunities for these adolescents to share information with their peers, their parents, and other adults. The manual reviews the components necessary to establish a PACT program and addresses issues such as conducting a needs assessment, recruiting and selecting adolescents, developing training guidelines and budgets, and raising program funds.

Contact: YWCA of the U.S.A., 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 550, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 467-0801 Fax: (202) 467-0802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ywca.org $25.00 plus $2.50 shipping and handling. 50 percent discount for community and student YWCAs. Make checks payable to YWCA National Board.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Dating, Eating disorders, Empowerment, Health education, Peer counselors, Program development, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

Annotation: This document is volume I of a two-part resource guide developed to share with others the theoretical concepts and planning that formed the basis of the Lay Health Advisor (LHA) program. A new three year grant, Migrant Lay Health Advisors: A Strategy for Health Promotion, was obtained to conduct a state-wide control study of the LHA approach. The authors intend for the information provided in this guide to be useful to others planning and implementing similar peer counselor programs among diverse ethnic populations. This guide includes a review of the literature that provides a theoretical basis for the development of peer counselor programs, materials which specifically describe the collaboration of all of those involved in developing the LHA program, and various session plans for conducting classes. Volume II of this guide will be completed at the end of the new grant to report on the evaluation of the impact of lay health advisors on the migrant population in North Carolina. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Health education, Migrant health, Peer counseling, Public health programs, Public health services

Annotation: "It's Your Choice" series of books focus on young people faced with real-life choices and decisions. The reader makes decisions for the character and makes the story happen by choosing how they react in different situations. The reader then turns to a corresponding page where the consequences of various decisions are discussed. This particular book in the series focuses on using alcohol.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol education, Peer pressure, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This book describes the Birth to Three parent support groups in the Eugene, Oregon, area and gives information how how to set up such a program. Also included is a discussion outline for eight group meetings for these educational groups.

Keywords: Manuals, Oregon, Parent education programs, Peer support programs, Young children

Annotation: This book is based on the proceedings of the Public Health Social Work Institute held at Berkeley in June 1978. It discusses prevention of undesirable consequences in pregnancy; species specific patterns of human reproductive behavior; alternative birthing; interplay between nutritional and psychosocial factors of child development; high school based child care settings; immunization; health needs of adolescents; adolescence and contraception; adolescence and venereal disease; adolescent family planning; peer sex education; chronic disease; crisis intervention; the educational, professional, and policy perspectives of prevention; autogenic training; prevention of obesity in children and adolescents; and early maternal infant bonding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Service]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Alternative birth styles, Bonding, Child care services, Child development, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Contraception, Crisis intervention, Family planning, Health, High schools, Immunization, Mother child relations, Nutrition, Obesity, Peer education, Pregnancy, Psychosocial development, Reproductive behavior, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social workers

Annotation: This workshop summary addresses adolescent pregnancy in five subject areas: multi-health services, parents, peers, professional education, and schools and communities. A variety of disciplines, program experiences, and geographical regions were represented among the participants. The project upon which this publication is based was performed pursuant to Contract No. HSM 110-72-339, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Health Services Administration.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent psychology, Adolescent sexuality, Communities, Conferences, Family planning, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parents, Peer groups, Professional education, Schools

Annotation: This pamphlet contains four articles on maternity care reprinted from the American Journal of Public Health (AJPH). The first article, Public Health Nursing and Parent Education: A Pilot Program of Training for Parent Group Leadership [AJPH, Dec. 1955], discusses a program administered by the New York State Department of Health and the Children's Bureau that provided public health nurses with training for group parent education. The second article, Complete Maternity Care [AJPH, Dec. 1956], discusses the ongoing work of the Family Health Clinic, a five year demonstration project conducted by a team consisting of an obstetrician, a nurse, a social worker, a nutritionist, and a psychologist that was formed to implement and evaluate a holistic approach to maternity care. The third article, Psychological Aspects of Maternity Care [AJPH, Jan. 1957], based on seven years of data collected in Boston and Jerusalem prenatal and well baby clinics, discusses observations about emotional aspects of pregnancy that may help public health workers promote mental health in families. The fourth and final article, New Approaches to Work with Expectant Parent Groups: A Report on a Pilot Leadership Training Program for Nurses [AJPH, Feb. 1957], discusses the educational and training requirements of nurses planning to provide training to expectant parent groups.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org $15.00 per article from APHA archivist at [email protected].

Keywords: Demonstration programs, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Nursing education, Parent education programs, Peer education, Pilot projects, Public health nurses

Annotation: This publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau is written to assist parents in understanding and guiding adolescent children to a healthy, happy adulthood. Contents include a definition of adolescence and adult attitudes toward adolescence, physical growth and development, attitudes toward sex, adolescence and mental development, the individual as a whole, some educational pitfalls, the question of work, learning to use leisure, asocial conduct, evading reality, the adolescent and his companions, and the needs of the parent.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Peer groups, Puberty, Sexual development, Social behavior, Social interaction, Social skills