Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents findings from Oregon’s statewide survey to assess the oral health status and risk for dental caries of students in first, second, and third grades attending public schools. Contents include findings on tooth decay, disparities, access to oral health care, and dental sealants. Recommendations and a description of oral health program activities are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Oral health, Oregon, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides insight into preparations in Maryland, Nevada, and Oregon in creating a state-based health insurance marketplace, moving forward in state Medicaid expansion, and in preparing for outreach and enrollment. The report provides an overview of establishing their marketplaces; preparing for the Medicaid expansion; planning for marketing, outreach and enrollment; and establishing enrollment assistance resources. It also highlights the challenges encountered and overcome, the successes achieved, and key lessons that may help inform implementation efforts moving forward.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Enrollment, Health insurance, Maryland, Medicaid, Nevada, Oregon, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State initiatives

Annotation: This paper examines the care-coordination experiences of five states (Arkansas, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that have developed pilot projects as part of Assuring Better Child Health and Development (ABCD III) to improve care coordination for young children with or at risk for developmental delays. The paper examines common themes and policy levers that could help improve care coordination between primary care health professionals and other systems, such as systems of educational, social, or vocational services, for individuals of all ages, with a focus on policies as they relate to the cross-system care coordination being advanced in ABCD III. Topics include policies to pay for care coordination, policies supporting systemic communication, and policies supporting and sustaining quality and measurement of cross-system coordination.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Arkansas, Child health, Communication, Costs, Early childhood development, Financing, Health care systems, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pilot projects, Primary care, Public policy, Quality assurance, Service coordination, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report presents recommendations from the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's Action Learning Collaborative related to preconception health care for young adults with disabilities. It includes a discussion of this population and their unique challenges; a summary of the sexuality education standards in the state of Oregon; and a set of preconception health recommendations at the individual level, relationship level, community level, and societal level. The methodology used to develop the recommendations, as discussed in the report, included literature reviews, data analysis, and a survey of youth with disabilities. The purpose of the report is not only to share recommendations but to initiate a discussion, contribute to the body of knowledge in this area, and initiate action to better address the health of youth with disabilities of reproductive age.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disabilities, Guidelines, Oregon, Preconception care, Reports, Sexuality education, Special health care needs, Standards, State programs, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This document summarizes methods used in Oregon's home visiting needs assessment and also provides background. It describes the number and percentage of Oregonians affected by the outcomes or risk factors specified by the federal Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting program. Additional topics include the number of pregnant women, infants and children in need of home visiting; how difficult it is to access services; the needs of families served by home visiting and how often the needs were met; and how home visiting services meet families' needs (direct service or referral). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Case management, Early Head Start, Early childhood development, Family support, Head Start, Healthy Start, Home visiting, MCH services, Needs assessment, Oregon, State programs

Annotation: This report summarizes selected activities and interventions in the five states (Arkansas, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that are part of the Assuring Better Child Health and Development (ABCD III) learning collaborative. Through ABCD III, the states are developing and testing models that can improve coordination of early childhood services in their states and provide models for others. The report includes a description of each state's project, discusses key early lessons, and provides early recommendations.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Intervention, Arkansas, Child development, Child health, Early childhood development, High risk groups, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Service delivery systems, Services coordination, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This form is designed to assist schools in raising awareness about and participation in a school fluoride tablet program for students in grades K–6 who live in areas without optimum levels of fluoride in the water supply and who are not taking fluoride tablets at home. The form includes information about fluoride and has space for parents to indicate whether they want their child to take part in the fluoride tablet program. The form is available in English, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Somali.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Form
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Forms, Non English language materials, Oregon, Parental consent, Parents, Preventive health services, School age children, School health programs, Schools, State programs

