Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper explores the impact of a reality television series, MTV's 16 and Pregnant, on adolescent attitudes and outcomes. Contents include background information on the show's content and previous research on the impact of media exposure; a description of the data including Nielson ratings, Google trends, and Twitter activity; a descriptive analysis of adolescents' exposure to the show; and analyses of high frequency data on searches and tweets and data on adolescent births. Topics include changes in searches and tweets, geographic variation in viewership, and changes in adolescent birth rates.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org $5.

• Link

Keywords: , Abortion, Adolescent attitudes, Attitude change, Behavior modification, Contraception, Economic factors, Health behavior, Interactive media, Media, Outcome evaluation, Sexual behavior

Annotation: This paper reviews efforts to promote consensus on outcome and performance measures and youth/family outcomes for residential programs for youth and families. The paper summarizes various instruments that have been tested, identifies measurement strategies for child and family serving systems and residential programs to implement, presents a proposed core set of measures, and outlines steps to be taken in a consensus-building process for review of the measures.

Contact: DMA Health Strategies, 9 Meriam Street, Suite 4, Lexington, MA 02420, Telephone: (800) 814-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dmahealth.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Measures, Outcome evaluation, Residential care, Residential facilities, Residential programs, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This document contains summaries of effective programs and practices for improving child, youth, and family outcomes. Contents include primary evidence criteria; lists of programs by age of child and by type of setting, service, and outcome addressed; and descriptions of programs reviewed for the period 2000 to 2014. Each description includes information on outcome areas, indicators, topic areas, and evidence level (proven or promising); program participants; evaluation methods and key findings; probable implementers and implementation detail; funding; issues to consider; example sites; contact information; resources; and a bibliography.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Families, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Youth

Annotation: This system provides clinicians and researchers access to validated adult- and child-reported (self-reported) measures of health and well–being. Contents include tools to measure what clients are able to do and how they feel by asking questions. Information about the system methodology (publications and presentations, data, review, and testing); software; and related resources is also included.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinics, Forms, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Quality assurance, Questionnaires, Research, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Annotation: This toolkit highlights strategies and provides resources to help organizations address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression within their own communities. Topics include making the case, building and sustaining partnerships, raising awareness, developing cultural and linguistic competency, addressing policy, and implementing standards of care guidelines. Pre- and post-program assessment tools and links to national resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Depression, Domestic violence, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal health, Postpartum depression, Program evaluation

Annotation: This webinar presentation, broadcast April 9, 2013, describes how evaluations are critical in verifying that home visiting programs are delivering on the promises of improved outcomes for children and families and wise use of dollars. It highlights common challenges encountered in the evaluation process and provides examples of successful approaches to overcoming evaluation challenges. Examples are provided from the Michigan Maternal Infant Health Program evaluation strategy and considerations for effectiveness evaluation of MCH home visiting programs in the current landscape of expansion in the Nurse-Family Partnership Program in Pennsylvania.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website, after registration.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Case studies, Child health, Evaluation methods, Family support services, Home visiting, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report synthesizes findings from experimental evaluations of 17 bullying programs for children and adolescents. Topics include how frequently these programs work to improve the outcomes of physical and verbal bullying, social and relational bullying, bullying victimization, attitudes toward bullying, and being a bystander of bullying.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Attitude change, Behavior modification, Bullying, Children, Community programs, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report presents findings from the 2011 Los Angeles County Health Survey (LACHS) of breastfeeding-related hospital practices and explains how hospital practices can influence breastfeeding outcomes and how breastfeeding benefits both mothers and babies. It also provides a 10-step breastfeeding initiative for hospitals; lists the Healthy People 2020 goals for breastfeeding; and presents statistics from the LACHS on hospital practices and breastfeeding initiation and duration based on the mothers' age, race and ethnicity, education, and poverty level.Included are recommended actions for mothers and families, cities and communities, the health care community, employers, and policy makers. A summary of what Los Angeles County has been doing to advance breastfeeding in hospitals is also provided.

