Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online learning module provides tools and training to help parents teach their child with autism or a related neurodevelopmental disorder functional skills using Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) techniques. The learning module includes ten interactive lessons; forms and checklists; notes on accessibility; and a glossary of terms.

Contact: University of California, Davis, MIND Institute, 2825 50th Street, Sacramento, CA 95817, Telephone: (916) 703-0280 E-mail: http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/mindinstitute/contactus/ Web Site: http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/mindinstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Life skills, Parent education, Parenting

Annotation: This brief provides information about Second Chance Homes for adolescent mothers, which seek to provide a supportive place for pregnant and parenting adolescents, offering shelter and services for adolescent mothers and their children. The brief discusses negative consequences of adolescent motherhood, explains what Second Chance Home programs are, and discusses implementation lessons learned and the need for program evaluation.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child care, Education, Evaluation, Financing, Health services, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Prevention, Programs, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This website for families (parents, kids, and teens) provides information about health from before birth through adolescence. Topics include infections, emotions and behavior, growth and development, nutrition and fitness, pregnancy and newborns, medical problems, positive parenting, first aid and safety, and medication. Additional sections address general health, doctors and hospitals, and questions and answers. Spanish language information and resources are included. A companion website for educators (Kids Health in the Classroom) is also available.

Contact: KidsHealth, Nemours, 10140 Centurion Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Fax: (904) 697-4220 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://kidshealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Consumer education materials, Health education, Infant health, Materials for children, Parenting, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book is intended to help new parents gain a better understanding of their infant's development, recognize important milestones, and write about their experiences. The book is divided into developmental stages (0-3 months, 3-6 months, 6-9 months, and 9-12 months). In each section, developmental milestones are discussed and activities appropriate for the developmental period are presented. Space is provided to write about the milestone and activity both from the infant's and from the caregiver's point of view, as well as to write about what the caregiver learned.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant development, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Consumer education materials

Annotation: This book is written for parents and others caring for adolescents, explaining the body changes occurring at this stage, recognizing signs of trouble, and providing information on when and where to get help. It is written using simple language in an easy-to-read style and is illustrated with drawings that reinforce the information it contains. Section topics include tips on how to deal with emotional and physical changes such as growth and development, self-esteem, friends, school, sports, depression, dating and sex, driving, smoking, alcohol, drugs and safety issues. A glossary and an index are also included.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Advancement, 501 South Idaho Street, Suite 300, La Habra, CA 90631, Telephone: (562) 690-4001 Secondary Telephone: (800) 434-4633 Fax: (562) 690-8988 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iha4health.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9701245-2-X.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Family school relations, Low literacy materials, Parent child relations, Parenting, Physical development, Safety

Annotation: This report presents findings from a Head Start impact study during the period 2002-2006, focusing on children in preschool through grade 1. The report presents the study background, design, and implementation; examines the impact of Head Start on the educational and child care settings that children experience before starting school; discusses the impact of Head Start on children's outcomes and on parenting practices for the years before a child starts school and then for the period when the child is in kindergarten and first grade; examines variations in impact by child characteristics, parent and family characteristics, and community characteristics; and presents implications for Head Start and unanswered questions. The technical report provides details that support the analysis of the final report.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Final Report
• Technical Report

Keywords: Child care, Childhood development, Communities, Early childhood development, Education, Families, Federal programs, Head Start, Low income groups, Parenting, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This report examines and explains trends in the demography of motherhood over the past two decades, explores the reasons people say they became parents, and examines public attitudes about key trends shaping today's birth patterns. Topics include age trends, race and ethnicity trends, marriage and motherhood, education and motherhood, family size, reasons for having children, fertility treatment, women without children, and older mothers, among others.

Contact: Pew Research Center, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4300 Fax: (202) 419-4349 Web Site: http://pewresearch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Age factors, Age factors, Attitudes, Education, Ethnic factors, Families, Income factors, Mothers, Parenting attitudes, Parents, Racial factors, Single mothers, Trends

Annotation: This research brief brings together findings from a variety of research resources to identify 10 actionable, feasible goals involving non-school factors that affect educational outcomes and can be addressed through out-of-school-time programs. The goals include (1) reduce unintended pregnancies, (2) improve prenatal and postnatal maternal health, (3) improve parenting practices among parents of infants and young children, (4) improve young children's nutrition and encourage mothers to breastfeed, (5) enhance the quality and availability of educational child care, preschool, pre-kindergarten, and full-day kindergarten, (6) connect children and adolescents with long-term mentors, (7) improve parenting practices among parents of school-age children and adolescents, (8) provide family and couples counseling to improve family functioning, (9) provide high-quality educational after-school and summer programs, and (10) develop positive social skills and reduce delinquency among adolescents. The brief describes research findings related to each goal and types of programs that effectively address each goal.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Children, Early childhood education, Educational attainment, Families, Family support services, Infants, Nutrition, Parenting skills, Prenatal care, Prevention, Programs, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This toolkit for parents, families and child services professionals introduces ways in which parents and caregivers can help their infants build secure attachments, examines challenges encountered in the process, and provides suggestions on how challenges may be overcome. The toolkit includes a 30 minute DVD, a quick-reference guide answering attachment and parenting questions, three informational brochures and tips printed on a magnet and a bookmark. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Early Moments Matter, Web Site: http://www.earlymomentsmatter.org $10, plus $2.50 shipping and handling.