Annotation: This brochure describes The CaCoon (Care Coordination) Program, a is a service for families with children who have (or are at risk of having) a chronic health condition or disability. The brochure describes the various types of CaCoon services offered by public health nurses who are specially trained to care for children and youth with special needs. It explains how CaCoon nurses can provide screening services within the state and help families find information, locate financial assistance, and make referrals to early-intervention services and community resources. It describes who is eligible for CaCoon and where to turn for additional information on the program. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Oregon Center for Children and Youth with Special Health Needs, 707 South West Gaines Road, Portland, OR 97239, Telephone: (503) 494-8303 Secondary Telephone: (877) 307-7070 Fax: (503) 494-2755 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ohsu.edu/xd/outreach/occyshn Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention programs, Family support services, Models, Nursing services, Oregon, Spanish language materials, State programs

Annotation: This archived webinar from December 6, 2010 highlights how Illinois, Oregon, South Carolina, and Vermont are using ABCD III (Assuring Better Child Health and Development) and/or CHIPRA quality grants to build on and align current efforts, such as medical home initiatives, health information technology or exchange, performance measurement, and health reform, to transform the delivery of care to children covered by Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children', Illinois, Medicaid, Medical home, Multimedia, Oregon, South Carolina, State programs, Vermont, s health insurance program

Annotation: This report provides statewide data for Oregon in the following categories: premature birth, low-birthweight infants, infant mortality, poverty, crime, domestic violence, school dropout rates, substance abuse, unemployment, child maltreatment, and other indicators of at-risk prenatal, maternal, newborn, or child health. County-level data for the same categories is also provided, and information on the selection process of a unit of analysis is offered. The report also includes information about the quality and capacity of Oregon's existing home-visiting programs and the state's capacity for providing substance abuse treatment. A narrative summary of needs-assessment results concludes the report.

Contact: Oregon Department of Human Services, Maternal and Child Health Section, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 825, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0252 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://public.health.oregon.gov/PHD/Directory/Pages/program.aspx?pid=25 Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child maltreatment, Crime, Domestic violence, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Needs assessment, Oregon Preterm birth, Poverty, Reproductive health, School dropouts, State programs, Statistical data, Substance abuse, Treatment, Unemployment, Women', s health

Annotation: This Web site provides information on a study to examine the effectiveness of a statewide program of home-visiting services in Healthy Start for at-risk families in Oregon. The Web site provides information about the project design, funding source, project team, and reports and publications.

Contact: NPC Research, 4380 S.W. Macadam Avenue, Suite 530, Portland, OR 97239-6408, Telephone: (503) 243-2436 Fax: (503) 243-2454 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.npcresearch.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Families, Healthy Start, High risk families, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Infants, Oregon, Parents, Prevention, Prevention programs, Programs, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This policy brief describes strategies that several states have used to address the oral health needs of Medicaid beneficiaries, including young children, pregnant women, people with developmental disabilities, and people living in rural areas. The brief also examines ways that California’s state agencies (including Denti-Cal, the state’s Medicaid dental program), dental associations, and universities have explored these issues, and additional steps the state might take to build on its efforts.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Case studies, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oral health, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Pregnant women, Provider participation, Rhode Island, Rural population, Special health care services, State initiatives, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This brief presents policy improvements affecting screening in primary care that were identified by teams from 19 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, who worked together for 14 months to make policy and practice improvements needed to make the use of validated screening tools in well child care a part of standard practice. The brief presents an overview of results, improving coverage (benefits and eligibility), reimbursement, improving program performance, and Oregon's approach to policy improvement.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Child developmental disorders, Child health, Health supervision, High risk children, Oregon, Primary care, Public policy, Screening, State programs, Well child care

Annotation: This report describes a community-based event held on October 15, 2008, in Pierce County, Oregon, to increase awareness about homelessness and provide access to health and social services for individuals and families who are homeless. Topics include an overview of the event; the evaluation methodology; and a synopsis of a range of health, social, and financial support services provided during the event, including oral health screening, examination, and referral. The report analyzes the structure, process, and outcomes of the project; discusses the general demographics of the population served; identifies areas for improvement in the future; and addresses limitations of the analysis.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Community based services, Families, Homeless persons, Oral health, Oregon, Outreach, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Social services

Annotation: This tool for clinicians describes screening practices for identification of children up to age 5 with developmental, behavioral, and/or psychosocial problems that will target them for further evaluation, early intervention, or early childhood special education. Each screening practice includes a discussion of criteria and recommended tools.

