Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This review assesses the comparative effectiveness of psychological and pharmacological interventions for infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 exposed to maltreatment in addressing child well-being outcomes (mental and behavioral health; caregiver-child relationship; cognitive, language, and physical development; and school-based functioning) and child welfare outcomes (safety, placement stability, and permanency). The review also assesses the comparative effectiveness of interventions with (1) different treatment characteristics, (2) for child and caregiver subgroups, and (3) for engaging and retaining children and caregivers in treatment. In addition, the review assesses harms associated with interventions for this population.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 13-EHC002-EF.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Intervention, Language development, Maltreated children, Mental health, Parent child relations, Physical development, Safety, School failure, School readiness, Treatment

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information on the importance of family caregiver support to the health and well-being of children and adolescents with special health care needs and their families throughout the life course. Topics include caregiving and the life course, parent perspectives, and recommendations for health professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota, Leadership Education in Neurodevelpomental and Related Disabilities Program, University of Minnesota, 103 Pattee Hall, 150 Pillsbury Drive, S.E., Minneapolis, MN 55455, Telephone: (612) 624-6830 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lend.umn.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Caregivers, Children with special health care needs, Family centered care, Family support services, Parent professional relations

Annotation: This paper, which is intended to serve as a resource for policymakers and practitioners concerned with programs and services for children and families, explores the literature on the effects of instability on children's developmental outcomes and academic achievement. The authors review and synthesize research evidence on five identified domains of instability: family income, parental employment, family structure, housing, and school and child care. Also discussed are key pathways through which instability may affect development, including the role of parenting, parental mental health, and the home environment.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child care, Child development, Children, Employment, Families, Income factors, Life course, Mental health, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Programs, Public policy, Research, Schools, Services

Annotation: This issue of The Future of Children explores subjects related to children and families of members of the U.S. military. Topics include economic conditions of families, children from birth through age 5, child care and other support programs, resilience among adolescents, how wartime military service affects children and families, how children are affected when a parent is injured or killed in combat, building communities of care, and recommendations for data and measurement. An executive summary and policy brief are also available.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Children, Families, Family support services, Military, Parent child relations, Resilience, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This guide provides information about the importance of fathers in the lives of their children and identifies potential consequences of non-involvement. The guide also offers strategies for systems and families to help fathers become more involved. Topics include statistics about the presence or absence of fathers in their children's lives, why children need fathers to be actively involved, ways for systems of care to best support fathers' involvement in individual- and family-service plans, how systems of care can involve fathers in all dimensions of development, different cultural perspectives on fatherhood, the role of young fathers, grandfather involvement, and the role of fathers in the child welfare system.

Contact: Technical Assistance Partnership for Child and Family Mental Health, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-6827 Fax: (202) 403-5007 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tapartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Child development, Child welfare agencies, Cultural factors, Families, Father child relations, Fathers, Grandparents, Parenting skills, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This report briefly examines the role of the child support enforcement agency in fatherhood programs and discusses initiatives to promote and support father-child interaction outside the parents’ relationship. The appendix contains a legislative history of federally funded Responsible Federal Fatherhood Programs.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child support, Fathers, Federal programs, Parent child relations

Annotation: This report provides findings from an 18-month evaluation to examine parent outcomes for families involved with the Community Partnership's Capable Kids and Families (CKF) program and for a comparison group of non CKF families who received services from other providers. CKF supports family functioning and fosters positive developmental outcomes for families raising children with disabilities or developmental delays from birth to age 6. The report discusses the following six broad domains: (1) understanding their child's strengths and needs, (2) helping their child learn and develop, (3) learning to advocate for their child, (4) support systems, (5) access to resources, and (6) positive interactions with their child. The report also provides information about the service experiences of CKF families and indicates other areas in which the CKF program could affect family well-being that could be explored in future research.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Family support services, Infants with developmental disabilities, Infants with special health care needs, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Program evaluation, Programs, Research, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about when it is appropriate to leave a child home alone. Topics include what to consider before leaving a child home alone (including age and maturity, legal guidelines, circumstances, and safety skills); tips for parents (including have a trial period, role play, establish rules, discuss emergencies, check in, talk about it, and don't overdo it); and resources, including state-specific links.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Adolescents, Age factors, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Emergencies, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Safety

Annotation: This report provides information about best practices in therapeutic or treatment foster care (TFC), a clinical intervention for youth from birth to age 18 who have severe mental, emotional, or behavioral health needs. Topics include essential partners; building relationships among provider agencies and child advocates; example practices in Connecticut, Illinois, Michigan, Oklahoma, Nebraska; efforts to expand the focus beyond safety and permanency to well-being for youth in therapeutic foster care; and public policy challenges.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Behavioral medicine, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Foster parents, Health services delivery, Intervention, Medically fragile children, Mental health, Policy development, Psychological needs, Reimbursement, Relationships, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma care, Youth