Contact: Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, 313 North Figueroa Street, Room 127, Los Angeles, CA 90012, Telephone: (213) 240-7785 Web Site: http://publichealth.lacounty.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Hospital programs, Hospitals, Outcome evaluation, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This report summarizes the first three cohorts of the Maternal Child Health Bureau’s State Implementation Grant Program grantees’ accomplishments and highlights strategies which catalyze changes that yield the greatest system improvements, based on an evaluation of the program in 28 states, the District of Columbia, and the Navajo Nation. Examples of promising or best practices are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: John Snow, Inc., 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1211, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: (617) 482-0617 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jsi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health care systems, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Service delivery systems, Service integration, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report describes the oral health surveillance system in Alaska. Contents include the system's history, goal, objectives, purpose, data needs, logic model, indicators, and data sources. Plans for analysis, dissemination, and evaluation are included.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Oral Health Program, Alaska Division of Public Health , P.O. Box 110610, 130 Seward Street, Room 508, Juneau, AK 99801-0610, Telephone: (907) 465-8628 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/oralhealth/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska, Communication, Data analysis, Data sources, Evaluation, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Systems development

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes research examining the potential impact of moving children currently receiving health coverage through California’s Healthy Families Program into Medi-Cal or the California Health Benefit Exchange. The research (commissioned by the 100% Campaign, a collaborative effort of Children Now, The Children’s Partnership, and Children’s Defense Fund-California) examines various scenarios for the future of Healthy Families and makes recommendations on which of the children in that program (based on income levels) should be moved into Medi-Cal. The brief includes a discussion of the advantages and disadvantages for low-income children in each of four scenarios, and suggests policy directions based on the findings.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Children, Low income groups, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, State Children', State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes the evaluation and outcomes of a pilot project to educate, train, and deploy community health workers in improving the oral health status of people in underserved communities. Topics include the role of the Community Dental Health Coordinator (CDHC) in providing oral health education, performing preventive procedures, and connecting clients to dentists for treatment. The report also describes core competencies and components of the CDHC curriculum and the status of CDHC student cohorts.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Health care delivery, Oral health, Outcome evaluation, Preventive health services, Process evaluation, Professional education, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation of the long-term effectiveness of the Building Strong Families (BSF) project -- a relationship skill building education program for unmarried parents sponsored by the Administration for Children and Families (ACF), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, The report presents an overview of the percentage of children born to unmarried parents; describes the BSF program designed to serve unmarried, romantically involved couples who were expecting or recently had a baby; and discusses the impact of the BSF program on participating couples (for example, its effects on parenting, father involvement, child well being, and the couple's relationship). The impact of BSF on key outcomes such as parenting, family stability, and economic stability are provided in the appendices.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Families, Family relationships, Family support programs, Outcome evaluation, Parents, Relationships, Single parents

