Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This video provides new parents with advice on newborn care, including health and safety information. Topics include newborn appearances, senses, and brain development; baby cues, crying, and comforting techniques; breastfeeding, formula feeding, burping, sleeping and SIDS safety; diapering and cleaning, cord care, circumcision care, nail care, and dressing; and health and safety, the car seat, safety straps, the baby's physical and parent health. A 4-page facilitator's guide is available. The video is available in English and Spanish, each in DVD and VHS formats.

Contact: InJoy Birth and Parenting Education, 7107 La Vista Place, Longmont, CO 80503, Telephone: (800) 326-2082 Secondary Telephone: (303) 447-2082 Fax: (303) 449-8788 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.injoyvideos.com/ $199.95, plus shipping and handling. Available in VHS and DVD formats..

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, DVDs, Videotapes, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Newborn infants, Parenting, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on home visiting and how effective it is at improving infant mental health. The fact sheet provides background about home visiting and discusses research on the effects of home visiting on parenting behavior and attitudes, maternal education, child abuse, child cognitive outcomes.

Contact: Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy, 1339 East Lafayette Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301, Telephone: (850) 922-1300 Fax: (850) 922-1352 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpeip.fsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Child abuse, Child health, Cognitive development, Educational attainment, High risk groups, Infant health, Mental health, Parent attitudes, Parenting skills

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides tips to help prevent traumatic brain injury in infants. Tips are provided relating to car seats, changing tables and high chairs, safety gates, walkers, window locks and guards, and shaking infants. The fact sheet is written in English on one side and in Spanish on the other (print version). The electronic versions have English and Spanish in separate documents. It is also available in Chinese, Russian, and Arabic (these were published in 2003).

Contact: New York State Office of Children and Family Servcies, 52 Wasington Street, Rensselaer, NY 12144-2796, Telephone: (518) 473-7793 Fax: (518) 486-7550 Web Site: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brain injuries, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Non English language materials, Parenting skills, Prevention, Safety, Shaken baby syndrome, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Parent Run Evening Preschool and Parenting Program (PREP) project located in Chicago, Illinois, during the period March 1, 1999, through February 28, 2005. The program is a violence-prevention program where parents learn about child development, acquire positive, non-abusive parenting skills, and learn how to become involved in their child's education through their supervised operation of evening education programs for children ages 3-7. Report sections include the following: (1) purpose of project and relationship to Social Security Administration Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilizaiton of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate. Also included are two appendices: (1) PREP presentation overview and (2) path to reading curriculum. This project was part of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Chicago Youth Programs, 5350 South Priarie Avenue, Chicago, IL 60615, Telephone: (773) 924-0220 Fax: (773) 924-0222 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://chicagoyouthprograms.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Education, Final reports, High risk children, High risk groups, Illinois, Parenting skills, Poverty, Violence

Annotation: This study described in this report quantifies the impact of the Head Start program separately for 3- and 4-year-old children across child cognitive, social-emotional, and health domains as well as on health and parenting practices. The study goals were to (1) determine the impact of Head Start on children's school readiness and parental practices that support children's development and (2) determine under what circumstances Head Start achieves its greatest impact, and for which children. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following main sections: (1) study background, (2) description of the study sample, (3) children's experiences, (4) overview of methods for analyzing impacts on children and families, (5) impact of Head Start on children's cognitive development, (6) impact of Head Start on children's social-emotional development, (7) impact of Head Start on children's health status and access to health services, and (8) impact of Head Start on parenting practices. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes 22 appendices.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Emotional development, Federal programs, Head Start, Low income groups, Parenting, Parents, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report summarizes a randomized clinical control trial on the effectiveness of an educational intervention for fathers during the transition to fatherhood to (1) increase father involvement with children, (2) enhance the quality of father-child relationships, (3) promote coparenting partnerships, and (4) decrease parenting stress. Report contents include an introduction to the study; a review of the literature including the conceptual framework on fathering, the coparental relationship, mother factors, and father factors; an overview of the study methods, design, and variables; data analysis; results; and discussion. Also included are a list of products generated during the study, references, statistics presented in table formats, and appendices including an overview of the curriculum and a qualitative analyses of the parent education classes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Curricula, Father child relations, Fathers, Final reports, MCH research, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parent participation, Parenting attitudes, Paternal behavior