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Annotation: This website provides tools designed to customize, tailor, and improve the quality of well-child care for infants and young children (ages 4 months to 6 years). The tool engages parents as proactive partners in planning and conducting well-child visits using a three-step process (answer a questionnaire, pick your priorities, and get your visit guide). It also has the capacity to integrate clinically-relevant information directly into the electronic health record. Contents include child and family health screeners, anticipatory guidance and family education, and parent and provider visit guides. A one-page overview and a 5-minute video tutorial are also available. The content is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cahmi.org Available from the website.

• Program Web Site
• One-page Overview

Keywords: Family centered care, Infants, Medical records, Parent professional relations, Planning, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, Well child care, Young children

Annotation: s website provides materials for a curriculum for service providers to help parents and other caregivers meet the social and emotional needs of young children. Contents include curriculum materials, research reports about the program, and resources for parents and providers.

Contact: Parent-Child Relationship Programs at the Barnard Center, University of Washington School of Nursing, CHDD South Building, Suite 110, Seattle, WA 98195-7920, Telephone: (206) 543-8528 Fax: (206) 685-3284 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pcrprograms.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Curricula, Early intervention, Emotional development, Parent child relations, Parenting, Program descriptions, Psychosocial development, Research, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: This paper examines the impact of child care subsidy receipt on maternal health and quality of parent-child interactions. The paper introduces the issue and discusses data and measures, empirical implementation, and results.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Financing, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal health, Mental health, Parent child relations, Programs, Research, Young children

Annotation: This brief discusses a study of a group of children younger than six who have experienced five or more residential moves to understand some of the particular demographic characteristics of this group, and to see whether they were more likely to have poor physical and/or mental health than similar children who did not experience frequent moves.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child attitudes, Child development, Coping, Parent child relations, Socioeconomic factors, Young children

Annotation: This paper examines differences in child outcomes by family type, defined by the marital and biological status of parents who live with a child. The paper investigates the extent to which differences in cognitive skills and behavior problems among 5-year-olds living in different types of families are associated with differences in characteristics, relationships, and behaviors between family types. The authors then decompose the mean difference between family types in each outcome into the proportion explained by differences between family types in characteristics, relationships, and behaviors and the proportion explained by differences between family types in the influence of these factors on outcomes. Methods and results are presented.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Families, Fathers, Marital status, Mothers, Parent child relations, Research, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents, teachers, and students deal with bullying directed toward children with special health care needs. The toolkit comprises a set of resources to help users confront bullying from many angles, including talking to children, being aware of one's rights, and teaching tolerance in schools. Resources are divided into separate sections for parents, students, and teachers.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Bullying, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Human rights, Parent child relations, Prevention, Resource materials, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This research brief presents a statistical portrait of adolescent fathers' characteristics at the time of their first child's birth; their union status (i.e., married, cohabiting, or not in a relationship) at the birth; their subsequent experience fathering a child, if any; and their residential status at birth and in young adulthood (i.e., whether they were living with their children).

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Age factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Fathers, Parent child relations, Public policy, Racial factors, Single parents, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This archived webinar, originally broadcast June 5, 2012, shares effective strategies that both home visiting professionals and parents can use to prevent and respond to disruptive or challenging behavior from their children and promote healthier families.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Archive
• PowerPoint Slides

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Behavior development, Behavior modification, Children, Family relations, Home visiting, Parenting skills

Annotation: This document presents a summary of a workshop held by the Board on Children, Youth, and Families of the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council on October 27–28, 2010, in Washington DC, to review and commemorate a decade of advances related to the mission of the report, From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development, released on October 3, 2000. It discusses research and policy issues.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available at no charge from the website after registration; $33 plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-20978-6.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Communities, Early childhood development, Families, Health, Learning, Mental health, Neighborhoods, Parent child relations, Public policy, Relationships, Research, Stress, Young children

Annotation: This paper examines work focused on improving the understanding of child abuse and neglect, basic human development, effective program planning, and promising systemic reforms. Contents include trends in advances in neuroscience and the developing brain in children; social context and culture, promising community prevention strategies, federal policy initiatives in public investment toward evidence-based programs, addressing needs of new parents and young children; service delivery processes and model program quality, maximizing population-level change, and the opportunities offered by new technologies.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cultural factors, Early childhood development, Literature reviews, Maltreated children, Parent child relations, Parenting attitudes, Program development, Research, Social factors