Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (107 total).

Baer R, Bowser EK, de la Cruz C, Horky S, Lorenzo SB, Marshall J, Miney A, Panzera A, Schladant M, Toro M. 2014. Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: Family resource brief (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find resources about the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and learn more about the ACA and how it will affect them. The brief includes resources to help families learn more about their health coverage options under the ACA and find health insurance and health care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Directories, Families, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Families USA and Children's Dental Health Project. 2014. Buying children's dental coverage through the marketplace. Washington, DC: Families USA, 7 pp. (What you need to know about health insurance)

Annotation: This guide for families uses frequently asked questions to explain the children’s dental benefit (a provision of the Affordable Care Act) and how it works. Topics include guidance on buying coverage through a state marketplace, eligibility, covered services, the difference between dental coverage sold separately vs. as part of a medical plan, premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, out-of-pocket limits, and consumer protections. Information on financial assistance, coverage requirements, and buying coverage for adults is also included.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Consumer protection, Costs, Dental insurance, Eligibility determination, Families, Financing, Health care reform, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

National Association of Neonatal Nurses. 2014. Baby steps to home. Glenview, IL: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 234 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance for nurses and parents preparing for an infant's discharge from the neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information and references for nurses and modifiable documents that can be printed and handed to parents following discussion about their infant's condition. The parent-focused content is available in English and Spanish. Topics include common issues and diagnoses that parents may encounter while their infant is in the NICU, questions to ask their infant's health professional, and after-discharge tips.

Contact: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 4700 West Lake Ave., Glenview, IL 60025, Telephone: (800) 451-3795 Secondary Telephone: (847) 375-3660 Fax: (888) 477-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nann.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Nursing, Parent education, Patient discharge

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2014. Training health professionals in community settings during a time of transformation: Building and learning in integrated systems of care–Eleventh annual report to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and to Congress. [Rockville, MD]: Health Resources and Services Administration, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses principles of interprofessional education with the building of community-based collaborations and partnerships in primary care practice. Topics include integrating behavioral health care and other services into primary care, collaborative training in community settings, linking oral health care and primary care, and investing in the future of primary care and dentistry.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community-based services, Dentistry, Interdisciplinary approach, Medicine, Multidisciplinary teams, Oral health, Patient care teams, Primary care, Professional education, Service integration, Training

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2013. Health literacy fact sheets. Lawrenceville, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 12 pp.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets help clinicians, patient advocates, and other stakeholders improve care for individuals with low health literacy. The fact sheets define health literacy; describe ways to identify low health literacy; provide strategies to improve print and oral communication for low-literate consumers; provide information about the intersection of health literacy and culture; and highlight key policies relating to health literacy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer educatio, Cultural factors, Health behavior, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Literacy education, Low literacy, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals

Oskouian R, Romano-Clarke G. 2013. A pediatric guide to children's oral health flip chart and reference guide (rev. ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Oral Health Initiative, 1 v.

Annotation: These resources feature pictures and speakers’ notes to help pediatricians counsel clients about oral health and fluoride varnish. The resources include a flip chart and a reference guide in English and Spanish, as well as a presentation. Topics include primary teeth, early childhood caries, feeding, nonnutritive sucking, fluoride modalities, toothbrushing, and flossing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx $54.95, nonmembers; $43.95 for members; plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-824-8.

Keywords: Child health, Dental hygiene, Early childhood caries, Educational materials, Fluorides, Oral health, Parent education, Patient education, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Patel KK, West ML, Hernandez LM, Wu VY, Wong WF, Parker RM. 2013. Helping consumers understand and use health insurance in 2014. Washington, DC: Institute of Medicine, 16 pp. (Discussion paper)

Annotation: This paper presents basic information that can be used to help people understand their health insurance options under the Affordable Care Act and guide them through enrollment. It is a resource for patient navigators, community organizations, employers, media, educators, and individuals working to improve understanding of options for health insurance. Topics include explaining health insurance, paying for health care, benefits and coverage, buying health insurance or paying the tax, and types of public and private insurance. Resources are included.