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the State Early Childhood Comprehensive System (SECCS), an initiative launched by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau to support the development of young children so they are healthy and ready to learn when they enter school. The fact sheet provides a snapshot of the SECCS initiative, which consists of grants to the states, and invites relevant organizations to contact their state maternal and child health director if they are interested in working on this initiative. The following critical SECCS components are described: access to health insurance and a medical home, mental health and social-emotional development, early care and education, parenting education, and family support. Next steps are also discussed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Education, Family support, Federal MCH programs, Health insurance, Initiatives, Medical home, Mental health, Parenting, School readiness

Annotation: This report for parents and other who work with young people compiles much of what is known about parental influence on their children and offers parents practical suggestions to help their children delay sexual activity and avoid adolescent pregnancy. Topics include insights from research, what adolescents want adults to know, and tips for parents. Also included are a reference list, a list of videotapes and publications, and a Web site for more information. The report is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting skills, Prevention programs, Resource materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The activities in this book are designed to help black parents talk with their children about emotions, thoughts, and feelings that may be difficult to discuss so that families can begin dealing with feelings in positive, constructive ways. The book is divided into the following sections: (1) inspire hope in your child, (2) be still and listen to your child, (3) support, comfort, and love your child, (4) give your child information that is age-appropriate, (5) help your child feel safe, (6) making a plan with your child for emergencies, (7) help your child feel good about himself, (8) pay attention to what your child watches on TV, (9) share your faith with your child, and (10) just for parents. Each section provides an explanation of the goals of the activities within the section, an affirmation drawn from African and African American proverbs, and several activities. The book contains color photographs and illustrations.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 03-5362B.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Child safety, Children, Communication, Coping, Cultural sensitivity, Emergencies, Emotional development, Emotions, Family life education, Materials for children, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting, Religion, Self esteem, Television

Annotation: This resource provides information on oral health to help individuals prevent problems, understand conditions, and explore treatments. Topics include tooth decay, toothbrushing and flossing, fluoride, mouth-healthy eating, dental sealants, oral hygiene, tobacco, and dental visits. A parents' guide provides information on oral health in infants, children, and adolescents.

Contact: Aetna, 151 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06156, Telephone: (860) 273-0123 Web Site: http://www.aetna.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Oral health care, Parenting

Annotation: This resources kit includes materials that promote parenting preparation classes for children and adolescents. The kit includes a guide, a videotape, a brochure, an order form, and an evaluation form. The guide -- Preparing Tomorrow's Parents Today: How to Bring Parenting Education for Children and Teens to Your School -- is an advocacy guide designed for parents, educators, policymakers, and others concerned about prepared parents tomorrow and more caring classrooms today. Chapters include needs, content, strategies, evaluation, how to advocate, detailed individual program information, FAQs, and resources. The 13-minute videotape highlights existing programs that illustrate the Parenting Project's vision: a less violent society in which every child is well nurtured and parenting is a valued occupation undertaken only by prepared adults. The brochure provides an overview of the project and enables readers to make donations.

Contact: Prepare Tomorrow's Parents, 454 N.E. Third Street, Boca Raton, FL 33432, Telephone: (561) 620-0256 Secondary Telephone: 888-PARENTS Fax: (561) 391-9711 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.parentingproject.org $18.00.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Children, Community programs, Education, Parenting, Parenting skills, Resource materials, Schools, Videotapes

Annotation: This publication guides parents and caregivers, policymakers, public agencies, and educators in locating high-quality programs and information on sexuality education. The first part of the report, authored by Doug Kirby, provides scientific analysis of the available research on the effectiveness of programs designed to increase parent-child communication about sexuality. Part two includes 10 innovative approaches and 45 examples from the field that have been used to increase parent-child communications about sexuality-related issues. Conclusions, recommendations, organizational contact information, and references are also provided for each section. Some content is provided in Spanish.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Communication skills, Community programs, Family life education, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report is written for all those who work with and on behalf of parents, adolescents, and families. It provides a synthesis of major research findings on the parenting of adolescents, with an emphasis on findings that have achieved widespread agreement among leaders in the field. Highlights include: a list of developmental tasks that adolescents need to undertake in order to make a successful transition to adulthood; an outline of the central ways in which parents influence healthy adolescent development; research-based options for parents to use in influencing healthy adolescent development; and key messages for parents. The report also includes recommendations for future work and a listing of references.

