Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual provides health care professionals with information, work sheets, and forms needed to develop and evaluate resources for patient and family education. It includes ways to make print material easier to read, a list of simple words for medical jargon and information on using readability formulas and using written materials effectively in patient teaching.

Contact: Children's Hospital and Regional Medical Center, 4800 Sand Point Way, N.E., P.O. Box 5371, Seattle, WA 98105, Telephone: (206) 987-2000 Secondary Telephone: (206) 987-2280 Contact Phone: (206) 527-5731, ext. 2 Contact Fax: (206) 527-5705 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.seattlechildrens.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Low literacy materials, Patient education materials, Writing

Annotation: This Web site provides information in a variety of Asian languages to increase electronic access to health information for consumers and health care providers of the South Cove Community Health Center and its affiliates by developing a web site to meet the information needs of the South Cove community; (2) provide consumer information in the languages of the community served, specifically Chinese, Cambodian, Vietnamese, and Laotian; and (3) teach health care providers to use the wide variety of Internet resources available to them and their patients including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources. Additional languages include Hmong, Korean, and Thai. Information for over 30 different health topics is provided.

Contact: Tufts University, Hirsh Health Sciences Library, 145 Harrison Avenue, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 636-6705 Fax: (617) 636-4039 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.library.tufts.edu/hsl/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Asians, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Resource materials

Annotation: This bilingual guide, which is available in English and Spanish, is intended to inform caregivers and families about how to seek help for children with mental health problems. Information is provided on what caregivers and families need to know, ask, expect, and do to get the most out of their experiences with systems of care. The guide discusses finding services, preparing for the first visit, partnering with service providers, and rights and responsibilites. A glossary is included, as well as a list of resources for more information. The end of the guide provides space for notes.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://store.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: SMA4054.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education materials, Families, Health services, Mental disorders, Mental health, Patient rights, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide provides general guidelines for pregnant women with gestational diabetes for keeping healthy during pregnancy and for promoting the best outcome for the baby. It describes gestational diabetes, its causes and its features, includes a general treatment plan to help control the condition in making informed decisions about care with their health care providers, dietitians, and family members. Appendices provide information on high-fiber foods, a sample menu, and sample record sheets for monitoring glucose, food, and physical activity.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 04-2788.

• PDF

Keywords: Blood glucose self monitoring, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Physical activity, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Annotation: This book, a health guide for Latinas, addresses issue such as tradition vs. convention, fertility, sexuality, pregnancy, alcoholism, cancer, depression, diabetes, healthy eating, and body image. It is divided into four sections focusing on (1) being a Latina; (2) being female; (3) diseases; and (4) living well. Each chapter concludes a summary and resources section of organizations and publications, Appendices include Latinas who influenced this book; samples of a health journal, visit summary, and chart of basal body temperature; resources on advocacy; and a listing of national health information clearinghouses. An index is provided. The book is published in English and Spanish.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-051196-6.

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Cultural beliefs, Hispanic Americans, Mental health, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Self esteem, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Women', s health promotion

Annotation: This publication discusses the interaction of the genotype with socioeconomic, environmental, and psychological factors in the fetal and postnatal environment that contribute to an individual's health or susceptibility to disease. Report contents include the strategic planning process, goals and objectives, scope of the plan, scientific context and opportunities, research priorities, infrastructure priorities, and priority methodology and policy issues. The appendix includes the roster of advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Environmental health, Genetics, Hereditary diseases, Morbidity, Mortality, Patient education materials, Psychological needs, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This book is written for adolescents to help them understand depression. The author discusses the causes and signs of depression, adolescent depression, and suicide as well as suggestions for living with a depressive person and information on getting treatment. A glossary and list of suggested readings are included.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8239-1687-1.

Keywords: Adolescents, Depression, Low literacy materials, Mental health, Patient education materials

Annotation: This set of 15 modules provides information to help oral health professionals care for individuals with developmental disabilities, mental retardation (MR), and mental illness. Each module contains a brief review of the purpose and learning objectives, an introduction, and references. Topics include reviews of MR and other conditions such as Down syndrome, cerebral palsy, maladaptive behaviors, genetic syndromes, and mental illness; the use of dental sedation, immobilization and positioning devices, and general anesthesia; clinical concerns in dental care; treatment planning for the severely disabled and the impact on prosthetic, restorative, and surgical services; the provision of services to disabled individuals residing in the community; administrative issues in the practice of dentistry in the MR or mental health (MH) institutional setting; and a review of research needs and opportunities in MH/MR facilities.

Contact: Special Care Advocates in Dentistry, 400 Olde Smithfield Road, Goldsboro, NC 27530, Web Site: http://saiddent.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cerebral palsy, Dental care, Dentistry, Developmental disabilities, Distance education, Down syndrome, Mental retardation, Oral health, Patient care management, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, Training materials

Annotation: This manual is intended for use by health care practitioners working with patients with limited English literacy skills, or adult literacy practitioners, particularly English as a Second Language teachers who wish to incorporate health topics into their curricula. This document is an addendum to Health and Literacy Compendium: An Annotated Bibliography of Print and Web-based Health Materials for Use with Limited Literacy Adults. The language index contains a list of health materials available in the following languages: Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian/Khmer, Cantonese, Chinese, Farsi/Persian, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin, Mien, Nuer, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Vietnamese.