Contact: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2000 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/health-and-medicine-division Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Consumer education, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2013. Transitioning newborns from NICU to home: A resource toolkit. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality,

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources for hospitals to improve safety when newborns transition home from their neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) by creating a Health Coach Program, tools for coaches, and information for parents and families of newborns who have spent time in the NICU. Contents include a resource toolkit, family information packets, clinical materials to share with primary care providers, a NICU needs assessment, and a followup telephone survey.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Infant health, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Parent education, Parent support services, Patient discharge

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2013. Interprofessional education: Tenth annual report to the Secretary of the US Department of Health and Human Services and to Congress. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report presents background and recommendations for an educational strategy to train health professionals in collaborative, team-based care to enhance client's experience of care (quality, access, and reliability), improve the population's health, and reduce the per capita cost of care. Topics include collaborative interprofessional education and training, assessment and evaluation, institutional leadership for interprofessional education, integration of oral health services and general health services, and policy development.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dentistry, Federal initiatives, Interdisciplinary approach, Medicine, Multidisciplinary teams, Patient care teams, Professional education, Teamwork, Training

ABIM Foundation. 2012–. Choosing Wisely®. Philadelphia, PA: ABIM Foundation,

Annotation: This website is part of a multi-year campaign to help physicians and patients engage in conversations about the overuse of tests and procedures and support physician efforts to help patients make smart and effective care choices. Contents include lists of Five Things Physicians and Patients Should Question. Each list provides specific, evidence-based recommendations physicians and patients should discuss to help make wise decisions about the most appropriate care based on their individual situation. Each list also describes the methodology used to the create the list. Descriptions of campaign partners, including national organizations representing medical specialists and a number of consumer-focused organizations, are provided. Additional resources are also available from the website.

Contact: ABIM Foundation, 510 Walnut Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19106, Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.abimfoundation.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Diagnostic techniques, Patient care, Physician patient relations, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Tests, Treatment

Bollinger ME. 2012. Expansion of the University of Maryland Hospital for Children Breathmobile(R) to Underserved Hispanic Children with Asthma: Performance report. Baltimore, MD: University of Maryland Medical System Foundation, 7 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a project from 2007-2012 to provide preventive clinical care and asthma educational programs to healthcare providers and the community in general to increase asthma awareness and preventive care. Report contents include a summary description of the five-year program, the goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes (intended and unintended), a list of publications produced during the project, dissemination and utilization of results, as well as future plans and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Final reports, Health education, Maryland, Patient education, Preventive health services, Screening, State programs

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health. 2011. A message to health care professionals: Teen pregnancy. [Atlanta, GA]: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 1 video (2 min. 34 sec.).

Annotation: The video features adolescents urging health care professionals across the nation to talk to their teen patients about pregnancy, contraception, and disease prevention.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Prevention, Sexual health, Statistics

New Jersey Smiles. [2010]. How primary care providers can improve oral health. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses what dental caries is, the epidemic levels of caries in children nationwide and in New Jersey, guidance that primary care health professionals can give to parents and other caregivers, and further actions primary care health professionals can take. A chart provides recommendations for primary care health professional action and for oral health services for children from birth to age 11 months, ages 12 to 36 months, and ages 3 to 5.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Oral health, Patient education, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Young children

Baur C, ed. 2010. National action plan to improve health literacy. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 67 pp.

Annotation: This plan outlines seven goals and suggests strategies for developing a society-wide response to the public health problem of limited health literacy. The goals and strategies support Healthy People objectives in health literacy and related areas such as chronic disease. Many of the strategies highlight actions that particular organizations or professions can take to further thee goals.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adults, Children, Community action, Consumer education, Health literacy, Literacy education, Oral health, Physician patient relations

Fox S, Jones S. 2009. The social life of health information: Americans' pursuit of health takes place within a widening network of both online and offline sources. Washington, DC: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 72 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes a national survey about the social impact of the Internet on health care. Topics include types of Internet or traditional sources used by consumers, how information gathered is used to communicate with health professionals, and who is likely to be using which services. Contents include a summary of findings, the shifting landscape, social media and health, readers and listeners versus writers and creators, the impact of online health resources, and trends to watch.