Annotation: This scientific review summarizes current evidence on the health consequences of cesarean delivery, focusing on the adverse consequences of cesarean delivery as well as adverse outcomes that may be intrinsic to labor or vaginal birth. Included are answers to ten questions related to the physical effects in women and babies that may occur more frequently with cesarian versus vaginal delivery; complications that are unique to cesarean and vaginal deliveries; and risks to women and children that may be associated with method delivery. A detailed list of the review findings, the methods used to locate and present the best evidence, and the implications for the future are also presented.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Cesarian section, Comparative analysis, Outcome evaluation, Research reviews, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This evaluation report summarizes methods, outputs, and outcomes of Phase II (community awareness and education) of the Community Genetics Education Project, a project funded by a Health Resources and Services Administration cooperative agreement with the March of Dimes with the goal of increasing the genetic literacy of African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders. The report aims to identify overarching challenges, lessons learned, and best practice implications. Specifically, the report (1) summarizes methodologies used in the development of this report, (2) provides an overview of local site interventions, (3) describes the roles of various project partners in Phase II, (4) summarizes common elements of the local evaluations and provides an overview of specific local evaluation designs and methods, (5) summarizes and discusses local evaluation findings, (6) addresses how these findings have been disseminated and discussed, (7) discusses additional Phase II outcomes, (8) details implementation challenges and lessons learned, and (9) summarizes best practice implications.Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Communities, Evaluation, Genetics education, Health literacy, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Intervention, Outcome and process assessment, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This issue brief examines the correlation between the self-reported quality of parent relationships and the emotional and behavioral health outcomes of children across various social, economic, and racial/ethnic subgroups. Using data from the 2007 National Survey of Children's Health, the brief compares reported levels of parental relationship happiness (ranging from completely happy to not very happy) with their child's level of social competence, engagement in school, parent-child communication, and external behavior (positive or negative). The data compares findings across income levels (presented as a percentage of the federal poverty level); by racial/ethnic group (White, Hispanic, and Black), education level of parent; and parental relationship status (married or cohabiting and whether the parents are biological, adoptive, or step parents). The report concludes that happy parental relationships are quite consistently related to better outcomes for children and families across all types of subgroups

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavioral development, Children, Data, Data analysis, Emotional development, Mental health, National surveys, Outcome evaluation, Parent child relations, Parents

Annotation: This resource brief describes four federal programs developed to help protect the health of young children: The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC); the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP); and the Affordable Housing program. The brief summarizes research indicating how children who suffer from poor nutrition, unstable housing and inadequate home heating have a greater likelihood of poor health, and highlights research findings indicating that young children who participate in these federal programs are more likely to be food secure, growing and developing in healthy, age-appropriate ways, and less likely to be hospitalized. The brief calls on the nation's leaders to consider the evidence indicating the importance of investing in our youngest children while making decisions concerning deficit reductions.

Contact: Children's HealthWatch, Dowling Building, 771 Albany Street, Ground Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 414-6366 Fax: (617) 414-7915 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthwatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, MCH research, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Prevention programs, Reports, Young children

Annotation: This paper analyzes the relationship between having one or more father figures in a young person's life and the likelihood that he or she will engage in delinquent criminal behavior. The paper focuses on the distinctions between the roles of residential and non-residential, biological fathers as well as stepfathers, and reports on differences observed based on the presence or absence of a father figure and on the gender of the child. The data analyzed in the study comes from the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health administered by the Carolina Population Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website after free registration.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Behavior development, Fathers, Juvenile delinquency, Longitudinal Research, Outcome evaluation, Parent child relations

Annotation: This toolkit, which incorporates policies and tools used at U.S. hospitals, outlines best practices and provides support materials and guidance for implementing a quality-improvement project focused on reducing elective deliveries before 39 weeks' gestation. The toolkit also provides methods to identify improvement opportunities and outlines techniques for measuring process and outcome improvements. Topics include the importance of eliminating deliveries before 39 weeks, implementation, data collection and quality improvement, and clinician and patient education.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cesarean section, Child morbidity, Childbirth, Education, Guidelines, Infant morbidity, Maternal morbidity, Outcome evaluation, Perinatal morbidity, Prevention, Process evaluation, Programs, Resource materials, Trends

Annotation: This report presents the results of an outcome evaluation of the Safe Start Promising Approaches program, the second phase of a planned four-phase initiative focusing on preventing and reducing the impact of children's exposure to violence. The report is geared toward researchers, clinicians, practitioners, policymakers, community leaders, and others interested in evaluating and implementing programs for children exposed to violence. The report provides information on the designs of the studies used for the evaluation as well as on the instruments used, data evaluation and cleaning, analytical methods, and an overview of results across the 15 program sites.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-8330-5822-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community programs, Initiatives, Outcome evaluation, Prevention, Programs, Research, Statistical data, Violence prevention