• Preview Video

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bonding, DVDs, Family life education, Fathers, Infant health, Maternal mental health, Mothers, Multimedia, Newborn infants, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure provide information on what parents can do to help their children avoid abusing alcohol. Topics include adolescent alcohol use, how parenting style affects adolescents' alcohol-use decisions, modeling, genetics, and whether adolescents listen.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Alcohol consumption, Communication, Consumer education materials, Genetics, High risk adolescents, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Prevention

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to Early Outcomes in a Community Change Effort to Improve Children's Futures, examines the promise of Children's Future (CF's) strategies. CF is a program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation that strives to improve the health and well-being of infants and children from birth though age 3 throughout Trenton, New Jersey. The report provides information about the program, discusses the community of Trenton, and discusses the program's three main components: prenatal and parenting education, child-care quality-improvement efforts, and father involvement. The report also discusses CF as a community initiative.

Contact: Public/Private Ventures, 2000 Market Street, Suite 600, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 557-4400 Secondary Telephone: (215) 557-4411 Fax: (215) 557-4469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ppv.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Communities, Early childhood development, Education, Fathers, Infant development, Infant health, Initiatives, Local programs, New Jersey, Parenting skills, Young children

Annotation: This issue of The Future of Children explores policies and programs on how to prevent child abuse and neglect. Articles discuss the importance of an investment-driven prevention approach; characteristics of families associated with elevated risk for maltreatment; community-wide, parenting, and home-visiting prevention programs; preventing abuse and neglect by parents with drug or alcohol problems and preventing sexual abuse; and the present and future roles of the child protection system in preventing abuse.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9814705-3-5.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Child sexual abuse, Community programs, Drug abuse, Families, High risk children, High risk groups, Home visiting, Maltreated children, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Prevention

Annotation: This conference call focused on the Abriendo Puertas/Opening Doors program, the nation's first evidence-based parent leadership program for Latino parents with children from birth through age 5. The program aims to improve the outcomes of these children by building parents' capacity and confidence to be advocates in their children's lives. Presenters include Maria A Casillas of Families in Schools, Sandra Guttierez of Abriendo Puertas/Opening Doors, and Margaret Bridges of the University of California, Berkeley. The Web site for this call provides a brochure, a summary of the program evaluation, speaker biographies, a summary of the call, and audio recordings of each speaker's remarks as well as the introduction and question and answer session.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Early childhood development, Infants, Families, Hispanic Americans, Infant development, Leadership, Multimedia, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting skills, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides access to curricula for kindergarten, preschool, and infants, toddlers, and twos, along with teacher and family resources.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, CB 8180, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8180, Telephone: (919) 966-2622 Web Site: http://fpg.unc.edu $99.95 for complete five-book set; $39.95 for each home visitor or teacher guide.

• Teacher And Family Resources
• Home Visitors Guide

Keywords: Child care, Curricula, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Home visiting, Infants, Parenting, Resources for professionals, Toddlers

Annotation: This brochure for parents of infants provides information about safe sleep environments and sleep positions for infants. The brochure explains the best location for cribs, what type of crib and bedding to use, and sleep situations that can be dangerous for infants. Other things that parents can do to keep infants safe are listed, as well. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: New York State Office of Children and Family Servcies, 52 Wasington Street, Rensselaer, NY 12144-2796, Telephone: (518) 473-7793 Fax: (518) 486-7550 Web Site: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Parenting skills, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief outlines strategies communities can use to strengthen parents and their connections to resources and promote parenting success to improve investments in children, youth, and families. Contents include the role of parental influence, an ecological model of parenting, and common factors of families at risk. A framework, examples, and recommendations for communities and funders are also included. Organizational resources, alternate models, key resources, and the developmental framework are also included.

Contact: National Human Services Assembly, Family Strengthening Policy Center, 1319 F Street, N.W., Suite 402, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 347-2080 Fax: (202) 393-4517 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nydic.org/fspc/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Families, Family centered services, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Parenting

Annotation: This guide, which is intended for expectant parents, provides health information relevant to the prenatal period as well as to the period following the infant's birth. Topics include important contacts, what pregnant women should think about, preparing the home for the newborn, what to expect in the hospital, coming home, and the infant's first months. It is in English and Spanish.

Contact: Oregon Department of Human Services, Office of Family Health, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0232 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0231 Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ofhs/ Available from the website.

• English/Spanish Version

Keywords: Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parenting skills, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This checklist includes questions for future parents that can help them prepare for a healthy pregnancy and birth. Questions are divided into the following categores: (1) family medical history, (2) your medical history, (3) reproductive health, (4) nutrition, (5) home, work, and social hazards, and (6) parenting considerations.

Contact: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, McConnell Hall, 1010 Mound Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 417-6060 Fax: 608/267-6089 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perinatalweb.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Medical history, Nutrition, Parenting, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Questionnaires, Reproductive health

Annotation: This Bright Futures tool for health professionals provides information about creating a referral network for developmental, behavioral, and family support services. Information is presented about locating community-based services to support children and families. The tool includes a referral and contact list, divided into the following categories: (1) education and special needs, (2) health and wellness, (3) mental health and well-being, (4) family support and parenting, (5) child care and early childhood education, and (6) other. Each catetory is divided into subcategories, with space for health professionals to fill in contact information. The tool is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community-based services, Early childhood education, Education, Families, Family support services, Health supervision, Mental health, Parenting, Referrals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book for parents provides suggestions on responding to children's behavior in an appropriate fashion, preventing risky behavior or problems before they occur, supervising the child's relationships with the world in which the family lives, advising the child in forming desired behaviors, and serving as a positive model for children. It is a Spanish language version of Adventures in parenting: How responding, preventing, monitoring, mentoring, and modeling can help you be a successful parent.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 06-5177S.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting, Parenting skills, Spanish language materials