Contact: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4500 Fax: 202-419-4505 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewinternet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education, Health attitudes, Health literacy, Information sources, Internet, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Social media, Surveys, Trends, World Wide Web

Abrams MA, Dreyer BP, eds. 2009. Plain language pediatrics: Health literacy strategies and communication resources for common pediatric topics. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 337 pp.

Annotation: This book provides a framework for implementing a plain language approach to communication between health care staff and patients in the office. Part one explores limited health literacy, including the scope of the problem, how it affects children in particular, and how health care providers can address and overcome health literacy issues with patients and their caregivers. Part two of the book provides a series of 25 reproducible patient education handouts in both English and Spanish. Sample topics of handouts include asthma, bronchiolitis, fever, influenza, oral health, smoking, and temper tantrums. Provided with the handouts are techniques and professional guidance for health care providers to incorporate plain language about each topic into their daily practice.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org $54.95 for non-members, $49.95 for members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-265-9.

Keywords: Communication skills, Health literacy, Language barriers, Literacy education, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Woolf SH, Jonas S, Lawrence RS, eds. 2008. Health promotion and disease prevention in clinical practice [2nd ed]. Baltimore, MD: Williams and Wilkins, 644 pp.

Annotation: This book was written to aid clinicians in putting into practice the preventive practices recommended by the U. S. Preventive Services Task Force. The overall theme is reducing disease and the severity of disease by the use of screening tests for early detection, immunization, and counseling about risk factors and personal behavior. Sections of the book deal with gathering information, how to use the information, and putting prevention information into practice. Chapters are organized around specific risk factors, such as tobacco, alcohol and other substance use, exercise, nutrition, weight management, injury prevention, sexually transmitted diseases, family planning, skin cancer, oral health, mental health, immunization and chemoprophylaxis. Each chapter includes references, sources for patient education, and suggested readings. Some illustrations are included.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-683-09270-7.

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Disease prevention, Health behaviors, Health promotion, Health screening, Immunization, Patient education, Preventive medicine, Risk factors

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2008. Coming home: The patient-centered medical-dental home in primary care training—Seventh annual report to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and to Congress. [Rockville, MD: U.S. Bureau of Health Professions], 25 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a client-centered medical and dental home model to serve as a primary care practice environment and defines the role that Title VII, section 747, played in its development and implementation. Contents include recommendations, background evidence on the health care environment, the medical-dental home, and changes needed in medical and dental education.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Health Workforce, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Parklawn Building, Room 8-05, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-5794 Fax: (301) 443-2111 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bhw/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Medical home, Needs assessment, Oral health, Patient care management, Primary care, Professional education, Service integration, Work force

Sandmaier M. 2007. The healthy heart handbook for women. (Rev. ed.). Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 122 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information to women about cardiovascular disease prevention. Contents include a summary of the new edition, heart disease prevention promotion and risk factors, patient and physician communication and partnership, major risk factors for cardiovascular disease, other risk factors, taking control and health planning, tips for women with heart disease, getting help for a heart attack, and how to estimate risk. Additional Web site resources are provided for further information.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH 07-2720.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Cardiovascular diseases, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Women', s health

Epstein SG, Glauber JH, Tellis L, Turnbull N. 2007. A guide for clinicians and advocates: Making the case for coverage—Tips for helping children and families get the benefits they need from their health plans. Boston, MA: New England SERVE, 64 pp.

Annotation: This book reveals questions health plans ask when approving or denying medical coverage, describes how health plans do their research to make informed coverage decisions, provides a clinicians guide to writing an effective letter of support, summarizes health plans' members' rights to review and appeal denials, and characterizes health plan funding. The book concludes with a glossary and appendices with sample letters, contractual language from the American Academy of Pediatrics, and other resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Guidelines, Health care systems, Health insurance, Patient advocacy, Professional education

« Previous Page