Contact: Oregon Public Health Division, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 930, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-1222 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-1299 Web Site: http://public.health.oregon.gov/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Developmental disabilities, Infants, Oregon, Screening tests, Young children

Annotation: This manual serves as a tool for collecting data on the effectiveness of Oregon's Healthy Start program, a statewide home visiting program designed to prevent child maltreatment using the Healthy Families of America program model. The manual provides an overview of the program and describes the Healthy Start data collection and evaluation system required by the Oregon legislation. It includes an overview of data collection procedures and screening and assessment tools and provides directions on how to fill out and submit the necessary intake forms, surveys, and HOME (Home Observation for Measurement of the Environment) Inventory.

Contact: Oregon Commission on Children and Families, 530 Center Street, NE, Suite 405, Salem, OR 97301, Telephone: (503) 373-1283 Fax: (503) 378-8395 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://egov.oregon.gov/OCCF Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation methods, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Injury prevention, Maltreated children, Manuals, Oregon, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation, Public health services, State programs

Annotation: This manual provides basic program and training information to new Healthy Start staff members in Oregon on home visiting and family support for first-time parents to ensure healthy, thriving children and nurturing, caring families. Orientation topics include program goals, services, policies and operating procedures; an overview of home visiting and family support philosophy; child abuse and neglect indicators and reporting requirements; program relationship with other community resources; issues of confidentiality; and issues related to boundaries. Additional topics for home visitors include interviewing and communication skills, relationships, planning a home visit, case planning, record keeping, as well as information on promoting positive parenting.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Case management, Family support, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Manuals, Oregon, Parent education, Parent support services, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Promoting Integration of State Health Information Systems and Newborn Screening Service Systems program during the period April 1, 2003, through March 31, 2007. The project addressed a number of problems that affected the system of services for infants and children in Oregon, including poor communication and lack of integration among data systems. The report discusses the project purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, accomplishments, evaluation, lessons learned, future plans, plans for sustainability, and publication and presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Data linkage, Final reports, Health care systems, Infant health, Information systems, Neonatal screening, Oregon, Service coordination

Annotation: This report highlights the successes, challenges, and results of six states (Arizona, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Vermont) who developed programs to reduce disparities and improve quality in oral health services. The report is divided into two main sections: (1) measuring oral health services performance and (2) state action for oral health access strategies. The strategies section discusses specific state efforts to improve the oral health delivery system, such as developing value-based purchasing strategies, broadening the provider network, expanding the dental safety net, creating a dental home, and enhancing consumer and provider education. A conclusion and endnotes are provided.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Case studies, Children, Families, Health education, Health services delivery, Oral health, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Program descriptions, Provider participation, Rhode Island, South Carolina, State programs, Strategic plans, Vermont

Annotation: This final report describes phase II of a Healthy Start program to eliminate disparities in perinatal health in areas around northeast Portland, Oregon, from 2001-2005. Program elements include reducing high rates of infant mortality and low birth weight rates among African Americans, increasing the rates of early entry into prenatal care for pregnant Hispanic women, increasing male involvement activities, and family violence screening. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; descriptions of project implementation, management and governance; the impact of the project; a local evaluation; and the fetal and infant mortality review. Additional contents of the report include sample products developed during the project period, forms including project data, coverage of the program by local media, and local evaluation study reports. A brochure and a videotape are included as project product samples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Blacks, Family violence, Final reports, Healthy Start, Hispanic Americans, Infant mortality, Low birth weight, MCH research, Oregon, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Screening