Contact: National Institute for Literacy, 1775 I Street, N.W., Suite 730, Washington, DC 20006-2401, Telephone: (202) 233-2025 Fax: (202) 233-2050 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Limited English speakers, Literacy education, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Patient education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This annotated bibliography is intended for health care professionals and for literacy educators who work with low literacy adults. The bibliography is organized by categories of materials. Each category includes both print and Web site resources. The categories of materials are: background information about health and literacy; materials development and assessment; curricula, curriculum guides, and lessons; readers; and bibliographies and databases. The compendium also includes a list of organizational resources, publishers, and distributors. Several indexes allow access by subject, format, language, and reading level. Languages listed include: Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian, Chinese, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hmong, Khmer, Laotian, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Sotho, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese, Xhosa, and Zulu.

Contact: World Education, 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: 617-482-0617 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.worlded.org/WEIInternet Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bibliographies, Literacy education, Low literacy materials, Patient education

Annotation: This book provides advice and information to adolescent males facing fatherhood. It discusses the emotional, physical, and financial consequences to adolescent pregnancy. It also examines the responsibilities of fatherhood, and the choices involved in dealing with an unexpected pregnancy.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 8239-1532-8.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Low literacy materials, Parenting, Patient education materials

Annotation: This packect includes a bibliography of recent publications that discuss children with special health care needs, along with descriptions of the materials and ordering information. Specific topics include early identification and intervention, family-centered, community-based, culturally competent care, parenting, financing health care, guides to national resources, policy issues, coping with disability, siblings, nutrition, and medical literature. A directory of organizations lists those which are concerned issues of children with special health care needs, providers of genetic services, government offices and agencies, national centers, networks for parents, professional associations, trade associations, and services and products. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Bibliographies, Children with special health care needs, Patient education materials, Resource materials

Annotation: This brochure explains neural tube defects and how they can be lessened by folic acid intake. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ107 (English), MCHK112 (Spanish).

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Folic acid, Maternal health, Neural tube defects, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Risk prevention, Spanish language materials

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Contact Phone: (800) 358-9295 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Out of print. Document Number: AHCPR 99-0013.

Keywords: Children, Health promotion, Medical records, Patient education materials, Physical examinations, Preventive medicine

Annotation: This book describes techniques for most effectively teaching patients with low literacy skills. The book includes a description of the literacy problem and its effect on health; an explanation of current theories of comprehension; descriptions of tests for patient comprehension and for readability of materials; tips on teaching patients; suggested techniques for writing and rewriting educational materials; use of audio-visual materials in patient education; and advice on pretesting written materials for patients. The book includes chapter bibliographies and an index.

Keywords: Educational materials, Language barriers, Low literacy, Manuals, Patient education, Programmatic issues, Risk factors, Writing

Annotation: This packet includes a bibliography that lists resources for identifying consumer and patient education materials in maternal and child health and a list of organizations that publish these materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Maternal health, Patient education materials, Resource materials

Annotation: This catalog lists multilingual health materials on approximately 200 maternal and child health topics, particularly genetic disorders. This publication is designed for health professionals working in genetics, family planning, and prenatal and pediatric services. Entries include a brief description of the item, its intended audience, literacy level, ordering information, and the language in which it is written. Two indexes are included to help readers locate materials, one by topic and the other by language and ethnicity. Thirty-five languages including Spanish, French, and Vietnamese are represented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Asian language materials, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Genetic disorders, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book was developed and written by women physicians for their female patients; it presents current information on a broad range of topics relating to the different stages in women's health from puberty to old age. It contains suggestions regarding preventive techniques, medical conditions, and treatment options. The primary topics include being an informed consumer of health care; keeping yourself healthy; reproductive health; and the healthy body: symptoms, diagnoses, and treatments. Appendices include a chapter describing diagnostic tests, information about the contributing authors, and a listing of organizations and associations to contact for further information.

Contact: Philip Lief Group, 130 Wall Street, Princeton, NJ 08540, Telephone: (609) 430-1000 Fax: (609) 430-0300 Web Site: http://www.philipliefgroup.com/index.php Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-385-31382-9.

Keywords: Consumer education, Patient education materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This set of two videotapes explores two complications of pregnancy. Both videotapes are accompanied by a teaching guide. Gestational diabetes covers definition, prevalence, significance, screening, diagnosis, nutritional management, dietary strategies, monitoring and postpartum follow-up. Iron deficiency covers definition, prevalence, prevention, and treatment. Both of the guides contain references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi $25 each videotape.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Dietary assessment, Gestational diabetes, Iron deficiency anemia, Iron supplements, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Screening, Videotapes

Annotation: This book is a resource for professionals, health advocates, and the mothers they serve. It was developed for use by advocates in the Healthy Start program working with women with low literacy levels. It contains a diary which provides a calendar for the pregnancy and the baby's first year, an organizer for recording dates and numbers, and a workbook which encourages women to gain control over and knowledge about their lives. Messages are delivered by verse, rhyme, graphics, comic strips, self-scoring quizzes, and verbal and graphic checklists. Topics discussed include prenatal care; normal changes; danger signs; premature labor; nutrition; breastfeeding; stress; family planning; labor and delivery; postpartum changes; infant and child care; and topics related to the child's eating, sleeping, and growth.

Contact: Council of State Governments, 2760 Research Park Drive, P. O. Box 11910, Lexington, KY 40578-1910, Telephone: (859) 244-8000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-1910 Contact Phone: (800) 800-1910 Fax: (859) 244-8001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.csg.org $6.95.

Keywords: Fetal development, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Maternal health, Medical records, Patient education materials, Perinatal care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education