Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This website and mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Apple App

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This online resource for health professionals provides tools intended to promote the value of the well-visit to parents of adolescents and young adults. Downloadable materials include a fact sheet, infographics, and a cover letter that introduces the promotional materials and provides distribution strategies to engage parents via school-based health centers, state Medicaid agency, etc.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Families, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Provider participation, Young adults

Annotation: This set of resources includes a mobile app for parents, caregivers, and educators and is designed to help start a conversation with children about bullying. The materials describe strategies to prevent bullying and explain how to recognize warning signs that a child is being bullied or is bullying. Flyers, media kits, and posters are among the downloadable materials.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials., Mobile applications, Parent child relations, Parents, Violence prevention

Annotation: This training provides information to improve women’s oral health through education, collaboration, and integration of oral health care into prenatal care and primary care. It includes reasons that preventive oral health care is important and key messages to use with pregnant women and parents with infants. It also reviews basic concepts related to oral health in pregnant women, infants, and children and discusses the importance of the dental home and of providing referrals to dentists. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• Training Video
• Resource Page

Keywords: Health education, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Pregnant women, Prevention, Service integration

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about how to prevent tooth decay in infants. The video discusses the causes of tooth decay. It also covers interactions between parents and infants that can increase the risk of tooth decay, such as parents cleaning their infant’s pacifier with their saliva; using the same spoon, fork, or straw as their infant; and sharing or pre-chewing their infant’s food. Suggestions for minimizing such behaviors are included.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about the importance of keeping primary teeth healthy for eating, speaking, holding space for adult teeth, and promoting a positive self-image. Topics include tooth eruption, teething, and the consequences of losing primary teeth too early. The video also discusses the pain caused by tooth decay in young children and resulting challenges with early learning and a child’s overall health and development. Tips on what parents can to do prevent decay in primary teeth are provided.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about the importance of wiping their infant’s gums after feeding and brushing their infant’s or young child’s teeth twice a day. Information on what type of toothbrush to use and the correct amount of toothpaste for infants and children, the best times to brush, and how to make brushing fun for children is provided. The video also includes a demonstration of how to brush teeth effectively.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This chart is designed to help pregnant women and parents choose which fish to eat, and how often to eat them, based on their mercury levels. Contents include best choices (lowest levels of mercury), good choices, and choices to avoid (highest mercury levels) and the number of servings per day. A description of serving sizes for adults and young children (ages 4 to 7) is included.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Environmental exposures, Environmental pollution, Nutrition, Parents, Pregnant women, Reproductive hazards

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This brief defines toxic stress from a community perspective and presents a framework for a community approach to addressing toxic stress, nested within the broader context of working toward healthy development and well-being. The brief also provides examples of how communities are taking action and recommendations for next steps to promote and further develop comprehensive approaches to toxic stress in communities across the country. Strategies for parents and caregivers; service providers; and multisystem, community partners and policymakers are included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Communication, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Community role, Coordination, Early childhood, Families, Health education, Leadership, Models, Organizational change, Parents, Policy development, Protective factors, Social change, Stress, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist state and local efforts to support immigrant children from birth through the elementary grades and promote educational equity and opportunity for all children. Contents include a glossary and background; legal guidelines; tips for early learning programs, elementary schools, and educators; and information about education and supportive service programs and resources. The second section of the guide is a handbook for parents on topics such as why quality early learning matters, tips on immunizations, information about civil rights and program eligibility, tips for addressing barriers, and opportunities for parents and guardians.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development, Washington, DC Telephone: (202) 401-0831 Secondary Telephone: (202) 401-7888 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• English

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Civil rights, Early childhood education, Elementary education, Elementary schools, Eligibility, Equal opportunities, Guardianship, Immigrants, Learning, Legal issues, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This kit is designed to help parents meet the challenges of parenting and support the healthy development of their infant or young child. Contents include resources about child development, health and safety, quality child care, and school readiness. Information about the importance of oral health in young children, preventing and treating tooth decay, oral hygiene during pregnancy and infancy, and finding a dentist is included.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child development, Child health, Child safety, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Infant health, Infants, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, State initiatives, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This video for parents describes fluoride varnish and how it is used to prevent tooth decay in infants and children. Topics include what fluoride varnish is, how it works, and why it is important for infants’ and children’s health. Information about the safety and effectiveness of fluoride varnish and the importance of establishing an oral hygiene routine that includes regular oral health visits is included. The video is available in English, French, Hmong, Karen, Oromo, Russian, Somali, and Spanish.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

• English
• YouTube Playlist

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Infants, Non English language materials, Oral health, Parents, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This chartbook presents findings from a survey of family physicians and pediatricians in North Dakota conducted to study fluoride-varnish application in clinical practice. Contents include a study overview; methods and response demographics; and findings related to assessment, fluoride-varnish application, referral, and need for education and training.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Needs assessment, North Dakota, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Risk assessment, Service integration, State surveys, Statistical data, Training, Young children