Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This tip sheet outlines potential roles for Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) programs, highlighting specific examples of state-level collaborations. It features case studies including DC's Joyful Food Markets partnership with Martha's Table for food access, Florida and Iowa's workforce development initiatives for motivational interviewing training, New Mexico's Medical Home Portal for bilingual health resources, and Minnesota's Help Me Connect program for connecting families to early childhood services. The document emphasizes Title V programs' capacity to establish shared decision-making through partnerships with state AAP chapters, Medicaid programs, and other agencies to improve child and adolescent health outcomes.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Bright Futures, Pediatric care, Social determinants of health, Collaboration

Annotation: This resource describes the basic components of a structured transition process and includes customizable sample tools for each core element and an implementation package for each type of practice. They are tailored to the type of practice facilitating the health care transition in these areas: (1) transitioning youth to an adult health care clinician, for use by pediatric, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians; (2) transitioning to an adult approach to health care without changing clinicians, for use by family medicine and med-peds clinicians; and (3) integrating young adults into adult health care, for use by internal medicine, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians. A summary chart describes the three sets of tools and six elements. The materials are available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This packet provides the best strategies for participating practices so pediatric providers across the country can benefit from their learning from a quality improvement framework with 18 pediatric primary care practices to test and refine strategies to improve their effectiveness in fostering patients’ social and emotional development from birth to age 3. These core practices and strategies serve as a roadmap for the participating pediatric providers and includes additional resources developed as part of this initiative or identified as useful. The document summaries strategies for each core element and lists additional resources. Sample forms are included.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Emotional development, Model programs, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Quality improvement, Social development, Young children

Annotation: This document describes contract language options states can use to provide for the availability of pediatric-to-adult transitional care, in the areas of definitions, member services and education, provider networks, covered services, care coordination, and quality and evaluation. Appendices list actual 2018/2019 contract language on the same topics from selected states. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This tip sheet highlights various ways in which Title V programs can form partnerships with state agencies and work in tandem with pediatric health professionals to address social determinants of health and improve child health outcomes. Included are examples of innovative Title V programs in Iowa, Florida, New Mexico, Minnesota, and the District of Columbia. The recommendations are based on The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents, 4th Edition.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, Health equity, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Social factors, Title V Programs

Annotation: This brief summarizes the research on service coordination between home visiting programs and pediatric primary care providers, including co-located services. The following four questions are addressed: (1) Why should home visiting programs coordinate with pediatric primary care providers? (2) What are common obstacles to service coordination? (3) How can providers work around common obstacles? (4) What are implications for practice and future research? Promising strategies to promote awareness, establish effective communication, and develop policies and mechanism in support of service coordination are included.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Home visits, Pediatric care, Primary care, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit for clinicians provides suggested questions and anticipatory guidance specific to adolescents' transition to adult health care, and is meant to be used alongside Bright Futures. It covers early adolescence (11-14 years) through early adulthood (22-25 years), and includes transition and preventive health care guidance. It is aimed at the entire health care team. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Self care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help pediatric primary care providers (PPCPs) integrate mental health promotion and screening into their practice. Developed by the DC Collaborative for Mental Health in Pediatric Primary Care, the toolkit provides information and resources to support PPCP’s in screening caregivers for perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, such as postpartum depression, during well child visits. Included is a summary of mood and anxiety disorders during pregnancy and postpartum; the Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale screening tool (in English and Spanish), implementation and planning tools, and a detailed list of perinatal mental health resources.

Contact: DC Collaborative for Mental Health in Pediatric Primary Care , Children's National Hospital Foundation , 111 Michigan Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20010, Telephone: (202) 476-5000 Web Site: https://www.childrensnational.org/in-the-community/advocacy-and-outreach/community-initiatives-and-partnerships/dc-collaborative-for-mental-health-in-pediatric-primary-care

• PDF

Keywords: Mental health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Postpartum depression, Primary care, Screening, Service integration

Annotation: This report from the Social Determinants of Health Technical Working Group of the Maternal and Child Health Measurement Research Network discusses screening for social determinants of health (SDOH) in pediatric primary care for young children. It proposes a comprehensive 18-item screening tool covering four domains: material well-being, psychological/personal well-being, social well-being, and parent-child relationship well-being. The report outlines the rationale for SDOH screening, provides guidance on implementing screening effectively, and recommends next steps for testing and refining the proposed tool. It emphasizes that screening should lead to supportive discussions with families and appropriate follow-up, not just identification of risk factors. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cahmi.org

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Pediatrics, Primary care, Screening, Social determinants of health

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These resources provide information to help parents of infants ask their pediatrician about how they can partner to ensure that the infant’s mouth is healthy. The resources discuss how to care for an infant’s teeth before they erupt. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family centered care, Health literacy, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources are designed to help pediatricians and their practice teams screen for food insecurity, connect families with food and nutrition resources in the community, and support national and local policies that increase access to adequate healthy food for all children and their families. Contents include an infographic, information on food insecurity and federal nutrition programs, tips on preparing for and using the Hunger Vital Sign (a validated screening tool), interventions to address food insecurity, and resources to support advocacy and educational efforts.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This report describes what is known about the availability of trauma centers for children and the outcomes for children treated at different types of facilities. The report also examines how, if at all, federal agencies are involved in supporting pediatric trauma care and how these activities are coordinated. Topics include the location of high-level pediatric trauma centers, the percentage of children who live within 30 miles of a high-level pediatric trauma center, and how well such centers work to lower mortality. Additional topics include federal interagency coordination to support hospital-based pediatric trauma care activities and training and resources available to physicians and nurses for pediatric trauma care. Examples are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-334.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Health care delivery, Injuries, Interagency cooperation, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Training, Trauma care, Trauma centers, Work force