Contact: Harvard University School of Public Health, Center for Health Communication, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 432-1038 Fax: (617) 731-8184 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/chc/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting, Parents, Research

Annotation: This booklet offers an approach to parenting called the "RPM3" method of parenting (i.e., responding, preventing, monitoring, mentoring, modeling). It is geared for parents from all backgrounds and for others who interact with children. It is divided into four main sections: RPM3; 0-3 years; 4-10 years; and 11-14 years. It also includes references, acknowledgments, and contact information. The Spanish language version was published in 2006.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 00-4842.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting, Parenting skills, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book is designed to help parents in raising their children. The first part of the book is a guide to the growing child's development and needs. This part also includes information on choosing medical and child care. The second part is an alphabetically organized guide to common childhood illnesses, injuries, and chronic conditions. There is a section on preparing for and handling emergencies. A glossary of terms and a listing of additional information resources for parents are included.

Contact: Perseus Books Group, 5500 Central Avenue, Boulder, CO 80301, Telephone: (800) 386-5656 Fax: (303) 449-3356 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7382-0241-X.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parenting, Prenatal care, Prevention

Annotation: This book shows searchers how the Internet can be used to locate information about the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis of women's health problems. Topics included are Web resources and how to evaluate and search Web sites, a case study of NOAH (New York Online Access to Health), a women's health site, and women as health care consumers. Additionally provided are sections on specific women's health issues such as physical fitness, pregnancy, childbirth and early pregnancy resources, caregiving, menopause, and diabetes. Each section begins with an abstract and keywords, and an index concludes the book.

Contact: Haworth Press, Taylor and Francis, 7625 Empire Drive, Florence, KY 41042, Telephone: (800) 634-7064 Secondary Telephone: Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tandfonline.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7890-1301-0.

Keywords: Caregivers, Childbirth, Consumer education, Diabetes, Internet, Menopause, Parenting, Physical fitness, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This report is an examination of ten threats to children. These threats are: (1) poverty, (2) abuse and neglect, (3) violent crime, (4) risk-taking behavior such as substance abuse and unprotected sexual activity, (5) adolescent pregnancy, (6) inadequate child care, (7) lack of health care, (8) lack of parental guidance, (9) educational pressures, and (10) environmental hazards. The report has a section on each threat including background information, steps toward resolving the problem, and a brief bibliography.

Contact: National School Boards Association, 1680 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 838-6722 Fax: (703) 683-7590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nsba.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent pregnancy, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child neglect, Child welfare, Educational factors, Environmental health, Parenting, Poverty, Risk factors, Substance abuse, Violence

Annotation: This book for expecting and new parents gives tips on pregnancy and early childhood development. It is divided into seven chapters entitled becoming a parent; nine months long; at home with your newborn; feeding baby (6 months to 2 years); keeping baby well; keeping baby safe; and your growing child. Included are various checklists for planning and discussions, keeping track of baby's health, questions for doctor visits, and supplies to have on hand. Information is designed in narrative and chart formats with extensive illustrations.

Contact: MELD, Parents as Teachers National Center, 2228 Ball Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146, Telephone: 314-432-4330 Secondary Telephone: (314) 432-4330 ext. 208 Fax: 314-432-8963 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.parentsasteachers.org $12.50, plus $5.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-9676470-0-2.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child nutrition, Child rearing, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Discipline, Infant care, Parenting, Parenting education, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Well child care

Annotation: This book for parents outlines six core stages to promote intelligence and emotional growth from birth to preschool. The stages are described in each chapter: (1) becoming calm, attentive, and interested in the world; (2) falling in love; (3) becoming a two-way communicator; (4) solving problems and forming a sense of self; (5) discovering a world of ideas; and (6) building bridges between ideas. Additional chapters include techniques such as "floor-time", nurturing all six levels of intelligence and emotional health at the same time, and giving more and expecting more, the concluding chapter on building on the six stages and challenging the child in further development. The appendices contain a functional developmental growth chart and questionnaire; the six essential developmental stages and the growth of the brain; and ten ways to environmentally childproof your home. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: Perseus Publishing, 11 Cambridge Center, Cambridge, MA 02142, Telephone: (617) 252-5298 Secondary Telephone: (800) 255-1514 Fax: (800) 324-3791 Web Site: http://www.perseuspublishing.com $18.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-7382-0356-4.

Keywords: Child development, Communication skills, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Environmental health, Infant development, Nonverbal communication, Parent child relations, Parenting, Psychological health, Young children

Annotation: This book provides advice and information to adolescent males facing fatherhood. It discusses the emotional, physical, and financial consequences to adolescent pregnancy. It also examines the responsibilities of fatherhood, and the choices involved in dealing with an unexpected pregnancy.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 8239-1532-8.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Low literacy materials, Parenting, Patient education materials